
Maximum % Link to Federal Refundable for Maximum Benefit Max. Eff. State Minimum Benefit Min. Eff. State
State of Federal Credit Structure Residents Income Measure Income Range (1) Benefit Rate (2) Income Range (1) Benefit Rate (2)
Federal 100% N/A No FAGI $0 - $15,000 35.00% $43,001 and over 20.00%
AR 20% Credit Yes/No N/A Same as Federal 7.00% Same as Federal 4.00%
CA 50% Credit Yes California AGI $0 - $40,000 17.50% $100,001 and over 0.00%
CO 50% Credit Yes Same as Federal $0 - $25,000 17.50% $60,001 and over 0.00%
DE 50% Credit No N/A Same as Federal 17.50% Same as Federal 10.00%
GA 30% Credit No Same as Federal Same as Federal 10.50% Same as Federal 6.00%
HI (3) 25% Expense Yes Hawaii AGI $0 - $22,000 25.00% $40,001 and over 15.00%
ID Subtraction Expense N/A N/A $45,114 and over 7.80% $0 - $2,258 1.60%
IA 75% Credit Yes Iowa Net Income $0 - $9,999 26.25% $45,000 and over 0.00%
KS 25% Credit No N/A Same as Federal 8.75% Same as Federal 5.00%
KY 20% Credit No N/A Same as Federal 7.00% Same as Federal 4.00%
LA 50% Credit No Same as Federal $0 - $25,000 17.50% $60,001 and over 3.50%
ME 50% Credit Yes N/A Same as Federal 17.50% Same as Federal 4.30%
MD 32.50% Credit No Same as Federal $0 - $41,000 11.38% $50,001 and over 0.00%
MA (4) Deduction Expense N/A N/A N/A 5.30% N/A 5.30%
MN 100% Credit Yes Household Income $0 - $20,420 35.00% $34,070 and over 0.00%

Itemized 
Deduction

NE 100% Credit Yes/No Same as Federal $0 - $22,000 35.00% $29,001 and over 5.00%
NM N/A N/A Yes NM Modified Gross $0 - $21 424 NA $21 425 and over 0 00%

1.00%$0 - $22,800 6.90%
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$22,801 and overMT N/A N/A Montana AGI

NM N/A N/A Yes NM Modified Gross 
Income

$0 - $21,424 NA $21,425 and over 0.00%

 NY 110% Credit Yes New York AGI $0 - $25,000 38.50% $65,000 and over 4.00%
NC 13% Expense No Same as Federal $0 - $25,000 13.00% $40,001 and over 10.00%
OH 100% Credit No Ohio AGI $0 - $19,999 35.00% $40,001 and over 0.00%
OK 20% Credit No N/A Same as Federal 7.00% Same as Federal 4.00%
OR 40% Credit Yes FAGI/Poverty 

Level
$0 - $36,488 14.00% $45,610 and over 0.00%

RI 25% Credit No Same as Federal Same as Federal 8.75% Same as Federal 5.00%
SC 7% Expense No N/A Same as Federal 7.00% N/A N/A
VT 50% Credit Yes Same as Federal $0 - $40,000 17.50% $40,001 and over 0.00%
VA Deduction Expense No N/A Same as Federal 5.75% Same as Federal 2.00%

(3) Qualifying expenses are the pre-2003 Federal expense amounts of $2,400 (one dependent) and $4,800 (two or more dependents).
(4) Qualifying expense amounts are $4,600 (one dependent) and $9,600 (two or more dependents).
Source: Office of Tax Policy Analysis, based largely on Commerce Clearinghouse State Tax Guide and National Women’s Law  Center, “Making Care Less Taxing-Improving State 
Child and Dependent care Provisions” (April 2006).

Notes: 
(1) The maximum Federal credit is 35% of qualifying expenses in the Federal Adjusted Gross Income (FAGI) range $0 - $15,000.  The minimum percentage is 20%  of qualifying 
expenses for taxpayers with FAGI over $43,000.  Qualifying expenses must exceed earned income.  Maximum qualifying expenses are $3,000 for one dependent and $6,000 for 
two or more dependents.  
(2) Maximum or minimum effective state benefit rates are calculated for comparison with Federal benefit rates.   


