Skip universal navigation
Skip to main content

Department of Taxation and Finance

Real Property Tax Administration

Thursday - April 10, 2008 (1:00pm - 4:30pm) & Friday - April 11, 2008 (8:30am- 10:00am)
Clarion Hotel, 3 Watervliet Ave. Ext. Albany, New York 12206


Thursday Afternoon





Get Organized,
What's New,
Review Action Items

1.) Minutes reviewed and approved
2.) Review agenda and make necessary changes
3.) Action Items clarified & brought up-to-date

Alan Kresge

1:00 - 1:10
(10 min.)

a. Leadership Updates:

1.) Information Sharing
2.) Discussion

Steve King

1:10 – 1:20
(10 min.)

b. b. Legislation / Budget Updates

1.) Information Sharing
2.) Discussion

Jim O'Keeffe/ Steve King

1:20 – 1:40
(20 min.)

c. Lawsuit on the State paying taxes on State Owned Land.

1.) Update
2.) Discussion

Jim O'Keeffe

1:40 – 1:50
(10 min.)

c. Sub-Group Activity Updates
- Five Sub-groups (Eq. Project Team, Valuation Issues Team, Sales Processing Team, Public Education Sub-group and Property Class Code Team) report out

1.) RPTAC brought up-to-date on sub-groups
2.) Discussion/next steps

Tim Maher, Steve Beals, Dave Shanley, Geoff Gloak/Mary Ilacqua

1:50 – 2:30
(40 min.)

d. COD Standards

1.) Information Sharing
2.) Discussion

Jim Dunne

2:30 – 3:00
(30 min.)


(15 min.)

3:00 – 3:15

e. Middle Class STaR Rebate Program

1.) RPTAC is brought up-to-date on program
2.) Discussion/next steps

Tim Maher

3:15 – 3:35
(20 min.)

f. Senior Citizen Exemption / Simplify definition of income
- Easier way to determine if a senior qualifies for the exemption.
- Line item on income tax return, or an easier rule for income.

1.) Discussion
2.) Next steps

Mike Swan

3:35 – 4:00
(25 min.)

g. Grant Program

1.) RPTAC is brought up-to-date on activity
2.) Discussion/next steps

Steve King

4:00 – 4:20
(20 min.)

1st Day Wrap-up

1.) Meeting Review
2.) Meeting Feedback / Fri. Hand-outs

Alan Kresge

4:20 – 4:30
(10 min.)

Friday Morning





Get organized

1.) Housekeeping - Recap Thursday's agenda
2.) Clarify Thursday's Action Items (if needed)

Alan Kresge

8:30 – 8:45
(15 min.)

Report out from Executive Director: My first 6 months
- How do you see ORPS Role? Service vs. Regulatory
- Suozzi Commission (what's going on, issues, meetings, involvement with group)
- ORPS Technology Vision


Lee Kyriacou

8:45 – 9:45
(60 min.)

Meeting Wrap Up

1.) Review Action Items / member responsibilities
2.) Next Meeting - Date / Location
3.) How did we do? (Feedback / Comment Form)

Alan Kresge

9:45 – 10:00
(15 min.)

RPTAC Members


County Directors


Cathy Conklin (T. Clarkstown)

David Hastings (Oswego)

Lee Kyriacou (Executive Director)

Timothy Sheares (Nassau County)

David Jackson (Westchester)

Steve King (Deputy Executive Director)

Tom Frey (NYS Assessor's Association)

Kathleen Myers (Dutchess)

Jim O'Keeffe (Acting Counsel)

Rick Hubner (T. Warwick)

Robin Johnson (Ontario)

Richard Harris (Director of Operations)

William Quick (T. Freemont)

Carol Holley (Saratoga)

Dave Williams (RCSD)

Lawrence Quinn (T. Arcadia )

Michael Swan (Warren)

Tim Maher (CSS)

Alternate Assessors

Alternate County Directors

Alternate ORPS Members

Peggy Jenkins (Town of Moreau)

Jim Gonyo (Clinton)

Dennis Jersey (ITS)

Curtis Schoeberl (T. Schwangunk)

Nicholas Barber (Schenectady)

Tom Bellard (Central Valuation Unit)



Don Card (SVS)

Active RPTAC Teams / Sub-committees

Equalization Project Team (Sub-committee)



County Directors


Walter Smead (T. Clifton Park)

John Noto (Rockland)

Hung Kay Lo

J. Todd Wiley (T. New Windsor)

Lynda Levine (Sullivan)

Tim Maher

Edye McCarthy (T. Greenburgh)

Frank Curtis (Rensselaer)

Pat Holland

Curtis Schoeberl (T. Shawangunk)

Rick Dean (Wyoming)

Tom Pinto (North)

Tom Frey (NYS Assessor's Assoc)

Mike Sabansky (Delaware)


Denise Trudell (T. Orleans)



Valuation Issues Team



County Directors


Mario Arevalo (C. Oneonta)

Valeria Coggin (Tompkins)

Steve Beals

Rosalie Fahey (T. Glenville)

Jim Gonyo (Clinton)

Matt Riordan

Edye McCarthy (T. Greenburgh)

Dave Hastings (Oswego)

Tara Hoffman (Newburgh)

Colleen Adamec (T. Greenwich)

George Michaud (Putnam)

Sheryl Klewicki (Melville)

Sales Processing Team



County Directors


Larry Quinn (T. Arcadia)

Tim Murphy (Monroe)

Tim Maher

Eileen Kelly (T. Goshen)

Jay Franklin (Tompkins)

Kim Manley

Christine Fusco (T. Lancaster)

Karen Carney (Onondaga)

Mary Ilacqua (Syracuse)

Public Education Subgroup



County Directors


Randy Holcomb (C. Jamestown, T. Busti, T. Carroll, T. Chautauqua, T. Ellery, T. Kiantone, T. North Harmony, T. Harmony)

Tom Bloodgood (Schuyler/Chemung)

Geoff Gloak

Denise Trudell (T. Clayton, T. Montague, T. Albion, T. Osceola, T. Orleans

Jane Powers (St. Lawrence)

Patti Valvo (Batavia)



Mary Ilacqua (Syracuse)

Property Class Code Team



County Directors


Sue Otis (T. Malta)

Kathleen Myers (Dutchess) Dave Shanley

Patrick Duffy (T. Manlius)

Reesa Guarino

Peter Galarneau (C. Lockport)

Russ Sugg