
Important information
	Beginning April 30th, 2015, you must electronically file your 

Form NYS-1, Return of Tax Withheld, and pay any balance due.

If you file paper returns after that time, you will be subject to penalties. You 
should use one of the three approved electronic methods: 1) Web File, 
2) Web upload, or 3) Federal/State Employment Taxes (FSET) compatible 
software. See below and our Web site for additional information.

General information 
Form NYS-1 is used to remit to New York State the personal income taxes 
that you have withheld from your employees’ wages or from certain other 
payments (for example, pensions). Under the state and city tax laws, an 
employer must withhold taxes from wages paid to employees in accordance 
with prepared tax tables or other approved methods. No unemployment 
insurance contributions can be remitted with Form NYS-1.

See Publications NYS-50, Employer’s Guide to Unemployment Insurance, 
Wage Reporting, and Withholding Tax; NYS-50-T-NYS, New York State 
Withholding Tax Tables and Methods; NYS-50-T-NYC, New York City 
Withholding Tax Tables and Methods; and NYS-50-T-Y, Yonkers Withholding 
Tax Tables and Methods, for more information.

The employer is not relieved of the obligation to withhold even if an 
employee pays tax on wages directly with an estimated tax payment 
voucher (or in any other manner).

Filing methods 
Web File – You can electronically submit Form NYS-1 information and 
make your payment via ACH debit through the Tax Department Web site. 
You must register to use our Online Services before you can Web File. 
Benefits of filing online include secure filing, immediate data transmittal and 
confirmation.

FSET compatible software – Some commercially available software allows 
you to use the FSET program to file withholding returns and report wage 
and UI information.

Web upload – Web upload options are available to employers, tax 
preparers, and payroll services for filing Forms NYS-1, NYS-45, Quarterly 
Combined Withholding, Wage Reporting, and Unemployment Insurance 
Return, and NYS-45-ATT, Quarterly Combined Withholding, Wage 
Reporting, and Unemployment Insurance Return-Attachment.

For more details on how to register to begin uploading electronic files, visit 
our Web site (at www.tax.ny.gov).

Filing requirements
Every employer paying wages must file a return and pay the New York 
State, New York City, and Yonkers taxes required to be withheld. The period 
covered by each return must correspond to each liability period as defined 
by your payroll schedule and amounts withheld.

Note: A payer of certain other payments (for example, pensions) will be 
subject to the same remitting and reporting requirements as employers if 
the payee has requested withholding for New York State, New York City, 
or Yonkers income tax by filing Form IT-2104-P, Annuitant’s Request for 
Income Tax Withholding, with the payer.

You must file Form NYS-1 and remit the total tax withheld after each payroll 
that causes the total accumulated tax required to be withheld to equal or 
exceed $700. If you have more than one payroll within a week (Sunday 
through Saturday), you are not required to file until after the last 
payroll in the week. However, when a calendar quarter ends between 
payrolls paid within a week, any accumulated tax required to be withheld of 
at least $700 must be remitted with Form NYS-1 after the last payroll in the 
quarter.

If you have filed at least once during the calendar quarter and have 
an unremitted balance of tax withheld that is less than $700 after the 
last payroll of the quarter, remit this amount with your quarterly return, 
Form NYS-45, instead of with Form NYS-1 (see the instructions for 
Form NYS-45).

If you withhold less than $700 during a calendar quarter, do not file 
Form NYS-1. Remit the accumulated tax with your quarterly return, 
Form NYS-45.

Note: Employers are required to file Form NYS-45 each quarter regardless 
of the amount of tax withheld. (See the instructions for Form NYS-45 for 
exceptions.)

When returns are due 
Filing due dates are based on amounts withheld in prior years. If you were 
required to withhold $15,000 or more for the calendar year that precedes 
the previous calendar year, you must file Form NYS-1 and remit the tax 
you withheld within three business days following the payroll that caused 
the total accumulated tax withheld to equal or exceed $700. If you were 
required to withhold less than $15,000 during that year, you must file 
Form NYS-1 and remit the tax withheld within five business days.

If you are a higher education organization or a health care provider as 
defined in Tax Law section 9, you are eligible to file Form NYS-1 and remit 
the tax withheld within five business days of the payroll that caused the tax 
withheld to equal or exceed $700, regardless of the amounts withheld in 
prior years.

The Tax Department will notify you of any change to your filing due 
date (three or five business days after the payroll) based on our record of 
your total tax withheld.

New employers will be permitted to file within five business days until 
notified otherwise by the Tax Department.

Specific instructions 
Enter in the first box of the withholding identification number your 9-digit 
federal employer identification number (EIN); in the second box, your 2-digit 
NYS suffix, if any; and in the third box, your assigned check digit, if known. 
Also enter your legal name in the space provided.

To facilitate accurate processing of your Form NYS-1, please print or type in 
black ink all X marks and money amounts in the spaces provided. Entries 
made with pencil are not acceptable.

Item A – Enter the month, day, and year (mmddyy) of the last payroll for the 
time period being reported on this Form NYS-1. This should be the actual 
date on which the payroll was made to your employees.

Item B  Final return – If you have permanently ceased paying wages 
(you no longer pay wages or the business no longer exists), enter the 
month, day, and year (mmddyy) of the last payroll from which tax was 
withheld. 

In addition, you must file a final Form NYS-45 within 30 days of the date 
of the final payroll. You must complete columns a, b, c, d, and e of Part C 
on your final Form NYS-45 or Form NYS-45-ATT (see the instructions for 
Form NYS‑45). 

Item C – You may make additional payments with Form NYS-1. If you 
determine that you have underreported and underpaid your tax liabilities, or 
only partially paid the tax on a Form NYS-1 filed for the current quarter, you 
should make an additional payment before the due date of the quarterly 
return, Form NYS-45, to avoid further accruing of interest and penalty 
charges. 

To correct liabilities that were both underreported and underpaid, complete 
item A, and if applicable, item B, with the payroll information as it was 
reported on the originally filed Form NYS-1. Mark an X in the item C box 
to indicate that you are making an additional payment. Enter on lines 1 
through 4 only the additional amounts you have determined to be due. 
For example, if you had originally reported $700 in New York State tax 
withheld, $20 in New York City tax withheld, and $0 in Yonkers tax withheld, 
and have now determined that $50 was actually withheld for New York City, 
enter $30 (the amount underreported) on lines 2, 4, and 6. Do not make 
entries on lines 1, 3, and 5.

To correct liabilities that were correctly reported but underpaid, complete 
item A and, if applicable, item B, with the payroll information as it was 
reported on the originally filed Form NYS-1. Mark an X in the item C box to 
indicate that you are making an additional payment. In this instance, there is 
no change in liability; therefore, lines 1 through 5 should be left blank. Enter 
the amount of additional payment on line 6.

Use quarterly Form NYS-45, Part D, to report filing periods for which 
Form(s) NYS-1 were required but not filed and to correct overcollections 
reported on Form(s) NYS-1 originally filed for that quarter. If you have not 
corrected liabilities that were underpaid with Form(s) NYS-1 by the due date 
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Need help?

Text Telephone (TTY) Hotline
  (for persons with hearing and
  speech disabilities using a TTY):	 (518) 485-5082

Withholding Tax Information Center:	 (518) 485-6654
To order forms and publications:	 (518) 457-5431

Visit our Web site at www.tax.ny.gov
  (for information, forms, and online services)

of the quarterly return, you may make the correction(s) using Form NYS-45, 
Part D. However, additional interest and penalty charges may accrue.

If you have to make any corrections to amounts withheld or additional 
payments after you have filed Form NYS-45 for the quarter, you must 
file Form NYS-45-X, Amended Quarterly Combined Withholding, Wage 
Reporting, and Unemployment Insurance Return, and an amended 
Form NYS‑45‑ATT, if required (see Form NYS-45-X-I, Instructions for 
Form NYS‑45‑X).

Lines 1 through 4 – If you withheld tax from wages, annuity, pension, 
retirement or individual retirement account payments, or from certain 
gambling winnings, the amount withheld must be included in the amounts 
entered on lines 1 through 4. The amounts entered must equal the total 
amounts withheld from all payrolls being reported on your return.

Line 1 – Enter the amount of New York State tax withheld. Do not include 
tax withheld for New York City or Yonkers.

Lines 2 and 3 – Enter the amount withheld for New York City or Yonkers 
separately on the appropriate line(s). If you have not withheld tax for either 
New York City or Yonkers, leave the appropriate line(s) blank.

No matter how you file, if you are required to withhold New York City or 
Yonkers tax, do not enter all tax withheld on line 1, New York State tax 
withheld. Enter the amount actually withheld for each jurisdiction on the 
appropriate lines of Form NYS-1. The Tax Department is required to 
distribute to the proper jurisdiction monies withheld and received with 
Form NYS-1 prior to the receipt of the quarterly return.

Line 5 – If you are claiming a credit, enter the amount of credit being 
used on line 5. A credit can be used only if you had an overpayment on 
Form NYS-45, line 20, filed for the preceding quarter and credited it to the 
current quarter (line 20b), or if you had an overpayment on a Form NYS-1 
filed for the current calendar quarter.

Line 6 – Subtract any credit claimed on line 5 from the total withheld on 
line 4 and enter the result on line 6. Make your check or money order 
payable in U.S. funds to NYS Income Tax for this amount. Write your 
identification number (as it appears on your Form NYS-1) on your check or 
money order.

Fee for payments returned by banks – The law allows the Tax 
Department to charge a $50 fee when a check, money order, or electronic 
payment is returned by a bank for nonpayment. However, if an electronic 
payment is returned as a result of an error by the bank or the department, 
the department won’t charge the fee. If your payment is returned, we 
will send a separate bill for $50 for each return or other tax document 
associated with the returned payment.

Signature 
Your Form NYS-1 must be signed and dated by the officer or employee 
responsible for the filing of withholding tax returns and payment of 
withholding tax. Print or type that person’s name and telephone number in 
the boxes to the right of the signature.

Indicate new employer or address change 
New employers: On the back of the first Form NYS-1 you file, enter 
the address to which you want your withholding tax and unemployment 
insurance notices sent, and mark an X in the New employer or address 
change box located below the signature area on the front of Form NYS‑1.

Address change: If you need to update your mailing or physical address 
for withholding tax, unemployment insurance (if applicable), and MCTMT (if 
applicable) you can do so online. Visit our Web site at www.tax.ny.gov and 
select the option to change your address. Otherwise, enter your new mailing 
address for withholding tax, unemployment insurance (if applicable), and 
MCTMT (if applicable) in the appropriate area on the back of Form NYS-1, 
and mark an X in the New employer or address change check box on the 
front page. Do not mark an X in this box if your address is new since your 
last filing but was already updated.

If there have been changes to other business information (for example, 
business name, identification number, telephone number, etc.), you must 
complete and submit Form DTF-95, Business Tax Account Update. You  
may also report a change to your physical and mailing address or paid 
preparer address by filing Form DTF-96, Report of Address Change for 
Business Tax Accounts, or Form DTF-95.

Paid preparer and payroll service 
If your return is being completed by a paid preparer, the paid preparer 
information, including signature, must be entered on the back of your 
Form NYS-1. A person who prepares your Form NYS-1 and does not 
charge you should not sign the paid preparer’s area.

Note to paid preparers - When signing an employer’s Form NYS-1, you 
must enter your New York tax preparer registration identification number 
(NYTPRIN) if you are required to have one. If you are not required to have a 
NYTPRIN, enter in the NYTPRIN excl. code box one of the specified 2-digit 
codes listed below that indicates why you are exempt from the registration 
requirement. You must enter a NYTPRIN or an exclusion code. Also, you 
must enter your federal preparer tax identification number (PTIN), if you 
have one; if not, you must enter your social security number.

See our Web site for more information about the tax preparer registration 
requirements.

If you are using a payroll service, the payroll service name and EIN must be 
entered on the back of your Form NYS-1.

Avoid common errors
Please try to avoid the following common errors:

1. Three or five business day due date – Employers notified to file 
within three business days (including those who filed a Form TR-595, 
Request for Withholding Tax Filing Date Redetermination) must continue 
to file within three business days until notified by the Tax Department of a 
redetermination.

2. Last payroll date – Enter in item A the date the payroll was actually paid 
to your employees, not the date of the last day of the payroll period.

3. Permanently ceased paying wages date – Do not make an entry in 
item B unless you have permanently ceased paying wages (that is, gone 
out of business or no longer have employees to whom you pay wages). 
Seasonal employers should not complete item B when they are temporarily 
ceasing wage payments due to the seasonal nature of their businesses.

4. Total tax withheld – Some employers erroneously enter their total tax 
withheld on line 3 (Yonkers tax withheld) instead of line 4 (Total withheld). 
The returns processing system adds lines 1 through 3 to determine total 
liability and these employers appear underpaid. Enter the amount of 
tax withheld for New York State, New York City, and Yonkers on lines 1 
through 3 and the total tax withheld on line 4.

5. New York City or Yonkers tax withheld – If you are required to withhold 
New York City or Yonkers tax, do not enter all tax withheld on line 1, 
New York State tax withheld. Enter the amount withheld for each jurisdiction 
on the appropriate lines of Form NYS-1.

Where to mail and private delivery services
Use the address on the back of Form NYS-1 when mailing with the U.S. 
Postal Service.

Private delivery services – See Publication 55, Designated Private 
Delivery Services, if not using U.S. Mail.

Privacy notification
See our Web site or Publication 54, Privacy Notification.
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Code Exemption type Code Exemption type
01 Attorney 02 Employee of attorney

03 CPA 04 Employee of CPA

05 PA (Public Accountant) 06 Employee of PA

07 Enrolled agent 08 Employee of enrolled agent

09 Volunteer tax preparer 10 Employee of business 
preparing that business’ 
return


