
Maximum % Link to Federal Refundable for Maximum Benefit Max. Eff. State Minimum Benefit Min. Eff. State
State of Federal Credit Structure Residents Income Measure Income Range (1) Benefit Rate (2) Income Range (1) Benefit Rate (2)
Federal 100% N/A No FAGI $0 - $15,000 35.00% $43,001 and over 20.00%
AR 20% Credit Yes/No N/A Same as Federal 7.00% Same as Federal 4.00%
CA 50% Credit No Same as Federal $0 - $40,000 17.50% $100,001 and over 0.00%
CO 50% Credit Yes Same as Federal $0 - $25,000 17.50% $60,001 and over 0.00%
DE 50% Credit No N/A Same as Federal 17.50% Same as Federal 10.00%
GA 30% Credit No Same as Federal Same as Federal 10.50% Same as Federal 6.00%
HI (3) 25% Expense Yes Hawaii AGI $0 - $22,000 25.00% $40,001 and over 15.00%
ID Subtraction Expense N/A N/A $53,520 and over 7.80% $0 - $2,676 1.60%
IA 75% Credit Yes Iowa Net Income $0 - $9,999 26.25% $45,000 and over 0.00%
KS 25% Credit No N/A Same as Federal 8.75% Same as Federal 5.00%
KY 20% Credit No N/A Same as Federal 7.00% Same as Federal 4.00%
LA 50% Credit Yes/No Same as Federal $0 - $25,000 17.50% $60,001 and over 3.50%
ME 50% Credit Yes- up to $500 N/A Same as Federal 17.50% Same as Federal 5.00%
MD 32.50% Credit No Same as Federal $0 - $41,000 11.38% $50,001 and over 0.00%
MA (4) Deduction Expense N/A N/A N/A 5.30% N/A 5.30%
MN 100% Credit Yes Household Income $0 - $23,720 35.00% $37,370 and over 0.00%

Itemized 
Deduction

NE 100% Credit Yes/No Same as Federal $0 - $22,000 35.00% $29,001 and over 5.00%
NM (5) N/A N/A Yes NM Modified Gross 

Income
$0 - $30,160 NA $30,161 and over 0.00%

NY 110% Credit Yes New York AGI $0 - $25,000 38.50% $65,000 and over 4.00%
NC 13% Credit No Same as Federal $0 - $25,000 13.00% $40,001 and over 10.00%
OH 100% Credit No Ohio AGI $0 - $19,999 35.00% $40,000 and over 0.00%
OK (6) 20% Credit No Same as Federal Same as Federal 7.00% $100,001 and over 0.00%
OR (7) 40% Credit Yes FAGI/Poverty Level $0 - $37,050 14.00% $46,351 and over 0.00%
RI 25% Credit No Same as Federal Same as Federal 8.75% Same as Federal 5.00%
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MT N/A N/A Montana AGI $0 - $22,800 6.90% $22,800 and over 0.00%

SC 7% Expense No N/A Same as Federal 7.00% N/A N/A
VT 50% Credit Yes Same as Federal $0 - $40,000 17.50% $40,000 and over 0.00%
VA Deduction Expense No N/A Same as Federal 5.75% Same as Federal 2.00%

(6) A credit of 20% of the "allowed" federal credit for child care expenses, except that if Oklahoma AGI is less than federal AGI, the Oklahoma credit is prorated based on the ratio that Oklahoma AGI bears to federal 
AGI(7) Working family child care credit
Source: Office of Tax Policy Analysis, based largely on Commerce Clearinghouse State Tax Guide and National Women’s Law  Center, “2011 Making Care Less Taxing-Improving State Child and Dependent care 
Provisions” (April 2011).

Notes: 
(1) The maximum Federal credit is 35% of qualifying expenses in the Federal Adjusted Gross Income (FAGI) range $0 - $15,000.  The minimum percentage is 20%  of qualifying expenses for taxpayers with FAGI over 
$43,000.  Qualifying expenses must exceed earned income.  Maximum qualifying expenses are $3,000 for one dependent and $6,000 for two or more dependents.  
(2) Maximum or minimum effective state benefit rates are calculated for comparison with Federal benefit rates.   
(3) Qualifying expenses are the pre-2003 Federal expense amounts of $2,400 (one dependent) and $4,800 (two or more dependents).
(4) Qualifying expense amounts are $4,800 (one dependent) and $9,600 (two or more dependents).
(5) A credit of 40% of eligible child care expenses, reduced, for tax filers with federal tax liability, by the amount of the tax filer's federal child and dependent care credit used to offset  federal tax liability.  Total credit is 
limited to $480 if one child, $960 if two children, and $1,200 if three or more children.


