Skip to main content
Department of Taxation and Finance

Real Property Tax Administration

  • Thursday, December 9, 2004, 1:00 pm– 5:00 pm 
  • Friday, December 10, 2004, 8:30 am–1:00 pm

NYS ORPS 16 Sheridan Avenue, Albany, New York 12210

  • Facilitator: Tom Rutnik      
  • Recorder: Janice Heeran
Thursday, December 9, 2004
Item Results Lead Time
a. Get organized—what's new Minutes approved—new topics identified. T. Rutnik 1:00–1:15
b. Communication issues (information sharing)
Brainstorm characteristics of an ideal "compile sales" process. Review progress on items identified as 5 most critical for the three communication lists. T. Rutnik, T. Maher and RPTAC members 1:15–3:00
Processing best practices Identify sales processing "best practices"
Discuss future direction of sales processing Identify next steps.
Break 3:00–3:15

c. Equalization

2005 Rates and PDC meetings Get "in process" feedback on revised PDC process, identify improvement opportunities for 2004–2005. T. Maher, B. Gawrelski and eq. sub—committee members 3:15–4:00
Equalization sub—committee update Detail issues raised by equalization sub—committee.
d. Income limits for enhanced STAR
Review plan for dissemination of income limits for enhanced STAR Understand plan for dissemination of income limits for enhanced STAR. T. Maher and Joe Gerberg 4:00–4:30
Review proposed changes to application form Develop consensus on enhanced STAR application form.
d. First day wrap up Review of action items and decisions. T. Rutnik 4:30–5:00
Make adjustments to Friday agenda.
Friday, December 10, 2004
Item Results Lead Time
e. Get organized  Agenda adjusted. T. Rutnik 8:30–8:35
f. Enriched online e—government Understand ORPS proposed vision for enriched on-line e—government. Harris, P. Szwedo, B. Godell and R. Hubner 8:35–10:00
Brainstorm ideas to design a user requirements process for online information on the ORPS web site Develop list of ideas on gathering user requirements for enriched on-line information on the ORPS web site.
g. RP-5217 selling price discrepancies
Share examples of selling price discrepancies Understand examples, detail irregularities. T. Griffen, R. Sinnott, J. O'Keeffe, T. Wiley and J. McCarey 10:00–10:15
Clarify legal options.
Break 10:15–10:30
h. Communication issues (information sharing)
Bank codes (tax billing maintenance) Review bank code process. Lori Milne (NYSATRC), George King (1st American), Dawn Farrar (RPS unit) and J. Maciejewski, 10:30–12:30
Review existing bank code update process Understand process inefficiencies.
Discuss potential solutions and direction Assessors, county directors, tax collectors and tax service organizations detail next steps.
i. Meeting wrap up Review of action items and decisions. T. Rutnik 12:30–1:00
Next meeting agenda items defined.

RPTAC members
Assessors County directors ORPS
Cathy Conklin (T. Clarkstown) Valeria Coggin (Tompkins) Tom Bellard (Deputy Executive Director)
Patrick Duffy (T. Cicero, T. West Monroe) Caryn Kolts (Yates) Tom Griffen (Executive Director)
Tom Frey (NYS Assessor's Association) Joseph Maciejewski (Erie) Bruce Sauter (CIO)
Rick Hubner (T. Warwick) John McCarey (Orange) Rich Sinnott (Chief Counsel)
Curtis Schoeberl (T. Shawangunk) Richard Sheflin (Livingston) JoAnn Whalen (SIO)
J. Todd Wiley (T. New Windsor) Michael Swan (Warren) John Wolham (Regional Manager, Newburgh)
Alternate Assessors Alternate County Directors
Peter Galarneau (Fulton Co. and Multiple Towns) Jim Gonyo (Clinton)
William Quick (T. Freemont) Kathleen Myers (Dutchess)

Active RPTAC teams and sub—committees
Equalization project team (sub—committee)
Assessors County directors ORPS
Walter Smead (T. Clifton Park) Thomas Bloodgood (Schuyler) Jim O'Keeffe
Dave Briggs (C. Cortland and 5 towns) Paul Burchard (Sullivan) Tim Maher
Edye McCarthy (C. White Plains) Bernard Miller (Essex) Pat Holland
Curtis Schoeberl (T. Shawangunk) Robert Diener (Wayne) Tom Pinto
Roger Tibbetts (3 towns Jefferson, 1 town Lewis)

Valuation issues team
Assessors County directors ORPS
Mario Arevalo (C. Oneonta) Mary Baush (Franklin) Chuck Aviza
Rosalie Fahey (T. Glenville) Jim Gonyo (Clinton) Steve Beals
Edye McCarthy (C. White Plains) Dave Hastings (Oswego) Reesa Guarino
Walter Smead (T. Clifton Park) George Michaud (Putnam) Jeff Jordan