

Publication 718-B (11/21)

Paper Carryout Bag Reduction Fee

The New York State Bag Waste Reduction Act authorizes counties and cities to impose a five-cent paper carryout bag reduction fee (paper bag fee) when sales tax vendors of tangible personal property provide paper carryout bags, other than an exempt bag, to customers. The paper bag fee applies to each paper carryout bag provided to a customer, even if the vendor does not sell any tangible personal property or service to a customer, and regardless of whether the tangible personal property or service sold is exempt from sales tax.

Only sales tax vendors that sell tangible personal property in a jurisdiction where the fee is imposed must charge the fee. The paper bag fee is not included in any amount that is subject to sales tax but is collected in addition to any sales tax due on the transaction. Sales tax vendors must report the paper bag fee on Schedule E, *Paper Carryout Bag Reduction Fee*, and remit the fees collected to the Tax Department with their sales tax returns.

Any vendor who charges a customer for a paper carryout bag in a jurisdiction that does not impose a fee (or charges an amount in excess of a locally imposed fee) is selling tangible personal property subject to sales tax. For more information, see our website at *www.tax.ny.gov*.

This publication will be updated when jurisdictions enact or repeal the paper bag fee.

Jurisdictions that impose the paper bag fee

Jurisdiction (county names added for clarification)	Fee rate	Effective date
Albany County	\$0.05	December 1, 2020
Troy (city) (Rensselaer County)	\$0.05	June 1, 2020
Suffolk County	\$0.05	March 1, 2020
Tompkins County	\$0.05	March 1, 2020
New Rochelle (city) (Westchester County)	\$0.05	December 1, 2021
White Plains (city) (Westchester County)	\$0.05	June 1, 2020
New York City*	\$0.05	March 1, 2020

Jurisdictions are listed in county order

* New York City comprises five counties. These counties are also boroughs whose names are more widely known. The counties, with borough names shown in parentheses, are Bronx (Bronx), Kings (Brooklyn), New York (Manhattan), Queens (Queens), and Richmond (Staten Island).

Need help?		
Visit our website at <i>www.tax.ny.gov</i> • get information and manage your taxes online • check for new online services and features		
Telephone assistance		
Sales Tax Information Center:	518-485-2889	
To order forms and publications:	518-457-5431	
Text Telephone (TTY) or TDD equipment users	Dial 7-1-1 for the New York Relay Service	