Skip to main content
Department of Taxation and Finance

Real Property Tax Administration Committee

Wednesday, August 10, 2011, 1:00 pm–4:40 pm, and Thursday, August 11, 2011, 8:30 am–11:40 am

Malta Town Hall, 2540 Rt. 9 Ballston Spa, NY 12020

  • Facilitator:  Philly Reilly    
  • Recorder:  Bonnie Hellum
Wednesday, August 10, 2011
Item Results Lead Time
a. Get organized Review minutes from last meeting and finalize. Philly Reilly 1:00–1:05
Review action items.
Review agenda and make necessary changes.
Date and location.
b. Budget and staffing update Information sharing. Susan Savage 1:05–1:10
c. Sales process team—update in 5217 pilot projects Information sharing. Colleen Benson 1:10–1:40
d. Legislative update Information sharing. Joe Gerberg and Paul Miller 1:40–2:25
e. Tax bill wording (action item #90) does bill need to say "assessors' opinion of value?" Information sharing. Randy Holcomb 2:25–2:40
Break 2:40–2:55
f. Legal questions from locals
What is the process for assessors to get answers to legal questions? Information sharing. Sue Otis and Joe Gerberg 2:55–3:10
g. What is the process for establishment of rules, procedures and policies? Does the state board have a role in these areas? Information sharing. Joe Gerberg 3:10–3:25
h. Property tax cap
Implementation of new law Information sharing and discussion. Tim Maher 3:25–3:45
Calculation of tax base growth factors
i. Electronic RPT 
Implementing new legislation that authorizes E—RPT Information sharing. Tim Maher 3:45–4:15
j. Integration of ORPS website to DTF website Information sharing. Geoff Gloak 4:15–4:30
k. First day wrap up Meeting review Philly Reilly 4:30–4:40
Meeting feedback and Thursday's hand outs.
Thursday, August 11, 2011
Item Results Lead Time 
l. Get organized Review agenda and make necessary changes. Philly Reilly 8:30–8:40
m. Sub—group activity updates
Valuation issues team RPTAC brought up to date on sub—groups, discussion and next steps. Pat Holland, Beth Cervenack and Tony Ilacqua 8:40–8:55
Property class code
Equalization project team 
n. Training update Information sharing. Paul Szwedo 8:55–9:40
o. STAR ($500,000 income limit and 2% savings cap)
Update on status Information sharing and feedback. Pat Holland 9:40–10:40
Correction process
Plans for 2012
Break 10:40–10:55
p. STAR—how can we identify and eliminate fraud in 2012? Information sharing. Tim Maher 10:55–11:25
q. Uniform assessment standards—update on outreach effort Information sharing. Sue Otis and Robin Johnson 11:25–11:35
r. Meeting wrap up Review action items and member responsibilities. Philly Reilly  11:35–11:40
Topics for next meeting.
Next meeting date and location.

RPTAC members
Assessors County directors ORPTS
Cathy Conklin (T. Clarkstown) Paul Warneck (Jefferson) Tim Maher (RSB)
Christine Fusco (T. Clarence) Dawn Allen (Orleans) Pat Holland (ECSB)
Tom Frey (NYS Assessor's Assoc.) John McCarey (Orange) Tom Bellard (VSB)
Mike Bernard (T. Babylon) Robin Johnson (Ontario) Teresa Frank (Syracuse Regional Director)
Randy Holcomb (Chautauqua and multiple towns) Tim Murphy (Monroe) Joe Gerberg (Counsel's Office)
Sue Otis (T. Malta) Mike Swan (Warren) Susan Savage (Asst Dpty Commissioner)
Alternate assessors Alternate county directors Alternate ORPTS members
Curtis Schoeberl (T. Shawangunk) Laura Vanvalkenburg (Greene) Paul Szwedo (ECSB)

Active RPTAC teams and sub—committees
Equalization project team (sub—committee)
Assessors County directors ORPTS
Colleen Adamec (T. Greenwich) Lynda Levine (Sullivan) Pat Holland
J. Todd Wiley (T. New Windsor) Mike Sabansky (Delaware) Tim Maher
Edye McCarthy (T. Greenburgh) Stephen Harris (Chenango) Tom Pinto (North)
Curtis Schoeberl (T. Shawangunk)
Tom Donato (V. Lake Success)

Valuation issues team
Assessors County directors ORPTS
Patrick Duffy (T. of Manlius and W. Monroe) George Michaud (Putnam) Matt Riordan
Josette Polzella, IAO (T. Ossining) Joe Pukos (Livingston) Tara Hoffman (Newburgh)
Colleen Adamec (T. Greenwich) Laura Vanvalkenburg (Greene) Sheryl Klewicki (Melville)
Penny Wells-LaVelle (Suffolk, email only)
Mary Ann Barbuto (Herkimer, email only)

Sales processing team
Assessors County directors ORPTS
Larry Quinn (T. Arcadia) Tim Murphy (Monroe) Pat Holland
Christine Fusco (T. Clarence) Jay Franklin (Tompkins) Kim Manley
Kandace Wittmeyer (T. of Marilla, Elma, West Seneca and Bennington) Eric Axleson (Dutchess) Jack Conroy

Public education subgroup
Assessors County directors ORPTS
Denise Trudell (T. Clayton, T. Montague, T. Albion, T. Osceola, T. Orleans) Tom Bloodgood (Schuyler and Chemung) Melanie Koch (Batavia)
Dave Marrano (T. Lancaster) Robin Johnson Meighan Reed (North)
Kandace Wittmeyer (T. of Marilla, Elma, West Seneca and Bennington)

Property class code team
Assessors County directors ORPTS
Patrick Duffy (T. of Manlius and W. Monroe) Ressa Guarino
William Quick (Freemont) Russ Sugg (Batavia)
Michael Sommer (Denning and Wawarsing) Beth Cervenack (North)