Skip to main content
Department of Taxation and Finance

Real Property Tax Administration Committee

Thursday, October 27, 2011 1:00 pm–4:35 pm, and Friday, October 28, 2011 8:30 am–11:50 am

Malta Town Hall, 2540 Rt. 9 Ballston Spa, NY 12020

  • Facilitator:  Alan Kresge    
  • Recorder:  Bonnie Hellum
Thursday, October 27, 2011
Item Results Lead Time
a. Get organized Review minutes from last meeting. Alan Kresge 1:00–1:05
Review action items.
Review agenda and make necessary changes.
Date and location.
b. Future meetings—location and time Information sharing. Susan Savage 1:05–1:35
c. Staffing update Information sharing. Susan Savage 1:35–1:50
d. Website demo Information sharing. Geoff Gloak 1:50–2:50
Break 2:50–3:05
e. Alternative for calculating equalization rates (issues and solutions) Information sharing. Curt Schoeberl 3:05–3:35
f. Physical media moratorium (media ability at regional offices)  Information sharing. Sue Otis and Pat Holland 3:35–3:55
g. Property tax collection by T and F Information sharing. Sue Otis and Susan Savage 3:55–4:25
h. First day wrap up Meeting review. Alan Kresge 4:25–4:35
Meeting feedback and Friday hand outs.
Friday, October 28, 2011
Item Results Lead Time 
i. Get organized Review agenda and make necessary changes. Alan Kresge 8:30–8:40
j. Future direction of RPTAC—committee not functioning as previously described Information sharing. Tim Murphy  8:40–9:20
k. Small claims procedures
Money cutbacks, hearing officers look for pre—settlements and do not follow law Information sharing. John McCarey 9:20–9:40
l.  Update on property tac cap Information sharing. Tim Maher 9:40–10:00
Break 10:00–10:15
m. Update on STAR 2% limit—RPS $500,000 limit Information sharing. Pat Holland 10:15–10:35
n. Sub—group activity updates
Valuation issues team  RPTAC brought up to date on sub—groups, discussion and next steps. Pat Holland, Beth Cervenack and Tony Ilacqua 11:05–11:45
Property class code
Equalization project team
Sales processing team
o. Meeting wrap up  Review action items and member responsibilities. Alan Kresge 11:45–11:50
Topics for next meeting.
Next meeting date and location.

RPTAC members
Assessors County directors ORPTS
Cathy Conklin (T. Clarkstown) Paul Warneck (Jefferson) Tim Maher (RSB)
Christine Fusco (T. Clarence) Dawn Allen (Orleans) Pat Holland (ECSB)
Tom Frey (NYS Assessor's Assoc.) John McCarey (Orange) Tom Bellard (VSB)
Mike Bernard (T. Babylon) Robin Johnson (Ontario) Teresa Frank (Syracuse Regional Director)
Randy Holcomb (Chautauqua multiple towns) Tim Murphy (Monroe) Joe Gerberg (Counsel's Office)
Sue Otis (T. Malta) Mike Swan (Warren) Susan Savage (Asst Dpty Commissioner)
Alternate assessors Alternate county directors Alternate ORPTS members
Curtis Schoeberl (T. Shawangunk) Laura Vanvalkenburg (Greene) Paul Szwedo (ECSB)

Active RPTAC teams and sub—committees
Equalization project team (sub—committee)
Assessors County directors ORPTS
Colleen Adamec (T. Greenwich) Lynda Levine (Sullivan) Pat Holland
J. Todd Wiley (T. New Windsor) Mike Sabansky (Delaware) Tim Maher
Edye McCarthy (T. Greenburgh) Stephen Harris (Chenango) Tom Pinto (North)
Curtis Schoeberl (T. Shawangunk)
Tom Donato (V. Lake Success)

Valuation issues team
Assessors County directors ORPTS
Patrick Duffy (T. of Manlius and W. Monroe) George Michaud (Putnam) Matt Riordan
Josette Polzella, IAO (T. Ossining) Joe Pukos (Livingston) Tara Hoffman (Newburgh)
Colleen Adamec (T. Greenwich) Laura Vanvalkenburg (Greene) Sheryl Klewicki (Melville)
Penny Wells-LaVelle (Suffolk, email only)
Mary Ann Barbuto (Herkimer, email only)

Sales processing team
Assessors County directors ORPTS
Larry Quinn (T. Arcadia) Tim Murphy (Monroe) Pat Holland
Christine Fusco (T. Clarence) Jay Franklin (Tompkins) Kim Manley
Kandace Wittmeyer (T. of Marilla, Elma, West Seneca and Bennington) Eric Axleson (Dutchess) Jack Conroy

Public education subgroup
Assessors County directors ORPTS
Denise Trudell (T. Clayton, T. Montague, T. Albion, T. Osceola, T. Orleans) Tom Bloodgood (Schuyler and Chemung) Melanie Koch (Batavia)
Dave Marrano (T. Lancaster) Robin Johnson Meighan Reed (North)
Kandace Wittmeyer (T. of Marilla, Elma, West Seneca and Bennington)

Property class code team
Assessors County directors ORPTS
Patrick Duffy (T. of Manlius and W. Monroe) Ressa Guarino
William Quick (Freemont) Russ Sugg (Batavia)
Michael Sommer (Denning, Wawarsing) Beth Cervenack (North)