Skip to main content
Department of Taxation and Finance

Real Property Tax Administration

  • Wednesday, June 22, 2005, 1:00 pm–5:00 pm 
  • Thursday, June 23, 2005, 8:30 am–1:00 pm

NYS ORPS 16 Sheridan Avenue, Albany, New York 12210

  • Facilitator: Rutnik and Dave Leichenauer
  • Recorder: Janice Heeran
Wednesday, June 22, 2005
Items Results Lead Time
a. Get organized—what's new Minutes approved—new topics identified. T. Rutnik and D. Leichenauer 1:00–1:10
b. E-government survey 
Review results and responses Review responses and determine actions based on survey results. T. Rutnik and R. Hubner 1:10–2:00
Next steps
c. Solutions center
Review history and direction Identify progress and seek ideas on how to encourage local contribution and use of knowledge base. Paul Szwedo 2:00–2:45
ORPS regional role
Web access
Break 2:45–3:00
d. RPTAC sub—committee teams
Equalization project team Identify progress and determine team needs and direction from RPTAC. Tim Maher, Jeff Jordan and team members 3:00–3:45
Valuation issues 
e. Knowledge Sharing 
Review sub—group history Analyze project and determine next steps.  Paul Szwedo and Girk Cakmak 3:45–4:45
Girk Cakmak's survey results 
Analysis of survey results in regards to stakeholders
f. First day wrap up Review of action items and decisions. D. Leichenauer 4:45–5:00
Make adjustments to Thursday's agenda.
Thursday, June 23, 2005
Item Results Lead Time
g. Get organized  Agenda adjusted. Dave Leichenauer 8:30–8:35
h. Communication and information sharing 
Review items identified as problematic and critical  Determine next steps for communication issues identified as problematic or critical.  Paul Szwedo 8:35–9:15
i. Non—residential valuation 
Further analysis of Ulster county pilot  Develop criteria for candidates. T. Wiley, C. Schoeberl and B. Gawrelski 9:15–10:15
Determine next steps.
Break  10:15–10:30
j. Cost valuation 
Boeckh—Marshall Swift Share information on progress. J. Dunne 10:30–10:45
k. Legislation  Understand status of proposed legislation. P. Miller and J. Gerberg 10:45–11:00
l. Assessment notification sub—team
Discuss team activities  Understand team progress.  Geoff Gloak and Robert Zandri  11:00–11:45
m. Real property transfers
OCR project  Identify progress and determine involvement of assessment community.  T. Maher 11:45–12:30
Real property transfer process Understand potential changes to real property transfer process. 
Sales processing sub—team  Understand team progress, direction and needs.
n. Meeting wrap up  Review of action items and decisions. T. Rutnik and D. Leichenauer 12:30–1:00
Next meeting agenda items defined.

RPTAC members 
Assessors County directors ORPS 
Cathy Conklin (T. Clarkstown) Valeria Coggin (Tompkins) Tom Bellard (Deputy Executive Director)
Patrick Duffy (T. Manlius) Caryn Kolts (Yates) Tom Griffen (Executive Director)
Tom Frey (NYS Assessor's Association) Joseph Maciejewski (Erie) Bruce Sauter (CIO)
Rick Hubner (T. Warwick) John McCarey (Orange) Rich Sinnott(Chief Counsel) 
Curtis Schoeberl (T. Shawangunk) Richard Sheflin (livingston) JoAnn Whalen (SIO)
J. Todd Wiley (T. New Windsor) Michael Swan (Warren) John Wolham (Regional Manager, Newburgh)
Alternate assessors Alternate County directors 
Peter Galarneau (Fulton Co. Multiple towns) Jim Gonyo (Clinton)
William Quick (T. Freemont) Kathleen Myers (Dutchess)

Active RPTAC teams and sub—committees
Equalization project team (sub—committee)
Assessors County directors ORPS
Walter Smead (T. Clifton Park) Thomas Bloodgood (Schuyler) Jim O'Keeffe
Dave Briggs (C. Cortland and 5 towns) Paul Burcahrd (Sullivan) Tim Maher
Edye McCarthy (C. White Plains) Barry Miller (Essex) Pat Holland
Curtis Schoeberl (T. Shawangunk) Robert Diener (Wayne) Tom Pinto (North)
Roger Tibbetts (3 towns Jefferson, 1 town Lewis)

Valuation issues team
Assessors County directors ORPS
Mario Arevalo (C. Oneonta) Mary Baush (Franklin) Jeff Jordan
Rosalie Fahey (T. Glenville) Jim Gonyo (Clinton) Matt Riordan
Edye McCarthy (C. White Plains) Dave Hastings (Oswego) Tara Hoffman (Newburgh)
Walter Smead (T. Clifton Park) George Michaud (Putnam) Cheryl Klewicki (Melville)

Sales processing team
Assessors County directors ORPS
Larry Quinn (T. Arcadia) Bill Budde (Niagara) Tim Maher
Eileen Kelly (T. Goshen) Jay Franklin (Tompkins) Kim Manley
Christine Fusco (T. Lancaster) Karen Carney (Onondaga) Mary Ilacqua (Syracuse)

Assessment notification team
Assessors County directors ORPS
Brad Brennen (T. Salina) Dave Hastings (Oswego) Teresa Frank (Syracuse)
Peggy Jenkins (T. Moreau) Tom Bloodgood (Schuyler/Chemung) Geoff Gloak
Sue Otis (T. Malta) Jim Gonyo (Clinton) Patti Valvo (Batavia)
Catherine DeFelice (T. Saratoga) Robin Johnson (Ontario)
Alternate: Caryn Kolts (Yates)
Robert Zandri