Skip universal navigation
Skip to main content

Department of Taxation and Finance

Real Property Tax Administration

Thursday - January 17, 2008 (1:00pm - 5:00pm) & Friday - January 18, 2008 (8:30am- 11:30am)
Clarion Hotel, 3 Watervliet Ave. Ext. Albany, New York 12206


Thursday Afternoon





Get Organized,
What's New,
Review Action Items

1.) Introduce new Executive Director
2.)Minutes reviewed and approved
3.)Review agenda and make necessary changes
4.)Action Items clarified & brought up-to-date

Alan Kresge

1:00 - 1:10
(10 min.)

a. Leadership Updates:
- Budget update (if available)

1.) Information Sharing
2.) Next steps

Lee Kyriacou, Steve King

1:10 – 1:20
(10 min.)

b. Trade secrets
- Utility Reporting/FOIL

1.) Information Sharing
2.) Discussion/next steps

Jim O'Keeffe

1:20 – 1:30
(10 min.)

c. Ethics Course
- Who is doing training? Assessors / ORPS

1.) RPTAC is brought up-to-date on activity
2.) Discussion/next steps

Rick Hubner

1:30 – 2:00
(30 min.)

d. Real Property Tax Reform
- 2007-08 Centralized Property Tax Administration Program

1.) Information Sharing
2.) Discussion/next steps

Lee Kyriacou

2:00 – 3:30
(90 min.)


(15 min.)

3:30 – 3:45

e. Future of RPTAC
- What are our objectives?
- How can we be most effective?

1.) Discussion
2.) Next Steps

Lee Kyriacou Mike Swan Rick Hubner

3:45 – 4:45
(60 min.)

1st Day Wrap-up

1.) Review Action Items (add names & timeframes)
2.) Meeting Feedback / Fri. Hand-outs

Alan Kresge

4:45 – 5:00
(15 min.)

Friday Morning





Get organized

1.) Housekeeping - Recap Thursday's agenda
2.) Clarify Thursday's Action Items (if needed)

Alan Kresge

8:30 – 8:45
(15 min.)

g. Middle Class STaR Rebate Program

1.) RPTAC is brought up-to-date on program
2.) Discussion/next steps

Tim Maher

8:45 – 9:10
(25 min.)

h. Sub-Group Activity Updates
- Five Sub-groups (Eq. Project Team, Valuation Issues Team, Sales Processing Team and Public Education Sub-group) report out

1.) RPTAC brought up-to-date on sub-groups
2.) Discussion/next steps

Tim Maher, Steve Beals, Dave Shanley, Geoff Gloak/Mary Ilacqua

9:10 – 10:00
(50 min.)


(15 min.)

10:00 – 10:15

i. Agricultural Issues
- Cornell Study

1.) Information Sharing
2.) Discussion/next steps

Mark Twentyman

10:15 – 10:30
(15 min.)

j. Volume 6 - Assessor's Manual

1.) Information Sharing
2.) Discussion/next steps

Tom Bellard

10:30 – 11:45
(15 min.)

k. Legislative Update
- Senior citizen exemption / simplify definition of income

1.) Information Sharing
2.) Discussion/next steps

Paul Miller Joe Gerberg

10:45 – 10:55
(10 min.)

l. Other Issues
- Warren Co. Hydro Court Settlement

1.) Information Sharing
2.) Discussion/next steps


10:55 – 11:15
(20 min.)

Meeting Wrap Up

1.) Review Action Items / member responsibilities
2.) Next Meeting - Date / Location
3.) How did we do? (Feedback / Comment Form)

Alan Kresge

11:15 – 11:30
(15 min.)

RPTAC Members



County Directors


Cathy Conklin (T. Clarkstown)

David Hastings (Oswego)

Lee Kyriacou (Executive Director)

Timothy Sheares (Nassau County)

David Jackson (Westchester)

Steve King (Deputy Executive Director)

Tom Frey (NYS Assessor's Association)

Kathleen Myers (Dutchess)

Jim O'Keeffe (Acting Counsel)

Rick Hubner (T. Warwick)

Robin Johnson (Ontario)

Richard Harris (Director of Operations)

William Quick (T. Freemont)

Carol Holley (Saratoga)

Dave Williams (RCSD)

Lawrence Quinn (T. Arcadia )

Michael Swan (Warren)

Tim Maher (CSS)

Alternate Assessors

Alternate County Directors

Alternate ORPS Members

Peggy Jenkins (Town of Moreau)

Jim Gonyo (Clinton)

Dennis Jersey (ITS)

Curtis Schoeberl (T. Schwangunk)

Nicholas Barber (Schenectady)

Tom Bellard (Central Valuation Unit)



Don Card (SVS)

Active RPTAC Teams / Sub-committees

Equalization Project Team (Sub-committee)



County Directors


Walter Smead (T. Clifton Park)

John Noto (Rockland)

Hung Kay Lo

J. Todd Wiley (T. New Windsor)

Lynda Levine (Sullivan)

Tim Maher

Edye McCarthy (T. Greenburgh)

Frank Curtis (Rensselaer)

Pat Holland

Curtis Schoeberl (T. Shawangunk)

Rick Dean (Wyoming)

Tom Pinto (North)

Tom Frey (NYS Assessor's Assoc)

Mike Sabansky (Delaware)


Denise Trudell (T. Orleans)



Valuation Issues Team



County Directors


Mario Arevalo (C. Oneonta)

Valeria Coggin (Tompkins)

Steve Beals

Rosalie Fahey (T. Glenville)

Jim Gonyo (Clinton)

Matt Riordan

Edye McCarthy (T. Greenburgh)

Dave Hastings (Oswego)

Tara Hoffman (Newburgh)

Colleen Adamec (T. Greenwich)

George Michaud (Putnam)

Sheryl Klewicki (Melville)

Sales Processing Team



County Directors


Larry Quinn (T. Arcadia)

Tim Murphy (Monroe)

Tim Maher

Eileen Kelly (T. Goshen)

Jay Franklin (Tompkins)

Kim Manley

Christine Fusco (T. Lancaster)

Karen Carney (Onondaga)

Mary Ilacqua (Syracuse)

Public Education Subgroup



County Directors


Randy Holcomb (C. Jamestown, T. Busti, T. Carroll, T. Chautauqua, T. Ellery, T. Kiantone, T. North Harmony, T. Harmony)

Tom Bloodgood (Schuyler/Chemung)

Geoff Gloak

Denise Trudell (T. Clayton, T. Montague, T. Albion, T. Osceola, T. Orleans

Jane Powers (St. Lawrence)

Patti Valvo (Batavia)



Mary Ilacqua (Syracuse)

Property Class Code Team



County Directors


Sue Otis (T. Malta)

Kathleen Myers (Dutchess) Dave Shanley

Patrick Duffy (T. Manlius)

Jim Haskell

Peter Galarneau (C. Lockport)