Skip to main content
Department of Taxation and Finance

Real Property Tax Administration

  • Thursday, March 29, 2007 1:00 pm – 5:00 pm
  • Friday, March 30, 2007, 8:30 am – 12:00 pm

Clarion Hotel, 3 Watervliet Ave Ext., Albany, New York 12206

  • Facilitator: Dave Leichenauer             
  • Recorder: Janice Heeran
Thursday, March 29, 2007
Item Results Lead Time
a. Get organized—what's new Minutes reviewed and approved. Dave Leichenauer 1:00–1:15
Welcome, trainee introductions New topics. (if needed)
b. Leadership updates
Budget update (if available) Information sharing. Don DeWitt, Steve King and Dave Williams 1:15–1:30
Staffing: regional appointment  Next steps. 
c. Middle class STAR update 
ORPS, as well as a Tax and Finance Dept. rep will give an update and field questions. Information sharing and clarification.  Tim Maher, Diane O'Donnell and Tax and Finance 1:30–2:10
Comments and concerns are addressed.
d. 511 notices
Presentation on the 511 notices  Information sharing.  Jim O'Keeffe and Tom Pinto 2:10–2:30
What are the requirements Requirement clarification.
RPS notices Comments and concerns are addressed.
Incomplete notices
e. 2006 Action items 
Review unaddressed 2006 items  List items that are still active Dave Leichenauer 2:30–2:45
Agree on ones that are no longer timely 
Define next steps for the active items
Break 2:45–3:00
f. NYS assessment practices
Prioritize regional focus session results and categories Clarify main topic areas. Larry Quinn and Dave Leichenauer 3:00–4:50
Members prioritize topics with a vote.
Bring group to consensus on #1 issue.
g. First day wrap up  Review action items. (add names and timeframes) Dave Leichenauer 4:50–5:00
Meeting feedback and Friday hand outs.
Friday, March 30, 2007
Item Results Lead Time
h. Get organized  Housekeeping—recap Thursday's agenda. Dave Leichenauer 8:30–8:40
Clarify action items. (if needed)
i. NYS assessment practices
Define the problems, set reachable goals and develop a plan of action including a timeline Set a goal for the top prioritized issue. Larry Quinn and Dave Leichenauer 8:40–10:30
Develop a work plan to reach our goal. (who, what and when)
Break 10:30–10:45
j. NYS assessment practices (continued)
Prioritized regional focus session results and categories Continue our work on item f. (if needed) Larry Quinn and Dave Leichenauer 10:45–11:45
k. Meeting wrap up Review action items. Dave Leichenauer 11:45–12:00
Next meeting—date and location.
How did we do? (feedback cycle)

RPTAC members
Assessors County directors ORPS
Cathy Conklin (T. Clarkstown) David Hastings (Oswego) Don DeWitt (Executive Director)
Patrick Duffy (T. Manlius) Caryn Kolts (Yates) Steve King (Deputy Executive Director)
Tom Frey (NYS Assessor's Association) Kathleen Myers (Dutchess) Jim O'Keeffe (Chief Counsel)
Rick Hubner (T. Warwick) John McCarey (Orange) Richard Harris (Director of Operations)
William Quick (T. Freemont) Carol Holley (Saratoga) Dave Williams (RCSD)
Lawrence Quinn (T. Arcadia) Michael Swan (Warren) Tim Maher (CSS)
Alternate Assessors Alternate County Directors Alternate ORPS Members
Curtis Schoeberl (T. Schwangunk) Jim Gonyo (Clinton) Dennis Jersey (ITS)
Timothy Sheares (Nassau County) Nicholas Barber (Schenectady) Tom Bellard (Central Valuation Unit)

Active RPTAC teams and sub—committees
Equalization project team (sub—committee)
Assessors County directors ORPS
Walter Smead (T. Clifton Park) Paul Buckard (Sullivan Jim O'Keeffe
J. Todd Wiley (T. New Windsor) Robert Diener (Wayne) Tim Maher
Edye McCarthy (C. White Plains) John Noto (Rockland) Pat Holland
Curtis Schoeberl (T. Shawangunk) Paul Warneck (Jefferson) Tom Pinto (North)
Tom Frey (NYS Assessor's Assoc
Denise Trudell (T. Orleans)


Valuation issues team
Assessors County directors ORPS
Mario Arevalo (C. Oneonta) Mary Baush (Franklin) Bob Aiken
Rosalie Fahey (T. Glenville) Jim Gonyo (Clinton) Matt Riordan
Edye McCarthy (C. White Plains) Dave Hastings (Oswego) Tara Hoffman (Newburgh)
Colleen Adamec (T. Greenwich) George Michaud (Putnam) Sheryl Klewicki (Melville)

Sales processing team
Assessors County directors ORPS
Larry Quinn (T. Arcadia) Bill Budde (Niagara) Tim Maher
Eileen Kelly (T. Goshen) Jay Franklin (Tompkins) Kim Manley
Christine Fusco (T. Lancaster) Karen Carney (Onondaga) Mary Ilacqua (Syracuse)

Assessment notification team 
Assessors County directors ORPS
Brad Brennen (T. Salina) Dave Hastings (Oswego) Teresa Frank (Syracuse)
Peggy Jenkins (T. Moreau) Tom Bloodgood (Schuyler and Chemung) Geoff Gloak
Sue Otis (T. Malta) Jim Gonyo (Clinton) Patti Valvo (Batavia)
Catherine DeFelice (T. Saratoga) Robin Johnson (Ontario)
Alternate: Caryn Kolts (Yates)
Robert Zandri

Property class code team
Assessors County directors ORPS
Sue Otis (T. Malta) Kathleen Myers (Dutchess) Dave Shanley 
Patrick Duffy (T. Manlius) Jim Haskell 
Peter Galarneau (Fulton Co. and multiple towns)