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 1.  Statutory authority:  Tax Law, section 171, subdivision First, and sections 429(1) and 436 (not 

subdivided).  Section 171, subdivision First of the Tax Law provides for the Commissioner of Taxation and 

Finance to make reasonable rules and regulations, which are consistent with the law, that may be necessary for 

the exercise of the Commissioner’s powers and the performance of the Commissioner’s duties under the Tax 

Law.  Section 436 of the Tax Law provides for the authority provided by section 171 to be exercisable 

specifically with respect to the alcoholic beverage tax imposed by Article 18 of the Tax Law.  Section 429(1) of 

the Tax Law, while providing generally for monthly alcoholic beverage tax returns,  provides that the 

Commissioner may require tax returns to be made at such times and covering such periods as is deemed 

necessary in order to insure the payment of the tax.   

 2.  Legislative objectives:  The rule is being proposed pursuant to this authority to allow returns to be 

filed by certain filers for periods and upon such dates other than those prescribed in the Tax Law. 

 3.  Needs and benefits:  The rule amends section 60.1(a) of the Alcoholic Beverage Tax Regulations to 

allow certain New York State farm wineries, micro-wineries, and out-of-state direct wine shippers to apply to 

file annual alcoholic beverage tax returns rather than monthly returns as currently required.  In addition, the rule 

reflects that out-of-state direct wine shippers are not required to report certain inventory information on their 

alcoholic beverage tax returns, which conforms to current department policy.  Records show that the tax 

liability of these wine distributors is minimal; annual filing would reduce the burden placed upon these filers.   

4.  Costs:   

  (a) Costs to regulated persons:  The regulated parties affected by this rule are approximately 750      

out-of-state direct wine shippers and 185 licensed New York State farm wineries who are currently filing Form 



 -2-

MT-40, “Return of Tax on Wines, Liquors, Alcohol, and Distilled or Rectified Spirits,” each month.  The 

regulated parties may elect to file an annual wine tax return.  Form MT-40 will be modified to accommodate 

both monthly and annual filing.  The administrative cost and burden of tax return filing will be reduced.  

However, to make the election to file an annual return, the regulated party will need to file Form MT-38, 

“Application For Annual Beer Tax Return Filing Status.”  Form MT-38 is a half-page form, currently used by 

certain beer distributors to elect to file annual beer tax returns.  Form MT-38 will be modified to accommodate 

certain farm wineries, micro-wineries, and out-of-state direct wine shippers.  The cost to the regulated parties 

choosing to file annually to fill out this application form is miniscule.  Overall, there is no measurable cost 

impact resulting from adopting this rule, which will benefit the regulated parties.   

  (b) Costs to the State and its local governments including this agency:  It is estimated that 

implementation of this regulation will cause an estimated minimal State revenue loss, based on a one time spin-

down in revenues, of approximately $45,000 in State fiscal year 2009-2010.   It is further estimated that the 

implementation of this regulation will cause an estimated minimal State revenue loss of less than $3,500 

annually.  It is estimated that annual, rather than monthly, processing of these returns should result in a slight 

reduction of this agency’s administrative costs.  This rule will have no cost in terms of revenue impact on local 

governments.   

 (c) Information and methodology:  The estimated State fiscal year 2009-2010 State revenue loss is 

attributable to a one time spin-down in revenues as collections associated with alcoholic beverage tax (ABT) 

liabilities for certain New York State farm wineries, micro-wineries, and out-of-state direct wine shippers for 

the January and February 2009 monthly liability periods will be shifted from State fiscal year 2009-2010 under 

current regulations to State fiscal year 2010-2011 under the proposed regulations.  The assumption for this 

estimate is that all eligible licensed New York State farm wineries, micro-wineries, and out-of-state direct wine 
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shippers will choose the annual filing option.  This is a one time spin-down as each subsequent fiscal year will 

receive a full 12 months of collections.   

 In addition, the estimated $3,500 annual State revenue loss is attributable to a minimal “cash flow” loss 

(i.e. interest) as ABT revenues which would have come in monthly under current rules will be delayed until 

January of the subsequent year under the rule.  The estimate uses average quarterly collections for the 2007 

calendar year for New York State farm wineries, micro-wineries, and out-of-state direct wine shippers and 

estimates the State revenue foregone in delaying the tax receipts.  A two-month Jumbo CD with an annualized 

interest rate of 1.5% was used to project the estimated investment revenue lost to the State due to the delay in 

access to the tax receipts.  It is projected that similar minimal “cash flow” losses (i.e. interest) will continue in 

subsequent years as ABT revenues are received on an annual basis rather than on a monthly basis.  Estimates of 

forgone future interest will be based on market interest rates at the time. 

 These conclusions are based upon the information and methodology discussed above and an analysis of 

the rule from the Department’s Taxpayer Guidance Division, Office of Tax Policy Analysis, Transaction and 

Transfer Tax Audit Bureau, Office of Budget and Management Analysis, and Management Analysis and Project 

Services Bureau. 

 5.  Local government mandates:  This rule imposes no mandates upon any county, city, town, village, 

school district, fire district, or other special district. 

 6.  Paperwork:  The rule imposes no reporting requirements, forms or other paperwork upon regulated 

parties beyond those required by statute.  The instructions for Form MT-40, “Return of Tax on Wines, Liquors, 

Alcohol, and Distilled or Rectified Spirits,” currently provide special instructions for out-of-state direct wine 

shippers.  It is noted that this rule will reduce the number of returns required to be filed by the affected parties 

who apply and are allowed to file annual returns and, in turn, processed by the Department.   
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7. Duplication: There are no relevant rules or other legal requirements of the Federal or State 

governments that duplicate, overlap, or conflict with this rule. 

 8.  Alternatives:  The intention of the Department is to allow the option of annual filing for affected 

parties which will benefit both the affected parties and the Department.  An alternative would be to offer 

quarterly filing, which would not be as beneficial to the affected parties or the Department. 

 9.  Federal standards:  The rule does not exceed any minimum standards of the Federal government for 

the same or similar subject area. 

 10.  Compliance schedule:  No time is needed in order for regulated parties to comply with this rule nor 

does the rule impose any new compliance requirements.  The rule will take effect on the date that the Notice of 

Adoption is published in the State Register and affected parties will be allowed to make the election to file 

annual ABT returns for tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2009.  Once the rule has been adopted, the 

department intends to issue a technical memorandum explaining the changes to affected parties, along with the 

revised application for annual filing, Form MT-38. 


