Skip to main content
Department of Taxation and Finance

Real Property Tax Administration

Thursday, January 8, 2009, 1:00 pm–5:00 pm, and Friday, January 9, 2009, 8:30 am–12:40 pm

Clarion Hotel, 3 Watervliet Ave. Ext. Albany, New York 12206

  • Facilitator: Alan Kresge
  • Recorder: Bonnie Brechbill
Thursday, January 8
Topic Desired outcome Lead Time
Get organized
  1. Introductions
  2. Minutes format review
  3. Review agenda and make necessary changes
  4. Action items reviewed
Alan Kresge 1:00–1:10 (10 min.)

a. Budget update:

  • STAR
  • Tax and Finance hosting
  • Training reimbursement
Information sharing Vic Mallison 1:10–1:40 (30 min.)
b. Grant program status
  1. RPTAC is brought up-to-date on activity
  2. Discussion, next steps
Dave Williams 1:40–1:55 (15 min.)
c. Legislative update
  1. Information sharing
  2. Discussion, next steps
Paul Miller, Joe Gerberg, Gayle Everitt 1:55–2:25 (30 min.)
d. Report out on exemption report implementation
  1. Information sharing
  2. Feedback
Tim Maher 2:25–2:35 (10 min.)
e. MJW Consulting, Inc. review
  1. Information sharing
  2. Feedback
Jim O'Keeffe 2:35–2:50 (15 min.)
Break 2:50–3:05 (15 min.)

f. Sub-group activity updates:

-Five sub-groups (Eq. Project team, Valuation Issues team, Sales Processing team, Property Class Code and Public Education Sub-group) report out

  1. RPTAC brought up-to-date on sub-groups
  2. Discussion, next steps
Tim Maher, Steve Beals, Dave Shanley, Geoff Gloak 3:05–4:05 (60 min.)

g. Training Governance:

-Revisions to Charter

  1. Information sharing
  2. Feedback
Jim O'Keeffe 4:05–4:20 (15 min.)

h. Publication of assessment equity statistics:

-reassessment vs. non-reassessment

  1. Information sharing
  2. Feedback
Kathleen Meyers, David Jackson 4:20–4:35 (15 min.)

i. Bob Gloudeman's study

-COD Standards

  1. Information sharing
  2. Feedback
Jim Dunne 4:35–4:45 (10 min.)
j. RPS Governance—Fee structure
  1. Information sharing
  2. Feedback
Rick Hubner 4:45–4:55 (10 min.)
1st day wrap-up
  1. Meeting review
  2. Meeting feedback, Friday hand-outs
Alan Kresge 4:55–5:00 (5 min.)
Friday, January 9
Topic Desired outcome Lead Time
Get organized Housekeeping: Recap Thursday's agenda Alan Kresge 8:30–8:40 (10 min.)

a. Uniform assessment code

-Groups shares work done to date and consolidates ideas into working document

  1. Information sharing
  2. Consensus
Jim O'Keeffe, David Jackson, Larry Quinn 8:40–11:40 (20 min.)
b. Property tax cap, system reform
  1. Information sharing
  2. Feedback
Lee Kyriacou 11:40–12:00 (90 min.)

c. Assessment review process

-General discussion

  1. Information sharing
  2. Feedback
Jim O'Keeffe 12:00–12:30 (30 min.)
Meeting wrap-up
  1. Review action items, member responsibilities
  2. Topics for next meeting
  3. Next meeting: Date and location
  4. How did we do? (Feedback, comment form)
  5. More CD and assessor participation, lead, facilitation
Alan Kresge 12:30–12:40 (10 min.)

RPTAC Members
Assessors County Directors ORPS
Cathy Conklin (T. Clarkstown) David Hastings (Oswego) Lee Kyriacou (Executive Director)
Timothy Sheares (Nassau County) David Jackson (Westchester) Vic Mallison (Deputy Executive Director)
Tom Frey (NYS Assessor's Association) John McCarey (Orange) Jim O'Keeffe (Acting Counsel)
Rick Hubner (T. Warwick) Robin Johnson (Ontario) Richard Harris (Director of Operations)
Peggy Jenkins (T. Moreau) Tim Murphy (Monroe) Dave Williams (RCSD)
Lawrence Quinn (T. Arcadia ) #6: Rotating assignment Tim Maher (CSS)
Alternate Assessors Alternate County Directors Alternate ORPS Members
Christine Fusco (T. Clarence) Dennis Jersey (ITS)
Curtis Schoeberl (T. Schwangunk) Tom Bellard (Central Valuation Unit)
Don Card (SVS)

Active RPTAC teams and sub-committees

Equalization project team (sub-committee)
Assessors County Directors ORPS
Colleen Adamec (T. Greenwich) John Noto (Rockland) Hung Kay Lo
J. Todd Wiley (T. New Windsor) Lynda Levine (Sullivan) Tim Maher
Edye McCarthy (T. Greenburgh) Frank Curtis (Rensselaer) Pat Holland
Curtis Schoeberl (T. Shawangunk) Mike Sabansky (Wyoming) Tom Pinto (North)
Tom Frey (NYS Assessor's Assoc)
Denise Trudell (T. Orleans)

Valuation issues team
Assessors County Directors ORPS
Dennis Ketcham IAO (T. Montgomery & Mount Hope) George Michaud (Putnam) Steve Beals
Rosalie Fahey (T. Glenville) Dave Hastings (Oswego) Matt Riordan
Josette Polzella IAO (T. Ossining) Caryn Kolts (Lewis) Tara Hoffman (Newburgh)
Colleen Adamec (T. Greenwich) Florence Stanton (Montgomery) Sheryl Klewicki (Melville)
Penny Wells-LaVelle (Suffolk, email only)
Mary ann Barbuto (Herkimer, email only)


Sales processing team
Assessors County Directors ORPS
Larry Quinn (T. Arcadia) Tim Murphy (Monroe) Tim Maher
Eileen Kelly (T. Goshen) Jay Franklin (Tompkins) Kim Manley
Christine Fusco (T. Lancaster) Karen Carney (Onondaga) Mary Ilacqua (Syracuse)

Public education sub-group
Assessors County Directors ORPS
Randy Holcomb (C. Jamestown, T. Busti, T. Carroll, T. Chautauqua, T. Ellery, T. Kiantone, T. North Harmony, T. Harmony) Tom Bloodgood (Schuyler/Chemung) Geoff Gloak
Denise Trudell (T. Clayton, T. Montague, T. Albion, T. Osceola, T. Orleans Jane Powers (St. Lawrence) Patti Valvo (Batavia)
Mary Ilacqua (Syracuse)

Property class code team
Assessors County Directors ORPTS
Sue Otis (T. Malta) George Michaud(Putnam) Dave Shanley
Patrick Duffy (T. Manlius) Dave Hastings (Oswego) Reesa Guarino
Peter Galarneau (C. Lockport) Caryn Kolts (Lewis) Russ Sugg
Florence Stanton (Montgomery)
Penny Wells-LaVelle (Suffolk, email only)
Mary Ann Barbuto (Herkimer, email only)