Skip to main content
Department of Taxation and Finance

Real Property Tax Administration Committee

Thursday, October, 23, 2014, 10:00 a.m.–1:30 p.m.

The Hotel at Vernon Downs, 4229 Stuhlman Rd, Vernon, New York 

  • Facilitator:  Alan Kresge    
  • Recorder:  Alan Kresge and Pat Holland
Thursday afternoon
Item Results Lead Time
 Get organized Review minutes from last meeting and finalize. Alan Kresge 10:00–10:05
Review Action Items.
Review agenda and make necessary changes.
Property tax freeze Information sharing. Tim Maher 10:05–10:50 
STAR registration Information sharing. Tim Maher 10:50–11:20 
Small claims reform Information sharing. Todd Wiley 11:20–11:50
Break and lunch Option to go to buffet at hotel. 11:50–12:30
Village rates Information sharing. Todd Wiley 12:30–1:00
Data collection manual status update Information sharing. Pat Duffy 1:00–1:15
 Sub—group activity updates 
Valuation issues team  RPTAC brought up to date on sub-groups, discussion and next steps. Pat Holland 1:15–1:25
Property class code
Equalization project team 
Wrap up Meeting review. Alan Kresge 1:25–1:30
Meeting feedback.

RPTAC Members
Assessors County Directors ORPTS
J. Todd Wiley (T.  New Windsor) Paul Warneck (Jefferson) Tim Maher  (STAR)
Roger Tibbetts (T. Adams) Dawn Allen (Orleans) Pat Holland  (EVCS)
Paul Smith (T. Marcy) Suzette Booy (Columbia) Teresa Frank (Syracuse Regional Director)
Robert Criddle (T. Ogden) Jay Franklin (Tompkins) Joe Gerberg (Counsel's Office)
Dennis Ketcham (T. Montgomery) Tim Murphy (Monroe) Susan Savage (Asst Dpty Commissioner)
Patrick Duffy (T. Manlius) Steve Harris (Chenango)
Alternate assessors Alternate county directors Alternate ORPTS members
Curtis Schoeberl (T. Shawangunk) Laura Van Valkenburg (Greene)
Sue Otis (T. Malta-retired) Barry Baker (Hamilton)

Active RPTAC teams and sub—committees
Equalization project team (sub—committee)
Assessors County directors ORPTS
Colleen Adamec (T. Greenwich) Martine Gonyo (Clinton) Pat Holland
J. Todd Wiley (T. New Windsor) Randy Deal (Cortland) Tim Maher
Edye McCarthy (T. Greenburgh) Mike Sabansky (Delaware) Tom Pinto (North)
Curtis Schoeberl (T. Shawangunk) Jim Bastian (Seneca)
Tom Donato (V. Lake Success) Peter Galarneau (Fulton)
Martine Gonyo (Clinton)

Valuation issues and property class code team  
Assessors County directors ORPTS
Patrick Duffy (T. of Manlius) Jay Franklin (Tompkins) Tara Hoffman (White Plains)
Josette Polzella, IAO (T. Ossining) Laura Van Valkenburg (Greene) Sheryl Klewicki (Melville)
Colleen Adamec (T. Greenwich) Martine Gonyo (Clinton) Julie Parker (North)
William Quick (Freemont) James Kirsch (Wyoming) Russ Sugg (Batavia)
Michael Sommer (Denning and Wawarsing)

Sales processing team
Assessors County directors ORPTS
Larry Quinn (T. Arcadia) Kevin Andrews (Genesse) Pat Holland
Christine Fusco (T. Clarence) Eric Axelson (Dutchess) Kim Manley
Kandace Wittmeyer (T. of Marilla, Elma, West Seneca and Bennington) Charli Lewis (Essex) Jack Conroy
Don Weber (Onondaga)

Public education subgroup
Assessors County directors ORPTS
Denise Trudell (T. Clayton, T. Montague, T. Osceola, T. Cape Vincent) Tom Bloodgood (Schuyler) Melanie Koch (Batavia)
Dave Marrano (T. Lancaster) Robin Johnson Meighan Reed (North)
Kandace Wittmeyer (T. of Marilla, Elma, West Seneca and Bennington)