Skip universal navigation

New York State Universal header

Skip to main content

Minimum wage increase, effective December 31, 2016

New York State’s minimum wage increased on December 31, 2016 as the first step in the statewide $15 minimum wage plan enacted as part of the 2016-17 State Budget. Across the state, this plan will increase spending power by more than $15.7 billion that will directly benefit your business.

 The minimum wage increases are calculated based on:

  • where an individual works,
  • their industry, and, in some cases,
  • the size of the business.

Department of Labor resources

To help businesses during this transition, the Department of Labor has several useful tools available on its website: www.labor.ny.gov:

  • The New Minimum Wage FAQs answer several of the most frequently asked questions about the law.
  • The Minimum Wage Information Request Form allows businesses to request a live presentation or a webinar about the scheduled wage increases for each industry.  Choose business and submit the completed form to make your request. 

You can also request more information by calling the Minimum Wage Hotline at 1-888-4-NYSDOL (1-888-469-7365).

Department of Taxation and Finance resources

Updated: