Skip to main content
Department of Taxation and Finance

Real Property Tax Administration

  • Thursday , September 7, 2006, 1:00pm–4:45pm
  • Friday, September 8, 2006, 8:30 am–11:45am

CrestHill Suites Hotel, 1415 Washington Ave - Albany, New York 12206

  • Facilitator: Dave Leichenauer             
  • Recorder: Janice Heeran
Thursday, September 7, 2006
Item Results Lead Time
a. Get organized—what's new Minutes reviewed and approved—new topics identified. Dave Leichenauer 1:00–1:15
New membership Action items reviewed.
b. Property tax and STAR rebate Program details. Tim Maher and Diane O'Donnell  1:15–2:00
Question and answer. 
c. Valuation tools
Marshal and Swift update Information sharing on latest developments. Jim Dunne 2:00–2:15
Any comments and concerns are addressed.
d. Enhanced CAP letter—mailing Feedback and group discussion. Tom Frey and Curt Schoeberl 2:15–2:45
Break 2:45–3:00
e. Legislative developments
Assessment notification Information sharing. Paul Miller 3:00–4:00
Supreme court: Jones vs. Flowers What took place and next steps. Joe Gerberg
How to value affordable housing Notification responsibilities and foreclosure.  Tom Frey and Brian Lawlor (counsel DHCR)
f. Forestland assessments 
Timber valuation and assessor training Discussion around ORPS methodology. Rick Hubner 4:00–4:30
g. First day wrap up Review action items. (add names and timeframes) Dave Leichenauer 4:30–4:45
How did we do? (feedback) Hand outs for Friday.
Friday, September 8, 2006
Item Results Lead Time
h. Get organized Agenda approved. Dave Leichenauer 8:30–8:45
i. Customer satisfaction survey ORPS shares the results of the customer satisfaction survey with RPTAC. Jeff Green 8:45–9:30
Results presentation—questions and answers Any comments and concerns are addressed—next steps.
j. Equalization project team 
Update and information sharing RPTAC brought is up to date on EPT discussions re: membership, workload and team direction. Tim Maher 9:30–9:45
k. RPS 2007 release Update and group discussion. Tim Maher 9:45–10:00
Any comments and concerns addressed.
Break 10:00–10:15
l. ORPS new appraisal unit RPTAC is brought up to date on the new appraisal unit at ORPS. Tom Bellard 10:15–10:30
Any comments and concerns addressed.
m. Assessment practices in NYS
Next steps (regional focus sessions) RPTAC gives input for focus session—questions and timetable for the fall.  Rick Hubner and Dave Williams 10:30–10:45
n. Farm vacant land  Recent developments. Curt Schoeberl 10:45–11:00
Next steps (RFP member item?)
o. Future of RPTAC
Re: new administration Open discussion. Rick Hubner and John McCarey 11:00–11:30
p. Meeting wrap up Review action items. (names and timeframes) Dave Leichenauer 11:30–11:45
Next meeting, dates and location.

RPTAC members
Assessors County directors ORPS
Cathy Conklin (T. Clarkstown) David Hastings (Oswego) Don DeWitt (Executive Director)
Patrick Duffy (T. Manlius) Caryn Kolts (Yates) Tom Bellard (Deputy Executive Director)
Tom Frey (NYS Assessor's Association) Kathleen Myers (Dutchess) Dennis Jersey (ITS)
Rick Hubner (T. Warwick) John McCarey (Orange) Rich Sinnott (Chief Counsel)
William Quick (T. Freemont) Carol Holley (Saratoga) Dave Williams (RCSD)
J. Todd Wiley (T. New Windsor) Michael Swan (Warren) Tim Maher (CSS)
Alternate Assessors Alternate County directors Alternate ORPS members
Lawrence Quinn (T. Arcadia) Jim Gonyo (Clinton) Don Card (SVS)
Curtis Schoeberl (T. Schwangunk) Nicholas Barber (Schenectady) Steve King (Fiscal)
Richard Harris (Director of Operations)

Active RPTAC teams and sub—committees
Equalization project team (sub—committee)
Assessors County directors ORPS
Walter Smead (T. Clifton Park) Thomas Bloodgood (Schuyler) Jim O'Keeffe
J. Todd Wiley (T. New Windsor) Paul Burchard (Sullivan) Tim Maher
Edye McCarthy (C. White Plains) Barry Miller (Essex) Pat Holland
Curtis Schoeberl (T. Shawangunk) Robert Diener (Wayne) Tom Pinto (North)
Tom Frey (NYS Assessor's Assoc)

Valuation issues team
Assessors County directors ORPS
Mario Arevalo (C. Oneonta) Mary Baush (Franklin) Jeff Jordan
Rosalie Fahey (T. Glenville) Jim Gonyo (Clinton) Matt Riordan
Edye McCarthy (C. White Plains) Dave Hastings (Oswego) Tara Hoffman (Newburgh)
Colleen Adamec (T. Greenwich) George Michaud (Putnam) Cheryl Klewicki (Melville)

Sales processing team
Assessors County directors ORPS
Larry Quinn (T. Arcadia) Bill Budde (Niagara) Tim Maher
Eileen Kelly (T. Goshen) Jay Franklin (Tompkins) Kim Manley
Christine Fusco (T. Lancaster) Karen Carney (Onondaga) Mary Ilacqua (Syracuse)

Assessment notification team
Assessors County directors ORPS
Brad Brennen (T. Salina) Dave Hastings (Oswego) Teresa Frank (Syracuse)
Peggy Jenkins (T. Moreau) Tom Bloodgood (Schuyler and Chemung) Geoff Gloak
Sue Otis (T. Malta) Jim Gonyo (Clinton) Patti Valvo (Batavia)
Catherine DeFelice (T. Saratoga) Robin Johnson (Ontario)
Alternate: Caryn Kolts (Yates)
Robert Zandri

Property class code team
Assessors County directors ORPS
Sue Otis (T. Malta) Kathleen Myers (Dutchess) Dave Shanley
Patrick Duffy (T. Manlius) Jim Haskell
Peter Galarneau (Fulton Co. and multiple towns)