Skip to main content
Department of Taxation and Finance

Real Property Tax Administration Committee

  • Thursday, June 19, 2014, 1:00 p.m.–4:05 p.m.
  • Friday, June 20, 2014, 8:30 a.m.–10:45 a.m.

The Indigo Hotel - 254 Wolf Rd. (Rt. 155) Latham, NY, 12110

  • Facilitator:  Alan Kresge     
  • Recorder:  Jim McGovern
Thursday, June 19, 2014
Item Results Lead Time
a. Get organized Review minutes from last meeting and finalize. Alan Kresge 1:00–1:05
Review action items.
Review agenda and make necessary changes.
b. Agency update Information sharing. Susan Savage 1:05–1:10
c. RPSV5 Information sharing. Pat Holland 1:10–1:30
d. Property tax freeze Information sharing. Tim Maher 1:30–2:30
Break 2:30–2:45
e. STAR registration Information sharing. Tim Maher 2:45–3:45
f. Fiber optic cable and correction of errors Information sharing. Todd Wiley 3:45–4:00
g. First day wrap up Meeting review. Alan Kresge 4:00–4:05
Meeting feedback.
Friday, June 20, 2014
Item Results Lead Time
h. Get organized Review agenda and make necessary changes. Alan Kresge 8:30–8:35
i. RPTL section 420 a and b (not for profit) Clarification. Joe Gerberg 8:35–8:55
j. Veterans exemption for school districts—RPS update Information sharing. Todd Wiley 8:55–9:15
k. Electronic 5217 form—item 7 Information sharing. Todd Wiley 9:15–9:25
l. Sub—group activity updates
Valuation issues team RPTAC brought up to date on sub—groups, discussion and next steps. Pat Holland 9:25–9:40
Property class code
Equalization project team
m. Legislative update Information sharing. Paul Miller and Joe Gerberg 9:40–10:40
n. Second day wrap up  Meeting review. Alan Kresge 10:40–10:45
Meeting feedback.

RPTAC members
Assessors County directors ORPTS
J. Todd Wiley (T.  New Windsor) Paul Warneck (Jefferson) Tim Maher (STAR)
Cathy Conklin (T. Clarkstown) Dawn Allen (Orleans) Pat Holland (EVCS)
Paul Smith (T. Marcy) Suzette Booy (Columbia) Teresa Frank (Syracuse Regional Director)
Robert Criddle (T. Ogden) Jay Franklin (Tompkins) Joe Gerberg (Counsel's Office)
Dennis Ketcham (T. Montgomery) Tim Murphy (Monroe) Susan Savage (Asst Dpty Commissioner)
Patrick Duffy (T. Manlius) Steve Harris (Chenango)
Alternate assessors Alternate county directors Alternate ORPTS members
Curtis Schoeberl (T. Shawangunk) Laura Van Valkenburg (Greene)
Sue Otis (T. Malta-retired) Barry Baker (Hamilton)

Active RPTAC teams and sub—committees
Equalization project team (sub—committee)
Assessors County directors ORPTS
Colleen Adamec (T. Greenwich) Joanne Bosley (Saratoga) Pat Holland
J. Todd Wiley (T. New Windsor) Mike Sabansky (Delaware) Tim Maher
Edye McCarthy (T. Greenburgh) Jim Bastian (Seneca) Tom Pinto (North)
Curtis Schoeberl (T. Shawangunk) Jay Franklin (Tompkins)
Tom Donato (V. Lake Success) Martine Gonyo (Clinton)
Jeannete Tummons (Franklin)
John Shoemaker (Niagara)
Lynda Levine (Sullivan)

Valuation issues and property class code team
Assessors County directors ORPTS
Patrick Duffy (T. of Manlius) George Michaud (Putnam) Tara Hoffman (White Plains)
Josette Polzella, IAO (T. Ossining) Joe Pukos (Livingston) Sheryl Klewicki (Melville)
Colleen Adamec (T. Greenwich) Peter Galarneau (Fulton) Julie Parker (North)
William Quick (Freemont) Penny Wells-LaVelle (Suffolk, email only) Russ Sugg (Batavia)
Michael Sommer (Denning and Wawarsing) Mary Ann Barbuto (Herkimer, email only)

Sales processing team
Assessors County directors ORPTS
Larry Quinn (T. Arcadia) Tim Murphy (Monroe) Pat Holland
Christine Fusco (T. Clarence) Jay Franklin (Tompkins) Kim Manley
Kandace Wittmeyer (T. of Marilla, Elma, West Seneca and Bennington) Eric Axelson (Dutchess) Jack Conroy

Public education subgroup
Assessors County directors ORPTS
Denise Trudell (T. Clayton, T. Montague, T. Osceola, T. Cape Vincent) Tom Bloodgood (Schuyler) Melanie Koch (Batavia)
Dave Marrano (T. Lancaster) Robin Johnson Meighan Reed (North)
Kandace Wittmeyer (T. of Marilla, Elma, West Seneca and Bennington)