Skip universal navigation
Skip to main content

Department of Taxation and Finance

Real Property Tax Administration

Friday - June 22, 2007 (8:00am- 1:00pm)
Clarion Hotel, 3 Watervliet Ave Ext., Albany, New York 12206


Friday Morning





Get Organized / Housekeeping
- Alan does housekeeping
- Pass out Meeting Feedback forms
- Communication Issue

1.) Minutes reviewed and approved.
2.) Current Agenda reviewed - New items (?)
3.) Agenda related communication issues are captured (Get input from Rick Hubner)

Alan Kresge

8:00 - 8:15
(15 min.)

a. Commission on Local Government Efficiency and Competitiveness
- County Assessing Pamphlet

1.) Concerns shared and clarified
2.) Information Sharing on Next steps

Don DeWitt, Jim O'Keeffe, John Clarkson

8:15 – 9:45
(90 min.)

b. SCAR Hearing
- ORPS staff will review procedures and discuss any RPTAC concerns

1.) All comments / concerns are discussed
2.) Next steps (if needed)

Jim O'Keeffe, H.K. Lo

9:45 – 10:00
(15 min.)

c. STaR 2007 Rebate Cycle
- Outline interactions with Tax & Finance

1.) Current information shared and clarified

Tim Maher

10:00 – 10:15
(15 min.)


10:15 – 10:25

d. Legislative Cycle Update
- ORPS staff will recap RPT activity from the recent legislative session.
- 2007 Agricultural Assessment Values

1.) RPTAC is brought-up-to-date on RPT legislative activity for the current cycle.
2.) Clarification on using Assessment Values

Paul Miller, Joe Gerberg, Jim O'Keeffe

10:25 – 11:00
(35 min.)

e. Training Governance Committee
- Update on activities: proposed rules, course development and Appointment letters

1.) RPTAC is brought up to date on the Training Governance Committee's activities
2.) Appointment Letters shared with RPTAC

Jim O'Keeffe, Tom Frey

11:00 – 11:20
(20 min.)

f. RPTAC's Public Information Effort
- Activities since March session
- Spreadsheet with inventory of "Tools"
- What does RPTAC need to do to get a Marketing and Communication Plan in place?
- What are the next steps for Public Info?

RPTAC is brought up to date on OUTREACH sub-group's activities
2.) RPTAC explores and gets clarification on the "tools" outlined in the spreadsheet
3.) Marketing Options Explored
5.) Next Steps

Dave Williams, Larry Quinn, Geoff Gloak, Carol Holley, Mike Swan

11:20 – 12:50
(90 min.)

Meeting Wrap Up

1) Review Action Items
2.) Next meeting is Sept. 6/7 @ the Clarion Hotel
3.) How did we do? ( Do a go-around, if needed )
4.) Gather Feedback Forms

 RPTAC Members


County Directors


Cathy Conklin (T. Clarkstown)

David Hastings (Oswego)

Don DeWitt (Executive Director)

Patrick Duffy (T. Manlius)

Caryn Kolts (Yates)

Steve King (Deputy Executive Director)

Tom Frey (NYS Assessor's Association)

Kathleen Myers (Dutchess)

Jim O'Keeffe (Acting Counsel)

Rick Hubner (T. Warwick)

John McCarey (Orange)

Richard Harris (Director of Operations)

William Quick (T. Freemont)

Carol Holley (Saratoga)

Dave Williams (RCSD)

Lawrence Quinn (T. Arcadia )

Michael Swan (Warren)

Tim Maher (CSS)

Alternate Assessors

Alternate County Directors

Alternate ORPS Members

Curtis Schoeberl (T. Schwangunk)

Jim Gonyo (Clinton)

Dennis Jersey (ITS)

Timothy Sheares (Nassau County)

Nicholas Barber (Schenectady)

Tom Bellard (Central Valuation Unit)



Don Card (SVS)

Active RPTAC Teams / Sub-committees

Equalization Project Team (Sub-committee)


County Directors


Walter Smead (T. Clifton Park)

Paul Buckard (Sullivan)

Jim O'Keeffe

J. Todd Wiley (T. New Windsor)

Robert Diener (Wayne)

Tim Maher

Edye McCarthy (T. Greenburgh)

John Noto (Rockland)

Pat Holland

Curtis Schoeberl (T. Shawangunk)

Paul Warneck (Jefferson)

Tom Pinto (North)

Tom Frey (NYS Assessor's Assoc)



Denise Trudell (T. Orleans)



Valuation Issues Team


County Directors


Mario Arevalo (C. Oneonta)

Mary Baush (Franklin)

Bob Aiken

Rosalie Fahey (T. Glenville)

Jim Gonyo (Clinton)

Matt Riordan

Edye McCarthy (T. Greenburgh)

Dave Hastings (Oswego)

Tara Hoffman (Newburgh)

Colleen Adamec (T. Greenwich)

George Michaud (Putnam)

Sheryl Klewicki (Melville)

Sales Processing Team


County Directors


Larry Quinn (T. Arcadia)

Bill Budde (Niagara)

Tim Maher

Eileen Kelly (T. Goshen)

Jay Franklin (Tompkins)

Kim Manley

Christine Fusco (T. Lancaster)

Karen Carney (Onondaga)

Mary Ilacqua (Syracuse)

Assessment Notification Team


County Directors


Brad Brennen (T. Salina)

Dave Hastings (Oswego)

Teresa Frank (Syracuse)

Peggy Jenkins (T. Moreau)

Tom Bloodgood (Schuyler/Chemung)

Geoff Gloak

Sue Otis (T. Malta)

Jim Gonyo (Clinton)

Patti Valvo (Batavia)

Catherine DeFelice (T. Saratoga)

Robin Johnson (Ontario)
Alternate: Caryn Kolts (Yates)

Robert Zandri

Property Class Code Team


County Directors


Sue Otis (T. Malta)

Kathleen Myers (Dutchess) Dave Shanley

Patrick Duffy (T. Manlius)

Jim Haskell

Peter Galarneau (C. Lockport)