Skip to main content
Department of Taxation and Finance

Real Property Tax Administration

  • Wednesday, March 16, 2005, 1:00 pm– 5:00 pm
  • Thursday, March 17, 2005, 8:30 am–1:00 pm

NYS ORPS 16 Sheridan Avenue, Albany, New York 12210

  • Facilitator: Tom Rutnik                  
  • Recorder: Janice Heeran 
Wednesday, March 16, 2005
Item Results Lead Time
a. Get organized—what's new Minutes approved—new topics identified. T. Rutnik 1:00–1:10
b. Center for technology CTG—review parcel level data use report Understand results of CTG outreach t determine use of parcel level data. T. Griffen 1:10–2:40
Break 2:40–2:50
c. Commercial Valuation—county initiatives (Saratoga and Ulster)
Evaluate collaborative effort between ORPS, assessors and county director Evaluate collaborative effort between ORPS, assessors and county director. John Bonanno and Brue Sauter 2:50–4:10
Identify future opportunities for improvement.
d. Equalization sub—committee
Review PDC evaluation meeting  Review results for 2005. T. Maher, B Gawrelski and eq sub—committee members 4:10–4:55
2006 assessment—rate cycle  Consult and approve decisions concerning 2006 PDC cycle and consult about plans for 2006 assessment—rate cycle.
e. First day wrap up Review of action items and decisions. T. Rutnik 4:55–5:00
Make adjustments to Thursday's agenda. 
Thursday, March 17, 2005
Item Results Lead Time
f. Get organized Agenda adjusted T. Rutnik 8:30–8:35
g. Valuation
New valuation date Understand implication of new valuation date and determine actions. R. Hubner 8:35–9:00
h. E—government survey Evaluate results of survey. T. Rutnik, RPTAC members 9:00–9:45
Review results of e—government survey distributed via county directors to assessors Determine next steps.
i. Sales processing team
Review proposed team charter Get endorsement from RPTAC of proposed team charter Tim Maher and Kim Manley 9:45–10:15
Break 10:15—10:30
j. Disclosure and impact notices Share ideas for modernizing disclosure and impact notices, T. Frey, T. Wiley and T. Frank  10:30–11:30
k. Training governance group 
Update on group progress Update on group progress and future plans. Jeff Bartholomew and C. Conklin 11:30–12:00
l. Bank Codes 
Report out from 2/21 meeting at AOT Review discussion of 2/21 meeting. R. Sinnott, T. Wiley and T. Frey 12:00–12:15
Determine RPTAC role in effort to improve bank code process.
Legislative efforts of assessors association   Understand status of legislative efforts by assessors association.
m. e—STAR application  Review of recent e—STAR processing cycle and opportunities for process improvement. Bill Godell 12:15–12:30
n. RPTAC sub—committees Clarify existing teams, team charter and team membership.  RPTAC members and Jeff Jordan  12:30–1:00
Clarify role of non—team members and their participation in team meetings. 
o. Meeting wrap up Review of action items and decisions
Next meeting agenda items identified. 

RPTAC members 
Assessors County directors ORPS
Cathy Conklin (T. Clarkstown) Valeria Coggin (Tompkins) Tom Bellard (Deputy Executive Director) 
Patrick Duffy (T. Cicero, T. West Monore) Caryn Kolts (Yates) Tom Griffen (Executive Director)
Tom Frey (NYS assessor's association) Joseph Maciejewski (Erie) Bruce Sauter (CIO)
Rick Hubner (T. Warwick) John McCarey (Orange) Rich Sinnott (Cheif Counsel)
Cutis Schoeberl (T. Shawangunk) Richard Sheflin (Livingston) JoAnn Whalen (SIO)
J. Todd Wiley (T. New Windsor) Michael Swan (Warren) John Wolham (Regional Manager, Newburgh)
Alternate Assessors Alternate County Directors 
Peter Galarneau (Fulton Co. Multiple Towns) Jim Gonyo (Clinto)
William Quick (T. Freemont) Kathleen Myers (Dutchess)

Active RPTAC teams (sub—committees)
Equalization project team (sub—committee)
Assessors County directors ORPS
Walter Smead (T. Clifton Park) Thomas Bloodgood (Schyler) Jim O'Keeffe
Dave Briggs (C. Cortland and 5 towns) Paul Burchard (Sullivan) Tim Maher
Edye McCarthy (C. White Plains) Bernard Miller (Essex) Pat Holland 
Curtis Schoeberl (T. Shawangunk)  Robert Diener (Wayne) Tom Pinto
Roger Tibbetts (3 towns Jefferson,1 town Lewis)

Valuation issues team 
Assessors County directors ORPS
Mario Arevalo (C. Oneonta) Mary Baush (Franklin) Jeff Jordan
Rosalie Fahey (T. Glenville) Jim Gonyo (Clinton) Steve Beals
Edye McCarthy (C. White Plains) Dave Hastings (Oswego) Reesa Guarino
Walter Smead (T. Clifton Park) George Michaud (Putnam) Chuck Aviza

Sales processing team 
Assessors County directors ORPS
Larry Quinn (T. Arcadia) Bill Budde (Niagara) Tim Maher
Eileen Kelly (T. Goshen) Jay Franklin (Tompkins) Kim Manley
Christine Fusco (T. Lancaster) Karen Carney (Onondaga) Mary IIacqua