Skip to main content
Department of Taxation and Finance

Real Property Tax Administration Committee

Wednesday, October 21, 2015 12:30 p.m.–4:35 p.m.

The Hotel at Vernon Downs, 4229 Stuhlman Rd, Vernon, New York—Room 736

  • Facilitator:  Alan Kresge    
  • Recorder:  Jim McGovern
Item Results Lead Time
Get organized Review minutes from last meeting and finalize. Alan Kresge 12:30–12:35
Review action items.
Review agenda and make necessary changes.
ORPTS update  Information sharing. Susan Savage 12:35–12:45
Communication Information sharing. Matt Trapasso 12:45–1:15
Legislative update Information sharing. Joe Gerberg 1:15–1:30
2016 Property tax relief credit Information sharing. Tim Maher 1:30–1:50
Property tax freeze Information sharing. Tim Maher 1:50–2:20
Complex advisory appraisals  Information sharing. Tim Maher 2:20–2:30
Break 2:30–2:45
Selective reassessment  Information sharing. Todd Wiley 2:45–3:15
RPSV5 Information sharing. Tim Maher 3:15–3:30
Agricultural assessment 
Log grown mushrooms Information sharing and discussion. Todd Wiley 3:30–3:45
Assessors manual update
Agriculture primer
Stated statutory duties Information sharing. Susan Savage and Tim Maher 3:45–4:15
5217 Bar code project Information sharing. Tim Murphy and Tim Maher 4:15–4:30
Wrap up Meeting review. Alan Kresge 4:30–4:35
Meeting feedback.

RPTAC members
Assessors County directors ORPTS
Todd Wiley (T. New Windsor) Jay Franklin (Tompkins) Tim Maher (STAR)
Roger Tibbetts (T. Adams) Tim Murphy (Monroe) Teresa Frank (Syracuse Regional Director)
Paul Smith (T. Marcy) Suzette Booy (Columbia) Joe Gerberg (Counsel’s Office)
Terri Ross (T. Queensbury) Tom Bloodgood (Schuyler) Susan Savage (Asst Dpty Commissioner)
Dennis Ketcham (T. Montgomery) Daniel Martonis (Cattaraugus)
Patrick Duffy (T. Manlius) Laura Van Valkenburg (Greene)
Alternate assessors Alternate county directors Alternate ORPTS members
Curtis Schoeberl (T. Shawangunk) Eric Axelsen (Dutchess)
Sue Otis (T. Malta-retired) Steve Harris (Chenango)

Active RPTAC teams and sub—committees 
Equalization project team (sub—committee)
Assessors County directors ORPTS
Colleen Adamec (T. Greenwich) Martine Gonyo (Clinton) Tim Maher
Todd Wiley (T. New Windsor) Randy Deal (Cortland) Tom Pinto (North)
Edye McCarthy (T. Greenburgh) Mike Sabansky (Delaware)
Curtis Schoeberl (T. Shawangunk) Jim Bastian (Seneca)
Tom Donato (V. Lake Success) Peter Galarneau (Fulton)
Martine Gonyo (Clinton)

Valuation issues and property class code team
Assessors County directors ORPTS
Patrick Duffy (T. of Manlius) Jay Franklin (Tompkins) Tara Hoffman (White Plains)
Josette Polzella, IAO (T. Ossining) Laura Van Valkenburg (Greene) Sheryl Klewicki (Melville)
Colleen Adamec (T. Greenwich) Martine Gonyo (Clinton) Julie Parker (North)
William Quick (Freemont) James Kirsch (Wyoming) Russ Sugg (Batavia)
Michael Sommer (Denning and Wawarsing)

Sales processing team
Assessors County directors ORPTS
Larry Quinn (T. Arcadia) Kevin Andrews (Genesse) Kim Manley
Christine Fusco (T. Clarence) Eric Axelson (Dutchess) Jack Conroy
Kandace Wittmeyer (T. of Marilla, Elma, West Seneca and Bennington) Charli Lewis (Essex)
Don Weber (Onondaga)

Public education subgroup
Assessors County directors ORPTS
Denise Trudell (T. Clayton, T. Montague, T. Osceola, T. Cape Vincent) Tom Bloodgood (Schuyler) Melanie Koch (Batavia)
Dave Marrano (T. Lancaster) Robin Johnson Meighan Reed (North)
Kandace Wittmeyer (T. of Marilla, Elma, West Seneca and Bennington)