

Publication 451

Wireless Communications Surcharge Rates on Postpaid Wireless Communications Services

Effective September 1, 2024

The Tax Law imposes a public safety communications surcharge on postpaid wireless communications services. The New York State wireless communications surcharge on postpaid wireless communications services is \$1.20 per month for each device in service during any part of a month for every customer whose place of primary use is in New York State. In addition, New York City and counties outside New York City may impose a local surcharge per month for each device in service during any part of a month for every customer whose place of primary use is in such locality.

Any items changed from the previous version appear in boldface italics.

Part 1 – Surcharge rate for localities that impose a local wireless communications surcharge

The chart below lists the combined state and local surcharge rate for the localities that impose a local surcharge. See Part 2 for a list of localities that do not impose a local surcharge.

Jurisdiction	Surcharge rate	Jurisdiction	Surcharge rate	Jurisdiction	Surcharge rate
Albany County⁴	\$2.45	Jefferson County	\$1.50	Richmond (Staten Island) – see New York City	
Allegany County	\$1.50	Kings (Brooklyn) – see New York City		Rockland County	\$1.50
Bronx – see New York City		Lewis County	\$1.50	Saratoga County	\$1.50
Brooklyn – see New York City		Livingston County	\$1.50	Schenectady County	\$1.50
Broome County ¹	\$2.60	Madison County ²	\$2.15	Schoharie County	\$1.50
Cattaraugus County	\$1.50	Manhattan – see New York City		Schuyler County	\$1.50
Cayuga County	\$1.50	Monroe County	\$1.50	Seneca County	\$1.50
Chautauqua County	\$1.50	Montgomery County	\$1.50	Staten Island – see New York	City
Chemung County	\$1.50	Nassau County	\$1.50	Steuben County	\$1.50
Chenango County	\$1.50	New York (Manhattan) – see New York City		Suffolk County	\$1.50
Clinton County	\$1.50	New York City	\$1.50	Sullivan County	\$1.50
Columbia County	\$1.50	Niagara County	\$1.50	Tioga County³	\$2.50
Cortland County	\$1.50	Oneida County	\$1.50	Tompkins County	\$1.50
Delaware County	\$1.50	Onondaga County	\$1.50	Ulster County	\$1.50
Dutchess County	\$1.50	Ontario County	\$1.50	Warren County	\$1.50
Erie County	\$1.50	Orange County	\$1.50	Washington County	\$1.50
Essex County	\$1.50	Orleans County	\$1.50	Wayne County	\$1.50
Franklin County	\$1.50	Oswego County	\$1.50	Westchester County	\$1.50
Fulton County	\$1.50	Otsego County	\$1.50	Wyoming County	\$1.50
Genesee County	\$1.50	Putnam County	\$1.50	Yates County	\$1.50
Greene County	\$1.50	Queens – see New York City			
Herkimer County	\$1.50	Rensselaer County	\$1.50		

¹ Additional local rate of \$1.10 will expire on May 31, 2029.

² Additional local rate of \$0.65 will expire on November 30, 2029.

³ Additional local rate of \$1.00 will expire on August 31, 2031.

⁴ Additional local rate of \$0.95 will expire on June 30, 2032.

Part 2 – Surcharge rate for localities that do not impose a local wireless communications surcharge

The chart below lists the localities that do not impose a local surcharge and reflects the New York State surcharge rate only.

Jurisdiction	NYS surcharge rate	
Hamilton County	\$1.20	
St. Lawrence County	\$1.20	

Need help?



Visit our website at www.tax.ny.gov

- · get information and manage your taxes online
- · check for new online services and features

Telephone assistance

Wireless Surcharge Information Center: 518-591-5283

To order forms and publications: 518-457-5431

Text Telephone (TTY) or TDD Dial 7-1-1 for the equipment users New York Relay Service