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Fair Assessments
A guide for property owners

New York State law requires all properties in your municipality (except in New York City and Nassau County) to be 
assessed at a uniform percentage of market value each year. This means that all taxable properties in your city, 
town, or village must be assessed at market value or all at the same uniform percentage of market value each year. 
State law also requires your assessor to include the estimate of the market value for each property, the assessment 
for each property and the uniform percentage for all taxable property on the tentative assessment roll.

This publication explains how your assessor can comply with the law by keeping assessments up to date and 
equitable each year. The fairness, or equity, of the real property tax depends on whether similar properties are 
treated alike. By keeping assessments up to date each year, assessors can go a long way toward ensuring that 
taxpayers do not pay more or less than their fair share of taxes.

Who is responsible for assessments and who is responsible for taxes?

Assessments are determine by the assessor, an elected or appointed local official, who independently estimates 
the market value of real property in your community. Market value is how much your property would sell for under 
normal conditions. Once the assessor estimates the market value of your property, the assessment is calculated.

As mentioned above, New York State law requires all properties to be assessed at a uniform percentage
of value within your community. Your assessment is a percentage of market value. That percentage of market or full 
value at which properties are assessed within a community is called the level of assessment (LOA). For example, an 
LOA of 50% would indicate that assessments are at half of the market value, whereas, an LOA of 100% represents a 
community that is assessing at full value.

Your taxing jurisdiction (school district, town, county, and so forth) is responsible for developing and adopting a 
budget. There are several steps involved in this process. Revenue from all sources other than the property tax is 
determined. These revenues are subtracted from the budget to arrive at the tax levy; the total amount to be raised 
through the property tax.

The tax rate for properties in your community is then determined by dividing the tax levy by the total taxable 
assessed value of taxable real property in your community (tax levy ÷ total taxable assessed value = tax rate).

What is the difference between the market value and assessed value of my property?

The market value of your property is generally defined as what your property would sell for under normal 
conditions. For residential properties, your assessor generally determines market values by comparing a property 
with similar properties that have sold in similar neighborhoods, giving consideration to other factors possibly 
affecting market value.

In many communities, where assessments are maintained at a uniform percentage of 100, your assessment is 
market value. In other words, your assessed value would equal market value. If your community is assessing at 
a fractional percentage of market value, your assessment should be based upon the percentage being used 
throughout the community. For instance, if the market value of your home is $100,000, and your community is 
assessing at 30% of market value, your assessment should be $30,000.

Won’t my taxes increase if my assessment is adjusted?

First, as noted above, your assessor does not increase your taxes. Assessors are trained to be appraisal 
professionals, it is their job to make sure that the assessments are accurate and equitable, which provides the basis 
for fair distribution of taxes among the property owners within the assessing unit. Keeping assessments up to date 
each year is necessary for fair tax distribution.
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Next, keeping values up to date each year does not necessarily mean that your assessment will increase. Market 
values of properties may stay the same or go down, which means that some properties should see a decrease in 
assessed values.

If your assessment does increase, it doesn’t mean that your taxes will automatically increase. In some cases, a 
municipality will go from a fractional level of assessment to 100%. If the original level of assessment was 10%, and 
the current level of assessment is 100%, your assessed value could go from $9,000 to $90,000, and you might not 
see any increase in taxes.

In addition, if your assessment increases, but the assessments of most other properties increase more, your share 
of the taxes could decrease. For instance, if your assessment increased by 3%, but most other property owners saw 
increases of 5%, you’ll likely see a decrease in taxes (assuming your school and municipal budgets remain stable 
and the tax levy does not increase).

How does the assessor decide which assessments to change and by how much?

To maintain a uniform LOA, each year your assessor will need to analyze all of the properties in the municipality to 
determine which assessments need to be changed. If assessments have been kept up to date each year, or if the 
real estate market has been fairly stable, it is possible that few assessments will need to be adjusted.

Where assessments do need to be changed, in some cases, your assessor will be able to increase or decrease the 
assessments of a neighborhood or group of properties by applying real estate market trends to those properties. 
This is possible only when assessments are at a uniform level. In other cases, the assessor will need to conduct 
physical reinspections for reappraisals of properties. Every assessing unit should be keeping assessments at a fair 
and uniform level every year.

Why does state aid require 100% of market value?

It’s much easier for taxpayers to understand assessments and determine whether they’re overassessed when 
assessments are kept at market value. While state law does authorize municipalities to assess at market value or 
some uniform percentage thereof, the state aid program requires towns and cities to keep their assessments at 
market value.

Think of it this way: if you estimate your home to be worth $100,000 but the assessed value if $90,000, you might 
think your property is under-assessed. However, if the level of assessment is less than 100% of market value, you 
might be over-assessed. If, indeed, your home’s market value is $100,000, but your municipality is assessing at 80% 
of market value, your assessed value should be $80,000 ($1,000 x .80 = $80,000). In this case, your property is 
over-assessed by $10,000.

It almost goes without saying that it’s very easy to be confused when assessments aren’t kept fair and at market 
value (and it’s also much more difficult to explain).

If my home is physically reinspected, do I have to let the assessor in?

While you are not required to let the assessor or data collector in your home, your cooperation, along with that of 
all other property owners in your community, helps assure that your assessment will be fair and based on complete 
and accurate information. Without such cooperating, data collectors are forced to estimate how many bedrooms, 
bathrooms, and so forth. there are in your home. Later, if you disagree with the assessment for your property and 
ask that it be lowered, assessment officials will need the information you refused to provide in order to rule on your 
request for a lower assessment.

If it is really inconvenient to allow an inspection at that time, tell the data collector that and try to make an 
appointment for some other date. However, if you can spare the ten minutes or so that will usually be required, we 
urge you to allow it to proceed so that the information necessary for equitable assessment can be gathered.

Property owners are cautioned not to allow anyone into their homes without proper identification, preferably ID 
cards with photographs signed by an authorized town or city official. No identification, no entry.
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How do I know that the assessor has the correct information about my property?

Because the information about your property will be used to determine your assessment, it is in your best interest 
to make sure that your assessor’s data is correct for your property. You can check with your assessor’s office to 
receive a listing of the information pertaining to your property.

When will I know my new assessment?

Based upon the available information about your property, your assessor will estimate the market value of your 
property. A notice will then be sent informing you of your new assessment. If you have any questions or disagree 
with the new assessment, you should arrange for an informal conference at your assessor’s office to review the 
information on which the value is based. If the assessment official feels that a mistake was made (or there is any 
other reason to question the accuracy of the assessment), the assessment will be amended.

Only when your assessor is convinced that all the property assessments are as accurate as possible will they be 
placed on the tentative assessment roll.

What information is on the tentative assessment roll?

You will not find the physical inventory of your property on the tentative assessment roll, but you will find your 
assessment, your assessor’s estimate of the market value of your property, and the exemptions you will be 
receiving. In most communities, tentative rolls are published on May 1, but you should check with your assessor for 
the details in your community.

What if I disagree with the assessment on the tentative roll?

While the roll is tentative, you still have the ability to meet informally with your assessor about your assessment. 
If at the end of such a conversation, you still feel you are over-assessed based upon the market value of your 
home, you have the right to file for formal review of your assessment. More information about the assessment 
review process, including application deadlines and instructions, can be found in Publication 1114, Contesting your 
assessment in New York State, published by this agency and available online at www.tax.ny.gov.

Where can I learn more?

Your best source for information about assessment practices in your community is your assessor. The county 
director of real property tax services is another good source of information. Contact information
for local and county officials, as well as additional information about assessments, property taxes, and exemptions, 
is available online at www.tax.ny.gov.

What are the benefits of frequent reassessments?

Hundreds of municipalities conduct frequent reassessments to ensure fair and accurate assessments. Aside from 
state aid, the benefits include:

● Assessment equity for taxpayers – The longer it has been since a municipality has updated assessments, the 
more likely it is that some taxpayers are paying more than their fair share in taxes. Up-to-date assessments 
eliminate unfair assessments and the sticker shock that taxpayers experience when assessments are adjusted 
after years of neglect.

● Local control over the equalization rate – By maintaining assessments at market value each year, municipalities 
can consistently receive an equalization rate of 100. This eliminates shifts in school and county tax apportionment 
due to fluctuating equalization rates.

● Fewer court challenges to assessments – By keeping assessments up to date, municipalities are likely to have 
fewer tax certiorari cases.

● Increased state land assessments – Because state land assessments are frozen at the year of the last municipal-
wide reassessment, frequent reassessments allow municipalities to make changes in market value that they 
could not otherwise capture.
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