Skip to main content
Department of Taxation and Finance

Real Property Tax Administration

Thursday, June 4, 2009, 1:00 pm–4:30 pm, and Friday, June 5, 2009, 8:30 am–11:15 pm

Comfort Inn, 37 Rt. 9 Glenmont, New York 12077

  • Facilitator: Alan Kresge
  • Recorder: TBD
Thursday, June 4
Topic Desired outcome Lead Time
Get organized
  1. Introductions
  2. Review minutes from last meeting and finalize
  3. Review agenda and make necessary changes
  4. Action items reviewed
Alan Kresge 1:00–1:05 (5 min.)
a. Assessment Administration guide Finalize document Jim O'Keeffe, David Jackson, Sue Otis 1:053:05 (120 min.)
Break 3:053:20 (15 min.)
b. Oblique and orthogonal photography Information sharing Tim Maher, Jim O'Keeffe 3:203:50 (30 min.)

c. Reimbursement for training

  • recap last board meeting
  • thoughts and ideas on training in future
  1. Information sharing
  2. Feedback
Tim Maher 3:504:20 (30 min.)
1st day wrap-up
  1. Meeting review
  2. Meeting feedback, Friday hand-outs
Alan Kresge 4:204:30 (10 min.)
Friday, June 5
Topic Desired outcome Lead Time
Get organized Review agenda and make necessary changes Alan Kresge 8:308:40 (10 min.)

a. Legislative update

-Hearing on Real Property Assessment

  1. Information sharing
  2. Discussion, next steps
Paul Miller, Joe Gerberg, Gayle Everitt 8:409:00 (20 min.)

b. Sub-group activity updates

  1. Valuation Issues Team (10 min.)
  2. Sales Processing Team (10 min.)
    • Automated 5217 project
    • Sales review for RAR
  3. Property Class Code (10 min.)
  4. Public Education sub-group (10 min.)
  5. Equalization Project Team (10 min.)
    • 2009 Equalization rate update
  1. RPTAC brought up-to-date on sub-groups
  2. Discussion, next steps
Tim Maher, Steve Beals, Dave Shanley, Geoff Gloak 9:009:50 (50 min.)
Break 9:5010:05 (15 min.)
c. Budget update Information sharing Vic Mallison 10:0510:25 (20 min.)

d. Follow-up on the Bob Gloudeman's Study

  • How is ORPS going to proceed
  • Next steps
  1. Information sharing
  2. Next steps
Jim Dunne 10:2510:45 (20 min.)

e. RPS activities

  • Billings
  • RPS fees
  1. Information sharing
  2. Feedback
Tim Maher 10:4511:05 (20 min.)
Meeting wrap-up
  1. Review action items, member responsibilities
  2. Topics for next meeting
  3. Next meeting: Date and location
Alan Kresge 11:0511:15 (10 min.)

RPTAC Members
Assessors County Directors ORPS
Cathy Conklin (T. Clarkstown) David Hastings (Oswego) Lee Kyriacou (Executive Director)
Timothy Sheares (Nassau County) David Jackson (Westchester) Vic Mallison (Deputy Executive Director)
Tom Frey (NYS Assessor's Association) John McCarey (Orange) Jim O'Keeffe (Acting Counsel)
Peggy Jenkins (T. Moreau) Robin Johnson (Ontario) Richard Harris (Director of Operations)
Lawrence Quinn (T. Arcadia ) Tim Murphy (Monroe) Dave Williams (RCSD)
Sue Otis (T. Malta) #6: Rotating assignment Tim Maher (CSS)
Alternate Assessors Alternate County Directors Alternate ORPS Members
Christine Fusco (T. Clarence) Dennis Jersey (ITS)
Curtis Schoeberl (T. Schwangunk) Tom Bellard (Central Valuation Unit)
Don Card (SVS)

Active RPTAC teams and sub-committees

Equalization project team (sub-committee)
Assessors County Directors ORPS
Colleen Adamec (T. Greenwich) John Noto (Rockland) Hung Kay Lo
J. Todd Wiley (T. New Windsor) Lynda Levine (Sullivan) Tim Maher
Edye McCarthy (T. Greenburgh) Frank Curtis (Rensselaer) Pat Holland
Curtis Schoeberl (T. Shawangunk) Mike Sabansky (Wyoming) Tom Pinto (North)
Tom Frey (NYS Assessor's Assoc)
Denise Trudell (T. Orleans)

Valuation issues team
Assessors County Directors ORPS
Dennis Ketcham IAO (T. Montgomery & Mount Hope) George Michaud (Putnam) Steve Beals
Rosalie Fahey (T. Glenville) Dave Hastings (Oswego) Matt Riordan
Josette Polzella IAO (T. Ossining) Caryn Kolts (Lewis) Tara Hoffman (Newburgh)
Colleen Adamec (T. Greenwich) Florence Stanton (Montgomery) Sheryl Klewicki (Melville)
Penny Wells-LaVelle (Suffolk, email only)
Mary ann Barbuto (Herkimer, email only)


Sales processing team
Assessors County Directors ORPS
Larry Quinn (T. Arcadia) Tim Murphy (Monroe) Tim Maher
Eileen Kelly (T. Goshen) Jay Franklin (Tompkins) Kim Manley
Christine Fusco (T. Lancaster) Karen Carney (Onondaga) Mary Ilacqua (Syracuse)

Public education sub-group
Assessors County Directors ORPS
Randy Holcomb (C. Jamestown, T. Busti, T. Carroll, T. Chautauqua, T. Ellery, T. Kiantone, T. North Harmony, T. Harmony) Tom Bloodgood (Schuyler, Chemung) Geoff Gloak
Denise Trudell (T. Clayton, T. Montague, T. Albion, T. Osceola, T. Orleans Jane Powers (St. Lawrence) Patti Valvo (Batavia)
Mary Ilacqua (Syracuse)

Property class code team
Assessors County Directors ORPTS
Sue Otis (T. Malta) George Michaud(Putnam) Dave Shanley
Patrick Duffy (T. Manlius) Dave Hastings (Oswego) Reesa Guarino
Peter Galarneau (C. Lockport) Caryn Kolts (Lewis) Russ Sugg
Florence Stanton (Montgomery)
Penny Wells-LaVelle (Suffolk, email only)
Mary Ann Barbuto (Herkimer, email only)