Skip to main content
Department of Taxation and Finance

Real Property Tax Administration

  • Thursday, January 18, 2007, 1:00 pm–4:30 pm
  • Friday, January 19, 2007, 9:00 am–12:00 pm

ORPS 5th Floor Board Room, 16 Sheridan Ave., Albany, New York 12210

  • Facilitator: Dave Leichenauer             
  • Recorder: Janice Heeran
Thursday, January 18, 2007
Item Results Lead Time
a. Get organized—what's new Minutes reviewed and approved. Dave Leichenauer 1:00–1:20
Welcome trainee introductions New topics, membership, action items.
b. Leadership updates
Governor's office—latest information Information sharing. Don DeWitt and Steve King 1:20–1:40
Market turndown and effect on budget Next steps.
c. ORPS updates
RPTATIP grant program Information sharing. JoAnn Whalen, Kathy Glannon and Tom Bellard 1:40–2:20
Marshall—Swift project Progress report.
New appraisal unit Comments and concerns
d. Feedback on STAR and report tax rebate Information sharing. Tim Maher 2:35–2:50
Process clarification.
e. Disclosure notices—utilities  Issue awareness. Jim O'Keeffe and Don Card
Process clarification. 
Break 2:50–3:15
f. RPTAC sub—group report outs
Equalization project team Re—cap last meeting(s). Tim Maher and Bob Aiken 3:15–3:45
Valuation issues team  Outline what's next.
g. Farm vacant land effort  RPTAC brought up to date with latest developments. Curt Schoeberl and Mark Twentyman 3:45–4:00
Next steps.
h. 2007 meeting schedule 
Set meeting dates Determine dates for 2007 RPTAC sessions. Dave Leichenauer 4:00–4:10
i. First day wrap up Review action items. (add names and timeframes) Dave Leichenauer 4:10–4:30
Meeting feedback and Friday handouts
Friday, January 19, 2007
Item Results Lead Time
j. Get organized Housekeeping. Dave Leichenauer  9:00–9:15
k. NYS assessment practices 
Regional focus session  Update on latest developments. Rick Hubner and Dave Williams 9:15–9:30
Define next steps.
l. IAAO staffing recommendations  Issue awareness. Tom Frey 9:30–9:45
Define next steps.
m. RPTAC—future efforts Discuss future areas of interest. Rick Hubner 9:45–10:45
Find common ground Define next steps.
Break  10:45–11:00
n. ListServ—review features RPTAC members become more familiar with ListServ features and capabilities. Geoff Gloak 11:00–11:30
o. Meeting wrap up Review action items. Dave Leichenauer 11:30–11:45
Next meeting—re-visit dates and location. 

RPTAC members
Assessors County directors ORPS
Cathy Conklin (T. Clarkstown) David Hastings (Oswego) Don DeWitt (Executive Director)
Patrick Duffy (T. Manlius) Caryn Kolts (Yates) Steve King (Deputy Executive Director)
Tom Frey (NYS Assessor's Association) Kathleen Myers (Dutchess) Jim O'Keeffe (Chief Counsel)
Rick Hubner (T. Warwick) John McCarey (Orange) Richard Harris (Director of Operations)
William Quick (T. Freemont) Carol Holley (Saratoga) Dave Williams (RCSD)
J. Todd Wiley (T. New Windsor) Michael Swan (Warren) Tim Maher (CSS)
Alternate Assessors Alternate County Directors Alternate ORPS Members
Lawrence Quinn (T. Arcadia) Jim Gonyo (Clinton) Dennis Jersey (ITS)
Curtis Schoeberl (T. Schwangunk) Nicholas Barber (Schenectady) Tom Bellard (Appraisal Unit)
Don Card (SVS)

Active RPTAC teams and sub—committees
Equalization project team (sub—committee)
Assessors County directors ORPS
Walter Smead (T. Clifton Park) Paul Buckard (Sullivan) Jim O'Keeffe
J. Todd Wiley (T. New Windsor) Robert Diener (Wayne) Tim Maher
Edye McCarthy (C. White Plains) John Noto (Rockland) Pat Holland
Curtis Schoeberl (T. Shawangunk) Paul Warneck (Jefferson) Tom Pinto (North)
Tom Frey (NYS Assessor's Assoc)
Denise Trudell (T. Orleans)

Valuation issues team
Assessors County directors ORPS
Mario Arevalo (C. Oneonta) Mary Baush (Franklin) Bob Aiken
Rosalie Fahey (T. Glenville) Jim Gonyo (Clinton) Matt Riordan
Edye McCarthy (C. White Plains)
Dave Hastings (Oswego) Tara Hoffman (Newburgh)
Colleen Adamec (T. Greenwich) George Michaud (Putnam) Cheryl Klewicki (Melville)

Sales processing team
Assessors County directors ORPS
Larry Quinn (T. Arcadia) Bill Budde (Niagara) Tim Maher
Eileen Kelly (T. Goshen) Jay Franklin (Tompkins) Kim Manley
Christine Fusco (T. Lancaster) Karen Carney (Onondaga) Mary Ilacqua (Syracuse)

Assessment notification team
Assessors County directors ORPS
Brad Brennen (T. Salina) Dave Hastings (Oswego) Teresa Frank (Syracuse)
Peggy Jenkins (T. Moreau) Tom Bloodgood (Schuyler and Chemung) Geoff Gloak
Sue Otis (T. Malta) Jim Gonyo (Clinton) Patti Valvo (Batavia)
Catherine DeFelice (T. Saratoga) Robin Johnson (Ontario)
Alternate: Caryn Kolts (Yates)
Robert Zandri

Property class code team 
Assessors County directors ORPS
Sue Otis (T. Malta) Kathleen Myers (Dutchess)
Patrick Duffy (T. Manlius) Dave Shanley 
Peter Galarneau (Fulton Co. and multiple towns) Jim Haskell