Skip to main content
Department of Taxation and Finance

Real Property Tax Administration

Thursday, September 18, 2008, 1:00 pm–4:45 pm, and Friday, September 19, 2008, 8:30 am–12:35 pm

Clarion Hotel, 3 Watervliet Ave. Ext. Albany, New York 12206

  • Facilitator: Alan Kresge
  • Recorder: Bonnie Brechbill
Thursday, September 18
Topic Desired outcome Lead Time
Get organized
  1. Introductions: Vic, Bonnie
  2. Minutes reviewed and approved
  3. Review agenda and make necessary changes
  4. Action items reviewed
Alan Kresge 1:00–1:15 (15 min.)

a. Budget update:

-Managing cuts

Information sharing

Vic Mallison 1:15–1:35 (20 min.)
b. Grant program status
  1. RPTAC is brought up-to-date on activity
  2. Discussion, next steps
Dave Williams 1:35–1:50 (15 min.)

c. Legislative update:

-Wrap up of 2008 session

  1. Information Sharing
  2. Discussion, next steps
Paul Miller, Joe Gerberg, Gayle Everitt 1:50–2:20 (30 min.)
d. New changes to FOIL
  1. Information sharing
  2. Fedback
Steve Harrison 2:20–2:50 (15 min.)
Break 2:50–3:05 (15 min.)

e. Legal issues:

  • Assessment correction process
  • STAR, 467 exemption conflicts (ownership requirements)
  1. Clarification of statutes
  2. Identify inconsistencies
Joe Gerberg, Steve Harrison 3:05–3:35 (30 min.)
f. New RAR process
  1. Information Sharing
  2. Feedback
Tim Maher 3:35–4:05 (30 min.)

g. Sub-group activity updates

Five sub-groups (Eq. Project team, Valuation Issues team, Sales Processing team, Property Class Code and Public Education Sub-group) report out

  1. RPTAC brought up-to-date on sub-groups
  2. Discussion, next steps
Tim Maher, Matt Riordan, Dave Shanley, Geoff Gloak 4:05–4:35 (30 min.)
1st day wrap-up
  1. Meeting review
  2. Meeting feedback, Friday hand-outs
Alan Kresge 4:35–4:45 (10 min.)
Friday, September 19
Topic Desired outcome Lead Time
Get organized Housekeeping: Recap of Thursday's agenda Alan Kresge 8:30–8:40 (10 min.)

a. Technology Initiatives

  • 5217 process
  • RPS
  • Centralization of data
Share ideas Tim Maher 8:40–9:00 (20 min.)

b. Uniform assessment code

Group shares work done to date and seeks ideas for code

  1. Information sharing
  2. Brainstorming
Jim O'Keeffe, David Jackson, Larry Quinn 9:00–10:30 (90 min.)
Break 10:30–10:45 (15 min.)

c. Training governance

-Future structure

  1. Information sharing
  2. Feedback
Lee Kyriacou 10:45–11:00 (15 min.)
d. Property tax cap and system reform
  1. Information sharing
  2. Feedback
Lee Kyriacou 11:00–11:20 (20 min.)

e. Assessment review process

-General discussion

  1. Information sharing
  2. Feedback
Jim O'Keeffe 11:20–11:35 (15 min.)
f. Exemption report requirements
  1. Information sharing
  2. Feedback
Jim O'Keeffe 11:35–11:50 (15 min.)

g. Bob Gloudeman's study

COD Standards

  1. Information sharing
  2. Feedback
Dave Williams 11:50–12:05 (15 min.)
Meeting wrap-up
  1. Review action items: member responsibilities
  2. Topics for next meeting
  3. Next meeting: Date and Location
  4. How did we do? (Feedback, comment form)
Alan Kresge 12:05–12:15 (10 min.)

RPTAC Members
Assessors County Directors ORPS
Cathy Conklin (T. Clarkstown) David Hastings (Oswego) Lee Kyriacou (Executive Director)
Timothy Sheares (Nassau County) David Jackson (Westchester) Vic Mallison (Deputy Executive Director)
Tom Frey (NYS Assessor's Association) Kathleen Myers (Dutchess) Jim O'Keeffe (Acting Counsel)
Rick Hubner (T. Warwick) Robin Johnson (Ontario) Richard Harris (Director of Operations)
William Quick (T. Freemont) Tim Murphy (Monroe) Dave Williams (RCSD)
Lawrence Quinn (T. Arcadia ) #6: Rotating assignment Tim Maher (CSS)
Alternate Assessors Alternate County Directors Alternate ORPS Members
Peggy Jenkins (Town of Moreau) Dennis Jersey (ITS)
Curtis Schoeberl (T. Schwangunk) Tom Bellard (Central Valuation Unit)
Don Card (SVS)

Active RPTAC teams and sub-committees

Equalization project team (sub-committee)
Assessors County Directors ORPS
Colleen Adamec (T. Greenwich) John Noto (Rockland) Hung Kay Lo
J. Todd Wiley (T. New Windsor) Lynda Levine (Sullivan) Tim Maher
Edye McCarthy (T. Greenburgh) Frank Curtis (Rensselaer) Pat Holland
Curtis Schoeberl (T. Shawangunk) Mike Sabansky (Wyoming) Tom Pinto (North)
Tom Frey (NYS Assessor's Assoc)
Denise Trudell (T. Orleans)

Valuation issues team
Assessors County Directors ORPS
Mario Arevalo (C. Oneonta) Valeria Coggin (Tompkins) Steve Beals
Rosalie Fahey (T. Glenville) Jim Gonyo (Clinton) Matt Riordan
Edye McCarthy (T. Greenburgh) Dave Hastings (Oswego) Tara Hoffman (Newburgh)
Colleen Adamec (T. Greenwich) George Michaud (Putnam) Sheryl Klewicki (Melville)


Sales processing team
Assessors County Directors ORPS
Larry Quinn (T. Arcadia) Tim Murphy (Monroe) Tim Maher
Eileen Kelly (T. Goshen) Jay Franklin (Tompkins) Kim Manley
Christine Fusco (T. Lancaster) Karen Carney (Onondaga) Mary Ilacqua (Syracuse)

Public education sub-group
Assessors County Directors ORPS
Randy Holcomb (C. Jamestown, T. Busti, T. Carroll, T. Chautauqua, T. Ellery, T. Kiantone, T. North Harmony, T. Harmony) Tom Bloodgood (Schuyler/Chemung) Geoff Gloak
Denise Trudell (T. Clayton, T. Montague, T. Albion, T. Osceola, T. Orleans Jane Powers (St. Lawrence) Patti Valvo (Batavia)
Mary Ilacqua (Syracuse)

Property class code team
Assessors County Directors ORPS
Sue Otis (T. Malta) Kathleen Myers (Dutchess) Dave Shanley
Patrick Duffy (T. Manlius) Reesa Guarino
Peter Galarneau (C. Lockport) Russ Sugg