
 STATE OF NEW YORK 

 DEPARTMENT OF TAXATION AND FINANCE 

 COMMISSIONER OF TAXATION AND FINANCE 

 ALBANY, NEW YORK 

Pursuant to the authority contained in subdivision First of section 171, and section 475 (not subdivided) 

of the Tax Law, the First Deputy Commissioner of Taxation and Finance, being duly authorized to act due to 

the vacancy in the office of the Commissioner of Taxation and Finance, hereby makes and adopts the following 

amendments to the Cigarette Tax Regulations, as published in Article 1 of Subchapter I of Chapter I of Title 20 

of the Official Compilation of Codes, Rules and Regulations of the State of New York. 

Section 1.  Paragraph (1) of subdivision (b) of section 73.1 is amended to read as follows: 

(b) “Initial registration.”  (1) An application for registration of a retail dealer or of a vending machine 

must be made on a form prescribed by the Department of Taxation and Finance for such purpose and must fully 

disclose all of the information required therein.  Every retail dealer and every vending machine owner or 

operator subject to the provisions of this section who:   

 (i) [commence] commences business in this State; 

(ii) [commence] commences selling cigarettes or tobacco products at retail through new or different 

places of business in this State; or 

(iii) [commence] commences selling cigarettes or tobacco products through new or different vending 

machines in this State; 

as the case may be, must file such an application with the department at least 30 days prior to the 

commencement of such business or the commencement of such sales.  Provided, however, the department will 

accept as being timely filed such an application received at least 20 days prior to the commencement of such 

business or the commencement of such sales, in order to facilitate the joint administration of the registration 
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procedures provided for under article 28 of the Tax Law and under article 20 of such law and this Part (see 

section 1134 of the Tax Law and Part 539 of this Title for the requirements for registering as a sales tax vendor 

and obtaining a certificate of authority).  Each retail dealer must pay with the filing of an application for 

registration, an application fee [of $100] as provided in section 480-a(2)(b) of the Tax Law, for each retail place 

of business or merchandising device through which the dealer will sell cigarettes or tobacco products in the 

State.  Each vending machine owner or operator must pay with the filing of such an application, an application 

fee [of $25] as provided in section 480-a(2)(b) of the Tax Law, for each vending machine through which 

cigarettes or tobacco products will be sold in the State.  The application fees should be [in the form of a] paid 

by check [or], money order, or electronically, [made payable to] as prescribed by the department.  In no event 

shall the application fees [that are set forth in this subdivision] be prorated for a portion of a calendar year or for 

any other purpose.   

 Section 2.  Sections 73.2 and 73.3 are repealed.  

 

 
DATED:  Albany, New York 

September 9, 2009  
     
                               

 
        Jamie Woodward      
        Acting Commissioner and Executive Deputy                        
                                                                                    Commissioner of Taxation and Finance 

 


