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Penalty Information for Individuals Who Are Not 
Registered Distributors of Alcoholic Beverages 

 

Introduction 
 
If you bring small quantities of alcoholic beverages into New York State for your personal 
use and not for resale, you are generally not considered a distributor and do not have to 
register as a distributor of alcoholic beverages. However, other provisions of the Alcoholic 
Beverages Tax Law still apply; depending on the quantities and types of alcoholic 
beverages you bring into the state (and whether you bring them into the city of 
New York). For example, you may have to file returns and pay New York’s excise tax on 
alcoholic beverages.  
 
This bulletin provides an overview of the alcoholic beverages tax penalties that may apply 
to you as an individual who is not required to be registered as a distributor of alcoholic 
beverages.  
 
For details on provisions of the Alcoholic Beverages Tax Law that may apply to 
individuals who are not required to be registered as a distributor of alcoholic beverages, 
see: 
 

• Tax Bulletin Do I Have to Register as a Distributor of Alcoholic Beverages? 
(TB-AB-180); 

• Tax Bulletin Filing Requirements for Individuals Who Import Alcoholic Beverages for 
Personal Use (TB-AB-275); and 

• Tax Bulletin Alcoholic Beverages Tax – Introduction and Definitions (TB-AB-25). 
 
Even if you are not required to register as a distributor, you must follow the alcoholic 
beverages tax rules that apply to you. If you do not comply with the law, you will be 
subject to the following penalties. 
 

Penalties for late filing and failing to file a return  

If you: the penalty is: 

are an individual required to file and you 
fail to file or fail to file a return on time, 

50% of the tax due plus 1% for each 
additional month or part of a month. 
(Tax Law, sec. 433(1)(a)(ii)) 

are required to file and you file a return 
late by more than 60 days, 

50% of the tax due plus 1% for each 
additional month or part of a month. 
However, this penalty cannot be less than 
$100 or the amount of tax required to be 
shown on the return, whichever is less. 
(Tax Law, sec. 433(1)(a)(iii)) 

You may be subject to fines and a jail sentence if you fail to make, render, sign, 
certify, or file any return or report. (Tax Law, sec.1801(a)(1) and sec.1802-1807) 

 

http://www.tax.ny.gov/pubs_and_bulls/tg_bulletins/abt/do_i_have_to_register.htm
http://www.tax.ny.gov/pubs_and_bulls/tg_bulletins/abt/do_i_have_to_register.htm
http://www.tax.ny.gov/pubs_and_bulls/tg_bulletins/abt/filing_requirements_for_individuals.htm
http://www.tax.ny.gov/pubs_and_bulls/tg_bulletins/abt/filing_requirements_for_individuals.htm
http://www.tax.ny.gov/pubs_and_bulls/tg_bulletins/abt/intro_and_definitions.htm
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Penalties for failing to pay tax  

If you: the penalty is: 

are an individual required to file and you 
fail to file or fail to timely file a return, 

50% of the tax due plus 1% for each 
additional month or part of a month. (Tax 
Law, sec. 433(1)(a)(ii)) 

If your failure to pay any tax due by the due date was due to fraud, instead of the 
penalty described above, you will be subject to a penalty of double the amount of tax 
due. (Tax Law, sec. 433(d)) 

You may be subject to fines and a jail sentence if you willfully fail to pay any tax 
with the intent to evade tax. (Tax Law, sec. 1801(a)(7) and sec. 1802-1807) 

 
 

Penalties for document and record keeping violations 

You may be subject to fines and a jail sentence if you: 
 
• willfully file or submit a return, report, statement, or other document that you know 

contains any materially false or fraudulent information or omits any material 
information (Tax Law, sec. 1801(a)(2) and sec. 1802-1807); or 

• knowingly supply or submit false or fraudulent information in connection with any 
return, audit, investigation, or proceeding or you willfully fail to supply information 
within the time required. (Tax Law, sec. 1801(a)(3) and sec. 1802-1807) 

 
 

Penalties for miscellaneous tax fraud acts (other tax fraud acts are listed in the 
appropriate specific category)  

You may be subject to fines and a jail sentence if you: 
 
• fail to make, render, sign, certify, or file any tax return or report (Tax Law, 

sec. 1801(a)(1) and sec. 1802-1807); or 
• engage in any act to defraud the state or its political subdivisions or a government 

instrumentality within the state by false or fraudulent pretenses, representations, or 
promises as to any material matter in connection with alcoholic beverages taxes. (Tax 
Law, sec. 1801(a)(4) and sec. 1802-1807) 

 
 

Miscellaneous penalties for individuals while not registered as a distributor for 
New York State purposes 

You may be subject to fines and a jail sentence if you: 
 
• knowingly and intentionally import or cause to be imported more than 360 liters of 

liquors into New York State for sale or use in a one-year period;  
• knowingly and intentionally produce, distill, manufacture, compound mix, or ferment 

in New York State more than 360 liters of liquors for sale in a one-year period; or 
• as a purchaser of a warehouse receipt, knowingly and intentionally cause more than 

360 liters of liquor in a one-year period to be removed from a warehouse in New York 
State. (Tax Law, sec. 1813(e)(2)) 
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Miscellaneous penalties for individuals while not registered as a distributor for 
New York City purposes 

You may be subject to fines and a jail sentence if you: 
 
• are not required to be registered and you knowingly and intentionally import or cause 

to be imported more than 360 liters of liquors into New York City for sale or use in a 
one-year period; or 

• are not required to be registered and you knowingly and intentionally produce, distill, 
manufacture, compound, mix, or ferment more than 360 liters of liquors in New York 
City in a one-year period. 

• as a purchaser of a warehouse receipt, knowingly and intentionally cause more than 

360 liters of liquor in a one-year period to be removed from a warehouse in New York 

City. (Tax Law, sec. 1813(f)(2)) 

 
 

Penalties for any individual other than a registered distributor 

You may be subject to fines and a jail sentence if you: 
 
• import or cause liquors to be imported into New York and you willfully and knowingly 

have in your custody, possession, or under your control liquors when the alcoholic 
beverages tax has not been assumed or paid by a registered distributor. (Tax Law, 
sec. 1813(g) 

 

Additional penalties for alcoholic beverage wholesalers 
 
If you’re an alcoholic beverage wholesaler and you don’t comply with the sales tax law 
that requires you to file an information return regarding your transactions, you may be 
subject to civil penalties. For more information, see TSB-M-09(10)S, New Requirement 
for the Filing of Information Returns for Alcoholic Beverage Wholesalers.  
 

Seizure and forfeiture 
 
A motor vehicle (or other means of transportation) used to transport liquor, and the liquor 
itself, may be seized if a police officer or peace officer discovers that the vehicle contains 
more than 90 liters of liquor and: 
 

• the liquor is being imported for sale or use in New York State or New York City by a 
person who is not a registered distributor; and 

• while the liquor is being distributed or held for sale in New York State or New York 
City, the alcoholic beverages tax due on that liquor has not been paid or assumed 
by a registered distributor. 

 
Within five business days from the date of seizure, the Tax Department must confirm 
seizure by initiating action in the Supreme Court in the county where the seizure 
occurred; otherwise, the Tax Department must return the property that was seized. After 
seizure is confirmed, the seized liquor or vehicle may be subject to forfeiture and may be 
sold at auction.  
 

We may reduce or eliminate some penalties if reasonable cause is shown 
 
If you can show that your failure to comply with the alcoholic beverages tax laws was due 
to reasonable cause, and not due to willful neglect, we may reduce or eliminate the 
applicable civil penalties imposed by section 433 of the Tax Law and noted in this 
bulletin. See Section 2392.1 of the Regulations (Title 20 NYCRR).   
 

http://www.tax.ny.gov/pdf/memos/sales/m09_10s.pdf
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The collection process 
 
See Publication 131, Your Rights and Obligations Under the Tax Law, for an overview of 
the legal enforcement procedures the Tax Department may use to collect your tax debt if 
you fail to pay, or fail to make arrangements to pay, an assessed tax liability (Tax Law, 
sec. 431 and sec. 433(e)). 
 

Interest for failure to pay tax 
 
If you don’t pay the full amount due on time, you will owe interest in addition to a penalty. 
Interest is due on any amount not paid when due and accrues from the due date of the 
return to the date the tax is paid. Interest is compounded daily, and the rate may be 
adjusted quarterly. You can use the online Penalty and Interest Calculator to determine 
the amount of penalty and interest due. 
 
 
Note:  A Tax Bulletin is an informational document designed to provide general guidance 

in simplified language on a topic of interest to taxpayers. It is accurate as of the 
date issued. However, taxpayers should be aware that subsequent changes in the 
Tax Law or its interpretation may affect the accuracy of a Tax Bulletin. 
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TSB-M-09(10)S, New Requirement for the Filing of Information returns for Alcoholic Beverage Wholesalers 
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for Alcoholic Beverage Wholesalers 
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https://www.tax.ny.gov/pdf/publications/general/pub131.pdf
http://www8.nystax.gov/PAIC/paicHome
https://www.tax.ny.gov/pdf/publications/general/pub131.pdf
http://www.tax.ny.gov/pdf/memos/sales/m09_10s.pdf
http://www.tax.ny.gov/pdf/memos/sales/m09_10_1s.pdf
http://www.tax.ny.gov/pubs_and_bulls/tg_bulletins/abt/do_i_have_to_register.htm
http://www.tax.ny.gov/pubs_and_bulls/tg_bulletins/abt/filing_requirements_for_individuals.htm
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