Memorandum

STATE OF NEW YORK
DEPARTMENT OF TAXATION AND FINANCE
OFFICE OF REAL PROPERTY TAX SERVICES

December 2013
TO: Users of New York State Assessqr’s Manual

FROM: James F. Dunne

SUBJECT: Revisions to Assessor’s Manual Volume 4: Exemptlon Administration,
Year 2014 Updates

This file contains updates to Volume 4 of the Assessor’'s Manual for the 2014
assessment roll year. The revisions and additions incorporate legislation enacted in 2013 that
pertains to real property tax exemptions (current through December 20). In addition to new and
amended exemptions, material has been revised to correct errors, clarify certain provisions of
exemption statutes, and to consolidate or reformat pages. Also provided is a set of instructions
for updating your copies of Volume 4.

Please note that annual updates to Volume 4 are available in a printer-friendly format on
the New York State Department of Taxation and Finance, Office of Real Property Tax Services
(ORPTS) website at
http:/iwww.tax.ny. gov/research/property/assess/manuals/vol4/summarypg htm. The entire
contents of Volume 4 (including current updates) may also be found there. This on-line version
contains the same material as the paper manual many of you have continued to use for several:
years, and switching to it will relieve you of the burden of removing many pages and inserting
new or revised ones each and every year.

Since 2011, all three volumes of the Assessor’'s Manual (including Volumes 6 and 7,
which pertain to Data Collection and Valuation respectively) have been available on the general
web site of the Department of Taxation and Finance. For information on matters of assessment
administration, including exemption administration, please go to and bookmark
http://www.tax.ny.gov/research/property/default. htm.

This will be the last year you will be receiving annual updates by way of printable files.
Revisions for 2015 and in future years will be made solely to the on-line version, with the
changes denoted on a summary page of changes. Unlike the two other volumes of the
Assessor’'s Manual (Data Collection and Valuation), the Exemption Administration Manual must
be extensively revised each and every year, usually across all eight.major sections. The high
frequency of revisions throughout the manual, combined with scarce resources at ORPTS

“makes it no longer feasible to continue maintaining and supporting the physical manual. You do
have the option of printing the web pages should you still choose to maintain the physical
manual on your own. However, the most cost- and time-effective approach is to use the on-line
version of the Manual without printing at all. Each of the profiles contains several hyperlinks for
easy navigation throughout the on-line manual. Exemption application and instruction forms
may still be downloaded and printed at
http://lwww .tax.ny.goviedfeekisaten®/orpts/exemption.htm.
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Two residential exemption profiles have been amended for 2014: the School Tax Relief
(STAR) and the Alternative Veterans program. The income eligibility limit for the Enhanced
STAR exemption (under Real Property Tax Law Section 425) increases to $81,900 for the
2014-15 school year, and the full value of the Enhanced STAR exemption increases to
$64,200, subject to equalization and other adjustments. In addition, penalties have been
increased for property owners who are adjudged to have made “material misstatements” on the
STAR application form.

Changes to the Alternative Veterans exemption (RPTL §458-a) involve an expansion of
benefits in this program (Ch. 518, L. 2013). The law now allows school districts, by resolution
after a public hearing, to authorize this exemption for school district taxes. (Existing law already
permits application of the exemption for county, city/town or village tax purposes). Also under -
this new legislation school districts which authorize the exemption in their respective
jurisdictions have the further option of using the maximum exempt values authorized by state
law for the three veterans categories ($12,000 wartime, $8,000 combat zone, $40,000 full
disability), or passing a local resolution establishing one of the two lower sets of maximum
exempt values or one of eight (or fourteen, in the case of a “high-appreciation municipality”)
higher sets. School districts allowing the exemption have another option, of adopting a local
resolution which extends eligibility to residential property owned by Gold Star Parents, and used
as their primary residence. '

School districts allowing the exemption may also adopt a local resolution to allow that
portion of a cooperative apartment corporation held by an otherwise eligible veteran/tenant
stockholder to be eligible for this exemption. Finally, each school district may adopt a local
resolution allowing a transferred prorated exemption to a veteran, the spouse or unremarried
surviving spouse of the veteran who sells his or her property upon which he or she has been
receiving the alternative veterans exemption, and who purchases a replacement property within
the same school district. '

Please note that these exemption benefits for school district purposes do not extend to
property owned by veterans benefiting under either the Eligible Funds (RPTL §458 (1,2,5)) or
Cold War Veterans exemption (RPTL §458-b).

Turning to other sections of the manual, in tax-free areas that have been approved
under the provisions of Article 21 of the Economic Development Law, property owned by a
private educational institution exempt under RPTL §420-a as of June 1, 2013 will remain
exempt whenever a portion of the property is later leased to an organization using the property
for tax purposes of the START-UP NY program. Rental income received by the private
educational institution from such lessees may not exceed the carrying, maintenance and
depreciation charges of the rented portion of the property.

New legislation reduces the limits on the amount of annual agricultural assessment
value changes to two percent (the previous limit was set at ten percent). This change applies to
agricultural land both within and outside of agricultural districts (Ag Mkts Law §304-a).
Agricultural structures as part of a farm operation, and which are wholly exempt now include
handling and treatment facilities which generate electricity from anaerobic digesters (RPTL
§8483-3, 487).

Questions on the material contained in the manual should be directed to the offices
listed at the end of the Introduction Section of Volume 4, or send email to Jerome McCall at
Jerome_McCall@tax.ny.gov



INSTRUCTIONS FOR UPDATE

PART I: ASSESSOR’S MANUAL VOLUME 4 — SUMMARY OF REVISIONS AS OF 1/1/14

Section Remove Pages/Forms Add Pages Statute Description Subject of Change Made
1.00 1.01-1.02 1.01-1.02 Various Introduction Notice of discontinuance of printed manual in 2015
1.15-1.16 1.15-1.16 and beyond. Updated ORPTS office telephone
numbers.
2.01 1.05-1.06 1.05-1.06 Various Subject Index Various new entries.
1.13-1.16 1.13-1.16
2.02 1.01-1.10 1.01-1.10 Various Exemption Code Index Various new entries.
3.00 1.09-1.10 1.09-1.10 Various Summary Chart of Various new entries (see subjects of changes below).
1.15-1.16 1.15-1.16 Exemptions
4.01 4.01-4.02 4.01-4.02 RPTL §421-f Home Improvements Clarified that residential improvements must pertain
to the structures, not to the land on which they are
respectively sited.
4.01 4A.01 — 4A.08 4A.01 — 4A.08 RPTL §8421- Multiple Dwellings Converted | City of Newburgh meets 2010 population criterion for
h, -i, -j, -k to Owner-Occupied offering 421-k exemption at local option.
Residences in Certain Cities
4.01 5.01-5.18 5.01-5.18 RPTL 8425 School Tax Relief (STAR) Updated eligible income limit and exempt value for
5.33-5.50 5.33-5.50 Enhanced STAR for 2014-15. Included penalties for
551 —5.62 551 —5.62 “material misstatements”. Updated STAR Assessor’s
Guide and appendices, including calculations in
examples.
4.01 8.03-8.04 8.03-8.04 RPTL §458 Veterans (Eligible Funds) Clarified “switchback” to Eligible Funds, under
Change of Level option (8458(5)).
4.01 9.01-9.12 9.01-9.12 RPTL §458-a Veterans (Alternative School districts may offer this exemption at local
9.21-9.30 9.21-9.30 exemption for wartime option; updated list of “periods of war”; includes new
veterans), plus Assessor’s section pertaining to expeditionary medals and other
Veterans Guide alternatives to “period of war” service.
0 R B e e [ RPTL 8§458-b Veterans (Cold War) Revised instructions concerning newly available
“Cold War Certificate” (See RP-458-b-Ins).
4.01 19D.01 - 19D.06 19D.01 - 19D.06 RPTL 8485-m; | New Residential Property in RPTL 8485-m (City of Syracuse) repealed; re-
RPTL 8485-0 Certain Cities established exemption, now codified as RPTL §485-0
4.01 20.01 - 20.02 20.01 - 20.02 RPTL 8487 Solar, Wind or Farm Waste Redefined “farm waste electric generating
Energy Systems equipment”.
4.02 43.05 -43.06 43.05 -43.06 RPTL 8404(1) | State of New York Revised PILOT schedule for South Mall contract
(Generally) (City of Albany).
4.02 49.07 — 49.08 49.07 — 49.08 RPTL §412 & Public Authorities Changed PILOT procedure for Long Island Power
49.25 - 49.42 49.25 — 49.42 Pub Auth L Authority; relabeled “Property Use” column in Table 2

as “Powers of Authority”




INSTRUCTIONS FOR UPDATE

PART I: ASSESSOR’S MANUAL VOLUME 4 — SUMMARY OF REVISIONS AS OF 1/1/14

When necessary, exemption application forms and instructions may be downloaded and printed at:
www.tax.ny.gov/forms/orpts/exemption.htm
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NEW YORK STATE DEPARTMENT OF SECTION PAGE

TAXATION & FINANCE ASSESSOR’S MANUAL 1.00 1.01

OFFICE OF . .. . DATE
REAL PROPERTY TAX SERVICES Volume 4: Exemption Administration 1/1/14

INTRODUCTION

This volume of the Assessor's Manual describes the legal and administrative requirements that must
be considered in granting or denying each of the real property tax exemptions authorized by New
York State law. It is designed to be a handbook that the assessor can use to determine:

1. whether a property owner claimin'g eligibi]ity for an exemption is in fact
entitled to that exemption, and :

2. if s0, how the exemption should be handled on the assessment roll.

The handbook is not intended to be a substitute for the law. If, after using the handbook and
obtaining information from the applicant, the assessor is still unsure about the applicant's eligibility
for exemption, the assessor should seek advice from the Director of Real Property Tax Services in his
county or from the State Office of Real Property Tax Services. For the most part, however, the
handbook should provide sufficient guidelines for establishing exemption eligibility.

The exemption handbook is made up of two loose-leaf binders. As existing material in the handbook
rapidly becomes out of date due to multiple changes in legislation and administrative procedures,
revised pages will be issued to all recipients annually.

Notice: Effective January 1, 2015 revisions to this manual will be made only in the web version.
The scarcity of resources at the Office of Real Property Tax Services makes it no longer feasible to
continue supporting and maintaining the physical version of this manual. Furthermore, unlike the
other two volumes of Assessor's Manual (Data Collection and Valuation), the exemption
administration manual must be extensively revised each and every year. Users will retain the
option of printing the web pages of revised exemption profiles. However, the most cost- and time-
effective approach for using this manual is to view the web version without printing at all. Each of
the profiles contains several hyperlinks for easy navigation throughout the on-line manual. In
addition, users of the on-line manual will no longer need to carefully remove and insert many pages
scattered across many different exemption profiles. (At the same time users will still be able to
download and print exemption application and instruction forms, at
http://www.tax.ny.gov/forms/orpts/exemption. htm.) ‘

There are three basic parts to the handbook: (1) a Subject Index and an Exemption Code Index, (2) a
Summary Chart of Exemptions, and (3) a set of Exemption Profiles. »

Subject Index (Section 2.01)

This is an alphabetical index of key words that describe the types of owners and property that may
qualify for exemption. For each main entry, the applicable law sections are listed and the Exemption
Profiles that should be referred to are identified by section and page number. In addition to the
main entries, synonyms and cross references are given.

The Subject Index is probably the best place to start when the assessor is unsure of which
exemption may apply to a property. Where appropriate, main entries include a list of exemptions
that, at least on the surface, appear to be similar. For example, under the entry Business are listed
over 20 types of exemptions available for commercial and industrial property. A quick scanning of



- Subject Index (Section 2.01) (Continued)

the list should enable the assessor to narrow down the number of possible exemptions.
From the Subject Index the assessor should proceed to the Exemption Profiles, where
eligibility requirements are described in detail.

Exemption Code Index (Section 2.02)

This index lists in numerical order all current 5-digit exemption codes established by the
State Office of Real Property Tax Services. For each code the applicable law section and
Exemption Profile are given. Assessors may find this index useful in checking on whether a
code assigned to a parcel is the one that accurately identifies the exemption granted to that
parcel.

Summary Chart of Exemptions (Section 3.00

The summary chart shows the extent to which each exemption applies to municipal taxes
and special district charges, indicates whether the exemption is subject to local option on
the part of taxing jurisdictions, shows whether the exemption statute contains specific
property use requirements, and gives the section and page number of the Exemption Profile
to be consulted for further information. Abbreviations used are explained in a legend at the
top of the chart.

Exemptions are listed in law reference order, beginning with the Real Property Tax Law,
continuing alphabetically with other consolidated laws, and ending with unconsolidated
laws, federal statutes, and international agreements.

" Exemption Profiles (Sections 4.01 - 4.08)

Most of this handbook is made up of Exemption Profiles, which are summaries of the
provisions of exemption statutes. There are over 200 profiles organized into eight groups
according to property type or owner, as follows:

4.01 Residential - Other Than Multiple Dwellings

4.02- New York State Government '

4.03 Municipal Governments

4.04 U.S,, Foreign Governments, and Interstate Agencies

4.05 Private Community Service and Social Organizations

4.06 Industrial, Commercial, and Public Service

4.07 Multiple Dwellings and Urban Renewal

4.08 Agricultural and Forest

Within each group the profiles are presented in law reference order, with the Real Property
Tax Law exemptions given first. Where appropriate, such as in the case of the exemption
for senior citizens, the profile is followed by application forms. Where they are available,
instruction booklets are provided following the forms.

Assessor’s Manual VOLUME 4 SECTION 1.00 PAGE 1.02 DATE 1/1/14



Questions on Material in Handbook

Quéstions about the information contained in this handbook on exemption administration
should be addressed to the following offices of the New York State Department of Taxation
and Finance - Office of Real Property Tax Services:

Questions on use of the handbook, eligibility requirements, and other matters not
listed below

Research Office
Main OFfice (AIDANY) ...o.eeueeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeereseeeeeeree e e eeeaes (518) 530-4525

Questions on interpretation of exemption statutes and other legal issues

Office of Counsel :
Main Office (Albany) .................... ererreresrerrenereesteinen e (518) 530-4535

Questions on exemption codes and their use on assessment rolls

Equalization Support Services

Main Office (AIDANY) .oovvvveieereeeerereeee e et eeeeeeresee e e eeeeeeeens (518) 530-4080
Questions on treatment of exempt property in the Real Property System (RPS)
Batavia Regional Office........cccivvviiieiciieiieieeecee e (585) 343-4363
Long Island Satellite OFffiCe .....ocvevvevreeeeereeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeree e (631) 952-3650
Lower Hudson Valley Regional Office .......cccovvevevevevvceeevcreeeinnenn (845) 567-2648
Syracuse Regional OffiCe........cccoovivvevieiirieeeeieeeeeeeeieeeeeeeeereeeeeeans (315) 471-2347
Northern Regional Office ....c.ooovivvviriirieireeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee s (518) 486-4403
Ray Brook Satelliteé Office........coiviviiieeeieieeeeeeeeee e (518) 891-1780

Main Office (A1bAnY) .......cooovevvviiieeeeieeceeeeeeeeeenne RS (518) 473-2496

Assessor’'s Manual VOLUME 4 SECTION 1.00 PAGE 1.15 DATE 1/1/12
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SUBJECT INDEX
Exemption Profile

Subject Law Section Section Page

Civic facility (see Government
property, Industrial development
agency, Public authority, Urban
Development Corporation, Urban
renewal)

Civil defense facility (see Shelter)

Clergy
- property held in trust RPTL §436 4.01 6.01
by clergy
- property owned by clergy RPTL §460 . 4.01 14.01
- residence owned by RPTL §462 4.05 277.01

religious corporation
(See also Religious organization)
Club (see Fraternal organization,
Nonprofit organization,

Veterans organization)

College or university
(see Educational organization)

Commercial facility (see Business)

Community development
corporation (see Urban renewal)

Community service organization = RPTL§420-a 405 2410
" RPTL §420-b 4.05 243.0

Condominium (see Housing)
Conservation easement RPTL §491 4.08 625.01
Conservation project

- air pollution control

- industrial RPTL §477-a 4.06 . 343.01
- industrial development RPTL §412-a 4.03 125.01
agency Gen Muny L §874 :

Assessor’'s Manual VOLUME 4 SECTION 2.01 PAGE 1.05  DATE: 1/1/14



Subject

Conservation project (continued)

- energy conservation

- flood control or
soil conservation

industrial waste treatment
- industrial

industrial deveiopment
agency '

- interstate agencies
(Delaware River, Great
Lakes, Susquehanna River
Basin Compacts)

other

 (See also Sewage disposal

or treatment)

Constitutionally protected
organization (charitable,
educational, or religious)

Construction fund, educational
(see Educational construction
fund)

Consulate

Convalescent home (see Health
organization)

SUBJECT INDEX

Law Section

RPTL §412 & Pub Auth L
RPTL §421-f

RPTL §470

RPTL §485-0

RPTL §487

RPTL §487-a

RPTL §489

RPTL §499-bbb

RPTL §499-bbbb

RPTL §406(2)

RPTL §477

RPTL §412-a-
& Gen Muny L §874

ECL §21-0701(14.3)

ECL §21-0901
(Article IV)

ECL §21-1301(15.3)

ECL §15-1909(4)
ECL §15-2115

"ECL §15-2309

- RPTL §420-a

Vienna Convention
on Consular Relations,
Article 32

Exemption Profile

Section

4.02
4.01
4.06
4.01
4.01
4.01
4.07
4.06
4.06

4.03

4.06

4.03

4.04
4.04
4.04
4.03

4.02
4.03

4.05

4.04

Page

49.01
4M.01
337.01

19D.01

20.01

21.01
433.01
374.01
375.01

103.01

341.01

125.01

211.01
213.01
2156.01
141.01

73.01
143.01

241.01

227.01

Assessor’'s Manual VOLUME 4 SECTION 2.01 PAGE 1.06
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SUBJECT INDEX
‘Exemption Profile

Subject Law Section Section Page

Horse racing facility
(See also OTB property)

RPTL §412-a 4.03 125.01
& Gen Muny L §874

Hospital (see Health organization)
Hostel (see Health organization)
Hotel or motel (see Business)
Housing (private owner)

- farm or food processing :
RPTL §483-d 4.08 623.01

VOLUME 4 SECTION 2.01

-labor camps or commissaries

- green buildings RPTL §421-ff 4.01 4M.01
' RPTL §470 4.06 -~ 337.01
RPTL §485-0 - 4.01 19D.01
- housing development RPTL §420-c 4.07 414.01
fund company RPTL §422 4.07 423.01
PHFL §33(1)(a) 4.07 451.01
PHFL §36-a(4) 4.07 463.01
PHFL §577(1) 4.07 487.01
PHFL §577(8) 4.07 489.01
PHFL §654-a 4.07 491.01
PHFL §1106-h ' 4.07 495.01

- infrastructure, '
residential subdivision RPTL §485-¢g 4.06 361.01
- limited dividend PHFL §§93(3) & 93(5) 4.07 473.01
housing company PHFL §§93(4) & 93(5) 4.07 475.01
PHFL §93(6) ' 4.07 477.01

_ PHFLS§97 . 4.07 _479.01
PHFL §556 4.07 485.01
limited profit _ PHFL §33(1)(a) 4.07 451.01
housing company PHFL §33(1)(c) 4.07 453.01
PHFL §33(1)(d) 4.07 455.01
PHFL §33(2) .. 4.07 457.01
PHFL §33(3) 4.07 459.01
PHFL §33(4) 4.07 461.01
PHFL §36-a(4) 4.07 465.01
PHFL §556 4.07 485.01
PHFL §654-a 4.07 491.01
Pub Hsng L §58(3) 4.07 525.01
living quarters for
parent or grandparent RPTL §469 4.01 19.01
- mixed use properties RPTL §485-a 4.06 352.01
(outside NYC) ‘
Assessor’s Manual PAGE 1.13  DATE: 1/1/14



SUBJECT INDEX

Exemption Profile

Subject Law Section Section Page
Housing (private owner) (continued)
- multiple dwellings
(various owners) ,
capital investment in
certain cities RPTL §421-j 4.07 422A.01
class 2 cooperatives and
condominiums (in NYC) RPTL §467-a 4.07 426.01
conversion from non-
residential property RPTL §421-¢ 4.07 422.01
conversion to owner-
occupied residences in
certain cities RPTL §421-h 4.01 4A.01
RPTL §421-1 4.01 4A.01
RPTL §421-j 4.01 4A.01
RPTL §421-k 4.01 4A.01
- Affordable Housing RPTL §421-e 4.07 421.01
Development Program :
HFA financed RPTL §421-d 4.07- 419.01
Housing Trust Fund RPTL §421-e 4.07 421.01
Program PHFL §1106-h 4.07 495.01
new (in NYC) RPTL §421-a 4.07 415.01
‘new (outside NYC) ~ RPTL §421-c 407 41701
RPTL§421-m 4.07 422B.01
rehabilitation of RPTL §488-a 4.07 431.01
Class B dwelling or
Class A dwelling for
single-room occupancy
various improvements RPTL §489 4.07 433.01
- not-for-profit RPTL §420-c 4.07 414.01
housing company RPTL §422 4.07 423.01
PHFL §1106-h ‘ 4.07 495.01
CLS U Con L Ch.270 4.07 541.01
Assessor’s Manual VOLUME 4  SECTION 2.01 PAGE 1.14  DATE: 1/1/14



SUBJECT INDEX

Exemption Profile

Subject Law Section Section Page
Housing (private owner) (continued)
- redevelopment housing RPTL §423 4.07 425.01
company PHFL §§125 & 127 4.07 481.01
- rent-controlled or rent- RPTL §467-b 4.07 427.01
regulated -- for senior RPTL §467-c 4.07 429.01
citizens
- rent-controlled or rent- RPTL §421-a 4.07 415.01
regulated -- other RPTL §421-¢c - 4.07 417.01
. RPTL §421-¢g 4.07 422.01
RPTL §488-a 4.07 431.01
RPTL §489-bbbbb 4.06 367.01
PHFL §405 4.07 483.01
Pub Hsng L §214(a)(2) 4.07 527.01
- residential, 1 or RPTL §421-b 4.01 1.01
2 family RPTL §421-f 4.01 4.01
‘ RPTL §421-1 4.01 4B.01
RPTL §421-ff 4.01 4M.01
RPTL §457 4.01 7A.01
RPTL §485-1 4.01 19C.01
_residential investment RPTL §421-1 4.01 4B.01
in certain municipalities RPTL §421-ff 4.01 4M.01
RPTL §485-h 4.01 19A.01
RPTL §485-1 4.01 19A.01
RPTL §485-j 4.01 19A.01
RPTL §485-j 4.01 19B.01
RPTL §485-k 4.01 19A.01
~ RPTL§485-1 401 = 19A01
RPTL §485-m 4.01. 19A.01
RPTL §485-0 4.01 19D.01
residential subdivision
infrastructure RPTL §485-g 4.06 361.01
- tenant income limits Various 4.07 411.34
(see Housing Chart ID)
(See also Housing
Charts IA - IE, Section 4.07,
Page 411.01, in this volume)
Housing (public owner)
- green buildings RPTL §470 4.06 337.01
Assessor’s Manual VOLUME 4  SECTION 2.01 PAGE 1.15  DATE: 1/1/14



SUBJECT INDEX

Exemption Profile

Subject | Law Section Section Page
Housing (public owner) (continued)
- Housing Assistance PHFL §654-b 4.07 491.01
Corporation
- Housing Development PHFL §654-a 4.07 491.01
Corporation, NYC PHFL §663 4.07 493.01
- Housing Finance Agency, PHFL §33(2) 4.07 457.01
NYS, and subsidiaries PHFL §45-a 4.07 467.01
' PHFL §45-b 4.07 469.01
PHFL §53 4.07 - 471.01
- Housing New York PHFL §654-c 4.07 491.01
Corporation
- municipal housing PHFL §556 4.07 485.01
authority PHFL §1106-h 4.07 495.01
Pub Hsng L §§52(3), 4.07 521.01
52(5), 52(6)
Pub Hsng L §§52(4), 4.07 523.01
52(5), 52(6)
Pub Hsng L §58(3) 4.07 525.01
- municipally owned housing PHFL §36-a(2) 4.07 463.01
PHFL §36-a(4) 4.07 465.01
PHFL §556 4.07 485.01
_PHFL §1106-h _ _ 4,07 . 49501
- protective and safety devices RPTL §467-f 4.07 430.01
- United Nations McK U Con L §9613 404  225.01
Development Corporation
- Urban Development PHFL §33(1)(c) 4.07 453.01
Corporation and PHFL §93(6) 4.07 477.01
subsidiaries PHFL §577(3) 4.07 489.01
McK U Con L §6272 4.07 543.01
- tenant income limits Various 4.07 411.34
(see Housing Chart ID)
(See also Housing
Charts IA - IE, Section 4.07,
Page 411.01, in this volume)
Indian reservation RPTL §454 4.04 191.01
Assessor’s Manual VOLUME 4 SECTION 2.01 PAGE 1.16 DATE: 1/1/14



NEW YORK STATE DEPARTMENT OF SECTION PAGE
ASSESSOR’S MANUAL 2.02

TAXATION & FINANCE 1.01
REAL PROF‘?E';FT'iET‘Zi Services Volume 4: Exemption Administration PATE 1/1/14
EXEMPTION CODE INDEX
Exemption Profile
Code Law Section Section Page
10100 RPTL §410 4.03 117.01
1011_ RPTL §410-a 4.03 119.01
10200 Gen Muny L §120-u(10) 4.03 151.01
12100 RPTL §404(1) 4.02 43.01
12150 RPTL §404(2) 4.02 45.01
12200 RPTL §404(3) 4.02 47.01
12250 RSS L §313(h) 4.02 79.01
12350 RPTL §412 & Pub Auth L 4.02 49.01
12360 RPTL §412 & Pub Auth L 4.02 49.01
12370 RPTL §412 & Pub Auth L 4.02 49.01
12380 RPTL §412 & Pub Auth L 4.02 49.01
12400 Bnkg L §420-¢ 4.02 71.01
12430 Ed L §657 4.02 75.01
12440 Art-Cult L §20 4.02 65.01
12450 McK U Con L §7421 4.02 85.01
13100 RPTL §406(1) 4.03 101.01
13110 RPTL §446 4.03 127.01
13120 Gen Muny L §411 4.03 155.01
1323 RPTL §406(2) 4.03 103.01
1324 RPTL §406(3) 4.03 105.01
13250 RPTL §406(7) 4.03 113.01
1326_ RPTL§406(8) 4.03 114.01
13350 RPTL §406(1) 4.03 101.01
13360 RPTL §406(4) 4.03 107.01
13370 RPTL §446 4.03 127.01
13380 Gen Muny L §411 4.03 155.01
1343_ RPTL §406(2) 4.03 103.01
1344 RPTL §406(3) 4.03 105.01
13450 RPTL §406(7) 4.03 113.01
1346_ RPTL §406(8) 4.03 114.01
13500 RPTL §406(1) 4.03 101.01
13510 RPTL §446 4.03 127.01



EXEMPTION CODE INDEX

13520 Gen Muny L §411 4.03 155.01
1357 RPTL §406(2) 4.03 103.01
13580 RPTL §406(7) 4.03 113.01
1359_ RPTL §406(3) 4.03 105.01
1360_ RPTL§406(8) 4.03 114.01
13650 RPTL §406(1) 4.03 101.01
13660 RPTL §446 4.03 127.01
13670 Gen Muny L §411 4.03 155.01
1373_ RPTL §406(2) 4.03 103.01
1374_ RPTL §406(3) 4.03 105.01
13750 RPTL §406(7) 4.03 113.01
1376_ RPTL§406(8) 4.03 114.01
13800 RPTL §408 4.03 115.01
13810 ECL §15-1909(4) 4.03 141.01
13820 ECL §15-2309 4.03 143.01
1383_ RPTL §410-a 4.03 119.01
1384_ RPTL §410-b 4.03 121.01
13850 RPTL §408 4.03 115.01
13860 Ed L §2853 4.03 148.01
13870 RPTL §410 4.03 117.01
13880 Trans L §64 4.06 385.01
13890 RPTL §412 & Pub Auth L, 4.02 49.01
13920 Ed L §468 4.03 145.01
13930 Ed L §6282 4.03 149.01
13940 Art-Cult L §21 4.03 135.01
13950 McK U Con L §7400 4.03 161.01
13960 Racing L §617 4.03 159.01
13970 Racing §513 4.03 157.01
13980 Ed L §492 4.03 147.01
14000 RPTL §412 & Pub Auth L, 4.02 49.01
14010 RPTL §412 & Pub Auth L 4.02 49.01
Assessor’s Manual VOLUME 4 SECTION 2.02  PAGE 1.02 DATE 1/1/14
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1402_ RPTL §412 & Pub Auth L 4.02 49.01
14100 RPTL §400(1) 4.04 181.01
14110 State L §54 4.04 219.01
14120 State L §59-g 4.04 221.01
14200 RPTL §418 4.04 189.01
14210 Vienna Convention on

Consular Relations, Article 32 4.04 227.01
14220 Vienna Convention on

Diplomatic Relations, Article 23 4.04 229.01
14300 RPTL §454 4.04 191.01
14400 RPTL §416 4.04 187.01
14410 McK U Con L §9613 4.04 225.01
14510 ECL §21-0901 (Article IV) 4.04 213.01
14520 ECL §21-1301(15.3) 4.04 215.01
14540 ECL §21-0701(14.3) 4.04 211.01
14600 McK U Con L §6562 4.04 223.01
14610 McK U Con L §6611 4.04 223.01
14620 McK U Con L §6635 4.04 223.01
14630 McK U Con L §7210 4.04 223.01
14640 McK U Con L §6515 4.04 223.01
17000 McK U Con L §7181 4.04 223.01
17010 Rap Tran L §103 4.06 383.01
17650 McK U Con L §4413 4.02 81.01
18020 RPTL §412-a & Gen Muny L §874 4.03 125.01
18040 Gen Muny L §§506, 555, 560 4.07 563.01
18060 Gen Muny L §§506, 555, 560 4.07 563.01
18080 Pub Hsng L §§52(3), 52(5), 52(6) 4.07 521.01
18100 PHFL §36-a(2) 4.07 463.01
18120 PHFL §45-a 4.07 467.01

PHFL §45-b 4.07 469.01

PHFL §53 4.07 471.01
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18130 McK U Con L §6272 4.07 543.01
18180 McK U Con L §6272 4.06 389.01
McK U Con L §6272 4.07 591.01
18190 McK U Con L §6369 4.07 545.01
18300 PHFL §663 4.07 493.01
18600 RPTL §400(2) 4.04 183.01
19950 RPTL §456 4.06 333.01
20200 Gen Muny L §120-u(10) 4.03 151.01
21100 RPTL §436 4.01 6.01
21600 RPTL §462 4.05 277.01
25110 RPTL §420-a 4.05 241.01
25120 RPTL §420-a 4.05 241.01
25130 RPTL §420-a 4.05 241.01
25210 RPTL §420-a 4.05 241.01
25230 RPTL §420-a 4.05 241.01
2530_ RPTL §420-b 4.05 243.01
25400 RPTL §428 4.05 253.01
25500 RPTL §486 & Ins L §4310() 4.05 291.01
25600 RPTL §486-a 4.05 293.01
25700 RPTL §440 4.05 263.01
25800 RPTL §420-c 4.07 414.01
25900 NPCL §1608 4.05 300.01
26050 RPTL §450 4.05 273.01
2610_ RPTL §452 4.05 275.01
2611_ RPTL §452 4.05 275.01
26200 Soc Serv L §472-p 4.05 311.01
26250 RPTL §444 & NPCL §1408 4.05 267.01
2630_ RPTL §430 4.05 255.01
26350 RPTL §468 4.05 285.01
26400 RPTL §464(2) 4.05 281.01
26500 RPTL §424 4.05 245.01
2670_ RPTL §472 4.05 287.01
Assessor’s Manual VOLUME 4 SECTION 2.02  PAGE 1.04 DATE 1/1/14
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27200 RPTL §§489-d, 489-dd 4.06 362.01
27250 45 USC §546b 4.06 393.01
27350 RPTL §446 4.03 127.01
27400 RPTL §488 & Ins L §4607 4.05 295.01
2745 RPTL §485 4.06 351.01
27500 RPTL §485-d 4.06 357.01
27550 RPTL §485-c 4.06 355.01
28100 RPTL §422 4.07 423.01
2811 _ RPTL §422 4.07 423.01
28120 RPTL §422 4.07 423.01
28220 PHFL §260 4.07 583.01
28240 CLS U Con L Ch. 270 4.06 387.01
CLS U Con L Ch. 270 4.07 541.01
28400 PHFL §§654-a, 654-b, 654-c 4.07 491.01
28520 RPTL §422 4.07 423.01
28540 RPTL §422 4.07 423.01
28550 RPTL §422 4.07 423.01
29150 RPTL §426 4.05 249.01
29300 RPTL §438 4.05 261.01
29350 RPTL §438 4.05 261.01
2935_ RPTL §438 4.05 261.01
2945 RPTL §434 4.05 259.01
29500 RPTL §427 4.05 251.01
29600 RPTL §476-a 4.06 339.01
29650 RPTL §442 & NPCL §1405 4.05 265.01
2970_ RPTL 81138 4.06 377.01
29800 Ch. 487, L. 2007 4.05 312.01
3030_ RPTL §487 4.01 20.01
32252 RPTL §534 4.02 55.01
32301 RPTL §536 4.02 57.01
3320 RPTL §406(5) 4.03 109.01
Assessor’s Manual VOLUME 4 SECTION 2.02  PAGE 1.05 DATE 1/1/14
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33302 RPTL §406(6) 4.03 111.01
3340_ RPTL §406(5) 4.03 109.01
3355 RPTL §406(5) 4.03 109.01
3370_ RPTL §406(5) 4.03 109.01
3402_ RPTL §412 & Pub Auth L 4.02 49.01
38260 Pub Hsng L §§52(4), 52(5) 4.07 523.01
3850_ Pub Hsng L §58(3) 4.07 525.01
3860_ PHFL §36-a(4) 4.07 465.01
38703 PHFL §1106-h 4.07 495.01
4100_ RPTL §458 4.01 8.01
4110_ RPTL §458 4.01 8.01
4111_ RPTL §458 4.01 8.01
4112_ RPTL §458-a 4.01 9.01
4113_ RPTL §458-a 4.01 9.01
4114_ RPTL §458-a 4.01 9.01
4115_ RPTL §458-b 4.01 10.01
4116_ RPTL §458-b 4.01 10.01
4117_ RPTL §485-b 4.01 10.01
41200 RPTL §458 4.01 7.01
41300 RPTL §458 4.01 7.01
41400 RPTL §460 4.01 14.01
4164_ RPTL §§466-c, d, f, j 4.01 16.01
41657 RPTL §466 4.01 15.01
4166_ RPTL §466-a 4.01 16.01
4167_ RPTL §466-b 4.01 16.01
4168_ RPTL §§466-c, d, e, g 4.01 16.01
4169_ RPTL §§466-c,d, e, f, g, h, 1 4.01 16.01
41700 RPTL §483 4.08 619.01
41720 Ag-Mkts L §305 4.08 631.01
41730 Ag-Mkts L §306 4.08 633.01
41750 Ag-Mkts L §305(7) 4.08 632.01
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4180_ RPTL §467 4.01 17.01
41813 RPTL §467-d 4.01 18.01
4182_ RPTL §469 4.01 19.01
41834 RPTL §425 4.01 5.01
41836 RPTL §425 4.01 5.01
41844 RPTL §425 4.01 5.01
41846 RPTL §425 4.01 5.01
41854 RPTL §425 4.01 5.01
41856 RPTL §425 4.01 5.01
41864 RPTL §425 4.01 5.01
41866 RPTL §425 4.01 5.01
4190_ RPTL §459 4.01 11.01
41910 RPTL §459-b 4.01 12.01
4193_ RPTL §459-c 4.01 13.01
41950 RPTL §421-b 4.01 1.01
4196_ RPTL §444-a 4.01 7.01
4197_ RPTL §421-d 4.07 419.01
4198_ RPTL §421-e 4.07 421.01
41993 RPTL §421-ff 4.01 4M.01
42003 RPTL §421-ff 4.01 4M.01
42013 RPTL §421-ff 4.01 4M.01
42023 RPTL §421-ff 4.01 4M.01
42100 RPTL §483-a 4.08 620.01
4211_ RPTL §483-b 4.08 621.01
42120 RPTL §483-c 4.08 622.01
42130 RPTL §483-d 4.08 623.01
4411_ RPTL §457 4.01 7A.01
4421_ RPTL §421-f 4.01 4.01
44233 RPTL §§421-h, i, j, k 4.01 4A.01
44243 RPTL §421-j 4.07 422A.01
4425_ RPTL §421-1 4.01 4B.01
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44313
44314
4431_
44323
44324
44336
44343
44344
44443
44456
44466
44476
44486
4449_
4450_
4600_
46407
46450
47200
47450
47460
4747_
4748_
4749_
4750_
4759_
4760_
4761_
47660
4767 _
47680

EXEMPTION CODE INDEX

RPTL §485-h
RPTL §485-i
RPTL §485-j
RPTL §§485-1, j
RPTL §§485-1, m
RPTL §485-j
RPTL §485-j
RPTL §485-k
RPTL §485-1
RPTL §485-0
RPTL §485-0
RPTL §485-0
RPTL §485-0
RPTL §485-n
RPTL §485-p
RPTL §474
RPTL §466
RPTL §464(1)
RPTL §§489-d, 489-dd
RPTL §480
RPTL §480-a
RPTL §491
RPTL §491
RPTL §491
RPTL §491
RPTL §485-a
RPTL §485-b
RPTL §485-b
RPTL §489-bbbb
RPTL §485-¢
RPTL §489-bbbbb

4.01
4.01
4.01
4.01
4.01
4.01
4.01
4.01
4.01
4.01
4.01
4.01
4.01
4.06
4.06
4.05
4.01
4.05
4.06
4.08
4.08
4.08
4.08
4.08
4.08
4.06
4.06
4.06
4.06
4.06
4.06

19A.01
19A.01
19A.01
19A.01
19A.01
19B.01
19A.01
19A.01
19C.01
19D.01
19D.01
19D.01
19D.01
361A.01
361B.01
289.01
15.01
279.01
362.01
613.01
615.01
625.01
625.01
625.01
625.01
352.01
353.01
3563.01
365.01
359.01
367.01
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4769_ RPTL §485-f 4.06 360.01
47700 RPTL §479 4.06 347.01
4771_ RPTL §485-g 4.06 361.01
4780 _ RPTL §459-a 4.06 335.01
4784 RPTL §470 4.06 337.01
4785_ RPTL §470 4.06 337.01
4786_ RPTL §470 4.06 337.01
47900 RPTL §477-a 4.06 343.01
4800 _ PHFL §211 4.07 581.01
4806_ RPTL §488-a 4.07 431.01
4807_ RPTL §489 4.07 433.01
4810_ Gen Muny L §696 4.07 565.01
4840_ Pub Hsng L §58(3) 4.07 525.01
48460 PHFL §33(2) 4.07 457.01
PHFL §33(3) 4.07 459.01
4851 PHFL §33(1)(a) 4.07 451.01
48540 PHFL §93(6) 4.07 477.01
4854 PHFL §93(3), 93(5) 4.07 473.01
PHFL §93(4), 93(5) 4.07 475.01
PHFL §97 4.07 479.01
PHFL §556 4.07 485.01
48640 Pub Hel L §2864 4.07 511.01
48650 PHFL §33(1)(c) 4.07 453.01
PHFL §33(1)(d) 4.07 455.01
4865 _ PHFL §33(1)(a) 4.07 451.01
PHFL §33(4) 4.07 461.01
PHFL §556 4.07 485.01
PHFL §§654-a, 654-b, 654-c 4.07 491.01
48660 PHFL §577(3) 4.07 489.01
4866_ PHFL §577(1) 4.07 487.01
PHFL §§654-a, 654-b, 654-c 4.07 491.01
4867_ PHFL §§125, 127 4.07 481.01
4869_ RPTL §423 4.07 425.01
4870 Pub Hsng L §214-a(2) 4.07 527.01
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4871 _ PHFL §405 4.07 483.01
48743 PHFL §1106-h 4.07 495.01
48800 RPTL §421-a 4.07 415.01
4881 RPTL §421-c 4.07 417.01
48820 RPTL §421-¢g 4.07 422.01
4883_ RPTL §421-m 4.07 422B.01
49000 RPTL §429 4.06 331.01
49200 RPTL §432 4.05 257.01
4940 _ RPTL §482 4.08 617.01
4950_ RPTL §487 4.01 20.01
49510 RPTL §487-a 4.01 21.01
4952_ RPTL §478 4.06 345.01
49530 RPTL §477 4.06 341.01
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Exemption Code(s): 4421_

Year Originally Enacted: 1993

Related Statutes: None

SUMMARY:

Outside New York City, to the degree allowed by local option, one- and

two-family residential buildings that are reconstructed, altered, or improved under certain
conditions (see below) are exempt from taxation and special ad valorem levies to the extent of
an annually declining percentage of at least some of the increase in the property's assessed
value attributable to the reconstruction, alteration, or improvement. No exemption is allowed
for special assessments. Local taxing jurisdictions may limit the types of construction projects
eligible for exemption and the percentages of exemption.

A. ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS

1.

Ownership Requirements: Property must be owned by a private individual or
individuals. If title to the property is transferred to someone other than the
heirs or distributees of the owner, the exemption must cease.

Property Location Requirements: Property must be located outside New York
Clty

Property Use Requirements: Property must be used as a residential building for
not more than two families. The value of the building construction project must
exceed $3,000 and must be of the type allowed exemption by the taxing
jurisdiction (see Local Option below); the project may not be one of ordinary
maintenance or repairs. The greater portion, as measured by the square footage

of the building reconstructed, altered or improved, must be at least five years
old.

Certification by State or Local Government: None required.

‘Required Construction Start Date or Other Time Requirement: Reconstruction,

alteration, or improvement of the building must be begun after the effective date
of the local law or resolution allowing the exemption.

‘NEW YORK STATE DEPARTMENT OF SECTION PAGE
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Home Improvements RPTL Section 421-f

B. LOCAL OPTION: Yes, local taxing jurisdictions are allowed several choices:

1.

Exemption -- To allow the exemption, a county, city, town, or village, through its
governing board, must enact a local law. A school district, other than one subject
to Article 52 of the Education Law, is authorized to allow the exemption, through
adoption of a resolution by its governing board. In all cases, the taxing
jurisdiction must hold a public hearing before acting to allow the exemption.

Percentage of Exemption --'Any taxing jurisdiction allowing the exemption may
reduce the percentage of exemption allowed in each year by state law (see
Calculation of Exemption below).

Maximum Value of Improvement -- State law limits the exemption to a
maximum of $80,000 in increased market value. Local taxing jurisdictions may
reduce this maximum to any amount less than $80,000, but not less than $5,000.

Type of Improvement -- In its local law or resolution allowing the home
improvement exemption, a taxing jurisdiction may limit the forms of reconstruc-
tion, alteration, or improvement eligible. It may further limit exemption to
improvements that would otherwise result in an increase in the assessed value of
the property but that consist of addition to or remodeling or modernization of an
existing residence to prevent physical deterioration or to comply with applicable
building, sanitary, health, or fire codes.
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NEW YORK STATE DEPARTMENT OF

TAXATION & FINANCE ASSESSOR,S MANUAIJ SECTION 4.01 PAGE 4A.01

OFFICE OF

Volume 4: Exemption Administration DATE 11/14
REAL PROPERTY TAX SERVICES

Multiple Dwellings Converted to Owner-
Occupied Residences in Certain Cities RPTL Sections 421-h, 421-i, 421+, 421-k

Exemption Code(s): 44233

Year Originally Enacted:

§421-h (Lockport (Niagara County) and Peekskill (Westchester County)) 2003
§421-i (Albany (Albany County)) 2005
§421-1 (Buffalo (Erie County)) 2006
§421-j (Cohoes (Albany County)) 2006

§421-k (Auburn (Cayuga County)) and City of Newburgh (Orange County) 2007

Related Statutes: None

SUMMARY: To the extent allowed by local option, multiple dwellings that are located in
certain cities and improved under certain conditions (see below) are partially exempt from city
taxes, but are liable for county and school district taxes, county special ad valorem levies, and
special assessments. The amount of the exemption is limited to a percentage of the increase in
assessed value attributable to the reconstruction, alteration, or improvement. The duration of
the exemption is limited to 8 years. Qualified cities may limit the types of construction projects
eligible for exemption and the percentages of exemption. (This exemption is currently
applicable only upon adoption by the following cities: Lockport (Niagara County) and Peekskill
(Westchester County) (§421-h), Albany (Albany County) (§421-1), Buffalo (Erie County) (§421-1),
Cohoes (Albany County) (§421-j), and cities of Auburn (Cayuga County) and Newburgh (Orange
County (§421-k).)

A. ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS:

1. Ownership Requirements: Property must be owned by a private individual or
organization. If title to the property is transferred to someone other than the
heirs or distributees of the owner, the exemption must cease.

2. Property Location Requirements: The property must be located in a city that
meets the following population requirements:

§421-h Property must be located in cities having a population of more than
22,000, but less than 23,000, as determined by the latest federal census.
Based on the latest census, i.e. 2000, only Lockport (Niagara County)
and Peekskill (Westchester County) currently satisfy this criterion.

§421-i Property must be located in cities having a population of more than
90,000, but less than 100,000, as determined by the latest federal
census. Based on the latest census, i.e. 2000, only Albany (Albany
County) currently satisfies this criterion




Multiple Dwellings Converted to Owner-
Occupied Residences in Certain Cities RPTL Sections 421-h, 421-i, 421-j, 421-k

A. ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS (continued):

2.

Property Location Requirements (continued):

§421-i Property must be located in cities having a population of more than
290,000, but less than 295,000, as determined by the latest federal
census. Based on the latest census, i.e., 2000, only Buffalo (Erie
County) currently satisfies this criterion.

§421-j Property must be located in cities having a population of more than
15,500, but less than 16,000, as determined by the latest federal census.
Based on the latest census, i.e., 2000, only Cohoes (Albany County)
currently satisfies this criterion.

§421-k Property must be located in cities having a population of more than
28,500 inhabitants but less than 29,000 inhabitants, as determined by
the latest federal census. Based on the latest federal census, i.e., 2010,
only the cities of Auburn (Cayuga County) and Newburgh (Orange
County) currently satisfy this criterion.

Property Use Requirements: Property that was not previously owner-occupied
must be used as an owner-occupied single-family residence. However, property
that was previously owner-occupied must be used as an owner-occupied
residence for not more than two families. The value of the construction project
must exceed $5,000 and must be of the type allowed exemption by the taxing
jurisdiction (see Local Option below); the project may not be one of ordinary
maintenance or repairs. The greater portion of the property, as measured by the
square footage of both the original property and the improvement, must be at
least five years old.

Certification by State or Local Government: None required.

Required Construction Start Date or Other Time Requirement: Reconstruction,
alteration, or improvement of the property must have commenced after the
effective date of the local law allowing the exemption.

B. LOCAL OPTION: Yes, local taxing jurisdictions are allowed several choices:

1.

Exemption -- A city meeting the population requirements may choose whether or
not to allow the exemption. The option to exempt must be exercised by the city
through the adoption of a local law after a public hearing has been held.

Percentage of Exemption -- A qualified city allowing the exemption may reduce
the percentage of exemption allowed in each year by state law (see Calculation of
Exemption below).
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Multiple Dwellings Converted to Owner-
Occupied Residences in Certain Cities RPTL Sections 421-h, 421-i, 421-j, 421-k

LOCAL OPTION (continued):

3. Maximum Value of Improvement -- State law limits the exemption to a
maximum of $100,000 in increased market value. Qualified cities may reduce
this maximum to any amount less than $100,000, but not less than $10,000.

4, Type of Improvement -- In its local law allowing the exemption, a qualified city
may limit the forms of eligible reconstruction, alteration, or improvement
eligible. It may further limit exemption to improvements that would otherwise
result in an increase in the assessed value of the property, but that consist of
addition to or remodeling or modernization of an existing residence to prevent
physical deterioration or to comply with applicable building, sanitary, health, or
fire codes.
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Multiple Dwellings Converted to Owner-
Occupied Residences in Certain Cities

RPTL Sections 421-h, 421-i, 421-j, 421-k

C. LIMITATION ON EXEMPTION:

General School Special
Municipal District Ad Valorem Special
Taxes Taxes Levies Assessments
No No No
1. Amount Yes* exemption exemption exemption
allowed allowed allowed
No No No
2. Duration 8 years* exemption exemption exemption
allowed allowed allowed
3. Taxing Jurisdiction
a. County or County Tax NA Tax Tax
Special Districts
b. City Ex** NA NA Tax
c. Town or Town
Special District Tax NA Tax Tax
d.Village Tax NA NA Tax
e. School District NA Tax NA NA
Ex - Exempt Tax - Taxable NA - Not Applicable

* See Calculation of Exemption below.

** If allowed by local option.
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Multiple Dwellings Converted to Owner-
Occupied Residences in Certain Cities RPTL Sections 421-h, 421-i, 421-j, 421-k

D. PAYMENTS IN LIEU OF TAXES: None required.

E. CALCULATION OF EXEMPTION:

1. General Municipal and School District Taxes: This exemption is for city taxes
only. The extent of the exemption is determined by the “exemption base” and the
percentage of that base allowed as exempt each year. The exemption base is
defined as the increase in assessed value as determined in the initial year of the
term of exemption, except as follows.

In any year in which a change in level of assessment of 15% or more is certified
for a final assessment roll pursuant to the rules of the State Office of Real
Property Tax Services, the exemption base must be multiplied by the following
fraction:

Total assessed value of parcel
on final assessment roll*

Total assessed value of parcel
On immediately preceding
final assessment roll

* After accounting for physical or quantity changes to parcel
since immediately preceding assessment roll.

Unless limited by local law, the exemption equals the base exemption, or the
base exemption adjusted as described above, multiplied by one of the following
percentages:
Year of Percentage of
Exemption Exemption Base

100.0
87.5
75.0
62.5
50.0
37.5
25.0
12.5

OO0 Ul W~

Qualified cities may reduce the percentage of exemption for any year.

The maximum exemption allowed by state law 1s $100,000 in increased market value due to the
improvement. The market value of the new construction is calculated by dividing the increase
in assessed value attributable to the construction by the latest state equalization rate or special
equalization rate, unless such rate is 95% or more, in which case the increased assessed value is
to be considered equal to the market value. Qualified cities may reduce the maximum
exemption allowed to any amount less than $100,000, but that amount may not be less than
$10,000.
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Multiple Dwellings Converted to Owner-
Occupied Residences in Certain Cities RPTL Sections 421-h, 421-i, 421-j, 421-k

E. CALCULATION OF EXEMPTION (continued):

2. Special Ad Valorem Levies and Special Assessments: No exemption allowed.

F. CODING OF EXEMPTION ON ASSESSMENT ROLL:

Code Description of Alternative Codes Possible

44233 §421-h  (Lockport (Niagara County) and
Peekskill (Westchester County))

§421-1 (Albany (Albany County))

§421-1 (Buffalo (Erie County))

§421-j (Cohoes (Albany County))

§421-k  (Auburn (Cayuga County) and City of Newburgh
(Orange County))

Assessment Roll Section(s): Taxable (RPS Section 1).

NOTE: This code should not be used to identify property that is exempt under any of
the statutes listed under Similar Exemptions below. For coding of such
property, see the Exemption Profile for the statute that applies.

G. FILING REQUIREMENTS (Owner or Occupant of Property):

§421-h Lockport (Niagara County) and Peekskill (Westchester County)

Form RP-421-h [Lockport/

Peekskill] Application for Real Property Tax Exemption for
Capital Improvements to Multiple Dwelling
Buildings within Certain Cities

$§421-1 Albany (Albany County)

Form RP-421-i [Albany] Application for Real Property Tax Exemption for
Capital Improvements to Multiple Dwelling
Buildings within Certain Cities
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Multiple Dwellings Converted to Owner-
Occupied Residences in Certain Cities RPTL Sections 421-h, 421-i, 421-j, 421-k

G.

FILING REQUIREMENTS (Owner or Occupant of Property) (continued):
$§421-1 Buffalo (Erie County)

Form RP-421-i [Buffalo] Application for Real Property Tax Exemption for
Capital Improvements to Multiple Dwelling
Buildings within Certain Cities

§421-j Cohoes (Albany County)

Form RP-421-j [Cohoes] Application for Real Property Tax Exemption for
Capital Improvements to Multiple Dwelling Buildings
within Certain Cities

§421-k Auburn (Cayuga County) and City of Newburgh (Orange County)
Form RP-421-k [Auburn, City of Newburgh]
Application for Real Property Tax Exemption for
Capital Improvements to Multiple Dwelling

Buildings within Certain Cities

These forms and separate instructions may be downloaded and printed from:
www.tax.gov/forms/orpts/exemption.htm

H. REPORTING REQUIREMENTS (Assessor): None.
I. SIMILAR EXEMPTIONS:
Subject Statute

Capital investment in multiple dwellings in

certain cities RPTL §421-j
Certain living quarters constructed to be occupied

by a senior citizen or disabled individual RPTL §467-d
First-time homebuyers of newly constructed homes RPTL §457
Home improvements RPTL §421-f
New residential property in certain cities RPTL §485-m
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Multiple Dwellings Converted to Owner-
Occupied Residences in Certain Cities RPTL Sections 421-h, 421-i, 421-j, 421-k

I. SIMILAR EXEMPTIONS (continued):

Private one- and two-family dwellings and
certain multiple dwellings in New York City RPTL §421-b

Residential investment in certain municipalities RPTL §§485-h, 485-1,
485-), 485-k, 485-1, 485-m

Residential property improvements in certain cities RPTL §485-j

Residential property improvements in certain towns RPTL §485-1
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NEW YORK STATE DEPARTMENT OF

SECTION PAGE
TAXATION & FINANCE ASSESSOR’S MANUAL 4.01 5.01
OFFICE OF Volume 4: Exemption Administration | PATE 11/14
REAL PROPERTY TAX SERVICES
School Tax Relief (STAR) RPTL Section 425
Exemption Code(s): §425 (3) Basic STAR 41854

§425(2j) Basic STAR in certain school

districts (New York City, Buffalo,

Rochester, Syracuse, Yonkers) 41856
§425 (21) Basic STAR (Manufactured home

on land belonging to others) 41864
§425 (2j,1) -- Basic STAR in certain school

districts (New York City, Buffalo,

Rochester, Syracuse, Yonkers)

(Manufactured home on land

belonging to others) 41866
§425(4) Enhanced STAR 41834
§425(2j) Enhanced STAR in certain school

districts (New York City, Buffalo,

Rochester, Syracuse, Yonkers) 41836
§425 (21) Enhanced STAR (Manufactured

home on land belonging to others) 41844
§425 (2j,) -- Enhanced STAR in certain school

districts (New York City, Buffalo,

Rochester, Syracuse, Yonkers)

(Manufactured home on land

belonging to others) 41846

Year Originally Enacted: 1997

Related Statutes:

RPTL §§102(12)(g), 467, 496, 520(5); Tax L §§171-u, 171-y

SUMMARY: Owner-occupied property that is a one, two, or three-family residence, a mobile
home or trailer, a farm home, or a residential condominium or cooperative apartment, and
which serves as the primary residence of the owner or that portion of any other type of property
which 1s partially used by the owner as a primary residence, is partially exempt from school
district taxes, but liable for general municipal and county taxes, as well as for special ad
valorem levies and special assessments. (An exception to this involves the cities of New York,



School Tax Relief (STAR) RPTL Section 425

SUMMARY (continued):

Buffalo, Rochester, Syracuse, and Yonkers, where a reduced exemption is applied against
BOTH school and general city taxes.) All primary-residence homeowners are eligible for the
“Basic” STAR exemption, regardless of age; however, incomes of such homeowners may not
exceed $500,000 a year. The amount of the basic exemption is $30,000, subject to equalization
and other adjustments.

Primary-residence owners that meet additional requirements are eligible to receive the
“Enhanced” STAR exemption. To be eligible, all property owners must be 65 years of age or
older, with incomes that do not exceed $60,000 a year as amended annually according to a cost-
of-living adjustment (COLA) used by the Social Security Administration. The Office of Real
Property Services has revised and promulgated the eligible income limit for each roll year.
(Certain exceptions to the age requirement exist, see 1. Eligibility Requirements,
A. Ownership Requirements.) The amount of the enhanced exemption is $56,800 as amended
annually according to an increase in the consumer price index for urban wage earners and
clerical workers (CPI-W) published by the U.S. Department of Labor (Bureau of Labor
Statistics), measured in the third quarter of the calendar year preceding the applicable school
year, subject to equalization and other adjustments. For purposes of the Enhanced STAR
exemption, “income” means the “adjusted gross income” (AGI) for federal income tax purposes
as reported on the applicant's federal or state income tax return for the applicable income tax
year, minus any taxable distributions from an Individual Retirement Account (IRA).
Low-income seniors who will be receiving the senior citizen exemption will automatically
qualify for the STAR exemption, without filing a separate STAR application. Although senior
citizens whose annual incomes exceed the eligible income limit for a given year will not be
eligible for the Enhanced STAR exemption, they may be eligible for the Basic STAR
exemption.

The STAR exemption amounts will be adjusted by a “sales price differential factor” in counties
where the median residential value exceeds the statewide median residential value and by the
applicable State equalization rate for each assessing unit. The adjusted exempt amounts are
limited by a “floor,” which provides that the exemption may not be less than 89 percent of the
exempt amount determined in the prior year, unless the level of assessment has changed by
five percent or more. The Office of Real Property Tax Services (ORPTS) calculates the
applicable STAR exemption amounts and certifies them to assessing units at least 20 days
before their tentative assessment rolls must be filed.

The STAR exemption must be applied after all other applicable exemptions have been applied
to the property's assessed value. However, the exemption may not reduce the property's
taxable assessed value below zero, nor may any owner receive both the basic and enhanced
STAR exemptions in the same year.

NOTE: Effective March 30, 2012 the Department of Taxation and Finance has the authority to
establish a program to aid in the collection of past-due state tax liabilities by suspending
eligibility for the STAR exemption.
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School Tax Relief (STAR) RPTL Section 425

A. ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS:

1. Ownership Requirements:

Basic STAR Exemption: The property must be owned by a private individual or
individuals. If legal title to the property is held by one or more trustees, the
beneficial owner or owners are considered to own the property for purposes of
this exemption. A farm dwelling that is held in the name of a business
corporation or a partnership is eligible, provided such dwelling serves as the
primary residence of a shareholder or one of the partners. A dwelling owned by
a limited partnership is eligible for the exemption if the property serves as the
primary residence of one or more of the partners, provided that the limited
partnership does not engage in any commercial activity, and that the
partnership was lawfully created to hold title solely for estate planning and
protection purposes. Furthermore, the partner or partners residing on the
property must personally pay all real property taxes and other costs associated
with the property’s ownership. A married couple may receive this exemption on
no more than one residence, unless they are legally separated.

The STAR exemption is not available to parcels having an affiliated income of
greater than $500,000, as determined by the Department of Taxation and
Finance. For purposes of this exemption affiliated income means the combined
income of all the owners and their spouses who resided on the parcel as of the
applicable taxable status date. Income has the same meaning as it does
concerning the Enhanced STAR exemption (i.e., federal AGI less taxable IRA
distributions -- see Summary). For the 2014-15 school year, the income
determinations will be based upon returns for the 2012 income tax year; for the
2015-16 school year, returns from the 2013 income tax year will be so used; and
SO on.

Note: where a person is the owner of a parcel under a life estate, or is a vendee
in possession of a contract of sale, or is a beneficial owner under a trust, or
resides primarily in a farm dwelling owned by a corporation or in a dwelling
owned by a limited partnership as described above, and has applied for and
received the exemption, that person is considered the owner of the parcel for
purposes of this exemption.

Enhanced STAR Exemption: In addition to the requirements listed above for
the Basic STAR exemption, all owners of the property must be 65 years of age or
older as of December 31 of the applicable assessment roll year. However,
certain exceptions have been legislated as follows: (1) for property owned by a
married couple, one of the owners must be 65 years of age or older as of
December 31 of the assessment roll year, (2) for property owned by siblings, one
of the siblings must be 65 years of age or older as of December 31 of the
assessment roll year, and (3) for property owned by a surviving spouse where a
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School Tax Relief (STAR) RPTL Section 425

A. ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS (continued):

1. Ownership Requirements (continued):

STAR exemption was previously granted, the spouse must be 62 years of age or
older as of December 31 of the assessment roll year. Furthermore, for the 2014
roll year the combined income of all the owners and of any owners’ spouses
residing on the premises will be based on the 2012 income tax year (January-
December unless a different 12-month period is used for income tax filing
purposes), and may not exceed $81,900. (This figure includes annual cost-of-
living adjustments (COLAs) that have been applied to the $60,000 income
ceiling originally instituted in 1998). On subsequent assessment rolls, i.e., 2015
and thereafter, the applicable income tax year, COLA, and applicable increase
percentage 1s advanced by one year, with the income standard being the
previously applicable income standard increased by the new COLA. Therefore
applications for this exemption on the 2015 assessment rolls must be based on
the applicants’ 2013 income; application on the 2016 roll must be based on their
2014 income, and so on. The enhanced exemption may be granted when the
owner is absent from the residence due to long-term confinement in a nursing
home or other health care facility, as long as the property is not occupied by
anyone other than the co-owner or spouse. A similar provision applies to the
senior citizens exemption, except that no income adjustment is applicable for
STAR purposes.

For the purpose of this exemption, income means the “adjusted gross income”
for federal income tax purposes as reported on the applicant's latest available
federal or state income tax return for the applicable income tax year, subject to
any subsequent amendments or revisions, reduced by distributions, to the
extent included in federal adjusted gross income, received from an individual
retirement account and an individual retirement annuity; provided that if no
such return was filed for the applicable income tax year, income means the
adjusted gross income that would have been so reported if such a return had
been filed. Any exclusion or deduction from income allowed at local option for
purposes of the RPTL §467 senior citizen exemption, e.g., medical and
prescription expenses which are not reimbursed or paid by insurance from the
computation of an applicant's income, is not allowed for purposes of the STAR
exemption.

Note: In cases where the combined income exceeds the eligible income limit for
a given year the property in question is nevertheless eligible for the Basic STAR

exemption provided all other eligibility requirements are met.

Owners who qualify for the exemption under RPTL §467 automatically qualify
for the Enhanced STAR exemption.

2. Property Location Requirements: None.
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School Tax Relief (STAR) RPTL Section 425

A. ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS (continued):

3. Property Use Requirements: Property must be a one-, two-, or three-family
residence, a farm home or a residential condominium or cooperative apartment.
The property must serve as the primary residence of one or more of the owners
thereof. The exemption may be granted to a portion of any other type of
property that is partially used by the owner as a primary residence.

4. Certification by State or Local Government: ORPTS must compute the
exempt amount for each assessing unit (see Calculation of Exemption), and
must certify the same to the assessor in each assessing unit and to the county
director of real property tax services in each county. Such certification must be
made at least 20 days before the last date prescribed by law for the filing of the
tentative assessment roll.

Recertification is required in certain cases. If ORPTS determines that an
exempt amount calculated under this exemption differs from the exempt
amount that should have been so calculated by five percent or more, due to a
change in level of assessment, inaccurate or incomplete data, or other causes, it
must recompute the amount for that assessing unit and must certify the
recomputed amount to the assessor and county director of real property tax
services.

5. Required Construction Start Date or Other Time Requirement: None.
However, in signing the application for exemption, owner agrees to notify the
assessor if his or her primary residence changes while such property is receiving
this exemption (see Application form RP-425).

B. LOCAL OPTION: None.
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C. LIMITATION ON EXEMPTION:
General School Special
Municipal District Ad Valorem Special
Taxes Taxes Levies Assessments
No No No
1. Amount exemption Yes** exemption exemption
allowed* allowed* allowed*
No No No No
2. Duration exemption limit exemption exemption
allowed* allowed* allowed*
3. Taxing Jurisdiction
a. County or County Tax NA Tax Tax
Special Districts
b. City Tax* NA NA Tax
c. Town or Town
Special District Tax NA Tax Tax
d. Village Tax*** NA NA Tax
e. School District NA Ex* NA Tax
Ex - Exempt Tax — Taxable NA - Not Applicable

* Incities of 125,000 inhabitants or more (New York City, Buffalo, Rochester, Syracuse,
Yonkers) the STAR exemption is reduced in amount but applied to both general city
portion of levy and portion of levy designated for school purposes (see Calculation of
Exemption).

** No exemption allowed for library purposes in consolidated school districts.

**% Unless boundaries of the village are coterminous with those of a union free school

district.
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D. PAYMENTS IN LIEU OF TAXES: None required.

E. CALCULATION OF EXEMPTION:

1. General Municipal and School District Taxes: This exemption is allowed for
school district taxes only, except in the cities of New York, Buffalo, Rochester,
Syracuse, and Yonkers. It is the responsibility of ORPTS to compute the
exemption and provide the exempt amount to the assessor. The exemption
amount is calculated for each assessing unit annually by ORPTS according the
provisions of RPTL §425(2).

The “base figure” used by the ORPTS to calculate the exemption is $30,000 for
the Basic STAR exemption and $64,200 for the Enhanced STAR exemption (
2014-2015 school year).

Required Adjustments to the Base Figure:

a. In counties where the median sales price of residential property exceeds
the state median, this “base figure” is further adjusted by a “sales price
differential factor.” Sales reported pursuant to Section 333 of the Real
Property Law (or in the case of New York City, a special local law) are
used to determine this factor. Sales of property held in condominium or
cooperative form of ownership are excluded.

b. ORPTS then multiples the result of the above calculation by the
“equalization factor,” which is the appropriate State equalization rate, or
special equalization rate. In the case of New York City and Nassau
County, the equalization factor for Class 1 in each school district portion
is the class equalization rate for Class 1 in the portion, and the
equalization factor for Class 2 in each school district portion is the
equalization factor for Class 1 in the portion, multiplied by the latest tax
rate for Class 1 in the portion and then divided by the latest tax rate for
Class 2 in the portion. (In any instance when school district taxes are
levied upon an assessment roll which predates the latest final
assessment roll, the equalization factor used will be the State
equalization rate for the assessment roll upon which school district taxes
are to be levied).

Note: the equalization factor is not capped at 1.00.

c. The result of the adjustment in (b) is limited by a “floor,” which may not
be less than 89 percent of the exempt amount determined for the prior
roll, unless the level of assessment in the assessing unit (or in Class 1 for
New York City or Nassau County) has changed by five percent or more,
in which case the STAR exempt amount may not be less than 89 percent
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E. CALCULATION OF EXEMPTION (continued):

1. General Municipal and School District Taxes (continued):

of the product of the previous year's exempt amount multiplied by the
applicable change in level of assessment factor.

The result ORPTS obtains in this series of calculations is rounded to the
nearest ten dollars, and becomes the exempt amount for the assessing
unit for the levy of school taxes on the corresponding assessment roll.

No exemption is determined by ORPTS for a village, unless the
boundaries of the village are coterminous with a union free school
district.

Note: The STAR exemption should be applied to the final assessment
roll for the year prior to the year of the school district levy in an
assessing unit in which school district taxes are levied on the prior year’s
assessment roll if the assessing unit has adopted a local law permitting
applications for this exemption to be submitted on or before taxable
status date of the current year’s assessment roll. When such a local law
is in effect the eligibility of the property for STAR purposes is based upon
the condition of the property as of the taxable status date of the prior
year’s assessment roll, and the ownership of the property as of the
taxable status date of the current year’s assessment roll. Such a local
law applies to assessment rolls based upon taxable status dates occurring
on or after the effective date of such local law, and remains applicable
thereafter unless and until it is repealed or rescinded (see Filing
Requirements).

Special Calculation for Certain Cities: ORPTS must adjust the exempt amount
for the cities of Buffalo, New York, Rochester, Syracuse, and Yonkers to account
for the fact that the school district is fiscally dependent on the city. This
adjustment is made by multiplying the exempt amount that would otherwise be
determined by 50 percent for New York City, or, in the case of the other four
cities, by 67 percent. The exempt amount resulting from this calculation is
applied both to the assessed value for city school district purposes and to the
assessed value for general city purposes.

The adjusted exemption amounts for each assessing unit is certified and
transmitted by ORPTS to each assessing unit (see Certification by State and
Local Government above). If ORPTS recertifies the exempt amount for the
assessing unit, the assessor must correct the assessment roll accordingly, or, if
another person has custody or control of the assessment roll, that person must
make the appropriate corrections. If the corrections are not made before the
school taxes are levied, the difference between the original exempt amount and
the recertified amount for each affected parcel must be deemed a “clerical error,”
as defined in RPTL §520(2), and must be corrected accordingly.
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School Tax Relief (STAR) RPTL Section 425

E. CALCULATION OF EXEMPTION (continued):

1. General Municipal and School District Taxes (continued):

If the exemption is to be applied to a mobile home or trailer in which the owner
of such mobile home or trailer does not own the land, the total amount of STAR
exemptions on such mobile homes or trailers should be entered as exemptions on
the parcel comprising these residences. If it has not been done previously,
assessor will need to apportion the value of the parcel among all the mobile
homes and trailers on the parcel for purposes of this exemption only, without
creating separate assessments in the names of the eligible mobile home or
trailer owners. In the case of mobile home parks, the assessor must also provide
a breakdown of exemptions to the park owner so that proper amounts may be
credited to the appropriate parties. In no event may the exempt amount exceed
the total assessed value attributable to the individual trailer or mobile home.

If the exemption is to be applied to a dwelling unit within a cooperative
apartment corporation, the assessor will need to apportion value of all the units
based on shares owned relative to the total number of shares issued by the
corporation. The assessor must also provide a breakdown of exemptions to the
manager of the cooperative apartment corporation so that proper amounts may
be credited to the appropriate parties. Should the cooperative project include
more than one parcel, the apportioned value should be based on the total value
of all parcels comprising the project, regardless of whether all the parcels have
dwelling units on them or not. In no event may the exempt amount exceed the
total assessed value attributable to the individual dwelling unit.

Resident owners of dwelling units within cooperative apartments organized as
limited-profit (Mitchell-Lama) housing companies who satisfy the STAR
eligibility requirements are entitled to receive STAR-related credits (“STAR
Savings”) as an alternative to reductions in assessed value. The assessor will
need to calculate such savings, equal to one-third of the “base figure” used to
calculate both the basic and enhanced exemption with required adjustments (see
Required Adjustments to the Base Figure above), multiplied by the applicable
school tax rate, or in the cities of New York, Buffalo, Rochester, Syracuse and
Yonkers, multiplied by the applicable city tax rate. The STAR savings for any
individual unit may not exceed the amount payable or chargeable to the unit as
real property taxes or payments in lieu of taxes. The assessor should provide a
breakdown of such credits by unit to the manager of the corporation so that
credits are properly allocated (see Reporting Requirements below).

If an individual mobile home, trailer, or cooperative unit is already separated for
purposes of granting the veteran exemption (RPTL §§458, 458-a, 458-b) or senior
citizen exemption (RPTL §467), the STAR exempt amount should be placed on
the assessment roll entry for that owner.
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E. CALCULATION OF EXEMPTION (continued):

1. General Municipal and School District Taxes (continued):

If the STAR exemption is to be applied to a non-residential type of parcel, a
portion of which is used by the owner as a primary residence, it must be applied
solely to that portion of the property used for residential purposes. Under no
circumstances may the exempt value exceed the assessed value attributable to
that portion.

Only one STAR exemption (basic or enhanced) may be granted on a parcel
eligible for this exemption, except for parcels containing more than one eligible
mobile home, trailer, cooperative apartment unit, or physically separate
residence. In instances where a parcel includes more than one physically
separate residence, the exemption may be granted to each residence which: (1)
serves as the primary residence of at least one of the owners of the parcels, and
(2) would be eligible for this exemption if it were separately assessed and owned
exclusively by the owner or owners who reside on the parcel. However, only one
exemption may be applied to the land included with the parcel.

If an owner or owners’ primary residence is located within two or more
municipalities, each portion of the residence will be eligible for the STAR
exemption, if the eligibility requirements are otherwise satisfied. The respective
assessors should allocate the exemption in the same manner as the
apportionment of full value of the property to each municipality, so long as the
tax savings resulting from the exemption does not exceed the tax savings if the
residence was located entirely within one municipality. This allocation
procedure does not apply in cases where the land associated with the residential
structure is located in more than one municipality, but where the residential
structure itself is located entirely within one of these municipalities.

This exemption must be applied by the assessor after all other exemptions for
which the parcel is eligible have been subtracted from the total assessed value of
the parcel. In no event may the exemption exceed the total assessed value of the
parcel less all other exemptions allowed by law.

The assessor must discontinue granting this exemption on the next ensuing
tentative assessment roll if it appears that: (1) the property may not be the
primary residence of the owner or owners who applied for the exemption; (2) title
to the property has been transferred to a new owner or owners; or (3) the
property otherwise may no longer be eligible for the exemption.

Note: Unlike other exemptions, the STAR exemption does not transfer with
the owner when the owner moves his or her residence. The provisions for
removal of exempt status upon transfer of title under RPTL §520(5) applies if
the transferred property has been receiving only the STAR exemption, and no
other exemption. If the property has been receiving the STAR exemption along
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E. CALCULATION OF EXEMPTION (continued):

1. General Municipal and School District Taxes (continued):

with one or more other exemptions, removal of the other exemptions applies only to
the extent that the property is receiving such other exemption or exemptions.
Should the new owner of the property fail to reapply for the exemption by the next
ensuing taxable status date, this exemption must be discontinued. (See Reporting
Requirements of the Assessor.) If a property was sold a few days before taxable
status date and the new owner did not apply for this exemption, the assessor may
correct the final roll by removing the existing STAR exemption pursuant to RPTL
§552, since the new owner, under these specific circumstances, is not entitled to it.

In addition to discontinuing the exemption on the next tentative assessment roll, if
the assessor determines that the property improperly received this exemption on
one or more of the six preceding assessment rolls, he or she must proceed to revoke
the improperly granted prior exemption or exemptions. Such revocation does not
apply to final assessment rolls that were filed prior to April 1, 2010. The assessed
value attributable to each such improperly granted exemption must be entered
separately on the next ensuing tentative or final assessment roll, in accordance with
the provisions of RPTL §§551 or 553 (relating to the entry by the assessor of omitted
real property on a tentative or final assessment roll). Recipients of the improperly
granted exemption(s) are liable for the amount of taxes saved in the six prior years.
For an improperly granted STAR exemption occurring on assessment rolls filed on
or after April 1, 2013 a processing fee of $500 will be added (to be retained by the
assessing unit).

If the assessor further determines that there was a “material misstatement” on the
application that was filed on or after October 1, 2010 but before October 1, 2013, he
or she must proceed to impose a penalty tax against the property of $100, provided
that the assessor makes a determination within three years of filing the application.
If the application was filed on or after October 1, 2013, the penalty tax is the
greater of $100 dollars or 20 percent of the improperly received tax savings, but not
to exceed $2,500, and provided further that the assessor makes a determination
within six years of filing the application. An application is considered to contain a
material misstatement for purposes of this exemption when: (1) the applicant or
applicants claimed that the property was their primary residence, when it was not;
(2) the applicant or applicants claimed that they had relinquished the STAR
exemption on their former primary residence, when they knew they had not; or (3)
in the case of an application for the Enhanced STAR exemption, the applicant or
applicants misrepresented their age or income so as to appear eligible for such
exemption, when they were not (see Form RP—425). The penalty tax is entered on
the next ensuing tentative or final assessment roll. The provisions of RPTL §§551
or 553 (relating to the entry by the assessor of omitted property on a tentative or
final assessment roll) applies insofar as practicable when imposing the penalty tax
(see Reporting Requirements of the Assessor). Any person or persons found to have
made a material misstatement must be disqualified from eligibility for this
exemption for a period of five years if such misstatement appears on an application
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RPTL Section 425

2.

filed prior to October 1, 2013 and six years if such misstatement appears on an
application filed thereafter. In addition, such person or persons may be subject to
prosecution under the penal law.

NOTE: The provisions in this paragraph do not apply if this exemption has been
renounced by the property owner, under the terms of RPTL §496.

Special Ad Valorem Levies and Special Assessments: No exemption allowed.

F. CODING OF EXEMPTION ON ASSESSMENT ROLL:

Code

Description of Alternative Codes Possible

41854

41856

41864

41866

41834

41836

41844

41846

§425 (3) --

§425(2G)) --

§425 (21) --

§425 (25,1) -

§425(4) --

§425(2G)) --

§425 (21) --

§425 (25,1 -

Basic STAR

Basic STAR in certain school districts (New York City, Buffalo,
Rochester, Syracuse, Yonkers)

Basic STAR (Manufactured home on land belonging to others)

Basic STAR in certain school districts (New York City, Buffalo,
Rochester, Syracuse, Yonkers) (Manufactured home on land
belonging to others)

Enhanced STAR

Enhanced STAR in certain school districts New York City,
Buffalo, Rochester, Syracuse, Yonkers)

Enhanced STAR (Manufactured home on land belonging to
others)

Enhanced STAR in certain school districts (New York City,
Buffalo, Rochester, Syracuse, Yonkers) (Manufactured home on
land belonging to others)

Assessment Roll Section(s): Taxable (RPS Section 1).

NOTE: Codes 41834, 41836, 41844, and 41846 (Enhanced STAR) should not be used to
identify property that is exempt under RPTL §467 (Senior Citizens). For coding of such
property, see the Exemption Profile for that statute.

Assessor’s Manual

VOLUME 4 SECTION 4.01 PAGE 5.12 DATE 1/1/14
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G. FILING REQUIREMENTS (Owner or Occupant of Property):
1. Form RP-425 Application for School Tax Relief (STAR) Exemption

Basic STAR: To receive this exemption, all owners of the property must jointly apply
on or before the local taxable status date. If the exemption is granted, the owner
need not reapply in subsequent years to keep this exemption, unless the exemption
is discontinued or revoked by the assessor. Recipient of exemption must notify the
assessor if his or her primary residence changes.

Enhanced STAR: If the owner is currently receiving the senior citizen exemption
(RPTL §467), he or she automatically qualifies for the Enhanced STAR exemption,
and need not apply for such as long as he or she is receiving the senior citizens
exemption (which requires annual renewal). Owners who are 65 years of age or
older and who do not qualify for the senior citizen exemption may nevertheless
apply for the Enhanced STAR exemption on or before the local taxable status date.
However, if this exemption is granted, such owners must reapply each year
thereafter in order to keep the exemption in effect, and such owners must notify the
assessor if their primary residences change.

2. Form RP-425-IVP School Tax Relief (STAR) Exemption; Optional Income
Verification Program

Eligible owners applying for the Enhanced STAR exemption may authorize the
assessor to have their incomes verified in subsequent years by the State Department
of Taxation and Finance, through the STAR income verification program. If the
owners participate in the program, they must furnish their taxpayer identification
number to the assessor at that time (see Form RP-425- below). If such owners have
their income eligibility verified and meet all other eligibility requirements, they will
not be required to submit annual renewals and income tax records to the assessor in
subsequent years. However, if the owner or owners stop participating in the income
verification program, the owners must resume submitting applications and tax
returns to the assessor’s office on or before taxable status date to remain eligible for
this exemption. Such owners have the option to re-enter that program in a later
year. Owners who are 65 years of age or older and who are ineligible for the
Enhanced STAR exemption may file for the Basic STAR exemption.

The STAR income verification program pertains only to renewal applications.
Furthermore, it does not affect owners who automatically receive the Enhanced
STAR exemption by their receiving the Senior Citizens exemption (RPTL §467).

All other applicants for the Enhanced STAR exemption must submit application
forms to the local assessor’s office on or before taxable status date. Applicants who
also choose to participate in the STAR income verification program will not need to
reapply or submit tax returns to the assessor’s office for the next succeeding year
and thereafter.
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G. FILING REQUIREMENTS (Owner or Occupant of Property) (continued):

Any information or documentation submitted by an applicant in connection with
applications for or renewal of the Enhanced STAR exemption to verify income is
considered confidential, and the assessor, any municipal officer, or municipal
employees are prohibited from disclosing any such information, except for any
disclosure necessary in the performance of their official duties (including
information pertinent to the STAR income verification program). Any unauthorized
disclosure of such information will be deemed a violation of Section 805-a of the
General Municipal Law.):

Note: In those assessing units in which school district taxes are levied on the
assessment roll in the year prior to the levy, the eligible taxpayer may submit an
application for the exemption against his or her school taxes on or before the taxable
status date of the current year’s assessment roll, subject to adoption of a local law
permitting such applications (see Calculation of Exemption). Otherwise, the
application must be submitted on or before the taxable status date of the prior year’s
assessment roll.

3. Form RP-425-Rnw  Renewal Application for School Tax Relief (STAR)
Exemption

Basic STAR: If the exemption is granted, the owner need not reapply in subsequent
years to keep this exemption, unless the exemption is discontinued or revoked by
the assessor.

Enhanced STAR: Owners receiving this exemption who do not qualify for the senior
citizens exemption must reapply each year in order to keep the exemption in effect,
except for those who elect to participate in the STAR income verification program.
Such owners need reapply only in the year in which they commence participation in
the program. Failure to submit the renewal application will result in a default to
the Basic STAR exemption for the current year. For reinstatement of the enhanced
exemption, a renewal application must be filed for the subsequent year. Owners
currently receiving this exemption may designate an adult third party to receive an
annual notice from the assessor stating that it is time for the owner to reapply for
this exemption.

4, Form RP-425-BV Social Security Number Required to Determine
Eligibility for Basic STAR

This form must be submitted if 1) owner is notified by assessor that his or her
income exceeds $500,000 and the owner wishes to challenges that determination,
or 2) the assessor requests more information from the owner to verify income
eligibility.

NOTE: If owner does not contest assessor’s determination of income ineligibility
for that year, but whose income falls below $500,000 in a future year, such owner
must then submit this form, along with Form RP-425-rev, to receive this
exemption.
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G. FILING REQUIREMENTS (Owner or Occupant of Property) (continued):

5. Form RP-425-TPN Request for Mailing of Notice to a Third Party
Regarding Enhanced STAR Exemption

An owner currently receiving the Enhanced STAR exemption may designate an adult
third party to receive a notice from the assessor to assist the senior citizen in
fulfilling the eligibility requirements regarding this exemption. This form must be
submitted to the assessor of the assessing unit in which the senior citizen resides no
later than 60 days prior to the assessing unit’s taxable status date.

Note: An application for the STAR exemption may be filed with the assessor after
the appropriate taxable status date but not later than the last date on which a
petition with respect to complaints of assessment may be filed, where failure to file a
timely application resulted from: 1) a death of the applicant’s spouse, child, parent,
brother or sister; or 2) an illness of the applicant or of the applicant’s spouse, child,
parent, brother or sister, which actually prevents the applicant from filing on a
timely basis, as certified by a licensed physician. The assessor should approve or
deny such an application as if it had been filed on or before taxable status date.

The above forms may be downloaded and printed from this web address:
www.tax.ny.gov/forms/orpts/exemption.htm

H. REPORTING REQUIREMENTS (Assessor):

1. The assessor must annually forward to the ORPTS information identifying
recipients of the Enhanced STAR exemption who have elected to participate in the
STAR income verification program.

2. The assessor must provide a receipt as proof of submission of an application (RP-425
or RP-425-Rnw) to an applicant who requests such a receipt. If the request is not
made in person, the applicant must provide the assessor with a self-addressed
postpaid envelope in which to mail the receipt.

3. The assessor must mail a notice (preferably a postcard) to those owners
participating in the STAR income program annually, after being notified of their
income eligibility by the State Department of Taxation and Finance. The notice
must include one of the following statements:

(a) To participants found to have satisfied income eligibility requirements: The
notice should so state that requirement being satisfied. The notice must
further state that if the property remains their primary residence and that
there has been no change in its ownership, they remain eligible for the
Enhanced STAR exemption and need not contact the assessor at this time.
The notice must also remind them that they are expected to contact the
assessor if there has been any residency or ownership change.
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H. REPORTING REQUIREMENTS (Assessor) (continued):

(b) To participants whose income eligibility cannot be verified: The notice
should so state this fact. The notice must also state that they must furnish
documentation of their income eligibility to the assessor on or before the
applicable taxable status date, or the Enhanced STAR exemption will be
discontinued (though the Basic STAR exemption may be granted in its place
if the property remains their primary residence and there has been no
change in its ownership). The notice must also state that they are expected
to contact the assessor if there has been any residency or ownership changes.

(c) To participants who have been found not to meet income eligibility
requirements: The assessor must mail a notice of denial (Form RP-425-Dnl-
Enhanced), giving the findings of the State Department of Taxation and
Finance as a reason for the denial of the Enhanced STAR exemption.

4. Assessors must mail a renewal form (RP-425-Rnw), at least 60 days before taxable
status date, to owners of property receiving the Enhanced STAR exemption on the
preceding assessment roll and who have elected not to participate in the STAR
income verification program.

5. A notice is to be sent to the designated third party of an owner or owners who have
elected not to participate in the STAR income verification at least 30 days prior to
each ensuing taxable status date. No such notice need be sent in the first year if the
assessor did not receive the request for designation of a third party at least 60 days
before the applicable taxable status date. The notice should read substantially as
follows:

“On behalf of (identify the eligible owner or owners), you are
advised that his, her, or their renewal application for the
Enhanced STAR exemption must be filed with the assessor no
later than (enter date). You are encouraged to remind him, her, or
them of that fact, and to offer assistance if needed, although you
are under no legal obligation to do so. Your cooperation and
assistance are greatly appreciated.”

6. A notice is to be sent to the designated third party of an owner or owners who have
elected to participate in the STAR income verification program whenever the
assessor sends a notice to the owner regarding the possible removal of the Enhanced
STAR exemption. This notice should read substantially as follows:

“On behalf of (identify the owner or owners), you are advised that
his, her, or their Enhanced STAR exemption is at risk of being
removed. You are encouraged to make sure that he, she or they
are aware of that fact, and to offer assistance if needed, although
you are under no legal obligation to do so. Your cooperation and
assistance are greatly appreciated.”

Assessor’s Manual voLuve 4 SECTION 4.01 PAGE 5.16 DATE 1/1/14



School Tax Relief (STAR) RPTL Section 425

H.

REPORTING REQUIREMENTS (Assessor) (continued):

7. In the case of a cooperative apartment cooperative organized as a limited-profit
(Mitchell-Lama) corporation, the assessor must provide a breakdown of “STAR
savings” by unit to the manager of the corporation so that such savings are properly
credited and allocated to eligible recipients.

8. Form RP-425-Dnl-Basic Notice of Denial of Application for Basic STAR
Exemption
9. Form RP-425-Dnl-Enhanced Notice of Denial of Application for Enhanced
STAR Exemption

Denial forms must set forth the basis for the denial and must be sent not later than
ten days prior to Grievance Day (except in New York City, where it must be mailed
not later than thirty days prior to the final date for filing an assessment appeal).

If the assessor determines that this exemption should be discontinued, he or she must mail
a notice so stating to the owner or owners of the property, in accordance with the provisions
for notifying owners of increased assessments under RPTL §510. The owner or owners may
seek administrative and judicial review of such an assessment increase; however, the
burden is on the owner or owners to establish eligibility for this exemption.

When the assessor has received a report of a transfer of title to real property (under RPTL
§574), which is exempt under this section, the assessor must send the new owner or owners
as shown thereon an application for the exemption (Form RP-425). It is the responsibility
of the new property owner(s) to apply for the exemption. Failure of the owner(s) to submit
the completed application form by taxable status date will result in ineligibility for the
exemption, even if the assessor has failed to send the new owner the application form.

Whenever the assessor: (1) revokes an exemption, (2) determines that a penalty tax should
be imposed on the property, or (3) takes both actions, the assessor must so notify the owner
not later than ten days prior to the date for hearing complaints in relation to assessments,
as specified under RPTL §§510 and 553. The owner has the right of administrative and
judicial review of such action or actions taken.

The above forms may be downloaded and printed from this web address:
www.tax.ny.gov/forms/orpts/exemption.htm

SIMILAR EXEMPTIONS: None.

The next page is intentionally left blank. The next document in this profile is the School Tax Relief
[STAR] Exemption Assessor’s Guide.

A pamphlet for the general public that explains the STAR exemption is available at:
www.tax.ny.gov/pdf/publications/orpts/star.pdf
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THE STAR EXEMPTION

INTRODUCTION

The School Tax Relief (STAR) exemption (Real Property Tax Law, 8425) provides a partial exemption
from school taxes for most owner-occupied, primary residences. It was signed it into law on August 7, 1997.

There are two types of STAR exemptions. A taxpayer may have either a Basic or Enhanced STAR
exemption, NOT both: (1) a "Basic" exemption is available to virtually all New Yorkers who own their own one-,
two-, or three-family home, condominium, cooperative apartment or mobile home; and (2) an "Enhanced"
exemption available to senior citizens (age 65 and older) with a limited income, increased annually according
to a cost-of-living adjustment (COLA).

To receive the STAR exemption, taxpayers must file an application with their local assessor. Property
owners who are granted the Basic exemption generally do not need to reapply in subsequent years. However,
property owners will need to notify their assessor if their primary residence changes. Property owners who
receive the Enhanced STAR exemption have the option of participating in a new income verification program.
Seniors who are applying for Enhanced STAR may authorize the assessor to have their incomes verified in
subsequent years by the New York State Department of Taxation and Finance (DTF). Seniors who choose
this option must furnish their taxpayer identification numbers at that time. The assessor will submit the list of
numbers to the Office of Real Property Tax Services (ORPTS), along with other identifying information as well
to facilitate matching and reporting back (e.g., names of owners and owner's spouses who reside on the
premises, parcel ID numbers). ORPTS will then pass this information along to DTF. After checking its
records, DTF will notify ORPTS which applicants satisfy the income requirements and which do not (it will not
disclose their actual incomes), and ORPTS will forward that information to the appropriate assessors. Most
seniors who choose this option will no longer need to re-apply thereafter or furnish tax returns to their local
assessors (unless DTF should be unable to verify their returns).

The STAR income verification option does not directly affect seniors who are receiving the Senior
Citizens Exemption (RPTL 8467). Such persons will still have to reapply for the RPTL 8467 exemption
annually, and provide income documentation therewith, if they wish to continue receiving that exemption. Of
course, as long as they qualify for the RPTL 8467 exemption, they will automatically qualify for the Enhanced
STAR exemption, so they will not need to submit separate STAR applications in those cases.

Seniors who do not wish to participate in the income verification program for any reason will not be
obliged to do so. But if they wish to continue receiving the Enhanced STAR exemption, they will have to keep
reapplying, with copies of their tax returns, year after year, just as they have been doing. The main difference,
as far as they are concerned, is that the assessor will be obliged to send them an application form every year,
with a reminder that they must reapply by taxable status date. If a senior who initially decided to opt-out of the
income verification program later decides he or she would like to opt in, he or she will be permitted to do so.

Senior citizens eligible for the Enhanced STAR exemption may request that the assessor send a
notice to an adult third party to assist the senior citizen in fulfilling the eligibility requirements regarding that
exemption.

Although New York State law includes over 200 real property tax exemptions, STAR is unique in two
ways. First, itis the only exemption that is funded by the State. All other exemptions erode the local tax base
and shift the incidence of the tax burden (by increasing the tax rate) to those not enjoying that exemption.
Second, STAR is unique in its scope. Whereas other exemption programs have targeted significant numbers
of owners (e.g., nearly 563,000 veterans exemptions (RPTL, 88458, 458-a, 458-b) and over 217,000 senior
citizens exemptions (RPTL 8467) were granted on 2012 assessment rolls statewide), none has come close to
the overwhelming breadth of the STAR program ( nearly 3.3 million exemptions statewide).
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Not surprisingly, a program of this magnitude has generated numerous questions to which ORPTS
has responded in Question and Answer (Q&A) memoranda, more extensive memaos on certain subjects (e.d.,
program administration in manufactured housing communities, correction of error procedures), and formal
Opinions of Counsel. The purpose of this Assessor’s Guide is to capture that material in a single document
that will respond to the most frequently asked questions concerning STAR. Further questions may be directed
to the local ORPTS Regional Office, or to the STAR Unit at (518) 474-2819.

PROPERTY USE

1. Question: What type of property may receive a STAR exemption?

Answer: A one, two or three family residence, a farm dwelling, residential property held in
condominium or cooperative form of ownership, or a mobile home. Of course, the eligibility
requirements (i.e., ownership and primary residency, and in the case of the Enhanced exemption, age
and income) must also be satisfied.

2. Question: May a commercial property that contains a residence (e.g., a ground level store with the
owner’s living quarters upstairs) receive a STAR exemption?

Answer: Yes. As aresult of an amendment enacted in 2000, the STAR exemption can be granted to
the portion of a “mixed-use” property that serves as the primary residence of the owner, although the
property is not primarily residential in character. For example, STAR may be granted to a two-story
commercially-zoned building consisting of a store at ground level and the owner’s living quarters
upstairs. The exemption in these cases may not exceed the assessed value attributable to the
owner’s residence, so if the residential portion is worth less than the applicable STAR exemption, the
excess exemption may not be applied to the remainder. (Note that where the property is of the type
that has always been eligible for STAR, -- i.e., a one, two or three family residence, a residential
cooperative or condominium or a farm dwelling, or a mobile home — the full exemption should be
applied, without proration.)

3. Question: A mobile home, located in a mobile home park, is owned by someone who is eligible for a
STAR exemption. However, the taxable value of the mobile home is less than the maximum STAR
exemption. Is the full exemption granted?

Answer: No. STAR exemption may not exceed the value of the mobile home.

4. Question: May a mobile home located on land owned by another (such as a mobile home park)
receive a STAR exemption, and, if so, how is the exemption administered?

Answer: Yes, residential mobile homes qualify whether or not their owners also own the land on
which they are located. If the mobile home is only entitled to a STAR exemption, its value will
continue to be included in the assessment of the land. The assessor must provide the land owner
with a statement showing which mobile homes have received the exemption and the amount of each
such exemption, and the land owner must pass along the tax savings to those mobile home owners
through a rent rebate. For a detailed discussion of the administration of the STAR exemption in
mobile home parks (also known as manufactured housing communities), see Appendix A.

5. Question: If a tenant in a mobile home park is entitled to a rent rebate, by what date must the
landlord refund the STAR savings?

Answer: The park owner may (1) credit the tax savings against the monthly rent in 12 installments
beginning with the first monthly rental payment due 60 days after the penalty-free period for the
payment of taxes and continuing for 11 months, OR (2) credit the total reduction against the first
month's rent, with any balance credited against the following month(s)' rent(s) until exhausted, OR (3)
pay the total reduction to the tenant within 60 days of the interest-free collection period. For a more
detailed treatment regarding STAR and mobile homes, please refer to "Appendix A: Administering
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STAR in Manufactured Housing Communities." The New York State Division of Housing and
Community Renewal [telephone number: (800) 432-4210] is responsible for enforcing the laws
concerning the right of tenants of manufactured housing communities.

6. Question: The owner of a mobile home park lives in a mobile home that is located in the park. The
park is classified as a commercial property. Is the park owner eligible for a STAR exemption on
his/her own mobile home?

Answer: Yes. STAR provides that mobile homes are eligible for STAR exemptions. No ownership
exceptions are mentioned. Thus, trailers and mobile homes are eligible for STAR even though they
may be part of a commercial parcel. This, of course, assumes that the owners meet all other
eligibility requirements.

7. Question: Is a mobile home located on the land of its owner treated any differently than a parcel
containing a conventional home?

Answer: No.
OWNERSHIP
1. Question: Must a copy of the deed be submitted with the STAR application?

Answer: No, a copy of the deed is not generally required. The assessor must be satisfied, however,
that the applicant is the owner. In most cases, it should be sufficient to check the tax records.

2. Question: If property is owned by a corporation or partnership and the principals of the corporation
or partnership meet the eligibility requirements for STAR, may it be granted?

Answer: If the property is not a farm dwelling, the answer is no. The central requirement for the
STAR exemption is that the property is “a one, two, or three family residence” or certain other
property, and that it is the “primary residence of the owner.” The term “residence” in this context
contemplates that the owner is an individual. Where title to property is in the name of a corporation,
the exemption may not be granted (see 3 Op. Counsel SBEA No. 54).

However, if the property is a farm dwelling, a law enacted in 2003 provides an exception to
this rule. The new law allows a farm dwelling, which is held in the name of a business corporation or
partnership, to be eligible for the STAR exemption, provided such dwelling serves as the primary
residence of a shareholder or one of the partners.

Also, a law enacted in 2008 provides that a dwelling owned by a limited partnership is eligible
for this exemption if the property serves as the primary residence of one or more of the partners,
provided that the limited partnership does not engage in any commercial activity, and that the
partnership was lawfully created to hold title solely for estate planning and protection purposes.
Furthermore, the partner or partners residing on the property must personally pay all real property
taxes and other costs associated with the property’s ownership. However, property owned by a
limited liability company is not eligible for the STAR exemption.
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3. Question: Aresident of a cooperative apartment owns shares of stock in the corporation which owns
the building in which the apartment is located. May the resident of the cooperative apartment receive
a STAR exemption?

Answer: Though cooperative apartments are not separately assessed, STAR specifically makes
them eligible for the exemption. If granted, the exemption will be granted to the cooperative
apartment building, in an amount determined in accordance with the statutory formula. The assessor
must provide the building manager with a statement showing which apartments have received the
exemption and the amount of each such exemption, and the

manager must pass along the tax savings to the residents of those apartments. See Appendix B for a
more detailed discussion of these procedures.

4. Question: Do owners of cooperative apartments have to provide a stock certificate to the assessor
when applying for STAR?

Answer: Yes, if requested by the assessor.
5. Question: Are co-op shareholders in Mitchell-Lama Housing eligible under the STAR Program?

Answer: Yes, such shareholders are eligible to receive benefits, but as Mitchell-Lama Housing is
generally exempt from real property taxation, the benefits to the shareholders do not appear in the
form of reduced assessments (and thus reduced property taxes). Instead, the benefits are STAR-
related credits, to be applied against residents’ monthly charges. Mitchell-Lama Housing
management is responsible for the proper distribution of these credits (see Appendix B --
Administering STAR in Cooperative Apartments).

6. Question: How long does someone have to own property to receive the STAR exemption?

Answer: For STAR, the applicant must own the home and apply by taxable status date. STAR has
no length of ownership requirement, unlike the senior citizens exemption, which generally requires
ownership for 12 consecutive months prior to application.

7. Question: If there are three siblings who own a parcel and each of them has a house on the
property, are they entitled to three exemptions?

Answer: Yes. If a parcel contains two or more physically separate residences, a STAR exemption
may be granted to each residence where each residence is (1) the primary residence of at least one
of the owners AND (2) the residence would be eligible for the exemption if it were separately
assessed and owned solely by the owners residing therein. However, only one of the STAR
exemptions may be applied to the land in such cases.

8. Question: Two siblings who are both eligible for the Enhanced STAR exemption own and live in a
duplex. May they both get an exemption?

Answer: No. While they must both apply and be eligible, the duplex is a single property and,
therefore, only a single exemption may be granted.

9. Question: One spouse owns property in Town X while the other owns property in Town Y. One
spouse claims residency in Town X and files an application for the property in Town X, while the other
spouse claims residency in Town Y and files an application for the property in Town Y. May both
properties qualify for the Enhanced STAR exemption?

Answer: No. A married couple is entitled to a STAR exemption on no more than one residence,
unless they are living apart due to legal separation. In other words, if they have two homes, they can
receive STAR on only one of them, unless they are legally separated.
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10.

11.

12.

13.

14.

15.

16.

17.

Question: May a person who has less than fee ownership of property receive STAR?

Answer: Yes, under certain circumstances. For example, a life tenant, a trust beneficiary or a
purchaser in possession under an executory contract of sale are all considered to be owners for
STAR purposes and may qualify.

Question: For purposes of the STAR exemption, how are trusts dealt with?

Answer: The ownership of property is split when it is placed in trust: the trustee is the legal owner,
the beneficiary is the beneficial owner. However, for STAR purposes, the trust beneficiary is treated
as the owner. Thus, if a senior citizen creates a trust and conveys her home to her children as
trustees, and the senior remains in the home as the beneficiary of the trust, then for STAR purposes
the owner of the home is the senior, not her children.

Question: Does it matter if the trust is revocable or irrevocable?
Answer: No, it doesn't; both are the same for exemption purposes.
Question: How is STAR to be administered where property is in a life estate?

Answer: The life tenant is deemed to own the property so STAR eligibility is based on the life
tenant’s qualifications. A life estate generally is created by a deed. Often ownership is transferred to
another party with life use reserved for the prior owner(s) or another party. In other cases, a life
estate is expressly granted by one party to another. In either case, in the eyes of law, as long as the
holder of the life estate is alive, the property is "owned" by him or her.

Question: Who may apply for STAR when ownership of a property has been transferred to a child
with life use reserved for the parents?

Answer: Until the death of the life tenant, the property is still considered “owned” by that life tenant
and he or she would be eligible for the Basic or Enhanced STAR exemption if otherwise eligible.

Question: A married couple executes a deed transferring their property to their adult daughter.
Thereafter, the parents and the daughter execute a separate side agreement or contract which states
that the parents shall have the right to occupy the property until their deaths. Are the parents
considered “life tenants” eligible for the STAR exemption?

Answer: No. A ‘“life estate,” which is an interest in real property, can be conveyed only by means of
a document that fulfills all of the requirements and formalities of a deed (see, 10 Op.Counsel SBRPS
No. 55) .

Question: Is a life lease the same as a life estate?

Answer: No. A life lease is not equivalent to a life estate, and does not transfer ownership to the
lessee. The lessor (the person who owned the property at the time the lease was executed) remains
the legal owner of the property, just as a landlord remains the owner of an apartment that is rented to
a tenant.

Question: A person lives in a house under a land contract, but the land contract has never been filed
with the county. Is this person eligible for a STAR exemption?

Answer: Yes. Avendee in possession under an executory contract of sale (a/k/a land contract) has
been determined to be the owner for purposes of other exemptions (see 1 Op.Counsel SBEA No. 52
and 3id. No. 52). Recording is not necessary, although it is recommended (see 7 Op.Counsel SBEA
No. 24).
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RESIDENCY
1. Question: What is the statutory residency requirement?

Answer: STAR requires that the property be the “primary residence” of one or more of its owners.
We equate this with “domicile” or “legal residence.” A person may have one or more residences, but
can have only one “primary residence.”

2. Question: What is the definition of primary residence?

Answer: There is no single factor or definition that determines primary residence. However, the
most important factor is the length of time the person resides on the property. Generally, it can be
expected that the person would reside on the property more than six months of the year. Other
factors include a person’s voting residence, driver’s license, filing status for purposes of state income
taxes, and other conduct and behavior that provides evidence as to which property the applicant
considers to be his or her primary residence.

3. Question: Is the assessor required to obtain proof of residency?

Answer: The applicants must certify that the property is their primary residence. The law says that
“the assessor may request that proof of residency be submitted with the application.” The assessor
has a choice between requiring proof of residency to be submitted with all first-time applications or to
require proof of residency only in those cases where there is reason to suspect that the property may
not be the primary residence. For example, if the mailing address of the owner is different from the
property address or the property is a seasonal property, it is reasonable to question whether this is the
primary residence.

4, Question: What are acceptable forms of proof of residency?

Answer: There is no single document that absolutely establishes primary residency, but the following
types of documentation may be considered:

mailing address and property address match
driver’s license

NYS Income Tax return

utility bills or 911 service listing

voter registration card

social security statement

automobile registration

deed or recent tax bill

5. Question: What if the owner is in a nursing home?

Answer: The exemption my be granted despite the fact that the owner lives in a nursing home rather
than his or her own home, as long as no one other than a co-owner or a spouse of the owner resides
on the premises. The income of the owner in the nursing home must be considered in determining
whether the income eligibility requirement is satisfied.

According to Public Health Law, §2801, a “Nursing home” means a facility providing therein nursing
care to sick, invalid, infirm, disables or convalescent persons in addition to lodging and board or
health-related service, or any combination of the foregoing, and in addition thereto, providing nursing
care and health-related service, or either of them, to persons who are not occupants of the facility.

“Residential health care facility” means a nursing home or a facility providing health-related services.
“Health-related service” means service in a facility or facilities which provide or offer lodging, board
and physical care including, but not limited to, the recording of health information, dietary supervision
and supervised hygienic services incident to such service.
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6. Question: A retired person applies for a STAR exemption but also has a homestead exemption in
the State of Florida. May this person also be eligible for STAR?

Answer: No. Not as long as he or she is receiving the Florida exemption. To be eligible for STAR,
either Basic or Enhanced, the property must be the primary residence of the applicant. We have
been advised that the same requirement also applies to the Florida Homestead exemption. Since a
person can only have one primary residence, a Florida resident receiving a homestead exemption in
that state cannot have the STAR exemption. However, if the person gives up the homestead
exemption in Florida, he or she may then become eligible for STAR in New York, assuming the
requirements are met. However, in 11 Op. of Counsel SBRPS No0.18, which pertained to a married
couple, it was concluded that New York law does not preclude a married person from qualifying for an
alternative veterans exemption and STAR exemption merely because their spouse receives a Florida
Homestead tax benefit on the spouse's Florida domicile.

7. Question: A married couple purchased a home jointly, but has since divorced. One ex-spouse still
lives in the home. The other ex-spouse no longer lives there, but that ex-spouse’s his name is still on
the deed. Is the resident ex-spouse eligible for Basic STAR?

Answer: Yes, if it is the ex-spouse’s primary residence. The law says that the property must serve
as the primary residence of one or more of the owners. If there are owners who do not live on the
property, that does not affect the eligibility of the owners who do live on the property. In this case, the
person who lives on the property is eligible for Basic STAR on his or her own. It is not necessary to
have the application signed by the owner who does not live on the property.

8. Question: Two people, Sara and Jane, are each 50 percent owners of a parcel. Sara is also the full
owner of another property and has been granted an Enhanced STAR exemption on that property.
Jane lives in the jointly owned property. May she receive the STAR exemption on the jointly owned
property?

Answer: Yes, the residency requirement for STAR is that the property must be the primary residence
of at least one of the owners. In other words, if the property is the primary residence of Jane, the fact
that Sara has a primary residence elsewhere is beside the point. Therefore, the jointly owned property
can receive the Enhanced STAR exemption if it is the primary residence of Jane and all other
requirements are met. Note that the combined income of Sara and Jane must be taken into account
in determining Enhanced STAR eligibility for the jointly owned property.

ENHANCED EXEMPTION: AGE

1. Question: What is the age requirement for the Enhanced STAR exemption?

Answer: For purposes of exemptions for the 2014-15 school year, all of the owners must be at least
65 years of age as of December 31, 2014, except, where property is owned by a married couple or by
siblings, in which case only one need be age 65 by that date. For each subsequent school year, the
applicable date is advanced by one year (e.g., for the 2015-16 school year, age is determined as of
December 31, 2015; for the 2016-17 school year, age is determined as of December 31, 2016, and
S0 on).

2. Question: Is the assessor required to collect proof of age from applicants for the Enhanced STAR
exemption?

Answer: No. The application form requires the applicant to answer a question on the age criterion
and to certify that this information is correct. The law is silent on the collection of proof of age, butitis
the applicant’s burden to demonstrate eligibility for the exemption, so the assessor may request proof
of age where he or she finds it necessary.
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3. Question: A home is owned by parents who are over 65 and a child who is under 65. Are they
eligible for the Enhanced STAR exemption?

Answer: No. All owners must be at least 65 (except for the spouse or sibling of an owner who is 65
or older). However, if the child conveys his or her interest to the parents, the parents would then
satisfy the age requirement for the Enhanced STAR exemption. Due to the various implications of
such a conveyance, applicants who are considering this course of action should be advised to consult
with their private attorney. If no change is made, the property may still qualify for the Basic
exemption.

4. Question: Is the age requirement for Enhanced STAR the same as it is for the senior citizens
exemption (RPTL, 8467)?

Answer: Not quite. For purposes of the senior citizens exemption, age is determined as of taxable
status date, unless a locality has exercised the option to provide the exemption to those who become
“65 years of age after the appropriate taxable status date and on or before December 31 of the same
year.” As noted, for STAR purposes, age is determined as of December 31 of the applicable year;
there is no local option to change that date.

5. Question: A child who attends public school lives in the home of an applicant for the Enhanced
STAR exemption. May the parcel receive the STAR exemption?

Answer: Yes, if the requirements are otherwise satisfied. Although the senior citizens exemption

cannot be granted for school tax purposes to property in which a public school-aged child resides
(RPTL, 8467(2)), this does not apply to the Enhanced or Basic STAR exemption.

ENHANCED EXEMPTION: INCOME

1. Question: What is the income requirement for the Enhanced STAR exemption?

Answer: The combined income of all of the owners and of any owner’s spouse who resides on the
premises may not exceed the prescribed limits for the income tax year ending two years prior to the
roll year for which application is made, as amended annually according to a cost-of-living
adjustment (COLA) determined by the Social Security Administration for the respective income tax
year. The Office of Real Property Tax Services is responsible for annually revising and
promulgating the eligible income tax limits. (For applications on the 2014 assessmentrolls, the
eligible income limit for the 2012 income tax year is $81,900.) Income is defined as “adjusted
gross income” (AGI) for federal income tax purposes as reported on the applicants’ federal or State
income tax return for the applicable income tax year, less the “taxable amount” of total distributions
from individual retirement accounts or individual retirement annuities, both of which are commonly
known as “IRAs.” For taxable status dates related to assessment rolls to be completed in 2014,
the applicable income tax year is 2012. For subsequent assessment rolls, i.e., 2015 and
thereafter, the applicable income tax year, COLA, and applicable increase percentage will be
advanced by one year, with the income standard being the previous applicable income standard
increased by the new COLA. Therefore applications for this exemption on a 2015 assessment roll
must be based on the applicants’ 2013 income; application on a 2016 roll must be based on their
2014 income, and so on.

2. Question: Is the income of a spouse included for STAR purposes if he or she does not live on the
property?

Answer: It depends on whether or not the spouse is also an owner. If he or she is an owner, the
income is included. Indeed, if the spouse lives on the property, his or her income is included even if
he or she is not a co-owner. The income of a non-resident, non-owner spouse, however, is not
included.
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3. Question: Is income eligibility for the Enhanced STAR exemption based on household income?

Answer: No. Income eligibility for STAR is based on the combined income of the owners, and of any
owner’s spouses who reside on the premises. If anyone is living on the property who is not an owner,
or is not the spouse of an owner, his or her income is not to be considered.

4, Question: A couple was divorced twenty years ago. One ex-spouse lives alone in the house, but the
other ex-spouse is still an owner. Must the nonresident ex-spouse’s income be taken into account?

Answer: Yes. STAR requires that the combined income of all owners, as well as the income of an
owner’s spouse residing on the property, be considered. It does not matter what the relationship is
among the owners. (Note that the senior citizens exemption is different in that it allows the exclusion
of the income of a spouse or ex-spouse where the spouse or ex-spouse is absent due to divorce,
legal separation or abandonment.)

5. Question: How does an assessor who is processing Enhanced STAR applications determine if an
applicant meets the income standard?

Answer: The following table may be used for identifying line references on 2012 federal and state
income tax returns when determining the income for STAR purposes. New York AGl is not the same
as federal AGI. If a state return is submitted, be sure to use federal AGI, not state AGIl. Note also
that line number references are subject to change on future income tax forms.

Form # Name of Income Tax Form Income for STAR Purposes

IRS Form “U.S. Individual Income Tax Line 37 minus line 15b

1040 Return” “adjusted gross income” minus “taxable amount”
(of total IRA distributions)

IRS Form “U.S. Individual Income Tax Line 21 minus line 11b

1040A Return” “adjusted gross income” minus “taxable amount”
(of total IRA distributions)

IRS Form “Income Tax Return for Single | Line 4 only

1040EZ and Joint Filers With No "adjusted gross income" (No adjustment needed

Dependents" for IRA's.)

NYS Form | “Resident Income Tax Return” | Line 19 minus line 9

IT-201 “federal adjusted gross income” minus “taxable
amount of IRA distributions”

The assessor will need to verify income eligibility for the Enhanced STAR:
(1) in the initial year of a resident owner or owners’ application,

(2) if the owner or owners choose not to participate in the newly enacted STAR Income
Verification program, or

3) if the owner or owners lose eligibility or fail to reapply after the initial year of
Enhanced STAR eligibility, and later wish to reapply. If the owner or owners
participate in the STAR Income Verification Program, such owners need to apply
with the assessor only in the initial year. Assuming that such participants would
otherwise maintain eligibility, their incomes will be verified by the Department of
Taxation and Finance in subsequent years, and they will not need to reapply.
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6. Question: Distributions from individual retirement annuities as well as individual retirement
accounts are to be excluded from adjusted gross income. Where do distributions from individual
retirement annuities appear on the tax forms?

Answer: An individual retirement annuity is another name for an individual retirement account (refer
to the chart in Question 5 for the specific line to use). Any amount shown as “taxable amount” of
“total pensions and annuities” should not be deducted from the adjusted gross income.

7. Question: Which year’s tax return is to be submitted with the application for the Enhanced STAR
exemption?

Answer: In providing proof of income for purposes of the Enhanced STAR exemption, the applicant
must provide a copy of his or her income tax return completed two years preceding the roll year for
which application is made. For the 2014 roll year, the applicant must submit copies of his or her
income tax return for 2012. However, if the applicant is applying for the Senior Citizens exemption
(and if eligible becomes automatically eligible to receive the Enhanced STAR exemption), then the
applicant must provide a copy of his or her income tax return for the year immediately preceding the
date of application, or, if that form has not yet been filed, the form for the year before such year (see
10 Op. Counsel SBRPS No. 47).

8. Question: An applicant for the Enhanced STAR exemption refuses to provide a copy of an income
tax return but is willing to offer an affidavit that his or her income is under the income eligibility
standard for that particular year of application (as annually determined and promulgated by ORPTS).
Is the person eligible?

Answer: No. The application must be accompanied by a copy of the latest available federal or state
income tax return for the applicable income tax year. The assessor needs to review tax returns since
they provide a uniform basis on which to make a determination to ensure the STAR program is
administered equitably. Without the return, the application would be incomplete and, therefore, the
applicant would be ineligible for the Enhanced STAR exemption. However, the application could be
used to grant a Basic STAR exemption if the ownership and residency requirements are met.
Taxpayers who are reluctant to disclose income information should be informed that such information
is confidential under the law (RPTL, 8425(4)(b)(iii)).

9. Question: What if there is reason to believe that the applicant has falsified the copy of the tax form?
What can the assessor do to obtain more reliable proof?

Answer: It is true that a photocopy of a tax form does not mean that it is the same as the original
form filed with the IRS or the Department of Taxation and Finance. If the assessor has reason to
believe that something other than a true copy of the tax form has been provided, there are other
means of obtaining more reliable information. One such way would be to obtain the necessary
information from the IRS or the Department of Taxation and Finance. This can be done by requiring
the applicant to complete and file one of the following forms:

IRS Form 4506 “Request for Copy or Transcript of Tax Form” The applicant should be instructed to
show the assessor’s name and address in item 5 so that the information will be sent directly. Box 8a
“Tax return transcript” should be checked to avoid the $23 fee for photocopies.

NYS Department of Taxation and Finance Form PR-152 “Request for Copy of Filed Tax Return” See
the instructions on the back of the form for requesting copies on a taxpayer’s behalf. The State form
requires an additional notarized statement if the information is requested on behalf of a taxpayer and
a 25 cents per page fee.
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10.

11.

Question: An applicant for the Enhanced STAR exemption has not filed either a state or federal tax
return. What must the assessor do to document that the filing of a tax return is not required?

Answer: The application form requires that the applicant submit a copy of the tax return for the tax
year ending two years prior to the roll year for which the exemption is being sought (if filed). If the
applicant is not required to file a tax return, the applicant must establish, to the assessor’s
satisfaction, through means other than a tax return, that the applicant’s income is equal to or less than
the eligible income standard annually determined by ORPTS. ORPTS has developed a separate form
(RP-425-WKST) that may be used by non-filers. However, use of this form by the assessor is
optional if another means is used to determine that the applicants are eligible non-filers.

Question: What if the applicant refuses to comply with a request for additional income
documentation and argues that all of the information which the application requires has already been
submitted?

Answer: The certification on the STAR application form includes a statement that reads ‘I
understand that it is my (our) obligation to... to provide any documentation of eligibility that is
requested.” This authorizes the assessor to request information and to withhold the approval of an
exemption until the requested documentation has been received and that documentation supports the
eligibility of the applicant. If documentation has not been provided by tentative roll preparation time,
the assessor should deny the Enhanced STAR exemption (and grant the Basic if warranted); the
taxpayer may grieve the denial to the board of assessment review.

BASIC EXEMPTION: INCOME

1.

Question: Is there an income limit for the Basic STAR exemption?

Answer: Yes. The Basic STAR exemption is not available on parcels having an annual “affiliated
income” of greater than $500,000 (as determined by the Department of Taxation and Finance).
Affiliated income means the combined income of all the owners and their spouses who resided on the
parcel as of the applicable taxable status date. Income has the same meaning as it does concerning
the Enhanced STAR exemption (i.e., federal AGI less taxable IRA distributions -- see Q. #5 under
Enhanced Exemption: Income). For the 2014-15 school year, the income determinations will be
based upon returns for the 2012 income tax year; for the 2015-16 school year, returns from the 2013
income tax year will be so used; and so on.

ADMINISTRATION

1.

Question: The applicant is not a citizen of the United States. May the exemption be granted?

Answer: Yes, if the eligibility requirements are otherwise satisfied. There is no citizenship
requirement in the STAR exemption.

Question: An applicant was unable to file the STAR application on time because of a documented
medical emergency. May an exception be made in the same way as for the senior citizens
exemption?

Answer: An application for the STAR exemption may be filed with the assessor after the appropriate
taxable status date, but not later than the local Grievance day, if the failure to file a timely application
resulted from: (1) a death of the applicant’s spouse, child, parent, brother or sister; or (2) an illness of
the applicant or of the applicant’s spouse, child, parent, brother or sister, which actually prevented the
applicant from filing on a timely basis, as certified by a licensed physician. The assessor should
approve or deny such an application as if it had been filed on or before taxable status date. If the
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municipality has exercised the local option to grant extensions for the RPTL 8467 exemption and the
applicant qualifies for and receives that exemption, the person will also get the Enhanced STAR
exemption.

3. Question: A person had an Enhanced STAR exemption in the past year, but fails to reapply in the
following year. May he or she still be given the Basic STAR exemption?

Answer: Yes; in fact, the Basic exemption should be automatically granted under these
circumstances, unless the person’s primary residence has changed.

4. Question: The STAR application requires people to attach a copy of an income tax return and proof
of age. Does the assessor have to keep the tax returns and proof of age or can they be returned to
the applicant?

Answer: The tax returns are a required part of the application and must be retained. Similarly, if the
assessor requires the applicant to submit additional documentation of income, age, or residency, that
must also be retained.

5. Question: How long must the STAR application and other required documentation be kept?

Answer: Government records may be discarded only as authorized by State Archives and Records
Administration. Its retention schedule for municipal records (MU-1: No. 589) indicates that original
tax exemption applications and supporting documents are to be retained for six years after final
renewal or denial of the exemption. Renewal applications are to be kept for six years as well.

6. Question: The STAR application form (RP-425) states that the owners must supply copies of their
income tax forms along with an application for an Enhanced STAR exemption. Just what does this
mean? For example, must an applicant supply both sides of a federal 1040 form since the income
information is on one side of the form and the signatures are on the other?

Answer: In the case of the forms where the income information and the signatures are not on the
same side of the form, copies of both sides of the form must be provided. However, there is no
reason to routinely require applicants to provide copies of supporting schedules and documents.

7. Question: If someone asks the assessor to see the copy of the tax return for a person who has
applied for an Enhanced STAR exemption, must it be provided under the Freedom of Information Law
(FOIL)?

Answer: No. In fact, the STAR law specifically requires that any income information submitted with
STAR applications shall be kept confidential. The pertinent provision (RPTL, §425(4)(b)(iii)) states:

Any information or documentation submitted by the applicant in connection with
applications for or renewal of the exemption authorized under this section to verify
income, shall be deemed confidential, and the assessor, any municipal officer or
municipal employees are prohibited from disclosing any such information, except for
disclosure necessary in the performance of their official duties. Any unauthorized
disclosure of such information shall be deemed a violation of section 805-a of the
general municipal law.

8. Question: If the information on tax forms that are part of a STAR application is confidential, how can
an assessor show the tax forms to an auditor from the State Comptroller's Office?

Answer: The STAR program is established in New York law and is fully funded by the State of New
York. Thus, the Office of the State Comptroller is responsible for auditing the program and such
audits are a component part of STAR administration. Please note that the “confidentiality” section of
the STAR legislation referred to in the preceding question provides that “unauthorized” disclosure is a
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10.

11.

12.

13.

14.

15.

violation of the general municipal law. Release of income information to a State auditor clearly would
be an authorized disclosure.

Question: If a person who has a Basic STAR exemption moves and does not tell the assessor, is
there any liability on the part of the assessor?

Answer: The certification on the application includes a statement that it is the applicant’s obligation
to notify the assessor of a change in primary residence. Clearly, the applicant, and not the assessor,
is responsible in this case.

Question: An individual owns a mobile home located in a mobile home park. The individual, who
applies for and is eligible for the STAR Exemption, moves the mobile home out of the mobile home
park shortly after the taxable status day. What is the obligation of the mobile home park owner in this
situation regarding the STAR Exemption payment?

Answer: Since the value of the mobile home was assessed with the land, the park owner will be
liable for the full school tax bill even though the mobile home is no longer there. The park owner is
not obliged to forward the STAR tax savings to the mobile home owner under these circumstances.

Question: If an approved STAR applicant dies after the taxable status date, does the exemption
remain on the property?

Answer: Yes, but only for the assessment roll based on that taxable status date. While other
exemptions are subject to removal when property is transferred to a non-exempt owner after taxable
status date (see, RPTL, §520), this does not apply to STAR (see RPTL 8520(5)). Any new owner of
that property during the year would receive the benefit of such exemption whether it was for the Basic
or the Enhanced STAR exemption.

Question: A couple currently receives the Enhanced STAR exemption. If one spouse dies and the
surviving spouse is 63 years of age, does the exemption remain on the property?

Answer: Yes. A surviving spouse may retain the STAR exemption provided he/she is at lease 62
years of age as of December 31% of the applicable calendar year.

Question: A taxpayer submits an application for the STAR exemption and it is approved by the
assessor. However, prior to taxable status date, the applicant dies. Does the property receive the
exemption?

Answer: No. The condition and ownership of property is determined as of taxable status date.

Question: An eligible senior citizen purchases a home after taxable status date. May he or she
receive a prorated STAR exemption on the home?

Answer: No. There is no provision in the RPTL for prorated STAR exemptions. However, the
taxpayer could receive a prorated section 467 exemption. People who receive a section 467
exemption are automatically eligible for an Enhanced STAR exemption, but the STAR exemption
would begin on the school tax roll based on the next taxable status date.

Question: A person who has been granted an Enhanced STAR exemption sells his or her house,
cooperative apartment or mobile home after taxable status date. What happens to the exemption?
Also, what happens with regard to a newly-purchased house, cooperative apartment or mobile home
that is bought by this person who still meets the eligibility requirements for the Enhanced STAR
exemption?

Answer: Inthe case of the house that has been sold, the exemption remains with the parcel until the
next taxable status date. This would occur even if the new owner does not meet the Enhanced STAR
eligibility requirements. On the other hand, the person who meets the STAR eligibility requirements
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16.

17.

18.

19.

20.

21.

22.

and buys a house, etc. after taxable status date must wait until the following year to have the
exemption applied to the new property (unless the exemption has been granted to the prior owner).

Question: A person who has applied for and qualifies for the section 467 senior citizens exemption
automatically qualifies for the Enhanced STAR exemption. What if someone has filled out the STAR
application form (RP-425) but meets the income requirement for the section 467 exemption? May the
section 467 exemption be awarded?

Answer: Perhaps, but to receive the section 467 exemption, the applicant must complete the RP-467
application form. Section 467 includes additional requirements not applicable to STAR (e.g., the
income requirements of the two statutes now differ), so the additional questions on the RP-467 must
be answered.

Question: If a property is sold, must the assessor mail a STAR application to the new owner?

Answer: Yes. When the assessor receives a real property transfer report (RP-5217), he or she must
mail a STAR application to the new owners as shown thereon (see 8425(11)(c)).

Question: May the assessor make any adjustments to the certified STAR exempt amount?

Answer: No. The certified STAR exempt amount is the base STAR amount multiplied by the
equalization rate and multiplied by the county sales price differential. All of the necessary adjustments
have been made in the certified amount and it should be used as provided by ORPTS.

Question: May the certified STAR exempt amount be greater than $30,000 (Basic) or $64,200
(Enhanced, 2014-15 school year)?

Answer: Yes, in certain cases. In counties where the sales price differential factor is greater than
one, the exemption amounts will be adjusted upward. However, an adjustment must also be made
for the equalization rate which, very often, will more than offset the sales-based increase. Thus, many
certified STAR exempt amounts are well below the maximum basic and enhanced STAR exempt
amounts.

Question: Must an assessor give the applicant notice when a STAR exemption is denied?

Answer: Yes. Whenever a STAR exemption is denied, the assessor must mail a notice to the
applicant at least 10 days before Grievance Day, or in New York City, at least 30 days before the final
date for filing an assessment appeal. The notice must be on a form prescribed by the State Board
and must specify the reason for the denial. Note that while in the case of the senior citizens
exemption, a notice of denial need be sent only if the applicant has supplied the assessor with a “self-
addressed, pre-paid envelope” (RPTL, 8467(6)(a)), under STAR, a notice of denial must be mailed
whether or not such an envelope has been provided.

Question: What is the procedure for appealing the denial of a STAR exemption?

Answer: For assessment review purposes, STAR is handled in the same manner as any other
partial exemption. The person complaining should use the RP-524 Form, Part Three, Section B,
Subsection b. “The taxable assessed value is excessive because of the denial of all or a portion of a
partial exemption.”

Question: What are some of the types of STAR issues that can be argued before the board of
assessment review? For example:

1. May a board of assessment review accept STAR applications that were filed with the
assessor after the deadline (taxable status date)?
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2. May a board of assessment review reconsider the assessor’s determination of income
based on tax information filed with the application?

Answer: Initially, it should be noted that it is not a question of “which STAR issues can be argued”
before the board of assessment review. Every taxpayer is entitled to his or her “day in court.” Itis a
guestion of whether the board of assessment review has jurisdiction or authority to determine certain
issues. With regard to the above examples:

1. Theboard of assessment review does not have the authority to waive the law regarding
filing. This presents a question of law and not a question of fact. The board of
assessment review has neither jurisdiction nor discretion regarding such issue.

2. The board of assessment review has the authority to decide issues of fact, and the
guestion of income may be one of fact.

23. Question: May the assessor correct the assessment roll or tax roll if a STAR exemption was
approved but was inadvertently left off the roll, or if the exemption was granted to the wrong parcel?

Answer: Yes. The correction of errors provisions of title 3 of Article 5 of the RPTL may be used to
correct certain errors on assessment and tax rolls. For the answer to these specific questions and
others concerning the correction of errors procedures, see Appendix D.

24, Question: What are the penalties for making a “material misstatement” on a STAR application?

Answer: A penalty tax of $100 is imposed against the property in such cases. In addition, such
applicant “shall be disqualified from further exemption pursuant to this section [RPTL, 8425] for a
period of five years, and may be subject to prosecution pursuant to the penal law.”

25. Question: An individual claims primary residency in two properties. Should the STAR penalties be
imposed on both properties even if one of the properties does, in fact, serve as the applicant’s primary
residence?

Answer: There is no material misstatement on the application for the individual's primary residence,
so the $100 penalty tax doesn't apply thereto. However, assuming that there was a material
misstatement on the other application, the applicant would be “disqualified from further exemption
pursuant to this section [RPTL, §425] for a period of five years,” so the property would not be eligible
for STAR on either residence for a period of five years. This penalty does not apply if the exemption
has been renounced by the individual on one of the two properties (RPTL §496).

26. Question: An applicant for Enhanced STAR misrepresents his or her age or income. Can this
applicant still receive Basic STAR?

Answer: No. The phrase “disqualified from further exemption pursuant to this section” means
neither Enhanced nor Basic STAR may be granted for a five-year period.

27. Question: What is the logic used by the NYS Department of Taxation and Finance to determine
income eligibility for the Enhanced STAR exemption?

Answer: This is the logic used in the program to verify income for the enhanced STAR exemption
with the Department of Taxation and Finance (DTF):

1. DTF checks to see if the taxpayer filed an amended return. If yes, this record automatically
receives a "U" since amended tax info is not in a database at DTF.

2. DTF looks for a match between the two files, by SSN and first three letters of the last name.
If there is no match, record receives a "U".
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3. If a match is found, DTF then checks the tax return which was filed.

4, If the taxpayer filed form IT-201 or IT-203, Federal Adjusted Gross Income less IRA
distributions is used to determine eligibility.

5. A temporary table is built to accumulate information for multiple owners; once a match is
found, income is added to the table.

6. DTF then checks to see if the next parcel ID number is the same. If yes, income is combined
to determine eligibility:

e.g. ifthere are 5 owners, and 2 are "U" but other 3 exceed the income limit, all
will receive an "N"

e.g. if there are 5 owners, and 4 incomes combined are under the limit and the 5th
is a "U" then all receive a “U”.

7. If a unit number is entered for the record, DTF will not combine incomes for owners with the
same parcel ID number because it indicates a mobile home park or a co-op building.

8. DTF also checks to see if a joint return was filed. If so, DTF will not combine the household
income twice even though there are two records on the ORPTS file with the same parcel ID
number.
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The School Tax Relief Program

NYS Department of Taxation and Finance --
Office of Real Property Tax Services
NYS Division of Housing and Community Renewal

http://www.tax.ny.gov

Administering STAR in Manufactured Housing Communities

What is STAR?

The School Tax Relief (STAR) Program, which
became law in 1997, provides a partial
exemption from school property taxes for owner
occupied, primary residences such as one, two
and three family houses, condominiums,
cooperative apartments, and manufactured
homes (also known as mobile homes in Real
Property Tax Law).

There are two types of STAR exemptions.
Owners who are aged 65 or older, with a
combined income of $81,900 or less (increased
annually for cost-of-living adjustments) are
eligible for the Enhanced STAR exemption. The
Enhanced STAR exemption is worth $64,200 in
full value assessment (2014-2015 school year).

Secondly, owners who occupy their primary
residences and whose total income is less than
$500,000 are eligible for the Basic STAR
exemption. The Basic STAR exemption is
$30,000 in full value.

In counties where the median home value is
higher than the statewide median home value,
the Basic and Enhanced STAR exemptions are
prorated up so that homeowners in these areas
will realize equivalent tax relief.

New York State Division of Housing and
Community Renewal is responsible for
enforcing the laws concerning the rights of
tenants of manufactured housing
communities. If you have any questions or
complaints regarding rent reductions in
manufactured home parks as a result of
STAR Program exemptions, the toll free
number to contact is (800) 432-4210.

How to Apply

The individual homeowner must apply to the
local assessor by taxable status date in order
to receive the STAR exemption. For the Basic
STAR exemption, the homeowner must
provide proof of ownership and proof of
primary residency as requested by the
assessor. For the Enhanced STAR exemption,
the homeowner must also provide proof of age
and proof of income (copies of federal or state
income tax forms). Enhanced STAR applicants
must reapply each year to prove income
eligibility, except for those who elect to
participate in the STAR income verification
program. Basic STAR applicants apply once
but must notify the assessor of changes in
eligibility.

Responsibilities of Owners of
Manufactured Housing Communities

Most people who receive the STAR exemption
will see the tax savings directly on their school
tax bills. However, for most people who own
manufactured homes that are located in
communities (also known as mobile home
parks), the tax savings will appear on the school
tax bill for the manufactured housing community.
The owner of the manufactured housing
community is responsible for crediting the tax
savings against the rent payable on the home
that has received the exemption.

The owner or operator of a manufactured
housing community may credit the tax savings
against the monthly rent in 12 instaliments,
beginning with the first monthly rental payment
due 60 days after the penalty-free period for the
payment of taxes and continuing for 11 months.
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Alternatively, the community owner (or operator
or agent) may either: (1) credit the total reduction
against the first month’s rent, with any balance
credited against the following month(s)’ rent(s)
until exhausted, or (2) pay the total reduction to
the manufactured home owner within 60 days of
the interest-free collection period.

Failure of an owner or operator of a
manufactured housing community to comply
shall be a violation punishable by a fine not to
exceed $500 per violation.

How STAR Exemption is Calculated

The assessor is responsible for calculating the
STAR exemption. Let's take the case of the
Stardust Manufactured Housing Community
located in Anytown, NY that assesses at 10
percent of market  value. Stardust
Manufactured Housing Community has 7 pads
and 7 manufactured homes. The assessor
should provide the manufactured home park
owner with the STAR exempt amount of each
manufactured home and the total exempt
amount. The total assessed value of the
manufactured home park is given on the school
tax bill. For example, the Assessor of Anytown
has assessed Stardust Manufactured Housing
Community as follows:

7 pads values @ $4,000/pad = $ 28,000
7 manufactured homes = $ 49,000
Total assessed value = $77,000

Stardust Manufactured Housing Community
STAR Basic Exemption = $3,000
STAR Enhanced Exemption = $6,420

Home

Manufactured STAR Exempt

Pad | Home Owner Value Type Amount
1 Adams $7,000 none

2 Bettinger $6,000 | Enhanced $6,000
3 Carlson $8,000 none

4 Daniels $12,000 Basic $3,000

5 Evans $7,000 | Enhanced $6,420

6 Fitzgerald $5,000 Basic $3,000
7 Green $4,000 none

STAR EXEMPTION TOTAL $18,420

Two homeowners, Bettinger and Evans, applied
and were approved for the Enhanced STAR
exemption. Two additional owners, Daniels and
Fitzgerald applied for and received the Basic
Exemption. Because Anytown assesses at 10%
of market value, the Enhanced STAR works by
exempting up to the first $6,420 of assessed

value for each home. The Basic STAR
exempts up to the first $3,000 of assessed
value.

The home values of Bettinger and Evans are
$6,000 and $7,000 respectively. The Enhanced
STAR exempt amounts are $6,000 and $6,420.
The Basic exempt amounts for Daniels and
Fitzgerald are each $3,000. The total exempt
amount is $18,420. The STAR law states that
the exemption cannot exceed the total assessed
value attributable to the manufactured home.

The Assessor of Anytown subtracts the STAR
exemption total of $18,420 from the total
assessed value of $77,000 to arrive at the
taxable assessed value of $58,580.

Total Assessed value = $ 77,000
STAR Exemption Total = $ 18,420
Taxable Assessed Value = $ 58,580

How Owners Distribute the
Benefits to Tenants

The tenant in a manufactured housing
community that receives the STAR exemption is
entitled to a rent reduction equal to the amount
by which taxes on the home were reduced after
allowing for a 2% reduction. The owner of the
manufactured housing community is allowed to
retain 2% of the STAR savings for record-
keeping expenses. In the example, the STAR
tax reduction is to be distributed to Bettinger and
Evans of Stardust Manufactured Housing
Community.

1. OBTAIN INFORMATION FROM YOUR
ASSESSOR

The assessor can give the owner of the
manufactured housing community (or the
owner obtains from the assessor) the
following information:

Exempt amount of each manufactured
home that receives a STAR exemption

2. OBTAIN INFORMATION FROM TAX BILL

The following information is listed on the tax
bill or can be obtained from the assessor

STAR Savings
STAR Exemption Total

If the School Tax Rate is $160 per thousand
dollars of assessed value, the owner of the

Stardust Manufactured Housing Community
will see the following on the school property
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tax bill: “Your tax savings resulting from the
New York state school tax relief (STAR)
program is $2947.20.”

Tax rate STAR Exemption Total _ STAR
X X 1,000 ~ Savings
$160 $18.420 $2947.20
X = :
1,000

3. DETERMINE AMOUNT OF SAVINGS TO
BE DISTRIBUTED

The owner of Stardust deducts 2% of the
STAR savings for record keeping purposes
and the rest of the STAR savings are to be
distributed to the eligible owners.

STAR Savings = $2947.20
2% retained by owner = 58.95
Savings to distribute = $2888.25

4. CALCULATE INDIVIDUAL HOMEOWNER’S
SAVINGS IN RENT REDUCTION

Once the individual savings have been
calculated, the owner of the manu-
factured housing community may (1)
credit the tax savings against the monthly
rent in 12 installments beginning with the
first monthly rental payment due 60 days
after the penalty-free period for the
payment of taxes and continuing for 11
months, OR (2) credit the total reduction
against the first month’s rent, with any
balance credited against the following
month(s)’ rent(s) until exhausted, OR (3)
pay the total reduction to the tenant
within 60 days of the interest-free
collection period.

Individual homeowner’s savings are
determined by the following equation.

Home Exempt Amount
STAR Exemption Total

STAR Savings
to Distribute

STAR Exemption Total =
STAR Savings to Distribute =

$18,420
$2888.25
For Example:
Bettinger’s home exempt amount is $6,000.

$ 6,000

$18.420 X $2888.25 = $940.80

The STAR savings for Bettinger would be
$940.80 or $78.40 per month.

Evan’'s home exempt amount is $6,420.

$6.,420

$18,420 X $2888.25 = $1006.65

The STAR savings for Evans would be
$1006.65 or $83.89 per month.

Exemptions for Manufactured Home
Owners Who Are Separately Assessed

What if the Stardust Manufactured Housing
Community also includes an eighth home which
is owned by Hanks, a veteran who is entitled to
an alternative veterans’ exemption? Since he is
entitled to an exemption other than STAR, his
home must be separately assessed. If Hanks is
also eligible for a STAR exemption, his home
would not be included in the assessor's STAR
computations of the Stardust Manufactured
Housing Community, because those computa-
tions apply only to manufactured homes which
have been assessed to Stardust’'s owner.

Since his manufactured home will be separately
assessed, Hanks will get a separate tax bill and
will be responsible for paying taxes on his home
directly, rather than through Stardust’s owner.
The rent he pays to Stardust’s owner must
be reduced to reflect the fact that the taxes
attributable to this unit are to be paid directly
by Hanks, rather than by Stardust's owner.
Again, Stardust’'s owner is entitled to retain a 2%
administrative expense for the amount of the
rent reduction.

If you have any questions or need
additional information regarding applying
for the STAR program or the calculations of
the STAR program exemptions, please
contact:

New York State
Department of Taxation and Finance

Office of Real Property Tax Services
(518) 474-2819
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Appendix B

STAR

The School Tax Relief Program

NYS Department of Taxation & Finance--
Office of Real Property Tax Services

http://www.tax.ny.gov

Administering STAR for Cooperative Apartments

What is STAR?

The School Tax Relief (STAR) Program, which
became law in 1997, provides a partial
exemption from school property taxes for owner
occupied, primary residences such as one, two
and three family houses, condominiums,
cooperative apartments, and manufactured
homes (also known as mobile homes in Real
Property Tax Law).

There are two types of STAR exemptions.
Owners who are aged 65 or older, with a
combined income of $81,900 or less (increased
annually for cost-of-living adjustments) are
eligible for the Enhanced STAR exemption. The
Enhanced STAR exemption is worth $64,200 in
full value assessment (2014-2015 school year).

Secondly, owners who occupy their primary
residences and whose total income is less than
$500,000 are eligible for the Basic STAR
exemption. The Basic STAR exemption is
$30,000 in full value

In counties where the median home value is
higher than the statewide median home value,
the Basic and Enhanced STAR exemptions are
prorated up so that homeowners in these areas
will realize equivalent tax relief.

Responsibilities of Owners of Cooperative
Apartment Corporations

STAR Legislation specifically requires
cooperative apartment corporations and their
managing agents to be responsible for the
administration of the tax reduction received by
the cooperative apartment owner. Most people
who receive the STAR exemption will see the
tax savings directly on their school tax bills.
However, for cooperative apartment share-
holders, the tax savings will appear on the
school tax bhill for the cooperative cooperation.

The corporation, through its managing agent,
must credit the tax savings against the fees of

the cooperative apartment shareholder who has
received the exemption.

How STAR Exemption is Calculated

The assessor is responsible for calculating the
STAR exemption. Let's take the case of the
Riverview Cooperative Corporation located in
Anytown, NY that assesses at 10% of market
value. Riverview's building has 8 units and an
assessed value of $50,000. Each unit is
occupied by a tenant-shareholder.

In order to calculate the STAR exemption, the
assessor first must know the number of shares
attributable to each unit and the total number of
shares of the corporation. When the assessor
has obtained this information from the managing
agent, the assessor calculates an estimate of an
"assessed value" for each unit that has an
exemption.

How to Apply

The cooperative apartment shareholder must
apply to the local assessor in order to receive the
STAR exemption. The assessor is responsible for
reviewing the applications and the required
documentation. For the Basic STAR exemption,
the homeowner must provide proof of ownership
and proof of primary residency as requested by
the assessor. For the Enhanced STAR
exemption, the home-owner must also provide
proof of age and proof of income (copy of either
federal or state income tax forms). Enhanced
STAR applicant must reapply each year to prove
income eligibility except for those who elect to
participate in the STAR income verification
program. Basic STAR applicants apply once but
must notify the assessor of changes in eligibility.

If Anytown assessed at 100% of market value,
the Enhanced STAR exemption would exempt
up to the first $63,300 of assessed value for
each cooperative apartment unit and the Basic
exemption would exempt up to the first $30,000.
Because Anytown assesses at 10% of market
value, the STAR exemption is adjusted so that
Enhanced STAR exempts up to the first $6,330
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and the Basic up to the first $3,000 of assessed
value for each exempt cooperative apartment
unit. When the assessor calculates the STAR
exemption, the assessor should provide the
managing agent with the STAR exempt amount
attributable to each unit that receives the
STAR exemption.

Table 1. Riverview Cooperative Corporation
Certified STAR Enhanced Exemption = $6,420
Certified STAR Basic Exemption = $3,000

Assessed
Value Exempt
* Attributable Star Amount
'g Share- To Exempt Exemption | Attributable
holder Unit Type to Unit
1| Adams $8,000 Basic $3,000
Sr. Citizen
($1,600)*
2 | Best $4,000 Enhanced $4,000
($2,400)
3 | Carlson n/a none n/a
4 | Daniels n/a None n/a
5| Evans $7,000 Enhanced $6,420
6 | Fine $5,000 Basic $3,000
7 | Green n/a None n/a
8 | Hanks $6,000 Enhanced $6,000
Exemption Total $22,420

In the example of Riverview Cooperative
Corporation, three shareholders, Best, Evans
and Hanks, applied and were approved for the
Enhanced STAR exemption. The assessed
value for the units of Best, Evans and Hanks are
$4,000, $7,000 and $6,000 respectively. The
Enhanced STAR exempt amounts attributable to
these units are $2,400 (in addition to $1,600
senior citizen), $6,420 and $6,000 respectively.
Adams and Fine were approved for the Basic
exemption of $3,000 each. The total of all STAR
exemptions is $22,420. The STAR law states
that the exemption cannot exceed the total
assessed value attributable to the cooperative
apartment.

How to Distribute the Benefits to
Shareholders

1. OBTAIN INFORMATION FROM YOUR
ASSESSOR

The managing agent needs to obtain from
the assessor the following:

Exempt amount attributable to each
exempt cooperative unit.

The assessor calculated the amount of the
exemption to each of the three applicants.

2. OBTAIN INFORMATION FROM TAX BILL

School Tax Rate
STAR Savings

The school tax rate is an amount that is
usually shown in dollars per thousand of
valuation. The savings for STAR and other
exemptions are shown on the school tax
bill. The bill also indicates that the total
exemption for the Corporation itself is
$22,420.

3. CALCULATE SHAREHOLDER'’S
SAVINGS

Shareholder savings can be determined by
multiplying the school tax rate by the
exempt amount attributable to each unit.
Individual unit or shareholder's savings are
determined by the following formula.

Tax rate** x exempt amount of unit  _
1,000 ~  Savings

In the example of Riverview Cooperative
Corporation, the school tax rate is
$200/$1,000 of assessed value. Three of
the shareholders, Best, Evans, and Hanks
received the Enhanced STAR exemption.
The exempt amounts attributable to units
occupied by Best, Evans and Hanks are
$4,000, $6,420, and $6,000, respectively.
For Adams and Fine, the exempt amounts
are $3,000 each.

*Best, in Table 1, qualifies for a 40 percent
senior citizen exemption of $1,600 which must be
applied first. The remaining assessed value is
$2,400. The STAR exemption in this example cannot
exceed $6,420 or 100% of the remaining total, which
is $2,400. Best receives a $2,400 exemption for
STAR. Managing agents must also account for other
exemptions which may apply in addition to STAR.
While STAR applies to all qualified cooperative
apartments, municipalities may, at local option,
choose to grant certain other exemptions (i.e., senior
citizen exemptions and/or veterans exemptions) to
tenant shareholders of cooperative apartments.

** The actual school tax rate should be used in
the calculation. The tax rate should not be rounded to
the nearest dollar. In municipalities where the tax rate
is expressed in dollars per $100 of assessed value,
the product should be divided by 100.
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Table 2. Riverview Cooperative Corporation
Exempt
*® Amount
c Attributable | Shareholder
= | Shareholder to Unit Savings
1 | Adams $3,000 $600
2 | Best $4,000 $800
3 | Carlson n/a n/a
4 | Daniels n/a n/a
5 | Evans $6,420 $1,284
6 | Fine $3,000 $600
7 | Green n/a n/a
8 | Hanks $6,000 $1,200
TOTAL $22,420 $4,484

For Example:

The exempt amount attributable to Best is
$4,000. The savings for Best is $800, i.e.,

$200 x $4,000
1,000

= $800

The STAR exempt amount attributable to Adams
and Fine is $3,000. The STAR savings for each
is $600.

$200 x $3,000 _
1,000 = $600

The sum of each shareholder’s savings should

equal the STAR Savings shown on the school

tax bill ($4,484).

Shareholder’s savings are calculated differently
for shareholders residing in cooperative apart-
ments organized as a limited-profit (Mitchell-
Lama) company. As these facilities are
generally exempt from real property taxation, the
benefits are instead “STAR savings,” equal to
one third of the “base figure” normally used to
calculate both the Basic and Enhanced STAR
exemptions (with adjustments for location and
equalization), multiplied by the applicable school
tax rate (or by the city tax rate, in the cities of
New York, Buffalo, Rochester, Syracuse and
Yonkers). The “STAR savings” for any
individual unit may not exceed the amount
payable or chargeable to the unit for real
property taxes or payments in lieu of taxes. The
assessor should provide a breakdown of such
credits by unit so that they are properly credited
and allocated to eligible recipients.

Cooperative  apartment corporations  must
provide to each eligible tenant-shareholder a
written statement detailing the full amount of the
STAR exemption (or STAR-related savings, in
the case of cooperatives organized as a
Mitchell-Lama project) to be credited to such
tenant-stockholder, including information regar-
ding how the amount was calculated, and how
the exemption or saving is being credited to the
tenant-shareholder. Such a written statement
must be mailed to each eligible tenant-
stockholder within 60 days of the corporation’s
receiving the exemption or savings.

Once the individual savings have been
calculated, the cooperative apartment
corporation is required to credit those
savings against the taxes otherwise
payable by the tenant-shareholder. This
may be accomplished by:

(1) dividing the total savings by twelve
and crediting the result against the
monthly fees and charges payable
each month for the next year;

(2) dividing the total savings by six and
crediting the result against monthly
fees and charges over six months in
the next year;

(3) crediting the total savings against
fees and charges of any single
month of the next year, with any
balance to be credited in full against
fees and charges for the following
month(s) of that vyear until
exhausted; or

(4) paying the total savings to the
tenant-shareholder as an up-front,
lump sum payment.

In any case, such payment(s) must be

made during the current assessment

cycle.

If you have any questions or need
additional information regarding apply-
ing for the STAR program or the
calculations of the STAR program
exemptions, please contact:

NYS Department of Taxation and Finance
Office of Real Property Tax Services
(518) 474-2819
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Appendix C

CORRECTION OF ERRORS AND STAR

As with any exemption, errors may be discovered in the local administration of the school tax
relief (STAR) exemption (Real Property Tax Law, 8425). This appendix addresses the
procedure for correcting those errors.

Q.1.

A.l.

Q.2.

A.2.

The assessor intended to grant an Enhanced STAR exemption to Jane Doe’s property
but it was not entered on the school roll. Ms. Doe has now received her 2014-2015
school tax bill and wants her exemption. Can this be corrected?

Yes. Where an assessor fails to act on a partial exemption and the property is entitled to
such partial exemption, this is a defined “clerical error” (RPTL, §550(2)(c)). Prior to the
expiration of the school tax warrant, Ms. Doe should file form RP-554 with the county
director of real property tax services seeking a corrected tax bill. The county director
then investigates and recommends to the tax levying body if the tax roll and tax bill
should be corrected. If the director concludes that Ms. Doe should have received the
exemption and the tax levying body concurs, the tax roll will be corrected and the tax
collector will be authorized to collect a lesser amount of tax from Ms. Doe. Ms. Doe will
be sent notice of the correction, and, assuming she filed the RP-554 with the director
during the interest-free period, she will have eight days from the mailing of her notice to
pay the corrected tax without interest.

In the alternative, Ms. Doe may file form RP-556 with the county director seeking a
refund or credit. Note that an application for a refund or credit based upon a clerical
error may be filed up to three years following the annexation of the warrant to collect the
taxes containing the error.

The school district will be entitled to State reimbursement for the reduction in Ms. Doe’s
school tax bill or for any refund paid to her (see Question 5).

While the assessor intended to grant the Enhanced exemption to Ms. Doe in Question 1,
the exemption was erroneously given to Robert White whose property was ineligible for
an Enhanced STAR exemption. Can Mr. White's erroneously granted exemption be
corrected, and, if so, when?

Yes. If the erroneous grant of the exemption is discovered in sufficient time before the
levy of the school tax, this would be an “error in essential fact” (RPTL, 8550(3)(e)): the
incorrect entry of a partial exemption on an assessment roll for a parcel not eligible for
that exemption. The assessor may petition the board of assessment review to correct
the final assessment roll at that board’s “second meeting” conducted for school tax
purposes (RPTL, §553).

If the error is discovered after the school levy, a different procedure is followed. STAR
specifically authorizes the revocation of erroneously granted exemptions, even after the
school levy has occurred (RPTL, 8425(12)). To do so, the assessed value attributable to
each improperly granted STAR exemption shall be entered separately on the next
tentative or final assessment roll (RPTL 8425(12)(b)). The procedures for the entry of
“omitted” property on that next tentative roll (RPTL, 8551) or final roll (RPTL, 8553) are
to be followed when making this correction.
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Q.3.

A.3.

Q.4.

A.4.

In this case, along with his 2015-2016 school taxes, Mr. White should be billed for the
school tax savings he mistakenly received when he was wrongly credited with Ms. Doe’s
2014-2015 Enhanced STAR exemption. His additional liability will be the amount of the
2014 assessment to which STAR was applied, multiplied by the 2014-2015 school tax
rate.*

That amount will be added to (or billed additionally) with Mr. White’'s own 2015-2016
school taxes. Note, however, that if Mr. White himself qualifies for the Basic (or
Enhanced) STAR for his 2015-2016 school taxes, he should receive that exemption.

In all cases where a property owner erroneously received an Enhanced STAR
exemption on his or her 2014-2015 school tax bill, ORPTS strongly recommends that
the taxpayer be given notice as soon as possible of the assessor’s intention to correct
that error on the 2015-2016 school tax roll. This will provide advance notice to the
taxpayer so that he or she may budget tax expenditures accordingly. Recognize that
when the provisions of 8551 or 8553 are used next year to correct the 2015 assessment
roll, the property owner must be given notice (RPTL, 8425(12)(c)). Our suggestion of an
additional notice at this time is intended as a courtesy to the taxpayer who may feel
inconvenienced by the assessor’s error.

Given Answer No. 2, for 2015-2016 school tax purposes, the school district will receive
two State payments for Ms. Doe’'s STAR exemption: the incorrect one applied to Mr.
White on the assessment roll and the correct one applied to Ms. Doe after she receives a
corrected tax bill or refund. How is this to be corrected?

When the school district submits its STAR payment request for 2016-2017, it must report
the additional revenues it has billed Mr. White as a result of the correction of errors
process. This amount will then be deducted from the district's 2016-2017 STAR
payment.

If Ms. Doe should have received a senior citizens exemption (RPTL, 8467) and therefore
Enhanced STAR as well, but both were granted to Mr. White, can both of Mr. White’s
exemptions be corrected on next year's roll?

The STAR exemption may be corrected in the manner described in Answer No. 2. For
the senior citizens exemption, it is also now possible for an assessor to petition the
board of assessment review at its second meeting to correct an incorrect entry of a
partial exemption granted on the preceding year's assessment roll to a parcel that was
not entitled to such exemption, provided there has been no transfer of title since the filing
of the final assessment roll containing such exemption and provided further that the
exemption has not been renounced (RPTL 8496). While it is applicable to all partial
exemptions, including STAR, the STAR correction provisions discussed in Answer No. 2
also remain in place.

* For assessors using the New York State Real Property System [RPS], omitted taxes should be
included on the 2015 assessment roll as Roll Section 9 entries. Although they will appear on
the assessment roll, they will not be interpreted as actual parcel entries and will not be
accumulated with normal assessment roll totals. They will be included with the appropriate
school tax levy. Non-RPS users should process omitted taxes in their usual manner.
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Q.5. When a taxpayer is given a corrected tax bill or is granted a refund based on an omitted
STAR exemption, will the State provide reimbursement resulting from the correction or
refund, and if so, how?

A.5.  Yes, the State will pay the full amount of the STAR exemptions. If the tax roll and bill are
corrected pursuant to 8554, the school district collecting officer will necessarily collect
less from the taxpayers. For other, locally-financed exemptions, the RP-554 is attached
to or filed with the tax roll to account for the difference. However, since the State must
cover the full cost of all STAR exemptions (RPTL, 81306-a), once a corrected bill has
been issued in this case, the school district should file with ORPTS a supplemental aid
application (RP-6704-B), asking to be reimbursed for the additional STAR-related cost
represented by the corrected bill.

Similarly, when a refund is approved pursuant to 8556, the normal procedure is either (a)
the school district will pay the refund directly to the taxpayer, or (b) if the tax has been
returned to and relevied by the county, the county will pay the refund to the taxpayer and
then “charge back” the refund to the school district (RPTL, 8556(6)(b)). These refund
procedures would apply to corrected STAR exemptions to the same extent that they
apply to other corrected exemptions, except that the school district would request
reimbursement from the State for the refund by filing the supplemental aid application
with ORPTS as described above.

To reduce the number of supplemental requests for STAR aid, we recommend that the
school district delay the submission of any supplemental claims until it can address as
many corrections as possible. It may request reimbursement both for corrections of tax
bills and for refunds of taxes in the same claim.
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Veterans
(Exemption based on eligible funds or disability) . RPTL Section 458

SUMMARY (continued):

Each taxing jurisdiction that adopts a local law allowing "change in level" exemptions
may also allow property owners previously receiving an exemption under §458 but later
opting to receive exemption under §458-a to switch back to receiving the §458
exemption. If this provision is included in the local law allowing "change in level"
exemptions, a property owner who wishes to switch back to the §458 exemption must
file a §458 application (Form RP-458) within one year of the adoption of the local law.

A. ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS:

1. Ownership Requirements:

a. §458(1): The property must be owned by a veteran (or by his or her
spouse, unremarried surviving spouse, dependent father or mother, or
children under twenty-one years of age) and must have been purchased
with eligible funds granted by the United States or by this state.* The
following types of transactions are considered to constitute "purchase" of
real property where eligible funds are used: (1) payment of purchase
price with a government check for eligible funds,(2) payment of purchase

* The definition of veteran includes (1) certain crew members of the merchant marine,
(2) certain members of the American Field Service, and (3) certain flight crew and

aviation ground support employees of Pan American World Airways all of whom served
during World War II. '

To qualify for exemption merchant mariners must have (1) been employed by the War
Shipping Administration or Office of Defense Transportation or their agents as a
merchant seaman as documented by the U.S. Coast Guard or Department of Commerce
or as a civil servant employed by the U.S. Army Transport Service or the National
Transportation Service; (2) served satisfactorily as a crew member during World War IT
(December 7, 1941 to August 15, 1945) aboard (a) a merchant vessel in oceangoing
(foreign, intercoastal, or coastwise) voyages or "near foreign" voyages between the U.S.
and Canada, Mexico, or the West Indies via ocean routes or (b) a public vessel in
oceangoing service or foreign waters; and (3) received a Certificate of Release or
Discharge from Active Duty and a discharge certificate, or an Honorable Service
Certificate/ Report of Casualty from the Department of Defense.

An American Field Service member applying for exemption must have (1) been
employed by the American Field Service, (2) served overseas under U.S. Armies and
U.S. Army Groups in World War IT (December 7, 1941 to May 8, 1945), and (3) been
discharged or released therefrom under honorable conditions.

Exemption may also be granted to a veteran who (1) served overseas as a flight crew and
aviation ground support employee of Pan American World Airways or one of its
subsidiaries or affiliates as a result of Pan American's contract with Air Transport
Command or Naval Air Transport Service during World War II (December 14, 1941 to
August 14, 1945) and (2) was discharged or released therefrom under honorable
conditions.
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Veterans

(Exemption based on eligible funds or d1sab111ty) RPTL Section 458

A. ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS (continued):

1.

Ownership Requirements (continued):

price directly with the proceeds of the check for eligible funds, (3)
payment on the principal of a mortgage assumed at the time of the
purchase, (4) payment of the cost of a purchase money mortgage, (5)
payment of the principal of a mortgage where the mortgage money was
borrowed to improve the property, (6) payment of the cost of improve-
ments (improvements increase the value of property whereas repairs do
not), (7) payment on the principal of a mortgage on real property owned
by any person in the "exempt" class (that is, anyone who would be eligible
for exemption under RPTL §458), and (8) acquisition of the title to real
property because of default of the mortgagor where the assignment of the
mortgage to the veteran has been paid for with eligible funds.

The following does not constitute "purchase" of real property: payment of
current or delinquent taxes, interest, insurance premiums, or cost of
repairs oh property, even if made with money borrowed on a mortgage
(and even though the mortgage is paid off with eligible funds)

The following types of payments constitute eligible funds: (1) monthly
payments for either a service-connected or a non-service-connected
disability or death, (2) retirement pay or disability retirement pay, (3)
severance pay or disability severance pay, (4) a death gratuity or benefit
equal to six months' pay, (5) proceeds of World War adjusted service
bonus and interest (Bonus, World War I), (6) mustering out pay, (7) lump
sum payment to Army or Navy Air Corps Reserve officer upon release
from active duty, (8) lump sum readjustment allowance paid to member
of reserve component on involuntary release, (9) readjustment allowance,
(10) subsistence allowance under the GI Bill of Rights (including such
allowance in connection with college and school education and training,
on-the-job training, apprentice training, and vocational rehabilitation
programs), (11) the 4% payment made by the government for the first
year on the guaranteed portion of a GI loan on real property when used to
reduce the principal of the mortgage (not to exceed $160), (12) the
proceeds on maturity or death or the cash value on actual surrender of
U.S. Government Life Insurance and National Service Life Insurance,
(18) dividends or refunds on insurance granted by the U.S., (14) the
amount of money equal to the amount of eligible funds retained by the
U.S. Government for insurance premiums, (15) proceeds from the sale of
real property entitled to exemption used to purchase another parcel of
real property or exchange of such real property to the extent of eligible
funds used in the original purchase, (16) bonus granted by New York
State or the U.S. Government, (17) annuity to blind veterans
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Veterans
(Alternative exemption for wartime veterans) RPTL Section 458-a
Exemption Code(s): Wartime veteran, non-combat zone 4112 _
Wartime veteran, combat zone 4113 _
Wartime veteran, disabled 4114 _

Year Originally Enacted: 1984

Related Statutes: RPTL §458

SUMMARY: The primary residence of (1) a veteran of the United States Armed Services who
actively served during a period of war, (2) a veteran who received an expeditionary medal,
or under certain conditions: (3) a veteran of the merchant marine service, (4) a veteran of the
American Field Service, or (5) a veteran who served as a Pan American World Airways flight
crew and aviation ground support employee may be eligible for partial exemption from general
municipal taxes. No exemption is allowed for special ad valorem levies or special assessments.
County, city, town and village taxing jurisdictions had the option of disallowing the exemption
or allowing it at a reduced or increased level. Jurisdictions which allow the alternative veterans
exemption may not grant any new eligible funds (former RPTL §458(1)) or original option pro
rata veteran’s exemptions (former RPTL §458(5)) after March 2, 1986. In addition, school
districts now have the option of allowing this exemption.

The percentage exemption that applies to the assessed value of a qualifying property depends
on both the nature of the veteran’s service and the local law adopted by the taxing jurisdiction.
Veterans who were on active duty during a period of war are eligible for a 15% exemption (not
to exceed a basic state maximum of $12,000 or the product of $12,000 multiplied by the latest
state equalization rate, special equalization rate, or in the case of a special assessing unit, the
latest class ratio, whichever is less). An additional exemption of 10% (not to exceed a basic state
maximum of $8,000 or the product of $8,000 multiplied by the latest state equalization rate,
special equalization rate, or in the case of a special assessing unit, the latest class ratio,
whichever is less) is available for those who served in combat zones. Veterans who sustained
service-related disabilities, as evidenced by receipt of disability compensation rating from the
Veterans Administration or the Department of Defense are eligible for a percentage exemption
equal to one-half of their disability rating (not to exceed $40,000 or the product of $40,000
multiplied by the latest state equalization rate, special state equalization rate, or in the case of
a special assessing unit, the latest class ratio, whichever is less) in addition to the wartime and
combat zone exemptions. Veterans who died in service of a service-connected disability are
considered to have a disability rating of 100%.

A taxing jurisdiction which allows the alternative veterans has the further option of using one
of the following ten (or sixteen, in the case of a “high appreciation municipality”) reduced or
increased maximum exempt amounts (or the product of such a reduced or increased amount
multiplied by the latest state equalization rate, special equalization rate or, in the case of a
special assessing unit, the latest class ratio, whichever is less) instead of the maximum
amounts authorized by state law:



Veterans

(Alternative exemption for wartime veterans) RPTL Section 458-a

SUMMARY (continued)

Reduced State

Maximums Law

Pursuant to Basic

Local Law Max. Increased Maximums Pursuant to Local Law
Wartime $6,000/ $9,000| $12,000| $15,000] $18,000/ $21,000| $24,000| $27,000{ $30,000| $33,000| $36,000
Combat Zone| $4,000{ $6,000| $8,000| $10,000| $12,000| $14,000| $16,000| $18,000] $20,000| $22,000| $24,000
Disability $20,000/$30,000| $40,000| $50,000| $60,000| $70,000/ $80,000/ $90,000| $100,000| $110,000[$120,000

In "high appreciation municipalities" (defined below) the governing board may adopt still higher
maximum limits of:

Wartime $39,000 $42,000 $45,000 $48,000 $51,000 $54,000
Combat Zone $26,000 $28,000 $30,000 $32,000 $34,000 $36,000
Disability $130,000 | $140,000 | $150,000 | $160,000 | $170,000 $180,000

A "high-appreciation municipality" means: (1) New York City, (2) a county for which the Office
of Real Property Tax Services (ORPTS) has established a sales price differential factor for
purposes of the school tax relief [STAR] exemption (Real Property Tax Law, sec. 425) for three
consecutive years, or (3) a city, town, village or school district which is wholly or partly located
within such a county. ORPTS maintains a list of such counties on its website at:
www.tax.ny.gov/pit/property/star/diff.htm

Thus the maximum exemption allowed is 75%, where a veteran served during a period of war in
a combat zone and has a 100% service-connected disability rating. (See Calculation of
Exemption below for more specific information.)

When §458-a, the alternative veterans exemption, was enacted in 1984 and subsequently
became effective in many taxing jurisdictions, some veterans in these jurisdictions who already
had eligible funds exemptions under §458 chose to switch to the alternative exemption. Other
veterans chose to keep their eligible funds exemptions, and some of these veterans, in certain
revaluation situations, were granted pro rated exemptions under former §458(5). In 1994, the
"pro rata" exemption was repealed and a new §458(5) enacted authorizing, at local option, a
"change in level" exemption instead. Current §458(5) also allows those taxing jurisdictions
which both allow alternative veterans exemptions and enact a local law adopting the "change in
level" exemption to include in their law a provision that allows veterans who once had an
eligible funds exemption but later switched to the alternative veterans exemption to switch
back to the eligible funds exemption, thereby qualifying them for "change in level" exemptions.
For details on the "change in level" exemption and its administration, see the Exemption Profile
for RPTL §458.

NOTE: School districts may not offer the Eligible Funds exemption.
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Veterans
(Alternative exemption for wartime veterans) RPTL Section 458-a

A. ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS:

1. Ownership Requirements: The property must be owned by a “qualified owner,”
namely a veteran, the spouse of a veteran or the unremarried surviving spouse of
a veteran. Where property is owned by more than one qualified owner, the
exemption to which each is entitled may be combined. Also, a qualified owner
includes a Gold Star Parent (defined as the parent of a child who died in the line
of duty while serving in the United States Armed Forces during a period of war),
where allowed by local option. The ownership requirement is also satisfied if the
veteran, the veteran's spouse, the veteran's unremarried surviving spouse, or, if
allowed by local option, the Gold Star Parent is the legal life tenant of the
property. If the title has been transferred to a trust, the property is eligible for
the exemption if the trustees or trust beneficiaries otherwise qualify.

If the veteran dies and there is no unremarried surviving spouse, the property
may qualify for exemption if title to the property is vested in the veteran's
dependent child or children under the age of 21 years or dependent parent(s),
provided that the dependent uses the property as his primary residence. A
veteran who is also the unremarried surviving spouse of a veteran may receive
any exemption to which the deceased spouse was entitled.

A veteran is defined as any of the following:

a. A person who served in the active military, naval, or air service of the
U.S. during a period of war (World War II, Korean War (6/27/50 -
1/31/55), Vietnam War (2/28/61 - 5/7/75), or Persian Gulf conflict (on or
after 8/2/90) and who was discharged or released under honorable
conditions.

b. A person who was awarded an Armed Forces Expeditionary Medal, a
Navy and Marine Corps Expeditionary Medal, or a Global War on
Terrorism Expeditionary Medal, and who was discharged or released
under honorable conditions.

c. A crew member of the merchant marine who served during World War I1
and (1) was employed by the War Shipping Administration or Office of
Defense Transportation or their agents as a merchant seaman as
documented by the U.S. Coast Guard or Department of Commerce or as a
civil servant employed by the U.S. Army Transport Service or the Naval
Transportation Service, (2) served satisfactorily as a crew member during
World War II (December 7, 1941 to August 15, 1945) aboard (a) a
merchant vessel in oceangoing (foreign, intercoastal, or coastwise)
voyages or "near foreign" voyages between the U.S. and Canada, Mexico,
or the West Indies via ocean routes or (b) a public vessel in oceangoing
service or foreign waters, and (3) received a Certificate of Release or
Discharge from Active Duty and a discharge certificate, or an Honorable
Service Certificate/Report of Casualty from the Department of Defense.

d. An American Field Service member who served during World War IT and
(1) was employed by the American Field Service, (2) served overseas
under U.S. Armies and U.S. Army Groups in World War II (December 7,
1941 to May 8, 1945), and (3) was discharged or released therefrom under
honorable conditions.

Assessor’s Manual  voLumve 4 SECTION 4.01 PAGE 9.03 DATE 1/1/14



Veterans
(Alternative exemption for wartime veterans) RPTL Section 458-a

A. ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS (continued):

1. Ownership Requirements (continued):

e. A United States civilian who (1) served overseas as a flight crew and
aviation ground support employee of Pan American World Airways or one
of its subsidiaries or affiliates as a result of Pan American's contract with
Air Transport Command or Naval Air Transport Service during World
War II (December 14, 1941 to August 14, 1945§)and (2) was discharged or
released therefrom under honorable conditions.

f. A member of one of the reserve components of the U.S. armed forces who
received an honorable discharge or release therefrom under honorable
conditions, but is still a member of the reserve component may be granted
the alternative veterans exemption provided that such a member meets
all other qualifications for receiving the exemption.

2. Property Location Requirements: None.

3. Property Use Requirements: The property must be used exclusively for
residential purposes. It must also be the primary residence of the veteran, the
unremarried surviving spouse of the veteran, or, if allowed by local option, a
Gold Star Parent, unless that person is absent from the property due to medical
reasons or institutionalization. In the event that a portion of the property is not
used exclusively for residential purposes, that portion is not entitled to the
exemption. In such cases, the assessor may apportion the assessed value and
apply the exemption only to the residential portion of the property.

4. Certification by State or Local Government: None required.

5. Required Construction Start Date or Other Time Requirement: None.

B. LOCAL OPTION: Yes -- Each county, city, town, and village originally had the option
to disallow the exemption. This option had to be exercised through adoption of a local
law no later than 90 days prior to the 1985 taxable status date in the jurisdiction. The
local law may be repealed if at a later date the jurisdiction decides to allow the
exemption.

In addition, school districts are now authorized to allow the exemption, by resolution
after a public hearing.

A jurisdiction which allows the exemption has the additional option of using the
maximum exempt values authorized by state law for the three veterans categories or
passing a local law (or in the case of a school district, a resolution) establishing one of
the two lower sets of maximum exempt values or one of the eight (or fourteen, in the
case of a “high-appreciation municipality”) higher sets (see Summary above).

A jurisdiction which allows the exemption has another option of adopting a local law or
resolution which extends eligibility to residential property owned by Gold Star Parents,
and used as their primary residence. Note that the additional exemption based on a
veteran’s disability, i.e., 50% of the service-connected disability rating is not available to
Gold Star Parents.
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Veterans
(Alternative exemption for wartime veterans) RPTL Section 458-a

B. LOCAL OPTION (continued):

In addition, each taxing jurisdiction may adopt a local law, ordinance or resolution to
allow that portion of a cooperative apartment corporation held by an otherwise eligible
veteran tenant/ stockholder to be eligible for an exemption from real property taxes. If
allowed, the amount of the exemption must be determined by the assessor, based upon
the proportion of the outstanding stock held by the eligible shareholder, and credited
against the taxes charged to the corporation. Eligible stockholders would receive an
adjustment to their monthly maintenance fees by the cooperative apartment
corporation to reflect the benefit of the exemption. However, this exemption may not
be granted to apartments subject to the provisions of Private Housing Finance Law
Articles 2, 4, 5, or 11.

Lastly, each taxing jurisdiction may adopt a local law, ordinance or resolution to allow
a transferred prorated exemption to a veteran, the spouse or unremarried surviving
spouse of the veteran who sells his or her property upon which he or she has been
receiving an exemption under §458-a, and who purchases a replacement property
within the same taxing jurisdiction.
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Veterans

(Alternative exemption for wartime veterans) RPTL Section 458-a

C. LIMITATION ON EXEMPTION:

General School Special
Municipal District Ad Valorem Special
Taxes Taxes Levies Assessments
No No
1. Amount Yes* Yes* exemption exemption
allowed allowed
No No
2. Duration No No exemption exemption
Limit Limit allowed allowed
3. Taxing Jurisdiction
a. County or County Ex** NA Tax Tax
Special Districts
b. City Ex** NA NA Tax
c. Town or Town
Special District Ex** NA Tax Tax
d. Village Ex** NA NA Tax
e. School District NA Ex*** NA NA
Ex - Exempt Tax - Taxable NA - Not Applicable

* See Calculation of Exemption below.

** Unless disallowed by local option. If allowed by local option, tax districts may adopt the
cooperative apartment provisions of RPTL §458-a(6)

*** If allowed by local option.
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Veterans

(Alternative exemption for wartime veterans)

RPTL Section 458-a

D. PAYMENTS IN LIEU OF TAXES: None required.

E. CALCULATION OF EXEMPTION:

1. General Municipal and School District Taxes:

a. Non-combat zone veteran without disability rating

the lesser of either (1) 15% of assessed value or (2) one of the following
dollar amounts multiplied by the latest final state equalization rate (or
special equalization rate) or, in the case of special assessing units, the
latest class ratio:

(a)
)
(©

(d)
(e)
®
(g
(h)
@
G)
k)
@

(m)
(n)
(0)
(p)
(@)

if below maximum reduced by local law (option 1)
if below maximum reduced by local law (option 2)
if state authorized maximum not reduced or
increased by law

if above maximum increased by local law (option 3)
if above maximum increased by local law (option 4)
if above maximum increased by local law (option 5)
if above maximum increased by local law (option 6)
if above maximum increased by local law (option 7)
if above maximum increased by local law (option 8)
if above maximum increased by local law (option 9)
if above maximum increased by local law (option 10)
if above maximum increased by local law

(option 11, high-appreciation municipalities only*)
if above maximum increased by local law

(option 12, high-appreciation municipalities only*)
if above maximum increased by local law

(option 13, high-appreciation municipalities only*)
if above maximum increased by local law

(option 14, high-appreciation municipalities only*)
if above maximum increased by local law

(option 15, high-appreciation municipalities only*)
if above maximum increased by local law

(option 16, high-appreciation municipalities only*)

$6,000
$9,000

$12,000
$15,000
$18,000
$21,000
$24,000
$27,000
$30,000
$33,000
$36,000

$39,000
$42,000
$45,000
$48,000

$51,000

$54,000

* A "high-appreciation municipality" means: (1) New York City, (2) a county for which ORPTS
has established a sales price differential factor for purposes of the school tax relief [STAR]
exemption (Real Property Tax Law, sec. 425) for three consecutive years, or (3) a city, town,

village or school district which is wholly or partly located within such a county.

ORPTS

maintains a list of such counties on its website at: www.tax.ny.gov/pit/property/star/diff. htm
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Veterans

(Alternative exemption for wartime veterans)

RPTL Section 458-a

E. CALCULATION OF EXEMPTION (continued):

b. Combat zone veteran without disability rating

the lesser of either (1) 25% of assessed value or (2) one of the following
dollar amounts multiplied by the latest final state equalization rate (or
special equalization rate) or class ratio:

(a)
)
(©

(d)
(e)
®
(g
(h)
@)
Q)
(k)
o

(m)
(n)
(0)
(p)
(@)

if below maximum reduced by local law (option 1)
if below maximum reduced by local law (option 2)
if state authorized maximum not reduced or
increased by law

if above maximum increased by local law (option 3)
if above maximum increased by local law (option 4)
if above maximum increased by local law (option 5)
if above maximum increased by local law (option 6)
if above maximum increased by local law (option 7)
if above maximum increased by local law (option 8)
if above maximum increased by local law (option 9)
if above maximum increased by local law (option 10)
if above maximum increased by local law

(option 11, high-appreciation municipalities only*)
if above maximum increased by local law

(option 12, high-appreciation municipalities only*)
if above maximum increased by local law

(option 13, high-appreciation municipalities only*)
if above maximum increased by local law

(option 14, high-appreciation municipalities only*)
if above maximum increased by local law

(option 15, high-appreciation municipalities only*)
if above maximum increased by local law

(option 16, high-appreciation municipalities only*)

$10,000
$15,000

$20,000
$25,000
$30,000
$35,000
$40,000
$45,000
$50,000
$55,000
$60,000

$65,000
$70,000
$75,000
$80,000
$85,000

$90,000

* A "high-appreciation municipality" means: (1) New York City, (2) a county for which ORPTS
has established a sales price differential factor for purposes of the school tax relief [STAR]
exemption (Real Property Tax Law, Sec. 425) for three consecutive years, or (3) a city, town,
village or school district which is wholly or partly located within such a county. ORPTS
maintains a list of such counties on its website at:
www.tax.ny.gov/pit/property/star/diff.htm
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Veterans

(Alternative exemption for wartime veterans)

RPTL Section 458-a

E. CALCULATION OF EXEMPTION (continued):

c. Non-combat zone veteran with disability rating*

the exempt amount determined in step a. above plus the lesser of either (1)
1/2 of the disability rating multiplied by the assessed value or (2) one of the
following dollar amounts multiplied by the latest final state equalization
rate (or special equalization rate) or class ratio:

(a)
)
(©

(d)
(e)
®
(g
(h)
@
G)
k)
@

(m)
(n)
(0)
(p)
(@)

*These sections do not apply to residential property owned by Gold Star Parents.

if below maximum reduced by local law (option 1)

if below maximum reduced by local law (option 2)

if state authorized maximum not reduced or
increased by law

if above maximum increased by local law (option 3)
if above maximum increased by local law (option 4)
if above maximum increased by local law (option 5)
if above maximum increased by local law (option 6)
if above maximum increased by local law (option 7)
if above maximum increased by local law (option 8)
if above maximum increased by local law (option 9)
if above maximum increased by local law (option 10)
if above maximum increased by local law

(option 11, high-appreciation municipalities only
if above maximum increased by local law

(option 12, high-appreciation municipalities only
if above maximum increased by local law

(option 13, high-appreciation municipalities only
if above maximum increased by local law

(option 14, high-appreciation municipalities only
if above maximum increased by local law

(option 15, high-appreciation municipalities only
if above maximum increased by local law

(option 16, high-appreciation municipalities only

"
)
)
.
.

**)

$20,000
$30,000

$40,000
$50,000
$60,000
$70,000
$80,000
$90,000
$100,000
$110,000
$120,000

$130,000
$140,000
$150,000
$160,000
$170,000

$180,000

** A "high-appreciation municipality" means: (1) New York City, (2) a county for which ORPTS
has established a sales price differential factor for purposes of the school tax relief [STAR]
exemption (Real Property Tax Law, Sec. 425) for three consecutive years, or (3) a city, town,

village or school district which is wholly or partly located within such a county.

ORPTS

maintains a list of such counties on its website at: www.tax.ny.gov/pit/property/star/diff.htm
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Veterans

(Alternative exemption for wartime veterans)

RPTL Section 458-a

E. CALCULATION OF EXEMPTION (continued):

d. Combat zone veteran with disability rating*

the exempt amount determined in step b. above plus the lesser of either (1)
1/2 of the disability rating multiplied by the assessed value or (2) one of the
following dollar amounts multiplied by the latest final state equalization
rate (or special equalization rate) or class ratio:

(a)
)
(©

(d)
(e)
®
(g
(h)
@)
G
(k)
)

(m)
(n)
(0)
(p)
(@)

*These sections do not apply to residential property owned by Gold Star Parents.

if below maximum reduced by local law (option 1)

if below maximum reduced by local law (option 2)

if state authorized maximum not reduced or
increased by law

if above maximum increased by local law (option 3)
if above maximum increased by local law (option 4)
if above maximum increased by local law (option 5)
if above maximum increased by local law (option 6)
if above maximum increased by local law (option 7)
if above maximum increased by local law (option 8)
if above maximum increased by local law (option 9)
if above maximum increased by local law (option 10)
if above maximum increased by local law

(option 11, high-appreciation municipalities only
if above maximum increased by local law

(option 12, high-appreciation municipalities only
if above maximum increased by local law

(option 13, high-appreciation municipalities only
if above maximum increased by local law

(option 14, high-appreciation municipalities only
if above maximum increased by local law

(option 15, high-appreciation municipalities only
if above maximum increased by local law

(option 16, high-appreciation municipalities only

oy
oy
oy
o
o

**)

$20,000
$30,000

$40,000
$50,000
$60,000
$70,000
$80,000
$90,000
$100,000
$110,000
$120,000

$130,000
$140,000
$150,000
$160,000
$170,000

$180,000

** A "high-appreciation municipality" means: (1) New York City, (2) a county for which ORPTS
has established a sales price differential factor for purposes of the school tax relief [STAR]
exemption (Real Property Tax Law, Sec. 425) for three consecutive years, or (3) a city, town,

village or school district which is wholly or partly located within such a county.

ORPTS

maintains a list of such counties on its website at: www.tax.ny.gov/pit/property/star/diff.htm
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Veterans
(Alternative exemption for wartime veterans) RPTL Section 458-a

E. CALCULATION OF EXEMPTION (continued):

1. General Municipal and School District Taxes (continued):

e. Exemption for eligible tenant/shareholders of cooperative apartment
corporations

Exemption = Assessed Value x (n/N) x W.S.
where n = number of shares owned by eligible veterans
N = total number of corporation shares
W.S. = Percent of exemption due to wartime service
determined above

However, exemptions may not exceed the maximums established by
local law.

f. Transfer and pro-ration of exemption: Proration of the exemption on the
replacement property is based on the date during the fiscal year the
veteran obtains title to the new property, and is calculated by multiplying
the tax rate or rates for each municipality that has levied taxes for that
fiscal year times the exempt amount on the former property, then times
the fraction of each fiscal year remaining following the date the
replacement property is acquired.

2. Special Ad Valorem Levies and Special Assessments: No exemption allowed.

F. CODING OF EXEMPTION ON ASSESSMENT ROLL:

Code Description of Alternative Codes Possible
4112 Wartime veteran, non-combat zone
4113_ Wartime veteran, combat zone
4114 Wartime veteran, disabled

Note: If a veteran has been granted a disability exemption, two codes are
necessary (either 4112 or 4113_and 4114_).

Assessment Roll Section(s): Taxable (RPS Section 1).
NOTE: These codes should not be used to identify property that is exempt under RPTL

§458 (veterans exemption based on eligible funds or disability). For coding of such
property, see the Exemption Profile for that statute.
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Veterans
(Alternative exemption for wartime veterans) RPTL Section 458-a

G. FILING REQUIREMENTS (Owner or Occupant of Property):

1. All veterans:  Form RP-458-a
Application for Alternative Veterans Exemption from Real
Property Taxation (see sample form and instructions following
Exemption Profile). Veterans have the option of refilling if
changes have occurred that affect qualifications for an increased
or decreased amount of exemption, other than changes in
disability ratings.

Notes: (a) If more than one veteran owner of a single property applies for
exemption under RPTL §458-a, each owner must file a separate
application form.

(b) No application form is required in applying for a prorated
exemption. However, to continue receiving the exemption beyond
the fiscal year in question, the owner must re-file Form RP-458-a.

2. Disabled veterans: Form RP-458-a-Dis
Renewal Application for Alternative Veterans Exemption
from Real Property Taxation Based on Service Connected
Disability Compensation Rating (see sample form and
instructions following Exemption Profile)

Note: Renewal application is only required if the disability rating is increased or
decreased.

Both forms and separate instructions may be downloaded and printed at:
www.tax.ny.gov/forms/orpts/exemption.htm

H. REPORTING REQUIREMENTS (Assessor): None.

I SIMILAR EXEMPTIONS:

Subject Statute
Veterans (exemption based on eligible

funds or disability) RPTL §458
Veterans (Cold War) RPTL §458-b

NOTE: The Alternative Veterans Exemption Assessor's Guide follows.

A pamphlet for the general public (Veterans’ Exemptions Questions and Answers) is
available at: www.tax.ny.gov/pdf/publications/orpts/veterans.pdf
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THE ALTERNATIVE VETERANS EXEMPTION

In'1984, the Legislature amended the Real Property Tax Law (RPTL) and enacted a new
alternative veterans exemption, §458-a (1.1984, c.525). Unlike the longstanding veterans

_exemption provided by RPTL §458 (the so-called “eligible funds” exemption), the alternative
veterans exemption is not contingent upon the purchase of real property with specified =~

government monies. Instead, the alternative veterans exemption is based on a percentage of
assessed value subject to maximum levels of exemption. The alternative exemption is limited
to the primary residence of a veteran and is available to property owned by honorably
discharged veterans (or certain of their family members) who served during specified periods of
war or under certain other conditions. ' : '

The alternative veterans exemption is applicable to county, city, town, village and school
taxes, but not to special district levies or special assessments. In general, a qualifying wartime
veteran's property receives an exemption of 15% of its assessed value. An additional 10%
exemption is available where the veteran can document service in a combat theatre or zone.

There is also a third exemption for veterans who received a service-connected disability
compensation rating from the Veterans Administration or the Department of Defense. The
percentage for this exemption is equal to one-half of the veteran's disability rating. (Where a
veteran died in the service of a service-connected disability, the veteran is considered to have
been assigned a disability rating of 100%.) ‘ -

Local Authorization for the Alternative Veterans Exemption

When the alternative veterans exemption was first enacted in 1984, each county, city,
town and village had the choice of whether to grantit. Ifthe municipality decided not to grant
the exemption, a local law “opting out” of the alternative exemption must have been passed
within given time limits. Any municipality, however, which initially opted by local law not to
grant the alternative veterans exemption, may reverse its decision by repealing its local law.
School districts now have the option of allowing this exemption. '

In municipalities granting the alternative veterans exemption, eligible funds exemptions
existing before adoption of the alternative exemption could continue, but no new eligible funds
exemptions could be granted, except in the following case. In 1994 a new §458(5) was enacted
authorizing, at local option, a “change in level” adjustment to eligible funds exemptions. Ifa
taxing jurisdiction granting alternative veterans exemptions opted to allow “change in level”
exemptions, it could also allow veterans who had previously had eligible funds exemptions but .
who later switched to the alternative veterans exemption to switch back to the eligible funds
exemption. For details, see the Exemption Profile for RPTL §458, Section 4.01, P. 8.01ff.
Note: Unlike the alternative veterans exemption, the eligible funds exemption does not apply to
school taxes. '

Lastly, taxing jurisdictions granting the alternative veterans exemption may additionally
adopt a local law, ordinance or resolution to allow that portion of a cooperative. apartment . .
corporation held by an otherwise eligible veteran tenant/stockholder to be eligible for an
exemption from real property taxes. If allowed, the amount of the exemption must be
determined by the assessor, based upon the proportion of the outstanding stock held by the
eligible ‘shareholder, and credited against the taxes charged to the corporation. Eligible
stockholders would receive an adjustment to their monthly maintenance fees by the
cooperative apartment corporation to reflect the benefit of the exemption. However, this
exemption may not be granted to apartments subject to the provisions of Private Housing .
Finance Law Articles 2, 4, 5, or 11. '
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~Maximum Levels of Exemption

Each county, city, town, village and school district granting the alternative veterans

__exemption may use the maximum set of exemption limits for the three categories of exemptions .

or pass a local law (or resolution, for a school district) to use either of two lower or several
higher sets of exemption limits. Local laws or resolutions to use either of the two lower or eight
(or fourteen, in the case of a “high-appreciation municip ality”) higher sets can be passed at any
time.

The exemption limit sets are:

Reduced
Maximums
Pursuant to Local |
Law :

Increased Maximums Pursuant to Local Law

Wartime $6,000] $9,000

Combat
1Zone | $4,000]  $6,000

Disability| $20,000| $30,000

In "high appreciation municipalities" (defined below) the governing board may adopt still
higher maximum limits of:

$15,000| $18,000{ $21,000| $24,000| $27,000| $30,000{ - $33,000 $36,000

$10,000{ $12,000 $14,000 $16,000| $18,000| $20,000| $22,000, $24,000

40:000] $50,000] $60,000| $70,000 $80,000 $90,000{ $100,000] $110,000{ $120,000

Wartime $39,000 $42,000 $45,000 $48,000 $51,000 $54,000
Combat Zone $26,000 $28,000 $30,000 $32,000 $34,000 $36,000
Disability $130,000 $140,000 $150,000 $160,000 $170,000 $180,000

A "high-appreciation municipality" means: (1) New York City, (2) a county for which the
Office of Real Property Tax Services (ORPTS) has established a sales price differential factor
for purposes of the school tax relief [STAR] exemption (Real Property Tax Law, Sec. 425) for
three consecutive years, or (3) a city, town, or village or school district which is wholly or partly
located within such a county. ORPTS maintains a list of such counties on its website at:
www.tax.ny.gov/pit/property/star/diff.htm '

The maximum amounts must be multiplied by the latest final equalization rate or special
equalization rate (if the equalization rate is 100 ox less) for the assessing unit in order to arrive
at the appropriate maximum exemption for each assessment roll. New maximum exemptions
must be computed annually. The maximum exempt amounts can change from year to year if
there is a change in the equalization rate. The annual determination of the maximum
exemption is discussed in more detail in a later section of this guide.

Eligibility for Exemption

The alternative veterans exemption is available to qualifying residential real property
owned by honorably discharged veterans (or certain family members) who served during
defined periods of war or under certain other conditions. The following sections discuss the
criteria for eligibility for exemption. Reference is made, where appropriate, to the application
form for the exemption (RP-458-a).
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Period of War
Veterans (or as discussed below, certain family members of veterans) who served in
active duty during one of the following periods of war may qualify for at least the basic 15%

- - - -alternative veterans exemption: .. - . ..

Persian Gulf Conflict: 8/2/90 - *
Vietnam War: 2/28/61 - B/T/75*
Korean Wazr: 6/27/50 - 1/31/55*

World War II: 12/7/41 - 12/31/46 ** -

Unless one of the alternatives described in the following section is applicable, in order to
qualify for the exemption, at least part of the veteran's service must fall within one of the above
defined periods of war. Generally, reservists who engaged only in active duty for training or
who were activated for only short periods of time are not eligible for the alternative exemption.

However, reservists who were activated during a period of war and who performed significant,

full-time active duty may qualify (8 Op.Counsel SBEA No. 37) (Question No. 5 on application

form). E o
Expeditionary Medals and Other Alternatives to “Period of War” Service

In addition, veterans may qualify for the exemption without having served during a
“period of war” if they were awarded an Armed Forces Expeditionary Medal, a Navy and
Marine Corps Expeditionary Medal, or a Global War on Terrorism Expeditionary Medal, and
were discharged or released under honorable conditions (see pp. 9.28—9.31 for a list of
qualifying awards). . '

Certain veterans who served as crew members in the U.S. Merchant Marine during

World War II are eligible to receive the alternative veterans’ exemption. To qualify for
exemption the person must have (1) been employed by the War Shipping Administration or
Office of Defense Transportation or their agentsas a merchant seaman as documented by the
U.S. Coast Guard or Department of Commerce or as a civil servant employed by the U.S. Army
Transport Service or the Naval Transportation Service; (2) served satisfactorily as a crew
member during WW II (December 7, 1941 to August 15, 1945) aboard (a) a merchant vessel in
oceangoing (foreign, intercoastal, or coastwise) voyages or “near foreign” voyages between the

" US. and Canada, Mexico, or the West Indies via ocean routes or (b) a public vessel in

*Defined in Section 458-a of the N.Y.S. Real Property Tax Law
**Derived from Section 101 of Title 38 of the United States Code
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oceangoing service or foreign waters; and (3) received a Certificate of Release or Discharge from
Active Duty and a discharge certificate, or an Honorable Service Certificate/Report of Casualty
from the Department of Defense.

Qualifying members of the American Field Service who served during World War II are
also eligible for the alternative veterans exemption. To be eligible for exemption, the applicant

~ must have (1) been employed by the American Field Service, (2) served overseas under U:S; - <o

Armies and U.S. Army Groups in World War IT (December 7, 1941 to May 8, 1945), and (3)
been discharged or released therefrom under honorable conditions. _

Certain individuals who served with Pan American World Airways' during World War IT
may be granted the alternative veterans exemption. Persons receiving the exemption will have
(1) served overseas as a flight crew and aviation ground support employee of Pan American
World Airways or one of its subsidiaries or affiliates as a result of Pan American's contract with
Air Transport Command or Naval Air Transport Service during World War II (December 14,
1941 to August 14, 1945) and (2) been discharged or released therefrom under honorable
conditions. ‘ ’

Members of the reserve components of the U.S. armed forces who received an honorable
discharge or release therefrom under honorable conditions, but are still members of the reserve
components may be granted the alternative veterans exemption provided that such members
meet all other qualifications for receiving the exemption. ] , '

To be eligible for exemption, the veteran must also have been discharged or released from
service under honorable conditions. The veteran must attach proof to the application form
verifying the dates and character of service (Question Nos. 5, 6). The additional proof necessary
to justify approval of the combat zone (Question No. 7) and/or the disability portion (Question
No. 8) of the alternative exemption is discussed in a later section of this guide.

Ownership Requirements

To be eligible for exemption, the property must be owned by the veteran, the spouse of
the veteran, the unremarried surviving spouse of the veteran, or, if allowed by local option, a
Gold Star Parent (defined as the parent of a child who died in the line of duty while serving in
the United States Armed Forces during a period of war). (The fact that title to the property is
in a veteran's spouse's name will not render a property ineligible to receive the exemption.)
The ownership requirement is also satisfied if the veteran, the veteran's spouse, the veteran's
unremarried surviving spouse, or the Gold Star Parent is the legal life tenant of the property.
For purposes of this veterans' exemption, if the title to real property:is held by a trustee or
trustees, the property is eligible for a property tax exemption so long as the trustees or trust
beneficiaries are otherwise qualified. If both the husband and wife are deceased, the
exemption can be granted or continued for the veteran's dependent father, mother, or child(ren)
under 21 years of age who have legally received the property and who use it as their primary

- residence. The property must also have been the primary residence of a qualified owner prior
to his or her death. Ifthe owner is a veteran and is also the unremarried surviving spouse ofa
veteran, the veteran may also receive any exemption to which the deceased spouse was
entitled. _

Proof of ownership must be submitted with the application. Generally, the deed to the
property for which exemption is sought will be the- best proof of ownership. However,
3 Op.Counsel SBEA No. 52, which applies to the senior citizens exemption, concludes that a
person in possession of property and holding an executory contract of sale to the parcel has
“ownership” of the parcel and is entitled to receive that exemption. Similarly, a veteran holding
this type of executory contract of sale will also qualify as an “owner’ for purposes of the
alternative veterans’ exemption. .
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A mortgage can also be used as proof of ownership. Make sure that the mortgage is for
the property for which the exemption is being sought and that the owner(s) name(s) on the
application form correspond to the mortgagor's name. '

If the cooperative apartment provisions of RPTL §458-a(6) are allowed by local option,
the apartment must be held in a cooperative form of ownership by a veteran who is a

“ tenant/stockholder and resident of the apartment and satisfies all other conditions of the

exemption. However, this exemption may not be granted to apartments subject to the
provisions of Private Housing Finance Law Articles 2, 4, 5, or 11.

Residential and Occupancy. Requirements

To be eligible for exemption, the property must be the primary residence of the veteran,
the unremarried surviving spouse of the veteran, or, if allowed by local option, a Gold Star
Parent unless that -person is absent from the property due to medical reasons or
institutionalization (Question No. 9). - .

~ Indiscussing what is a “legal residence” for purposes of the senior citizens exemption, we
stated, “which dwelling is his legal residence depends upon such facts as where he votes, the
length of time spent in each place, the nature and amount of personal property in each place,
and other conduct and behavior evidencing which he considers to be his permanent
home” (2 Op.Counsel SBEA No. 57). We believe that similar criteria should be applied in
determining “primary residence” for purposes of §458-a. It is clear, however, that unlike the
eligible funds veterans’ exemption (RPTL §458(1)), the alternative veterans exemption can only
be granted to the primary residence of the veteran, and, if the veteran does not reside on the
property, no exemption may be granted unless his absence is due to hospitalization or
institutionalization. Itis also clear that the “primary residence” issue needs to be determined
on a case-by-case basis. , A

The property for which the exemption is sought must also be used exclusively for
residential purposes. However, if a portion of the property is not used exclusively for
residential purposes, the alternative veterans exemption can still be-granted, but only to the
residential portion of the property (Question No. 10). Where only a portion of the parcel is used
exclusively for residential purposes, the exemption may be granted by distributing or
apportioning the assessed valuation of the property between the residential (exempt) and
nonresidential (taxable) portions and applying the exemption to the assessed valuation
attributable to only the residential portion. Thus, the alternative exemption may be granted
with or without separately assessing the residential portion or classifying the roll.

You will find that exclusive residential use normally means that the parcel has a
property class code of 210 (single family), 220.(two family), 230 (three family), or 270 (mobile
home). It could also include a portion of an agricultural property coded in the 100 series.
Where rolls are classified in accordance with Article 19 of the RPTL as to the homestead class
and non-homestead class, entries coded to the homestead class will meet the “exclusively used
for residential purposes” requirement. The residential portion, if any, of non-homestead
property may also qualify for exemption. Similarly, for special assessing units under Article 18
of the RPTL (New York City and Nassau County), the properties included in Class 1 should
satisfy the “exclusively used for residential purposes” test. Condominiums in Class 2 will have
‘to be reviewed on a case-by-case basis.
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Onptions for Veterans -- “Grandfather” Provisions

A qualified veteran receiving the eligible funds exemption may continue to receive that
exemption notwithstanding the decision of his or her municipality to grant the alternative
exemption. A veteran retaining the eligible funds exemption may still, at any time, apply for

~ an increase in the amount of that exemptiontothe statutory $5,000 maximum provided he ox~ ==~

she uses additional eligible funds to purchase his or her real property.

If a veteran who received the eligible funds exemption moves, the veteran may still
transfer that exemption, provided that the proceeds of sale of the former exempt property are
used to purchase replacement property, even if the replacement property is located in a
jurisdiction granting the alternative exemption.

Switching to the Alternative Veterans Exemption

In a municipality granting the alternative veterans exemption, a qualified veteran
receiving an eligible funds exemption may elect to switch to the alternative exemption. To
receive the alternative veterans exemption, however, the veteran must generally terminate all
of his or her eligible funds (or pro rata) exemption(s) (i.e., statewide). For example, where the
alternative exemption is being granted by both the town (or city) and the county, a veteran may
not receive the eligible funds veterans exemption for one tax purpose (€.g., town taxes) and an
alternative exemption for another (e.g., county taxes). If, however, the town opted out of the
alternative exemption but the county did not, the veteran may retain the eligible funds
exemption for town purposes and receive the alternative exemption for county purposes 8
Op.Counsel SBEA No. 12) (Question No. 12). |

" Ifthe veteran switches to the alternative veterans exemption, the veteran cannot reverse
the action unless (1) the veteran moves to a municipality that does not grant the alternative
exemption and the veteran uses the proceeds of property sale to purchase the replacement
property or (2) switching back to the eligible funds exemption is allowed by the local law
adopting “change in level” adjustment to such exemptions (described in the Exemption Profile
for RPTL §458, Section 4.01, P. 8.01ff) ’

Moving to a New Property

A veteran who moves and purchases another residence in the same assessing unit or in
“another assessing unit granting the alternative veterans exemption can continue to receive the
alternative exemption upon timely application. If the new municipality is not granting the
alternative exemption, the veteran can switch back to the eligible funds exemption if the
veteran previously had that exemption.

A veteran, spouse of a veteran or unremarried surviving spouse of a veteran who moves
and purchases another residence in the same assessing unit may transfer the alternative
veterans’ exemption to the replacement property if allowed by local option. Such an owner need
not resubmit RP-458-a to receive the prorated benefit, however, to continue receiving the
exemption on the replacement residence beyond the fiscal year in question, the owner must
resubmit RP-458-a. '

The veteran who moves from one municipality to another should attach a copy of the
previous exemption application or other proof of a prior exemption with the RP-458-a being
submitted to you. If the veteran is unable to obtain a copy of the previous application, you are
encouraged to contact the assessor in the prior municipality to verify the previous exemption.
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Avpplyving for the Exemption

_ A veteran (or other qualified owner) seeking the alternative veterans exemption must file
a completed application form (RP-458-a) with the assessor on or before taxable status date.
Veterans initially filing for the alternative exemption as well as those veterans receiving an

eligible funds exemption who want to switch to the alterhative exemption must use thisform. ~~

A copy of Form RP-458-a and instructions can be found at the end of the exemption profile.

The owner(s) of the residential property is (are) the person(s) who must complete and
sign the form. If more than one veteran is making application for a single property, separate
applications need to be provided. An example of this is where both the husband and wife are
veterans.

One of the most important parts of the application is the written evidence that needs to
be attached to the application. An application submitted without the required written evidence
does not provide sufficient documentation to justify approval of the exemption.

For the basic 15 percent exemption for “active service during a period of war,” the owner
needs to provide, at a minimum, the following:

1. A completed application form.
2. A copy of the deed to the property or other proof of ownership.
3. A copy of the separation from service form such as the DD214 or other written

evidence to prove dates of service and type of discharge or release.

A veteran who is also requesting the additional 10 percent exemption for service in a
combat zone or combat theatre must submit proof of the award of a United States campaign
medal or ribbon documenting such service. (Question No. 7)

The New York State Division of Veterans' Affairs has provided the following list of
awards which, when included on separation of service forms, document service in a “combat
theatre or combat zone.” These medals were awarded to all qualifying veteransin all branches
of the Armed Forces and are on the separation papers of such veterans. The qualifying awards
for these war periods are:

World War IT — European-African-Middle Eastern Ribbon, Combat Infantry Badge, Combat
Medical Badge, Combat Action Ribbon, or Asiatic-Pacific Campaign Ribbon,
or American Campaign Medal when awarded under certain conditions '

Korean — Korean Service Ribbon, Korean Service Medal, Combat Infantry Badge,
Combat Medical Badge, Combat Action Ribbon, United Nations Service
Medal for Korea, or Presidential Unit Citation (Republic of Korea)

Vietnam —  Vietnam Service Ribbon, Combat Infantry Badge, Combat Medical Badge,
Combat Action Badge, or Combat Action Ribbon

Persian Gulf - Southwest Asia Service 'Medal, Afghanistan Campai’gh Medal, Iraq
Campaign Medal, Kosovo Campaign Medal, Combat Infantry Badge, Combat
Medical Badge, Combat Action Ribbon, or Close Combat Badge
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In addition to the medals specified above, a veteran who has received an Armed Forces
Expeditionary Medal, a Navy Expeditionary Medal, Marine Corps Expeditionary Medal, or a
Global War on Terrorism Expeditionary Medal is entitled to the additional combat zone
exemption. The State Division of Veterans' Affairs has provided the following list of medals
which, when included on separation of service forms, document receipt of an Armed Forces
Expeditionary Medal, a Navy Expéditionary Medal, or a Marine Corps Expeditionary Medal.
As of September 1, 2013, the qualifying medals are: ‘

Armed Forces Expeditionary Medals

Lebanon (Oper. Bluebat) .......cccueee... 7/1/58 - 11/1/58 Panama (Oper. Just Cause)............ 12/20/89 - 1/31/90

Vietnam....oocovveenreneenreeinrieecniesieneirenrees 7/1/58 - 7/3/65 Somalia (Opers. Restore Hope &

Taiwan Straits ...ccceeeervvreerermereseeeenes 8/23/58 - 1/1/59 United Shield) c.oveeeeeeeeeeeecieeae 12/5/92 - 3/31/95
- Quemoy & Matsu Islands .........c........ 8/23/58 - 6/1/63 Haiti (Oper. Uphold Democracy) ...... 9/16/94 - 3/31/95

Congo/Zaire (Oper. New Tape)........... 7/14/60 - 9/1/62

A0S oo et 4/19/61 - 10/7/62 BOSN18 ciiiiiiieeieieeee e e e 6/1/92 — 6/20/98

Berlin........... R S UUPUSRP N 8/14/61 - 6/1/63 (Oper. Joint Guard)...... PR 12/20/96 - 6/20/98

Cuba (Missile Crisis) wooeveeereievereennnn. 10/24/62 - 6/1/63 (Oper. Joint Endeavor)............ 11/20/95 — 12/19/98

Congo (Opers. Dragon Red ’

& Dragon Black) 11/23/64 - 11/27/64 Southwest Asia (Opers. Maritime Intercept
Dominican Republic..ccciiiiiene 4/28/65 - 9/21/66 & Southern Watch, and Exercises
Korea...ooooveeeeecirreennnenene ................:1'0/1'/66 - 6/30/74 Intrinsic Action & Iris Gold).......12/1/95 — 3/18/03
Cambodia (Bombing Campaign) .....3/29/73 - 8/15/73 (Oper. Vigilant Sentinel).............. 12/1/95 - 2/15/97
Thailand ....cocoocvevevvieeeeereeeeseieeeee e 3/29/73 - 8/15/73 (Oper. Northern Watch)................ 1/1/97 — 3/18/03
Cambodia (Oper. Eagle PulD............ 4/11/75 - 4/13/75 (Oper. Desert Thunder)............11/11/98 - 12/22/98
Vietnam (Oper. Frequent Wind) ...... 4/29/75 - 4/30/75 . (Oper. Desert Fox) ....ccocverernenn. 12/16/98 - 12/22/98 .
Cambodia (Mayaguez Hostage (Oper. Desert Spring).......co.eeeee.. 12/31/98 - 3/18/03

RESCUE) vt 5/15/75 - b/15/75
El Salvador...covveveeeeeireeeicrnrnneeeresnnenne 1/1/81 - 2/1/92 Yugoslavia

LebaTION oo er et 6/1/83 - 12/1/87 (Oper. Joint Forge) ........ccverenen. 11/29/95 — 12/2/04
Grenada (Oper. Urgent Fury) .....10/23/83 - 11/21/83 .

Libya (Oper. E1 Dorado Canyon).....4/12/86 - 4/17/86 Haiti

Persian Gulf (Oper. Earnest Will)...... 7/24/87 - 8/1/90 (Oper. Secure Tomorrow)............. 2/27/04 - 6/15/04

Navy Expeditionary Medals and Marine Corps Expeditionary Medals

Wake Island ....coccoveveveiiieeeeciiieceeenee 12/7/141 - 12/22/41 Libya (Oper. Prairie Fire, etc.) ....... 1/20/86 - 6/27/86
Cuba (Bay of Pigs) ...coovveveeeerereenens 1/3/61 - 10/23/62 Persian Gulf (USS Stark, etc.).......... 2/1/87 - 7/23/87
Thailand ..cooceeeeeee e .5/16/62 - 8/10/62 Panama ............ e rne—————aen 12/20/89 - 1/31/90
Gulf of Aden/Yemen and Liberia (Oper. Sharp Edge)............... 8/5/90 - 2/21/91
"~ Indian Ocean.......cccoveeerrevrereneennens 12/8/78 - 6/6/79 Rwanda (Oper. Distant Runner) ...... 4/7/94 - 4/18/94
Iranian and Indian Ocean Eritrea (Oper. Safe Departure)......... 6/6/98 - 6/23/98
(Hostage Crisis) ....occeveeeereereene 11/21/79 - 10/21/81 USS Cole (Oper. Determined
Lebamnomn..c.oceveeeeereieeereevereeeneennenens 8/20/82 - 5/31/83 ReSPONSE) ..veveeeererireeeeeeereeenes 10/12/00 - 12/15/02

Global War on Terrorism Expeditionary Medals (9/11/01 - TBD*
(Note: the Global War on Terrorism Service Medal does not qualify.)

*TBD - To be determined.
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Not all recipients of the World War II American Campaign Medal are eligible for the additional .
exemption for service in a combat zone or theatre. For a veteran to qualify for additional
exemption based upon the receipt of the American Campaign Medal, the medal must have been
awarded under one of the following conditions:

T On permanent assi‘g‘n‘r‘ne”nt putside the continental limits; -~ - e

2. Permanently assigned as a member of a crew of a vessel sailing ocean waters for 30
consecutive days or 60 nonconsecutive days.

3. Outside the continental limits in a passenger status or on temporary duty for 30
consecutive days or 60 nonconsecutive days.

4. Awarded combat decoration or certificate when recipient actually participated in
active combat against the enemy. .

A veteran, therefore, who received the American Campaign Medal solely for service within the

~continental limits of the United States for an aggregate period of one year will not qualify for
the additional exemption. Accordingly, to determine if a particular recipient of the American
Campaign Medal qualifies for the additional exemption, it is necessary to examine the
veteran's DD214 or other separation formto determine the basisfor the award. -

Veterans who served in the U.S. Merchant Marine during World War II are ehglble to
receive the alternative exemption. These veterans received awards different from those issued
to veterans in the Armed Forces. The State Division of Veterans' Affairs has advised us that
awards that document a World War II merchant mariner's service in a combat theatre or
combat zone are:

Atlantic War Zone Bar

Pacific War Zone Bar
Mediterranean-Middle East War Zone Bar
Merchant Marine Combat Bar. :

The Division of Veterans' Affairs has also advised us that a World War II merchant mariner
may also have received one of the following awards:

Philippine Defense Ribbon
Philippine Liberation Ribbon
Mariner's Medal
Distinguished Service Medal
Meritorious Service Medal

These awards, however, do not prove service in a combat zone in and of themselves.
Documentation will be necessary to show that the recognized service occurred in a combat
zone.

Certain members of the American Field Service and flight crew and aviation ground
support units of Pan American World Airways are also eligible to receive the alternative
veterans exemption. However, The Division of Veterans' Affairs has informed us that these
service members did not receive any awards different from those issued to veterans in the
United States Armed Forces.
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New Residential Property in Certain Cities RPTL Section 485-0

Exemption Code(s): Vacant or New Residential 44456

LEED — Certified/Silver 44466
LEED — Gold 44476
LEED — Platinum 44486

Year Originally Enacted: 2013

Related Statutes: None

SUMMARY: If approved by local law, the rehabilitation of formerly vacant residential
structures determined to be unoccupied hazards and the construction of new one- or two-
family residences which are located in cities of at least 130,000 but not more than 160,000
residents based on the 2010 federal census (i.e., Syracuse (Onondaga County)) are partially
exempt from city and school taxes. Qualified new residential structures built to certain
energy efficiency and environmental standards are eligible for a longer exemption. Such
partial exemption, for the value added by the improvements, is based on schedules that apply
to different types of improvements. No exemption is allowed from county taxes, county
special ad valorem levies, and special assessments.

A. ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS:

1. Ownership Requirements: Property must be owned by a private individual
or organization.

2. Property Location Requirements: Property must be located in cities having a
population of not less than 130,000, and not more than 160,000, as measured in
the 2010 census. Only Syracuse (Onondaga County) satisfies this criterion.

3. Property Use Requirements: Property must be either (1) a rehabilitated
formerly vacant residential building that has been determined to be an
unoccupied hazard, all or a substantial part of which has remained unoccupied
for at least one year with doors, windows, or other openings that were broken,
removed, boarded or sealed up, (2) a new one- or two-family residence that meets
the certified/silver, gold, or platinum standards for Leadership in Energy and
Environmental Design (LEED) published by the U.S. Green Building Council, or
(3) a new one- or two-family residence meeting requirements set in the City’s
local law.

The value of such a rehabilitation or new construction project must be greater
than $20,000. Ordinary maintenance and repairs do not qualify as construction
or improvements. The exemption granted to a newly constructed one- or two-
family residence ceases if such a building is no longer used primarily as a one- or
two-family residence.



New Residential Property in Certain Cities RPTL Section 485-0

A. ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS (continued):

4. Certification by State or Local Government: Each rehabilitation project must
be pre-approved by the city assessor and director of code enforcement prior to
the commencement of the renovation. The pre-approval must be in writing,
and must certify that the building to be totally rehabilitated constitutes an
unoccupied hazard. A copy of a certificate prepared by a LEED-accredited
professional regarding compliance with LEED environmental building
standards must be filed with the assessor for each newly constructed one- or
two-family residence whose owner claims exemption as a certified/silver, gold
or platinum LEED-certified home. The building renovation or new construction
must be documented by a building permit, if applicable, or other appropriate
documentation as required by the assessor, such as a certificate of occupancy.

5. Required Construction Start Date or Other Time Requirement: Rehabilitation
or new construction must commence on or after January 1, 2013. Application for
exemption must be filed with the assessor on or before the applicable taxable
status date and within one year from the date of completion of construction.

B. LOCAL OPTION: Yes, the city is allowed two choices:

1. Adopt the Exemption: A local law is required to adopt the Section 485-0
exemption. Such a local law may provide that the exemption applies to qualified
renovations and new home construction that begin on or after January 1, 2013.

2. Termination of Exemption: The city may provide in its local law procedures
for eliminating the exemption previously granted to a particular property after
the assessor and the director of code enforcement determine that a property has
serious code violations which have not been corrected and/or that the owner of
such a property has not paid any judgments and/or fines, penalties and costs for
the property that are owed in accordance with the applicable laws, local laws,
ordinances, rules and regulations.
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New Residential Property in Certain Cities RPTL Section 485-0

C. LIMITATION ON EXEMPTION:

General School Special
Municipal District Ad Valorem Special
Taxes Taxes Levies Assessments
No No
1. Amount Yes* Yes* exemption exemption
allowed** allowed
) No No
2. Duration Yes* Yes* exemption exemption
allowed** allowed
3. Taxing Jurisdiction
a. County or County Tax NA Tax Tax
Special Districts
b.  City Ex*** NA NA Tax
c. Town or Town
Special District Tax NA Tax Tax
d. Village Tax NA NA Tax
e. School District NA Ex*** NA NA
Ex - Exempt Tax - Taxable NA - Not Applicable

*See Calculation of Exemption below.
**No exemption allowed for county special ad valorem levies.
***If allowed by local option. Please note that the exemption would apply to taxes the City of

Syracuse levies for city and school purposes, since the Syracuse City School District is a
financially dependent school district (Education Law, Article 52).
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New Residential Property in Certain Cities RPTL Section 485-0

D. PAYMENTS IN LIEU OF TAXES: None required.

E. CALCULATION OF EXEMPTION:

1. General Municipal and School District Taxes: The schedule to be followed in
calculating the exemption depends on which exemption applies: a rehabilitated
formerly vacant residential building, a new residential structure, or a new
residential structure that meets energy efficiency and environmental standards
in one of three categories specified in the LEED program: certified/silver; gold;
or platinum. (These standards can be found at www.usgbc.org). For all of the
exemption schedules listed below, the exempt amount for each year is to be
calculated on the basis of the “exemption base,” defined as the increase in the
assessed value due to qualified improvements in the initial year of the term of
each exemption schedule. The exemption applies only to city and school district
taxes.

a. Rehabilitated Formerly Vacant Residential Building or A Newly
Constructed Residence That Does Not Meet LEED Standards: The

following percentages of the increase in assessed value resulting from the
rehabilitation or construction should be applied:

Percentage of
Year of Exemption Exemption

1 100
100
100
100
100
100
100

75

50

25

O O© 000 ULk W

—
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New Residential Property in Certain Cities RPTL Section 485-0

E. CALCULATION OF EXEMPTION (continued):

1. General Municipal and School District Taxes (continued):

b.

Newly Constructed Residential Structures Qualifying for LEED
Certification (by designated category): The following percentages of the
increase in assessed value resulting from the new construction should be
applied:

Percentage of Exemption

Year of 1)Certified/

Exemption Silver (2) Gold (3) Platinum
1 100 100 100
2 100 100 100
3 100 100 100
4 100 100 100
5 100 100 100
6 100 100 100
7 100 100 100
8 100 100 100
9 80 100 100
10 60 80 100
11 40 60 100
12 20 40 75
13 n/a 20 50
14 n/a n/a 25

2. Special Ad Valorem Levies and Special Assessments: Cities and school

districts do not impose special ad valorem levies; no exemption is allowed for
county special ad valorem levies. No exemption is allowed for special
assessments.

F. CODING OF EXEMPTION ON ASSESSMENT ROLL:

Code

44456
44466
44476
44486

Description of Alternative Codes Possible

Vacant or New Residential
LEED — Certified/Silver
LEED — Gold

LEED — Platinum

Assessment Roll Section(s): Taxable (RPS Section 1).

NOTE: These codes should not be used to identify property that is exempt under any
of the statutes listed under Similar Exemptions below. For coding of such properties,
see the Exemption Profile for the statutes that apply.
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New Residential Property in Certain Cities

RPTL Section 485-0

G.

FILING REQUIREMENTS (Owner or Occupant of Property): The Syracuse
Assessment Department has posted an explanation of the exemption and application
forms on the City of Syracuse’s Internet Website (www.syracuse.ny.us). Further

information may be obtained by contacting the Syracuse Assessment Department at
City Hall, Room 130, Syracuse, NY 13202 or at (315) 448-8280.

REPORTING REQUIREMENTS (Assessor): None.

SIMILAR EXEMPTIONS:

Subject

Capital improvements to residential buildings
in certain towns

Certain living quarters constructed to be occupied
by a senior citizen or disabled individual

First-time homebuyers of newly constructed homes
Green Buildings

Private one- and two-family dwellings and certain
multiple dwellings in New York City

Residential capital improvements
in certain cities

Residential investment in certain municipalities

Residential property improvements in certain cities

Residential property improvements in certain towns

Statute

RPTL §421-1

RPTL §467-d
RPTL §457

RPTL §470

RPTL §421-b

RPTL §421-ff

RPTL §§485-h, 485-i,
485-j, 485k, 4851, 485-m

RPTL §485-]

RPTL §485-1
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NEW YORK STATE DEPARTMENT OF SECTION PAGE
TAXATION & FINANCE ASSESSOR’S MANUAL 4.01 20.01
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Solar, Wind, or Farm Waste Energy Systems RPTL Section 487

Exemption Code(s): Publicly owned property 3030 _

Privately owned property 4950 _

Year Originally Enacted: 1977, reenacted 1990

Related Statutes: Pub Serv L §66-j

| SUMMARY: Real property that contains a solar, wind, or farm waste energy system approved
i by the State Energy Research and Development Authority is exempt from taxation for a period
of 15 years to the extent of any increase in assessed value due to the system. Such property is
liable for special ad valorem levies and special assessments. The exemption as reenacted in

1990 is subject to local option (see below).

1.

2.

3.

A. ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS:

Ownership Requirements: None.

Property Location Requirements: None.

Property Use Requirements: Property must contain a solar or wind energy
system, an arrangement of solar or wind energy equipment designed to provide
heating, cooling, hot water, or mechanical, chemical, or electrical energy by the
collection of solar or wind energy and its conversion, storage, protection, and

- distribution. Solar or wind energy equipment qualifying the property for

exemption includes collectors, controls, energy storage devices, heat pumps and
pumps, heat exchangers, windmills, and other materials, hardware, or
equipment necessary to the process by which solar radiation or wind is collected,
converted into another form of energy, stored, protected from unnecessary
dissipation, and distributed. It does not include pipes, controls, insulation, heat

" pumps, or other equipment that is part of the normal heating, cooling, or

insulation system of a building. It does include insulated glazing or insulation to
the extent that such materials exceed the energy efficiency standards required
by law.

Alternatively, the property must contain a farm waste energy system, an
arrangement of farm waste electrical generating equipment necessary to the
process of producing, collecting, storing, cleaning, and converting agricultural
waste biogas into forms of energy such as thermal, electrical, mechanical or
chemical and by which the biogas and converted energy are distributed on-site.
It does not include pipes, controls, insulation, or other equipment that are part



Solar, Wind, or Farm Waste Energy Systems RPTL Section 487

A. ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS (continued):

3. - Property Use Requirements (continued):

of the normal heating, cooling or insulation system of a building. Farm waste
electric generating equipment includes equipment that generates electrical
energy from biogas produced by the anaerobic digestion of agricultural waste,
such as livestock manure, farming waste and food processing wastes with a rated
capacity of not more than 1,000 kilowatts thatis: 1) manufactured, installed and
operated in accordance with applicable government and industry standards, 2)
connected to the electric system and operated in conjunction with an electric
corporation’s transmission and distribution facilities, 3) operated in compliance
with the provisions of Section 66-j of the Public Service Law, 4) fueled at a
S . minimum of 90 percent annually by biogas produced from the anaerobic
digestion of agricultural waste such as livestock manure materials, crop residues
and food processing wastes, and 5) fueled by biogas generated by anaerobic
~digestion with at least 50 percent by weight of its feedstock being livestock
K manure materials annually.

4. Certification by State or Local Government: None required.

5. Required Construction Start Date or Other Time Requirement: Solar, wind, or
| farm waste energy system must be (a) in existence or constructed prior to July 1,
1988, or (b) constructed after January 1, 1991 and before January 1, 2015.

B. LOCAL OPTION: Yes -- With respect to solar, wind, or farm waste energy systems
constructed after January 1, 1991 and before January 1, 2015, each county, city, town,
village and school district (except the city school districts of New York, Buffalo,
Rochester, Syracuse, and Yonkers) may choose whether to disallow the exemption. The
option must be exercised by counties, cities, towns, and villages through adoption of
a local law and by school districts by adoption of a resolution..

Assessor’s Manual VOLUME 4 SECTION 4.01  PAGE 20.02 DATE  1/1/14



State of New York (Generally)

RPTL Section 404(1)

PAYMENTS IN LIEU OF TAXES (continued):

Subsequent to acquisition of the property by a state and prior to the completion
of construction of the facilities, annual payments are to be equivalent to the
amount of taxes levied on the property prior to acquisition by the state. After the
facilities are constructed, annual payments are to be made for the period of
probable usefulness of the facilities or the lands on which the facilities are built,
whichever is longer, but in no event for more than 30 years. These payments are
to be equal to 1% of the sum of the acquisition cost of the land and improvements
plus the cost of construction of the facilities. The law governing this program
allows the city to agree to payments in lesser amounts than those described here
or to agree not to apply for any payments at all.

The state is required to make payments in lieu of taxes to a city located in a
county where a state office building project has been constructed in accordance
with the “South Mall contract”, i.e. the City of Albany. These payments are to
be equal to 1% of the sum of the actual acquisition cost of the land and the
improvements thereon and the actual cost of the construction of the facilities, but
may not exceed the following amounts:

State Fiscal Year Amount State Fiscal Year Amount
2000-2001 - $4,500,000 2017-2018 $15,000,000
2001-2002 $4,500,000 2018-2019. $15,000,000
2002-2003 $4,500,000 2019-2020 $15,000,000
2003-2004 $9,850,000 2020-2021 $15,000,000
2004-2005 $16,850,000 2021-2022 $15,000,000
2005-2006 $22,850,000 2022-2023 $15,000,000
2006-2007 $22 850,000 2023-2024 $15,000,000
2007-2008 $22,850,000 2024-2025 $15,000,000
2008-2009 $22,850,000 2025-2026 $15,000,000
2009-2010 $22,850,000 2026-2027 $15,000,000
2010-2011 $22,850,000 2027-2028 $15,000,000
2011-2012 $15,000,000 2028-2029 $15,000,000
2012-2013 -$22,850,000 2029-2030 $15,000,000
2013-2014 $22,850,000 2030-2031 $15,000,000
2014-2015 $15,000,000 2031-2032 $7,150,000
2015-2016 $15,000,000 2032-2033 $7,150,000
2016-2017 $15,000,000 '

Property eligible for these paymerits is not entitled to any other form of state aid
for such state-owned or state-leased property.

The state is required to make payments in lieu of taxes to the county, town,
school district, and special district(s) for land and improvements acquired by the
state at West Valley in the town of Ashford, Cattaraugus County, and used by
Nuclear Fuel Services, Inc., beginning in any year in which the acquisition of
such property causes a decrease in the taxable assessed value of the taxing
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State of New York (Generally) RPTL Section 404(1)

D. PAYMENTS IN LIEU OF TAXES (continued):

jurisdiction. The amount of payment is to be equal to the taxes and special
district charges that were levied or would have been levied on the property on
the basis of its value on the last assessment roll completed in 1980. Each taxing
jurisdiction must apply to the state Comptroller for payments under this
program. '

Since they are not collected by the tax collector, payments in lieu of taxes should
not be entered on the tax roll. Such payments are collected in the same manner

as are other payments due the municipality under contract.

E. CALCULATION OF EXEMPTION:

1. General Municipal and School District Taxes: 100% of assessed value.

2. Special Ad Valorem Levies and Special Assessments:

Sp' ecial Ad Valorem Levies: 100% of assessed value.

Special Assessments: 100% of basis of assessment.

The exemption applies to all assessments imposed by counties, county special
districts, towns, and town special districts except (1) charges levied to pay for the
capital costs of sewer systems, water supply systems, waterways and drainage
improvements, and streets and highways, and (2) special assessments for
indebtedness contracted before 7/1/563. The exemption does not apply to special
assessments imposed by cities or villages.

F. CODING OF EXEMPTION ON ASSESSMENT ROLL:

Code Description of Alternative Codes Possible

12100
Assessment Roll Section(s): Exempt (RPS Section 8).

NOTE: This code should not be used to identify property that is taxable under RPTL
§402, RPTL §532, or ECL §15-2115, or is exempt for certain purposes under RPTL §534,
RPTL §536, or ECL §15-2309, or is exempt under any of the statutes listed under
Similar Exemptions below. For coding of such property, see the Exemption Profile for
the statute that applies.

G. FILING REQUIREMENTS (Owner or Occupant of Property): None.

Assessor’s Manual volLuve 4 SECTION 4.02 PAGE 43.06 DATE 1/1/14



Public Authorities RPTL Section 412 & Pub Auth L

($25); each of these amounts must be increased by 5% every 6th year.

D. PAYMENTS IN LIEU OF TAXES (continued):

10.

d. To all school districts annually determined by the Water Board to
have lost property tax revenues as a result of the transfer of
previously taxable property by either a municipality or its board of
water supply to the Water Board: in the first fiscal year, the sum of
$975,000; in each of the next 22 years, the sum paid in the preceding
year reduced by $42,391. The amount paid to each individual school
district, to be determined annually by the Water Board, must be in
proportion to the amount of property taxes received by each school
district from the board of water supply in fiscal year 1993-1994.

Any of the above required payments in lieu of taxes may be reduced at any
time for any period by resolution of the governing body of the Water Board.
Such reduction must be uniform among the recipient taxing jurisdictions; i.e.,
any percentage decrease to a municipality or school district must be equally
applied to each other municipality or school district. Payments in lieu of
taxes to local taxing jurisdictions may, as determined by the Water Board, be
in priority to or subordinate to any other payments that the Water Board is
required to make, including payments to the Upper Mohawk Valley Regional
Water Finance Authority or to any trustee representing the holders of bonds
issued by the authority.

Long Island Power Authority -

The authority is required to make payments in lieu of taxes to municipalities
and school districts as follows:

For property that is acquired by the authority from the Long Island
Lighting Company (LILCO) and as a result is removed from the tax

11.

been received by each taxing jurisdiction if the acquisition had not
occurred, provided, however that for the calendar year starting on
January 1, 2015, and for each calendar year thereafter, such
payments in lieu of taxes may not exceed the in lieu of tax payments
made to authorities and school districts in the immediately preceding
year by more than two percent.

North Country Power Authority

The authority is required to make payments in lieu of taxes to municipalities
and school districts equal to the taxes and the assessments which would have
been received from year to year by such jurisdictions.
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Public Authorities RPTL Section 412 & Pub Auth L

D. PAYMENTS IN LIEU OF TAXES (continued):

Other public authorities may make payments in lieu of taxes voluntarily, through
agreements with taxing jurisdictions. For two public authorities, the Auburn
Industrial Development Authority and the Troy Industrial Development Authority,
the form of

such agreements is specified by law. The agreement must be in writing and must
specify: (1) the amount due annually to each affected taxing jurisdiction (or a
formula by which the amount can be calculated), (2) the name and address of the
person, office, or agency to which payment must be delivered, (3) the date on which
payment will be

made, and (4) the date on which payment will be considered delinquent if not paid.
Unless otherwise agreed to by the affected taxing jurisdictions, the agreement must
provide that payments will be allocated among the taxing jurisdictions in proportion
to the amount of real property tax and other taxes that would have been received by
each jurisdiction had the project not been tax exempt. In the absence of any such
written agreement, payments in lieu of taxes must be allocated in the same
proportion as they had been prior to January 1, 1993.

Note: Since they are not collected by the tax collector, payments in lieu of taxes
should not be entered on the tax roll. Such payments are collected in the
same manner as are other payments due the municipality under contract.

See also Section 4.02, RPTL Section 404(1).

E. CALCULATION OF EXEMPTION:

1. General Municipal and School District Taxes: 100% of assessed value.

2. Special Ad Valorem Levies and Special Assessments: 100% of assessed value
or other basis of assessment for those authorities which are exempt from such
levies and assessments (see Table 3 - Extent of Exemption).

See note under Local Option section 7aboveﬂréga-r ding the authorities with
possibly different percentages of exemption.

F. CODING OF EXEMPTION ON ASSESSMENT ROLL:

State Public Authorities
Code Description of Alternative Codes Possible
12350 Battery Park City Authority

NY Local Government Assistance Corporation
NYC Municipal Assistance Corporation

NYS Energy Research and Development Authority
NYS Industrial Exhibit Authority

NYS Job Development Authority

NYS Mortgage Agency
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Public Authority

TABLE 2: ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS

Ownership Requirements

Location Requirements

Powers of Authority

A. Civic Center and Sports Authorities

1.

Albany Convention
Center Authority

Property must be owned by
the authority or under its
control, possession, or
supervision

C/Albany

Design, develop, plan, finance, create, site, construct, renovate,
operate, manage, and maintain the Albany Convention facility

NYC Sports Authority

Property must be owned by
the authority or under its
control, possession, or
supervision

New York City

Maintain and operate NYC sports facilities, both public and
private, in an efficient and economic manner for sports events,
meetings, exhibitions, cultural events, and other events of civic,
community, or general public interest ,

NY Convention Center
Operating Corporation

Property must be owned by
the authority

New York County in the area
with boundaries defined by
Chapter 3 of the Laws of 2004

Construct, operate, and maintain a convention center including
the expansion project for conventions, trade exhibitions, and
public shows

NYS Industrial Exhibit
Authority

Property must be owned by
the authority

See Use Requirements

Establish, develop, and perpetuate a state or interstate and
international industrial exhibition in connection and cooperation
with the annual state fair upon the property originally owned by
the NYS Agricultural Society and now owned by the authority

NYS Olympic Regional
Development Authority

Property must be owned by
the authority

Olympic Region (Essex
County)

Maintain and operate the Olympic facilities in and around Lake
Placid

Oneida County Sports
Facility Authority

Property must be owned by
the authority or under its
jurisdiction, control, or
supervision

C/Utica

Develop, construct, operate, maintain, manage, or contract for
the operation, maintenance, or management of Murnane Field

Saratoga Springs City
Center Authority

Property must be owned by
the authority or under its
control, possession, or
supervision

C/Saratoga Springs

Construct, operate, and maintain the Saratoga Springs City
Center and related facilities

Upper Mohawk Valley
Memorial Auditorium
Authority

Property must be owned by
the authority or under its
control, possession, or
supervision

C/Utica

Develop, construct, operate, maintain, and manage the Upper
Mohawk Valley Memorial Auditorium
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Public Authority

TABLE 2: ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS

Location Requirements

Powers of Authority -

Ownership Requirements

B. Industrial Development and Market Authorities

1. Auburn Industrial
Development Authority

Property must be owned by
the authority or under its
control, possession, or
supervision

None

Acquire, construct, reconstruct, improve, maintain, and equip
industrial, warehousing, research, and commercial facilities,
including industrial pollution control and civic facilities

2. Central New York
Regional Market
Authority

Property must be owned by
the authority

Cayuga, Cortland, Madison,
Oneida, Onondaga, and

Oswego Counties; Wayne Co.

east of new pre-emption line
(see Genesee Valley Market
Auth., Location Requirements
below)

Construct, maintain, and improve regional market facilities for
the buying and selling of agricultural products; provide services
incidental thereto

3. Genesee Valley
Regional Market
Authority

Property must be owned by
the authority or under its
control, possession, or
supervision

Genesee, Livingston, Monroe
Ontario, Orleans, Steuben,
Wyoming, and Yates
Counties; Wayne Co. Towns
of Arcadia, Lyons, Macedon,
Marion, Ontario, Palmyra,
Sodus, Walworth, and
Williamson (towns other than
these are located west of the
new pre-emption line)

]

Acquire, construct, reconstruct, equip, improve, operate and
maintain adequate regional market facilities within the district
for the buying and selling of agricultural products; provide
services incidental thereto; to assist in the establishment and
development of agriculture and agriculturally related businesses
in the district

4. Long Island Market
Authority

‘Property must be owned by

the authority or under its
control, jurisdiction, or
supervision

None

Acquire, construct, lease, expand, improve, maintain, equip,
furnish, and operate regional market facilities for the buying and
selling of perishable agricultural commodities and commercial
fishing products.

5. NYS Job Development
Authority

Property must be owned by
the authority

None

Acquire property for (1) construction of new industrial or
manufacturing plants, (2) construction of hew buildings for
research and development, or (3) rehabilitation and
improvement of former industrial or manufacturing plants

6. Troy Industrial .
Development Authority

Property must be owned by
the authority or under its
control, possession, or
supervision

C/Troy

Acquire, construct, reconstruct, improve, maintain, and equip
industrial, manufacturing, warehousing, research, and
commercial facilities, including industrial pollution control and
civic facilities
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Public Authority

TABLE 2: ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS

Ownership Requirements

Location Requirements

Powers of Authority

[enue) S JI0SSISSY

C. Transportation Authorities

1.

Albany County Airport
Authority

Property must be owned by
the authority or under its
jurisdiction, control, or
supervision

None

Acquire, construct, reconstruct, lease, expand, improve,
maintain, equip, furnish, and operate one or more aviation or
pollution control facilities

Capital District
Transportation Authority

Property must be (1) owned
or leased by the authority
and used for transportation
purposes or (2) leased for the
benefit of the authority
exclusively pursuant to joint
service, joint facilities, or
trackage rights agreements

Albany, Rensselaer, Saratoga,
and Schenectady Counties,
and, if the governing bodies
elect, Columbia, Fulton,
Greene, and Montgomery
Counties, or any county in the
Upper Hudson Planning and
Development Region, as
determined by NYS

Continue, further develop, and improve transportation and
other related services within the district, including but not
limited to transportation by railroad, omnibus, marine, and air

Central New York
Regional Transportation
Authority

Property must be (1) owned
or leased by the authority
and used for transportation
purposes or (2) leased for the
benefit of the authority
exclusively pursuant to joint
service, joint facilities, or
trackage rights agreements

Onondaga County and, if the
governing bodies elect,
Cayuga, Cortland, Jefferson,
Madison, Oneida, and
Oswego Counties

Continue, further develop, and improve transportation and
other related services within the district, including but not
:3:.8 to transportation by railroad, omnibus, marine, and air

Chautauqua,
Cattaraugus, Allegany,
and Steuben Southern
Tier Extension Railroad

Property must be (1) owned
or leased by the authority
and used for transportation
purposes or (2) leased for the
benefit of the authority
exclusively pursuant to joint
service, joint facilities, or
trackage rights agreements

Chautauqua, Cattaraugus,
Allegany, and Steuben
counties

Continue to further develop and improve railroad
transportation and related services within Chautauqua,
Cattaraugus, Allegany, and Steuben counties

Harrison Parking
Authority

Property must be owned by
the authority or under its
jurisdiction, control, or
supervision

V/Harrison

Construct, operate, and maintain one or more parking projects
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Public Authority

TABLE 2: ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS

Ownership Requirements

Location Requirements

Powers of Authority
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C. Transportation Authorities (continued)

6. Metropolitan
Transportation Authority

Property must be (1) owned
by the authority, (2) leased
by the authority and used for
transportation purposes, or
(3) leased for the benefit of
the authority exclusively
pursuant to joint service, joint
facilities, or trackage rights
agreements

Within NYC or the Counties of
Dutchess, Nassau, Orange,
Putnam, Rockland, Suffolk, or
Wesichester

Continue, further develop, and improve commuter
transportation and other related services within the district,
including but not limited to transportation by railroad, omnibus,
marine, and air

~

7. Middletown Parking
Authority

Property must be owned by
the authority or under its
jurisdiction, control, or
supervision

C/Middletown

Construct, operate, or maintain one or more parking projects

8. Monroe County Airport
Authority

Property must be owned by
the authority or under its
jurisdiction, control, or
supervision

None

Construct, improve, maintain, and operate aviation and related
facilities and services

9. NYC Transit Authority

Property must be owned by
the authority

Within NYC

Construct, maintain, improve, and operate transit facilities

10. NYC Transit
Construction Authority

Property must be owned by
the authority

None

Provide transit facilities to the NYC Transit Authority through
agreements with the Metropolitan Transportation Authority,
including construction, planning, design, rehabilitation, and
extension of such facilities

11. Niagara Frontier
Transportation Authority

Property must be (1) owned
by the authority, (2) leased
by the authority and used for
transportation purposes, or
(3) leased for the benefit of
the authority exclusively
pursuant to joint service, joint
facilities, or trackage rights
agreements

Erie and Niagara Counties

Continue, further develop, and improve transportation and
other related services within the district, including but not
limited to transportation by railroad, omnibus, marine, and air

12.  Nyack Parking Authority

Property must be owned by
the authority or under its
jurisdiction, control, or
supervision

V/Nyack

Construct, improve, maintain, or operate one or more parking
projects
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Public Authority

TABLE 2: ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS

Ownership Requirements

Location Requirements

Powers of Authority

C. Transportation Authorities (continued)

13. Ogdensburg Bridge and Property must be owned by See Use Requirements s -
Port Authority the authority or under its 1. Construct, operate, and maintain the Oa@m:mwca Bridge
control, possession, or 2.  Establish, operate, and maintain a public bus
supervision transportation system between C/Prescott, Province of
Ontario, and C/Ogdensburg
3.  Construct, operate, and maintain port facilities in the
Ogdensburg and Waddington Port Districts, which
include all or part of the City of Ogdensburg, the Towns
of Canton, DeKalb, Lisbon, Louisville, Madrid, Norfolk,
Oswegatchie, Potsdam, and Waddington, and the
Villages of Norwood and Waddington (Pub Auth L
§1377)
4, Rehabilitate the “Garden Cottage” building and operate
it as a port facilities building
5,  Operate the Ogdensburg Municipal Airport
6. Operate a foreign trade zone in St. Lawrence County
7. Develop and industrial park
8. Construct, renovate, operate, and maintain railroad lines
14. Oswego Port Authority Property must be owned by C/Oswego and T/Scriba 1.  Survey, develop, and operate the port facilities and
the authority or under its including all lands under and industrial projects
control, possession, or in the Oswego River and Lake 2 0 te a foreian trad in C/O
supervision Ontario within their boundaries : perate a foreign trade zone in swego
that are subject to the control
of the United States or New
York State
15. Rochester-Genesee Property must be (1) owned Monroe County and, if the Continue, further develop, and improve transportation and

Regional Transportation
Authority

or leased by the authority
and used for transportation
purposes or (2) leased for the
benefit of the authority
exclusively pursuant to joint
service, joint facilities, or
trackage rights agreements

governing bodies elect,
Genesee, Livingston, Ontario,
Orleans, Seneca, Wayne, and
Yates Counties

other related services within the district, including but not
limited to transportation by railroad, omnibus, marine, and air
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TABLE 2: ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS

Public Authority

Location _Non::.mam_:m

Powers of Authority

C. Transportation Authorities (continued)

16.

17.

18.

19.

Ownership Requirements

C/Schenectady

Schenectady Parking Property must be owned by Construct, operate, and maintain one or more parking projects
Authority the authority or under its

jurisdiction, control, or

supervision
Syracuse Regional Property must be owned by None Acquire, construct, reconstruct, lease, expand, improve,

Airport Authority the authority or under its
control, possession, or

supervision

maintain, equip, furnish, and operate one or more projects

Thousand Islands Bridge
Authority

Property must be owned by
the authority or under its
jurisdiction, control, or
supervision

See Use Requirements

Construct, maintain, and operate the following bridges
and their approaches and improvements: (a) Collins
Landing (T/Orleans, Jefferson Co.) to Wellesley or
Wells Island, (b) Ivy Lea (Leeds Co., Ontario, Canada)
to Hill Island, and (c) Wellesley or Wells Island to Hill
Island

St. Lawrence River and/or Lake Ontario port projects

One or more performing arts centers and/or convention
centers

Property must be owned by
the authority or under its
control, possession, or
supervision

Triborough Bridge and
Tunnel Authority

1. Vicinity of Penn Station
in New York City

2. New York County in the
area bounded by:
33rd St. on the north,
30th St. on the south,
10th Ave. on the east,
11th Ave. on the west

3. New York City

2.
3.

Improve land for the benefit of the Long Island Rail Road
for a lay-up yard and other railroad purposes (and sub-
sequently transfer the property to the Metropolitan
Transportation Authority, parent corporation of the
railroad)

Railroad or other corporate purposes

At the request of the NYC Transit Authority or the Metro-
politan Transportation Authority, acquire, construct, im-
prove, or rehabilitate transit or transportation property,
other than marine or aviation (and subsequently transfer
the property to the requesting authority or its designated
subsidiary)
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Public Authority

TABLE 2: ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS

Ownership Requirements

Location Requirements

Powers of Authority

1. Albany Municipal Water
Finance Authority

D. Water Supply, Waste Disposal, and Resource Recovery Authorities

2. Albany Water Board

3. Alfred, Almond,
Hornellsville Sewer
Authority

4. Buffalo Municipal Water
Finance Authority

5. Buffalo Water Board

6. Cayuga County Water
and Sewer Authority

7. Clifton Park Water
Authority

8. Dutchess County
Resource Recovery
Authority

9. Dutchess County Water
and Wastewater
Authority

Property must be owned by None Develop and maintain the City of Albany’s water and sewer

the authority systems

Property must be owned by None Develop and maintain the City of Albany's water and sewer

the board systems

Property must be owned by None Construct, improve or rehabilitate sewage disposal facilities

the authority and appurtenances required for the maintenance development
or expansion of the sewage disposal system within the
bounds of the authority

Property must be owned by None Acquire, construct, improve, or rehabilitate the City of Buffalo's

the authority water supply and distribution system

Property must be owned by None Acquire, construct, improve, or rehabilitate the City of Buifalo's

the board water supply and distribution system

Property must be owned by None Construct, improve, maintain, develop, expand or rehabilitate

the authority water or sewage facilities

Property must be owned by None Construct, improve, maintain, and operate water or sewerage

the authority or under its facilities

jurisdiction, control, or

supervision .

Property must be owned by None Plan, develop, construct, operate, and maintain solid waste

the authority or under its management-resource recovery facilities and associated

control, possession, or structures

supervision

Property must be owned by None Develop, construct, or maintain water supply and sewer

the authority or under its
jurisdiction, control, or
supervision

facilities
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TABLE 2: ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS

Ownership Requirements

Location Requirements

Powers of Authority

D. Water Supply, Waste Disposal, and _Nmmo:_.nm Recovery Authorities (continued)

10.

11.

12.

13.

Eastern Rensselaer
County Solid Waste
Management Authority

Property must be owned by
the authority or under its
jurisdiction, control, or
supervision

Within the boundaries of towns
participating in the authority (any

of the following: Towns of Berlin,
Stephentown, Petersburg, Grafton,
Hoosick, Pittstown, Poestenkill,
Schaghticoke, Sand Lake, Nassau,
Schodack, Brunswick and Villages
of Schaticoke, Castleton-on-Hudson,
Nassau, Valley Falls, Hoosick)

Construct, improve, maintain, and operate one or more
solid waste management-resource recovery facilities

Erie County Water
Authority

Property must be owned by
the authority or under its
control, possession, or
supervision

See Use Requirements

1. Within Erie Co. - acquire, construct, maintain, and
operate a water supply and distribution system,
including reservoirs, lines, pumping stations, and
related equipment and services

2. Outside Erie Co. - acquire, and/or construct, and
maintain a water supply system, including sources
of supply

Franklin County Solid
Waste Management
Authority

Property must be owned by
the authority or under its
jurisdiction, control, or
supervision

None

Construct, improve, maintain, and operate one or more
solid waste management facilities

Great Neck North Water
Authority

Property must be owned by
the authority

1.  Water Authority of Great Neck
North District, which includes
that portion of Union Free
School District #7, great Neck
(T/North Hempstead, Nassau
Co.) that lies north of the
Manhasset-Lakeville Water
District

2. None

1. Acquire, construct, maintain, operate a water
supply and distribution system, including
reservoirs, lines, pumping stations, and related
equipment and services

2. Acquire and maintain a water supply system
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Public Authority

TABLE 2: ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS

Location Requirements

Powers of Authority

Ownership Requirements

D. Water Supply, Waste Disposal, and Resource Recovery Authorities (continued)

14.

15.

16.

17.

18.

19.

20.

21.

22.

23.

Islip Resource Recovery
Agency

Property must be owned by
the authority or under its
control, possession, or
supervision

None

Plan, develop, construct, operate, and maintain solid
waste management-resource recovery facilitate and
associated structures

Livingston County Water
and Sewer Authority

Property must be owned by
the authority

None

Construct, improve, maintain, develop, expand or
rehabilitate water and sewage facilities

Monroe County Water
Authority

Property must be owned by
the authority or under its
control, possession, or
supervision

Monroe and Genesee Counties;
Towns of Victor, East Bloomfield,
Canadice, West Bloomfield,
Villages of Victor, Bloomfield
(Ontario County); Towns of
Clarendon, Kendall, Village of
Holley (Orleans County)

Acquire, construct, maintain, operate a water supply
and distribution system, including sources of supply,
lines, pumping stations, and related equipment and
services

Montgomery, Otsego,
Schoharie Solid Waste
Management Authority

Property must be owned by
the authority or under its
jurisdiction, control, or
supervision

Montgomery, Otsego, and
Schoharie Counties

Develop, construct, maintain, and operate solid waste
management-resource recovery facilities

Nassau County Sewer
and Storm Water
Finance Authority

Property must be owned by
the authority or under its
control, possession, or
supervision

None

Finance the acquisition, design, construction,
reconstruction, rehabilitation, improvement, or to
otherwise provide, finish, and equip sewerage or storm
water resource facilities for Nassau County

Niagara Falls Public
Water Authority

Property must be owned by
the authority or under its
jurisdiction, control, or
supervision

None

Construct, Improve, maintain, develop, expand, repair,
replace or rehabilitate any and all system facilities

Niagara Falls Water
Board

Property must be owned by
the authority or under its
jurisdiction, control, or
supervision

Construct, Improve, maintain, develop, expand, repair,
replace or rehabilitate any and all system facilities

NYC Municipal Water
Finance Authority

Property must be owned by
the authority

None

Assist in the financing of New York City’'s water supply
and sewer system

NYC Water Board

Property must be owned by
the board

None

Acquire facilities for New York City's water supply and
sewer systems

NYS Environmental
Facilities Corporation

Property must be owned by
the authority

None

I

Construct, maintain, and operate sewage treatment
works, water management facilities, sewage collection
systems, air pollution control facilities, storm water
collecting systems, and solid or hazardous waste
disposal facilities
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TABLE 2: ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS

Ownership Requirements

Location Requirements

Powers of Authority

D. Water Supply, Waste Disposal, and Resource Recovery Authorities (continued)

24.

25.

26.

27.

28.

29.

30.

31.

North Country Property must be owned by Jefferson, Lewis, and St. Lawrence  Plan, develop, construct, operate, and maintain sewer

Development Authority the authority Counties ies, solid waste management-resource recovery
: facilities and water supply and distribution systems

North Hempstead Solid Property must be owned by None Plan, develop, construct, operate, and maintain solid

Waste Management
Authority

the authority or under its
control, possession, or
supervision

waste management-resource recovery facilities and
associated structures

Oneida-Herkimer Solid
Waste Management
Authority

Property must be owned by
the authority or under its
jurisdiction, control, or
supervision

None

Construct, improve, maintain, and operate one or more
solid waste management-resource recovery facilities

Onondaga County
Resource Recovery
Agency

Property must be owned by
the authority or under its
control, possession, or
supervision

None

Plan, develop, construct, operate, and maintain solid
waste management-resource recovery facilities and
associated structures

Onondaga County Water
Authority

Property must be owned by
the authority or under its
control, possession, or
supervision

Onondaga County; Town of
Sterling in Cayuga County;

Towns of Lenox, Lincoln, and

Sullivan in Madison County;
Towns of Annsville, Verona,

and Vienna in Oneida County;
Towns of Constantia, Hannibal,
Hastings, Oswego, Schroeppel,

Volney, and West Monroe in
Oswego County

Acquire, construct, maintain, operate a water supply and
distribution system, including sources of supply, lines,
pumping stations, and related equipment and services

Orange County Water
Authority

Property must be owned by
the authority

Orange County, except within the
U.S. Military Reservation at West
Point

Construct, improve, rehabilitate, or maintain water
facilities

Rensselaer County
Water and Sewer
Authorities

Property must be owned by
the authority or under its
jurisdiction, control, or
supervision

None

Construct, improve, rehabilitate, or maintain water
facilities

Rockland County Solid
Waste Management
Authority

Property must be owned by
the authority or under its
jurisdiction, control, or
supervision

None

Plan, develop, construct, reconstruct, extent, operate, and
maintain solid waste management facilities
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TABLE 2: ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS

Ownership _mon&_.m:_m:ﬁ

Location Requirements

Powers of Authority

D. Water Supply, Waste Disposal, and Resource Recovery Authorities (continued)

32.

33.

34.

35.

36.

37.

38.

39.

Saratoga County Water
Authority

Property must be owned by
the authority

None

Construct, improve, maintain, develop, expand, or
rehabilitate water facilities

Southeastern Nassau
County Water Authority

Property must be owned by
the authority

That portion of Nassau County
serviced by the New York Water
Service Corporation as of
January 1, 1991

Construct, improve, maintain, and operate one or more
water supply facilities

Suffolk County Water
Authority

Property must be owned by
the authority or under its
control, possession, or
supervision

Suffolk County

Acquire, construct, maintain, operate a water supply and
distribution system, including sources of supply, lines,
pumping stations, and related equipment and services

Ulster County Resource
Recovery Agency

Property must be owned by
the authority or under its
jurisdiction, control, or
supervision

Ulster County

Develop, construct, maintain, and operate solid waste
management-resource recovery facilities

Upper Mohawk Valley
Regional Water Board

Property must be owned by
the authority or under its
jurisdiction, control, or
supervision

City of Utica or town or village in
the Water Board's service area
defined as the entirety of each
municipality receiving water from .
the City of Utica or its Board of
Water Supply at the time the
Upper Mohawk Valley Regional
Water Board and Water Finance
Authority were created, subject to
future expansion/ contraction by
state law

Construct, improve, maintain, develop, expand, or
rehabilitate water facilities

Upper Mohawk Valley
Regional Water Finance
Authority

Property must be owned by
the authority or under its
jurisdiction, control, or
supervision

City of Utica or town or village in
the authority’s service area (see
#36 above for definition or service
area)

Construct, improve, maintain, develop, expand, or
rehabilitate water facilities

Wayne County Water
and Sewer Authority

-Property must be owned by

the authority

Wayne. County

Construct, improve, rehabilitate, or maintain water and
sewer facilities

Western Finger Lakes
Solid Waste
Management Authority

Property must be owned by
the authority or under its
jurisdiction, control, or
supervision

None

Acquire, construct, improve, maintain, and operate solid
waste management-resource recovery facilities




[eNUR]A S JI0SSISSY

¢0'¥ NOILO3S ¥ INNTOA

/€ '6¥ 49Vd

¥/ 31vd

Public Authority

TABLE 2: ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS

Ownership Requirements Location Requirements

Powers of Authority

D. Water Supply, Waste Disposal, and Resource Recovery Authorities (continued)

40. Western Nassau County  Property must be owned by the None Construct, improve, maintain, and operate one or
Water Authority authority more water supply facilities
41. Wilton Water and Sewer  Property must be owned by the None Construct, improve, maintain, and operate one or
Authority authority or under its more water supply or sewer facilities
jurisdiction, control, or
supervision
E. Miscellaneous Authorities
1. Battery Park City Property must be owned by the Lower west side of New- York Redevelop and reconstruct said area (see Location
Authority authority or under its control, County to the north of Battery Requirements)
possession, or supervision Park and adjacent to the Hudson
River
2. Bethpage Park Authority ~ Property must be owned by the Nassau County - T/Oyster Bay Maintain and operate a public park or a public
authority Suffolk County - T/Babylon recreation center
T/Huntington
3. Buffalo Fiscal Stability Property must be under its None 1. Supervise the fiscal affairs of the City of Buffalo
Authority jurisdiction, control, or and impose requirements on the city with respect to
supervision, however authority is its budgetary operations and fiscal management.
expressly prohibited from
leasing, acquiring, or otherwise 2. Issue bonds backed by the city sales tax revenue
exercising control over real and state aid.
property other than leased or
subleased office space deemed
necessary or desirable for the
authority. .
4. Clifton-Fine Health Care ~ Property must be owned by the None Acquire, construct, lease, expand, improve, maintain,

Corporation

authority or under its jurisdiction,
control, or supervision

equip, furnish, and operate one or more health care
facility projects

5. Erie County Medical
Center Corporation

Property must be owned by the None
authority or under its jurisdiction,
control, or supervision

Operate, manage, superintend, and control any heatth
facility under its jurisdiction and to repair, maintain,
and otherwise keep up any such health facility.

6. Green Island Power
Authority

Property must be owned by the None
authority or under its jurisdiction,
control, or supervision

Acquire, construct, improve, maintain, and operate
facilities for the transmission or distribution of light,
heat, power, or any connected service
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TABLE 2: ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS

Ownership Requirements

Location Requirements

Powers of Authority

E. Miscellaneous Authorities (continued)

7.

10.

1.

12.

13.

14.

15.

Hudson-Mohawk
Urban Cultural Park
Commission

Property must be owned by the
authority or under its jurisdiction,
control, or supervision

Cities of Cohoes, Troy, and
Watervliet; Town of Waterford;
Villages of Green Island and
Waterford

Construct, improve, or maintain one or more park
facilities

Long Island Power
Authority

Property must be owned by the
authority or under its control

Nassau and Suffolk Counties and
that portion of Queens County
constituting the franchise area of
Long Island Lighting Company

Acquire, construct, improve, rehabilitate, maintain, and
operate generating, transmission, and related facilities
for the supply of gas and electric power

Nassau Health Care
Corporation

Property must be owned by the
authority or under its jurisdiction,
control or supervision

None

Acquire, construct, lease, expand, improve, maintain,
equip, furnish, and operate one or more health-related
projects

North Country Power
Authority

Property must be owned by the
authority or under its control

Portions of Franklin and

St. Lawrence counties exclusive
of areas served by another
existing non-profit municipal
electric utility (see Pub. Auth.
1L§1021-c)

Develop, acquire, construct, reconstruct, rehabilitate
and improve facilities for the distribution of electric
power or any connected service

NY Local Government
Assistance Corporation

Property must be owned by the
authority

None

Provide financial assistance to local governments

NYC Municipal
Assistance Corporation

Property must be owned by the
authority

None

Financially assist New York City in providing essential
services to its inhabitants while meeting its obligation
to the holders of its outstanding service

NYC School
Construction Authority

Property must be owned by the
authority or subject to any rights
of the authority

New York City

Construct, improve, and maintain educational facilities

NYC Stabilization
Reserve Corporation

Property must be owned by the
authority

New York City

Financially assist New York City in providing essential
services to its general population

NYS Dormitory Authority

Property must be owned by the
authority or under its control,
possession, or supervision

None

1. Construct, rehabilitate, and improve dormitories
and other buildings for state-operated institutions
and statutory and contract colleges under the
jurisdiction of the State University of New York,
other higher education institutions, hospitals, and
certain other institutions

2. Construct, rehabilitate, and improve judicial
facilities
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16. NYS Energy Research
and Development
Authority

Property must be owned by the
authority

1. None

2. Saratoga Research and

Development Center

~

1. Establish, acquire, operate, develop, and/or
manage facilities for the research, development,
and demonstration of new energy technologies;
participate in constructing facilities used to supply
electricity or gas; participate in constructing and
operating power generating facilities for water
desalination or distribution

2. Assist in acquiring, constructing, and maintaining
industrial manufacturing, warehousing,
commercial, research, and industrial pollution
control facilities

17. NYS Mortgage Agency

Property must be owned by the
authority

None

Prevent shortages of funds for residential mortgages

18. NYS Municipal Bond
Bank Agency

Property must be owned by the
authority

None

Foster and promote the provision of capital markets
and facilities for the borrowing of money by NYS
municipalities for the financing of public improvements
and other public purposes
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TABLE 2: ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS

Ownership Requirements Location Requirements

Powers of Authority

E. Miscellaneous Authorities (continued)

19.

20.

NYS Power Authority

Property must be owned by the  None
authority

Improve and develop the Niagara River and the
international rapids area of the St. Lawrence River
for the benefit of commerce and navigation and the
development of hydro-electric power; operate
Niagara/St. Lawrence hydroelectric projects

Construct, improve, rehabilitate, and operate (a)
hydro-electric or energy storage projects and (b)
base-load nuclear generating facilities or other
facilities (1) to support Niagara/St. Lawrence River
projects, (2) to supply power and energy top high-
load factor manufacturers that will expand existing
facilities or build new facilities, and (3) to supply
the future needs of the authority’s existing
municipal electric and rural electric cooperative
customers

Construct and/or acquire, complete, and operate
base-load generating, transmission, and related
facilities to supply power to the Metropolitan
Transportation Authority, the NYC Transit
Authority, the Port Authority of NY & NJ New York
City, New York State, the United States, the
Niagara Frontier Transportation Authority, other
public corporations and electric corporations within
New York City

~

NYS Science and
Technology Foundation

Property must be owned by the  None
foundation

Encourage and promote scientific and
technological education, basic and applied
research and development, and the development
and fabrication of new commercial products
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TABLE 2: ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS

Ownership Requirements

Location Requirements

Powers of Authority

E. Miscellaneous Authorities (continued)

21.

22.

23.

24.

Roswell Park Cancer
Institute Corporation

Property must be owned by the
authority or under its
jurisdiction, control, or
supervision

None

6.

Contact with the state to operate, manage,
superintend, and control the Roswell Park Cancer
Institute

Provide health and medical services for the public
directly or through agreements with others

Provide and maintain training programs for health
professionals

Sponsor and conduct research, educational, and
training programs

Participate in managed-care networks, fee-for-
service, and other arrangements for the provision
of health care services

Affiliate with a medical college or colleges.

Schenectady Metroplex

Development Authority

Property must be owned by the
authority or under its control,
possession, or supervision

Schenectady County within
designated corridors along State
routes 5 and 7, with certain
exclusions, plus within designated
zones in the City of Schenectady

Design, develop, finance, construct, operate, manage,
and maintain all Metroplex facilities and Metroplex
parks within the designated service district

Suffolk County Judicial Property must be owned by the  None 1. Develop, construct, maintain, rehabilitate, or
Facilities Agency authority or under its relocate the John P. Cohalen Court Complex
jurisdiction, control or currently in the Town of Islip (Suffolk County)
supervision
2. Operate, manage, and contract for the operation
and management of agency properties
Troy Municipal Property must be owned by the ~ None Financially assist the City of Troy in providing essential

Assistance Corporation

corporation

services to its inhabitants while meeting its obligations
to holders of outstanding securities
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TABLE 3. EXTENT OF EXEMPTION

County or Town or School
County Special District City Town Special District Village District
General Special Special General Special General Special Special General Special School
Municipal Ad Valorem Assess- Municipal Assess- Municipal Ad Valorem Assess- Municipal Assess- District
Public Authorities Taxes Levies ments Taxes ments Taxes Levies ments Taxes ments Taxes
A. Civic Center and Sports Authorities
1. Albany Convention _ :
CenterAuthority Ex Ex Ex Ex Ex NA NA NA NA NA Ex
2. NYC Sports Authority* NA NA NA Ex Ex NA NA NA NA NA Ex
3. NY Convention Center
Operating Corporation NA NA NA Ex Tax NA NA NA NA NA Ex
4. NYS Industrial Exhibit
Authority Ex Tax Tax NA NA Ex Tax Tax Ex Tax Ex
5. NYS Olympic Regional |
Development Authority Ex Ex Ex NA NA Ex . Ex Ex Ex Ex Ex
6. Oneida County Sports
Facility Authority Ex Ex Ex Ex Ex NA NA NA NA NA Ex
7. Saratoga Springs City
Center Authority Ex Ex Ex Ex Ex NA NA NA NA NA Ex
8. Upper Mohawk Valley
Memorial Auditorium Ex Ex Ex** Ex Ex* Ex Ex Ex** Ex Ex** Ex
B. Industrial Development and Market Authorities
1. Auburn Industrial
Development Authority Ex Ex Ex Ex Ex . NA NA NA NA NA Ex
2. Central New York
Regional Market
Authority Ex Tax Tax Ex. Tax Ex Tax Tax Ex Tax Ex
3. Genesee Valley Regional
Market Authority Ex Tax Tax Ex Tax Ex Tax Tax Ex Tax Ex
Ex - Exempt Tax - Taxable NA - Not Applicable

*A board of directors has never been appointed for the NYC Sports Authority.
**Except for water and pure water fees or charges as may be negotiated by any public corporation.
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