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The Tax Law imposes a Public Safety Communications Surcharge on prepaid wireless communications services. The Tax Law also 
provides that New York City and counties outside New York City may impose a local surcharge on prepaid wireless communications 
services.

The New York State wireless communications surcharge on prepaid wireless communications services is $0.90 (90 cents) on each 
retail sale of a prepaid wireless communications service that occurs in New York State, whether or not the sale is made in conjunction 
with the sale of any tangible personal property. New York City and counties outside New York City may impose a local surcharge of 
$0.30 (30 cents) on each retail sale of a prepaid wireless communications service within such locality, whether or not the sale is 
made in conjunction with the sale of any tangible personal property. See TSB-M-17(2)WCS, Wireless Communications Surcharge on 
Prepaid Wireless Communications Services, for more information.

Part 1 – Surcharge rate for localities that have imposed a local wireless 
communications surcharge
The chart below lists all localities and the surcharge rate for the localities that have imposed a local surcharge on prepaid wireless 
communications services. The surcharge rate shown is the combined state and local rate. See Part 2 for a list of localities that have not 
imposed a local surcharge.

Albany County	 $1.20
Allegany County	 $1.20
Bronx – see New York City
Brooklyn – see New York City
Broome County	 $1.20
Cattaraugus County	 $1.20
Cayuga County	 $1.20
Chautauqua County	 $1.20
Chemung County	 $1.20
Chenango County	 $1.20
Clinton County	 $1.20
Columbia County	 See Part 2
Cortland County	 $1.20
Delaware County	 $1.20
Dutchess County	 See Part 2
Erie County	 $1.20
Essex County	 $1.20
Franklin County	 $1.20
Fulton County	 $1.20
Genesee County	 $1.20
Greene County	 $1.20
Hamilton County	 See Part 2

Herkimer County	 $1.20
Jefferson County	 $1.20
Kings (Brooklyn) – see New York City
Lewis County	 $1.20
Livingston County	 $1.20
Madison County	 $1.20
Manhattan – see New York City
Monroe County	 $1.20
Montgomery County	 $1.20
Nassau County	 $1.20
New York (Manhattan) – see New York City
New York City	 $1.20
Niagara County	 See Part 2
Oneida County	 $1.20
Onondaga County	 $1.20
Ontario County	 $1.20
Orange County	 $1.20
Orleans County	 $1.20
Oswego County	 $1.20
Otsego County	 $1.20
Putnam County	 $1.20
Queens – see New York City

Rensselaer County	 $1.20
Richmond (Staten Island) – see New York City
Rockland County	 $1.20
St. Lawrence County	 See Part 2
Saratoga County	 $1.20
Schenectady County	 $1.20
Schoharie County	 $1.20
Schuyler County	 $1.20
Seneca County	 $1.20
Staten Island – see New York City
Steuben County	 $1.20
Suffolk County	 $1.20
Sullivan County	 $1.20
Tioga County	 $1.20
Tompkins County	 $1.20
Ulster County	 $1.20
Warren County	 $1.20
Washington County	 $1.20
Wayne County	 $1.20
Westchester County	 $1.20
Wyoming County	 $1.20
Yates County	 $1.20
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https://www.tax.ny.gov/pdf/memos/wireless/m17_2wcs.pdf


Telephone assistance

Need help?
Visit our website at www.tax.ny.gov
•	 get information and manage your taxes online
•	 check for new online services and features

Only the New York State surcharge rate of $0.90 (90 cents) on each retail sale of a prepaid wireless communications service applies in 
localities that did not impose a local wireless communications surcharge. The chart below lists the localities that did not impose a local 
wireless communications surcharge and indicates that only the New York State surcharge rate applies.

Columbia County	 $0.90
Dutchess County	 $0.90
Hamilton County	 $0.90
Niagara County	 $0.90
St. Lawrence County	 $0.90
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Part 2 – Surcharge rate for localities that did not impose a local wireless 
communications surcharge

Wireless Surcharge Information Center:	 518-591-5283
To order forms and publications:	 518-457-5431
Text Telephone (TTY) or TDD	 Dial 7-1-1 for the  
  equipment users 	 New York Relay Service


