Skip to main content
Department of Taxation and Finance

Real Property Tax Administration Committee

Thursday, June 9, 2016, 10:00 a.m.–3:05 p.m.

Harriman Campus Bldg. 9 – Albany NY, Room B9–2nd Floor

  • Facilitator:  Alan Kresge    
  • Recorder:  Jim McGovern 
Item Results Lead Time
Get organized Review minutes from last meeting and finalize. Alan Kresge 10:00–10:05
Review action items.
Review agenda and make necessary changes.
Welcome and RPSV5 Information sharing. Commissioner Boone 10:05–10:20
Legislative update Information sharing. Paul Miller 10:20–10:50
STAR credit
Overview Information sharing and discussion. Tim Maher 10:50–12:35
How we arrived at May 1. 2014 and August
Income tax treatment
Referring Enhanced STAR recipients to the senior exemption
STAR exemption renunciation
Lunch 12:35–1:30
Property tax freeze credit Information sharing. Tim Maher 1:30–1:45
STAR recoupment letters Information sharing. Tim Maher 1:45–2:00
RP—5217 sales scan Information sharing. Tim Maher 2:00–2:15
Enhancing communication Information sharing. Geoff Gloak and Laura Fallon 2:15–3:00
Wrap up  Meeting review. Alan Kresge 3:00–3:05
Meeting feedback.

RPTAC members
Assessors County directors NYS tax
Todd Wiley (T. New Windsor) Jay Franklin (Tompkins) Tim Maher (STAR)
Roger Tibbetts (T. Adams) Tim Murphy (Monroe) Teresa Frank (Syracuse Regional Director)
Paul Smith (T. Marcy) Suzette Booy (Columbia) Joe Gerberg (Counsel’s Office)
Teri Ross (T. Queensbury) Tom Bloodgood (Schuyler) Susan Savage (Asst Dpty Commissioner)
Dennis Ketcham (T. Montgomery) Daniel Martonis (Cattaraugus) Geoff Gloak (Director of Public Information)
David Briggs (T. Cortlandville) Laura Van Valkenburg (Greene)
Alternate assessors Alternate county directors Alternate ORPTS members
Curtis Schoeberl (T. Shawangunk) Eric Axelsen (Dutchess)
Sue Otis (T. Malta-retired) Steve Harris (Chenango)

Active RPTAC teams and sub—committees 
Equalization project team (sub—committee)
Assessors County directors NYS tax
Colleen Adamec (T. Greenwich) Sean Mathews (Rockland County) Tim Maher
Todd Wiley (T. New Windsor) Henry Schecher (Otsego County, Chair) Tom Pinto (North)
Edye McCarthy (T. Greenburgh) Mike Sabansky (Delaware County)
Curtis Schoeberl (T. Shawangunk) Dave Hamlin (Broome County)
Tom Donato (V. Lake Success) John Shoemaker (Niagara County)

Valuation issues and property class code team
Assessors County directors NYS tax
Patrick Duffy (T. of Manlius) Darren Colton (St Lawrence County) Steve Beals (Albany)
Josette Polzella, IAO (T. Ossining) Beth Sadlon, (Herkimer County, Chair) Sheryl Klewicki (Melville)
Colleen Adamec (T. Greenwich) Martine Gonyo (Clinton County) Julie Parker (North)
William Quick (Freemont) James Kirsch (Wyoming County) Russ Sugg (Batavia)
Michael Sommer (Denning and Wawarsing)

Sales processing team
Assessors County directors NYS tax
Larry Quinn (T. Arcadia) Kevin Andrews (Genesee County, Chair) Kim Manley
Christine Fusco (T. Clarence) Tim Murphy (Monroe County)
Kandace Wittmeyer (T. of Marilla, Elma, West Seneca and Bennington) Charli Lewis (Essex County)
Tom Jackson  (Ulster County)

Public education subgroup
Assessors County directors NYS tax
Denise Trudell (T. Clayton, T. Montague, T. Osceola, T. Cape Vincent) Tom Bloodgood (Schuyler) Melanie Koch (Batavia)
Dave Marrano (T. Lancaster) Robin Johnson Meighan Reed (North)
Kandace Wittmeyer (T. of Marilla, Elma, West Seneca and Bennington)