Skip to main content
Department of Taxation and Finance

Real Property Tax Administration Committee

Wednesday, February 9, 2011, 1:00 pm–4:15 pm , and Thursday, February 10, 2011, 8:30 am–12:00 pm

Malta Town Hall, 2540 Rt. 9 Ballston Spa, NY 12020

  • Facilitator: Alan Kresge
  • Recorder: Geoff Gloak
Wednesday, February 9, 2011
Item Results Lead Time
a. Get organized Review minutes from last meeting and finalize. Alan Kresge 1:00–1:05
Review action items.
Review agenda and make necessary changes.
b. Budget and legislative update Information sharing. Vic Mallison, Joe Gerberg and Paul Miller 1:05–2:05
c. NYS assessors association—legislative agenda Information sharing. Sue Otis 2:05–2:35
Break 2:35–2:50
d.  Uniform assessment standards
Update on outreach effort Information sharing. Sue Otis and Robin Johnson 2:50–3:20
e. State aid rules—status update Information sharing. Paul Szwedo 3:20–3:30
f. V5 status update Information sharing. Greg Kidd 3:30–3:40
g. Update 5217 and TP584 project Information sharing. Pat Holland 3:40–4:10
h. First day wrap up Meeting review. Alan Kresge 4:10–4:15
Meeting feedback and Thursday hand outs.
Thursday February 10, 2011
Item Results Lead Time
i. Get organized Review agenda and make necessary changes. Alan Kresge 8:30–8:40
j. Sub—group activity updates
Valuation issues team RPTAC brought up to date on sub—groups, discussion and next steps. C. VanGaasbeek, Pat Holland, Beth Cervenack and Dave Marrano 8:40–9:30
Sales processing team
Property class code
Public education subgroup—discuss committee membership
Equalization project team
k. Basic STAR income limit—eligibility Information sharing and feedback. Pat Holland 9:30–11:00
Margaret Sherman (deputy commissioner office of processing and taxpayer services will attend this topic)
Break 11:00–11:15
l. STAR exemption flyer Information sharing. Mike Bernard 11:15–11:45
m. ORPTS education and delivery—ag. course Information sharing. Vic Mallison 11:45–11:55
n. Meeting wrap up Review action items and member responsibilities. Alan Kresge 11:55–12:00
Topics for next meeting.
Next meeting date and location.

RPTAC members
Assessors County directors ORPTS
Cathy Conklin (T. Clarkstown) Laura Vanvalkenburg (Greene) Vic Mallison (Acting Deputy Commissioner)
Christine Fusco (T. Clarence) Dawn Allen (Orleans and Rockland) Tim Maher (RSB)
Tom Frey (NYS Assessor's Association) John McCarey (Orange) Pat Holland (ECSB)
Mike Bernard (T. Babylon) Robin Johnson (Ontario) Tom Bellard (VSB)
Randy Holcomb (Chautauqua Co and multiple towns) Tim Murphy (Monroe) Teresa Frank (Syracuse Regional Director)
Sue Otis (T. Malta) Mike Swan (Warren) Joe Gerberg (Counsel's Office)
Alternate assessors Alternate county directors Alternate ORPTS members
Curtis Schoeberl (T. Shawangunk) Paul Warneck (Jefferson) Paul Szwedo (ECSB)

Active RPTAC teams and sub—committees
Equalization project team (sub—committee)
Assessors County directors ORPTS
Colleen Adamec (T. Greenwich) Shirley Bernet (Wayne) Tim Maher
J. Todd Wiley (T. New Windsor) Lynda Levine (Sullivan) Pat Holland
Edye McCarthy (T. Greenburgh) Frank Curtis (Rensselaer) Tom Pinto (North)
Curtis Schoeberl (T. Shawangunk) Mike Sabansky (Delaware)
Tom Frey (NYS Assessor's Assoc) Stephen Harris(Chenango)
Denise Trudell (T. Orleans)
Tom Donato (V. Lake Success)

Valuation issues team
Assessors County directors ORPTS
Dennis Ketcham IAO (T. Montgomery and Mount Hope) George Michaud (Putnam) Chester VanGaasbeek
Patrick Duffy (T. of Manlius and W. Monroe) Joe Pukos (Livingston) Matt Riordan
Josette Polzella IAO (T. Ossining) Caryn Kolts (Lewis) Tara Hoffman (Newburgh)
Colleen Adamec (T. Greenwich) Laura Vanvalkenburg (Greene) Sheryl Klewicki (Melville)
Penny Wells-LaVelle (Suffolk, email only)
Mary ann Barbuto (Herkimer, email only)

Sales processing team
Assessors County directors ORPTS
Larry Quinn (T. Arcadia) Tim Murphy (Monroe) Pat Holland
Eileen Kelly (T. Goshen) Jay Franklin (Tompkins) Kim Manley
Christine Fusco (T. Lancaster) Karen Carney (Onondaga) Mary Ilacqua (Syracuse)
Jack Conroy

Public education subgroup
Assessors County directors ORPTS
Denise Trudell (T. Clayton, T. Montague, T. Albion, T. Osceola, T. Orleans) Tom Bloodgood (Schuyler and Chemung) Mary Ilacqua (Syracuse)
Dave Marrano (T. Lancaster) Jane Powers (St. Lawrence)-retired Melanie Koch (Batavia)
Kandace Wittmeyer (T. of Marilla, Elma, West Seneca and Bennington) Meighan Reed (North)

Property class code team
Assessors County directors ORPTS
Patrick Duffy (T. of Manlius and W. Monroe) Kathleen Myers (Dutchess) Ressa Guarino
William Quick (Freemont) Russ Sugg
Michael Sommer (Denning and Wawarsing) Beth Cervenack