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Highlights of new credits for tax year 2007: 
 
Credit for rehabilitation of historic properties 
For tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2007, a New York State personal income tax credit is allowed 
for the rehabilitation of historic properties in New York State. The credit equals 30% of the federal credit 
allowed to the taxpayer under Internal Revenue Code (IRC) section 47(c)(3). However, the amount of the 
credit cannot exceed $100,000. If the amount of the credit exceeds the taxpayer’s tax for the year, the excess 
may be carried over to the following tax year or years. 
 
Historic homeownership rehabilitation credit 
For tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2007, a New York State personal income tax credit is allowed 
for costs incurred by the taxpayer for qualified rehabilitation expenditures with respect to the certified 
rehabilitation of a qualified historic home which is the taxpayer’s residence and is located in New York State. 
The amount of the credit is equal to 20% of the qualified rehabilitation expenditures made by the taxpayer. 
However the amount of the credit cannot exceed $25,000 for any residence of the taxpayer. If the amount of 
the credit exceeds the taxpayer’s tax for the year, the excess may be carried over to the following tax year or 
years. The program will be administered by the New York State Office of Parks, Recreation, and Historic 
Preservation (www.nysparks.state.ny.us). 
 
Volunteer firefighters’ and ambulance workers’ credit 
Beginning in 2007, a New York State resident who serves as an active volunteer firefighter or volunteer 
ambulance worker for the entire tax year may be entitled to a $200 tax credit. You may claim a refund of any 
volunteer firefighters’ and ambulance workers’ credit that is in excess of your New York State tax liability. 
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General  New York State taxpayers may be able to reduce their income tax liability 
by claiming certain tax credits. Individuals who do not owe any income tax 
may qualify to claim a refund of certain credits. Although the 
New York State Tax Law conforms generally to the federal tax law, 
New York State tax credits are different from federal credits. New 
York State taxpayers may claim only those credits that are specifically 
allowed by the New York State and New York City personal income tax 
laws. 
 
Certain credits described in this publication are also available to estates and 
trusts, and beneficiaries of estates and trusts, if the estate or trust qualifies 
for the credit.  
 
This publication identifies the available New York State and 
New York City personal income tax credits, the qualifications for the 
credits, whether or not the credits are refundable, the forms involved, and 
where to get additional information. 
 
For information on who must file a New York State income tax return, see 
the instructions for Form IT-150, Resident Income Tax Return (short form), 
Form IT-201, Resident Income Tax Return (long form), Form IT-203, 
Nonresident and Part-Year Resident Income Tax Return, or Form IT-205, 
Fiduciary Income Tax Return. 
 
For information on income tax credits available for businesses and their 
owners, see page 29, Credits available to sole proprietors, partners, and 
New York S corporation shareholders, and Publication 99-B, General 
Information on New York State and New York City Income Tax Credits for 
Businesses – For Tax Year 2006. 

   

New York State 
credits 

  

   
Accumulation 
distribution credit 
Tax Law sections 621, 635, 
and 1310(a) 

 An accumulation distribution results when a trust distributes income that 
was received by the trust in a prior year or years and which the trust 
retained. If you are the beneficiary of a trust who receives an accumulation 
distribution, and you include the distribution in your New York State 
income, you may be entitled to a credit for New York State and 
New York City income taxes paid by the trust in the prior tax year or years. 
The credit is for all or a proportionate part of those taxes paid which would 
not have been paid if the trust had made distributions to beneficiaries.   
 
This credit is available to resident, part-year resident and nonresident 
individuals of New York State. 
 
The accumulation distribution credit is not refundable, and any unused 
credit cannot be carried forward to a future year. 
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To claim this credit, you must complete Form IT-201-ATT, Other Tax 
Credits and Taxes, and attach it to your Form IT-201, or complete  
Form IT-203-ATT, Other Tax Credits and Taxes, and attach it to your 
Form IT-203. 

   
Alternative fuels 
credit carryover 
for tax years prior 
to 2005 
 

 Tax year 2004 was the last year you could claim the original alternative 
fuels credit. However, any unused credit from a prior year in which the 
credit was allowed can be carried over to tax years after 2004. 
 
If you previously claimed the alternative fuels credit and that property was 
disposed of, modified, or removed from qualified use, you may have to 
recapture part of the credit you claimed in prior years.   
 
Note:  For tax years beginning after 2005 and before 2011, the alternative 
fuels credit has been reinstated for alternative fuel vehicle refueling 
property that is used in a trade or business located in New York State.  
 
For more information, see Form IT-253, Alternative Fuels Credit, and the 
instructions for Form IT-253. 

   
Automated 
external 
defibrillator credit 
Tax Law sections 606(s) 
and 606(i) 

 If you purchase an automated external defibrillator(s), you may be entitled 
to the automated external defibrillator credit. However, the credit is not 
allowed for automated defibrillators purchased for resale. 
 
An automated external defibrillator, as defined under Public Health Law 
section 3000-b, is a medical device approved by the United States Food and 
Drug Administration, that:  
 
- is capable of recognizing the presence or absence, in a patient, of 

ventricular fibrillation and rapid ventricular tachycardia; 
 
- is capable of determining, without intervention by an operator, whether 

defibrillation should be performed on the patient; 
 
- upon determining that defibrillation should be performed, automatically 

charges and requests delivery of an electrical impulse to the patient’s 
heart; and 

 
- then, upon action by an operator, delivers an appropriate electrical 

impulse to the patient’s heart to perform defibrillation. 
 
The credit is equal to the lesser of the purchase cost of the unit, or $500. 
There is no limit on the number of units purchased during the tax year for 
which the credit may be taken. However, the credit cannot exceed $500 for 
each unit purchased. 
 
The automated external defibrillator credit is not refundable, and any 
unused credit cannot be carried forward to a future year. 
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To claim this credit, you must complete Form IT-250, Claim for Credit for 
Purchase of an Automated External Defibrillator, and attach it to your 
Form IT-201, IT-203, or IT-205. 

   
Child and 
dependent care 
credit 
Tax Law section 606(c) 
 

 If you qualify to claim the federal child and dependent care credit, you can 
claim the New York State child and dependent care credit (whether or not 
you actually claimed the federal credit). The New York State credit is based 
on a percentage of the federal credit. 
 
If you did not file a claim for the federal child and dependent care credit, 
you can still claim the New York State child and dependent care credit if all 
four of the following apply: 
 
1. Your filing status is Single, Head of household, Qualifying Widow(er) 

with dependent child, or Married filing jointly. However, see the special 
rule for Married persons filing separate federal and New York State 
returns in the instructions for Form IT-216, Claim for Child and 
Dependent Care Credit. 

 
2. The care was provided so you (and your spouse, if you were married) 

could work or look for work. However, if you did not find a job and 
have no earned income for the year, you cannot take the credit. If your 
spouse was a student or disabled, see the instructions for Form IT-216. 

 
3. Your child (or other qualifying person(s) for whom the care was 

provided) lived in the same home with you for more than half the year. 
 
4. The person who provided the care was not your spouse or a person 

whom you can claim as a dependent. If your child provided the care, he 
or she must have been age 19 or older by the end of 2006. 

 
A qualifying person is: 
 
- A child under age 13 whom you can claim as a dependent (see also 

Special rule for children of divorced or separated parents on page 9 of 
this publication). If the child turned age 13 during the year, the child is 
a qualifying person for the part of the year he or she was under age 13. 

 
- Your disabled spouse who is not able to care for himself or herself. 
 
- Any disabled person not able to care for himself or herself whom you 

can claim as a dependent (or could claim as a dependent except that the 
person had gross income of $3,200 or more or filed a joint return).  

 
- Any disabled person not able to care for himself or herself whom you 

could claim as a dependent except that you (or your spouse if filing a 
joint return), could be claimed as a dependent on someone else’s 2006 
return. 
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To be a qualifying person, the person must have lived with you for more 
than half of 2006. 
 
Special rule for children of divorced or separated parents. Even if you 
cannot claim your child as a dependent, he or she is treated as your 
qualifying person if: 
 
- The child was under age 13 or was physically or mentally not able to 

care for himself or herself; 
 
- You were the  child’s custodial parent (the parent with whom the child 

lived for the greater part of 2006); and 
 
- The noncustodial parent is entitled to claim the child as a dependent 

under the special rules for a child of divorced or separated parents. If 
this special rule applies, the noncustodial parent cannot treat the child 
as a qualifying person. 

 
The New York State child and dependent care credit is a minimum of 20% 
and can be as much as 110% of the federal credit, depending on the amount 
of your New York adjusted gross income. 
 
The credit is available to resident, part-year resident and nonresident 
individuals. 
 
New York State residents and part-year residents may qualify for a refund 
of any child and dependent care credit in excess of their New York State tax 
liabilities. Nonresidents do not qualify for a refund of the New York State 
child and dependent care credit. 
 
How to claim the child and dependent care credit: 
To claim this credit, you must complete Form IT-216, Claim for Child and 
Dependent Care Credit, and attach it to your Form IT-150, IT-201, or 
IT-203. 
 
For more information on the qualifications to claim the federal child and 
dependent care credit, see federal Publication 503, Child and Dependent 
Care Expenses. This federal publication is available on the Internal 
Revenue Service (IRS) Web site at www.irs.gov. 

   
Claim of right 
credit 
Tax Law section 662 

 Claim of right income is income that was properly reported on a prior year’s 
tax return, but was later determined to have been paid to you in error and 
therefore, had to be repaid. If you have claim of right income for federal tax 
purposes and are taking a federal claim of right credit on your federal 
return, you may also be entitled to a claim of right credit on your 
New York State return for New York State, New York City, and Yonkers 
taxes. 
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The credit is available to individuals, estates, and trusts. The amount of the 
credit for New York State residents, part-year residents, and nonresidents, 
and New York City or Yonkers residents, is the difference between the 
amount of New York State, New York City, or Yonkers tax originally 
reported on the prior year’s return, and the tax that would have been 
reported on that return if the income had not been included on that return. 
 
Example: In 2006, you repaid under a claim of right $5,000 of 
unemployment compensation benefits that were included on your 2004 
New York State return. The New York State tax originally reported on your 
2004 return was $809. Your 2004 New York State tax, computed without 
including the $5,000 on your return, is $519. Your 2006 New York State 
claim of right credit is $290 ($809-$519). 
 
If you were subject to the New York City nonresident earnings tax (for tax 
years prior to 2000) or the Yonkers nonresident earnings tax, and the claim 
of right income affects the computation of wages or net earnings from 
self-employment, a claim of right credit may be allowed. The credit is the 
difference between the amount of New York City or Yonkers nonresident 
earnings tax originally reported on the prior year’s return, and the tax that 
would have been reported if the income had not been included on that 
nonresident earnings tax return. 
 
You may claim a refund of any claim of right credit that is in excess of your 
New York State tax liability. 
 
To claim this credit, you must complete Form IT-257, Claim of Right 
Credit, and attach it to your Form IT-201, IT-203, or IT-205. 

   
Clean heating fuel 
credit 
Tax Law section 606(mm) 
 
 

 If you purchase bioheat for space heating or hot water production for 
residential purposes within New York State, you may be entitled to the 
clean heating fuel credit. The credit is available for tax years beginning in 
2006 and 2007 and applies to bioheat purchased on or after July 1, 2006, 
and before July 1, 2007. 
 
Bioheat means a fuel comprised of biodiesel blended with conventional 
home heating oil, which meets the specifications of the American Society of 
Testing and Materials (ASTM) designation D 396 or D 975. 
 
Biodiesel means a fuel comprised exclusively of mono-alkyl esters of long 
chain fatty acids derived from vegetable oils or animal fats, designated 
B 100 (pure biodiesel), which meets the specifications of ASTM 
designation D 6751. 
 
Residential purposes means any use of a structure, or part of a structure, as 
a place of abode maintained by or for a person, whether or not owned by the 
person, on other than a temporary or transient basis. This includes 
multi-family dwelling units such as multi-family homes, apartment 
buildings, condominiums, and cooperative apartments. The structure must 
be located in New York State. 
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Residential purposes do not include the part of a structure used as a hotel, 
motel, or similar space, except for those units used by the same occupant for 
at least 90 consecutive days.  
 
The credit amount equals $0.01 per gallon for each percent of biodiesel 
included in the bioheat, not to exceed $0.20 per gallon, purchased by the 
taxpayer on or after July 1, 2006, and before July 1, 2007. If you make more 
than one purchase of bioheat that qualifies for this credit and the percentage 
of biodiesel included in the bioheat varies, a separate calculation must be 
made for each purchase of bioheat.  
 
Note:  The percentage of biodiesel included in the bioheat is the number or 
numbers preceded by the letter B in the bioheat designation. For example, 
bioheat designated B5 contains 5% biodiesel. 
 
If two or more taxpayers share in the purchase of bioheat, the amount of the 
credit allowable to each taxpayer is to be prorated according to the 
percentage of the total bioheat purchased by each taxpayer.  
 
If you purchase bioheat for a premises that has both residential and 
nonresidential space but has only one tank for the storage of the bioheat 
fuel, you will need to determine the percentage of the premises used for 
residential purposes in order to properly compute the credit (see the 
instructions for Form IT-241, Claim for Clean Heating Fuel Credit). 
 
The credit is claimed for the tax year (2006 or 2007) in which the bioheat is 
purchased. In general, bioheat is deemed purchased on the date of delivery 
regardless of when the payment is made. For example, bioheat that is paid 
for through a budget payment plan whereby you make monthly payments to 
the supplier and the supplier charges your account for the cost of the bioheat 
delivered, will be deemed purchased on the date the delivery was made, 
even if your budget account does not contain sufficient funds to cover the 
cost of the delivery. However, bioheat that is purchased under a plan that 
requires you to prepay the supplier for a certain number of gallons of 
bioheat at a fixed price will be treated as purchased on the date the 
prepayment was made, not the date of delivery.  
 
You may claim a refund of any clean heating fuel credit that is in excess of 
your New York State tax liability. 
 
To claim this credit you must complete Form IT-241, Claim for Clean 
Heating Fuel Credit, and attach it to your Form IT-201, IT-203, or IT-205. 
 
For more information, see TSB-M-06(6)I, Home Heating System Credit and 
the Clean Heating Fuel Credit. 
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College tuition 
credit 
Tax Law section 606(t) 

 If you, your spouse, or your dependent(s) were a student enrolled at or 
attending an institution of higher education, you may be entitled to a college 
tuition credit. The credit is available to full-year New York State resident 
individuals only.   
 
If an eligible student is claimed as a dependent on another person’s  
New York State tax return, only the person who claims the student as a 
dependent may claim the credit. However, if your spouse is the eligible 
student, see Spouses filing separately on page 13 of this publication. 
 
Eligible student means you, your spouse, or your dependent (for whom an 
exemption for New York State income tax purposes is allowed). 
 
Qualified college tuition expenses mean the tuition required for the 
enrollment or attendance of the eligible student at an institution of higher 
education. The expenses may be paid by cash, check, credit card, or with 
borrowed funds. In addition, the eligible student does not have to be 
enrolled in a degree program or attend full time for the expenses to qualify. 
However, only expenses for undergraduate enrollment or attendance 
qualify. Expenses for enrollment or attendance in a course of study leading 
to the granting of a postbaccalaureate or other graduate degree do not 
qualify. 
  
Generally, qualified tuition expenses paid on behalf of an eligible student 
by someone other than the student (such as a relative) are treated as paid by 
the student. However, if the eligible student is claimed as a dependent on 
another person’s New York State income tax return, qualified tuition 
expenses paid (or treated as paid) by the student are treated as paid by the 
person who claims the student as a dependent. Therefore, if you claim the 
student as a dependent, you are treated as having paid expenses that were 
paid from the student’s earnings, gifts, inheritances, or savings. 
 
Qualified college tuition expenses paid on behalf of an eligible student from 
a qualified state tuition program (such as New York’s 529 College Savings 
Program) are considered qualified college tuition expenses for purposes of 
this credit. However, if the student is claimed as a dependent on your New 
York State tax return, these payments are also treated as paid by you. 
 
Qualified tuition expenses do not include: 
 
- Tuition paid through the receipt of scholarships or financial aid (For 

this purpose, financial aid does not include student loans, other loans, 
and grants that must be repaid either before or after the student ceases 
attending school.) 

 
- Amounts paid for room and board, insurance, medical expenses 

(including student health fees), transportation, or other similar personal, 
living, or family expenses 
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- Fees for course-related books, supplies, equipment, and nonacademic 
activities, even if the fees are required to be paid as a condition of 
enrollment or attendance 

 
An institution of higher education means any institution of higher education 
or business, trade, technical, or other occupational school, located in or 
outside of New York State, that is recognized and approved by either the 
regents of the University of New York or a nationally recognized 
accrediting agency or association accepted by the regents. In addition, the 
institution or school must provide a course of study leading to the granting 
of a post-secondary degree, certificate, or diploma. 
  
The maximum amount of qualified college tuition expenses allowed for 
each eligible student is $10,000, and there is no limit on the number of 
eligible students for whom you may claim a credit. 
 
If your total qualified college tuition expenses allowed for all eligible 
students are $5,000 or more, the credit for 2006 is 4% of your qualified 
college tuition expenses (up to $10,000 per eligible student).  
 
Accordingly, the college tuition credit allowed for tax year 2006 is limited 
to $400 for each eligible student. 
 
If your total qualified college tuition expenses for all eligible students are 
less than $5,000, the credit is equal to the lesser of your total qualified 
college tuition expenses or $200. 
 
You may claim a refund of any college tuition credit that is in excess of 
your New York State tax liability. 
 
College tuition itemized deduction: 
In lieu of claiming the credit, you may elect to claim the New York college 
tuition itemized deduction if you itemized your deductions on your federal 
return. A worksheet is provided in the instructions for Form IT-272, Claim 
for College Tuition Credit or Itemized Deduction, to help you determine 
whether the credit or the deduction offers you the greater tax savings. You 
may claim the credit or the deduction, but not both.  
 
The college tuition itemized deduction is also available to nonresident and 
part-year resident taxpayers.  To claim the college tuition itemized 
deduction, nonresidents and part-year residents must complete Schedule C 
of Form IT-203-B, Nonresident and Part-Year Resident Income Allocation 
and College Tuition Itemized Deduction Worksheet, and attach it to 
Form IT-203. 
 
Spouses filing separately: 
If you and your spouse are filing separate returns, you can each claim your 
own credit, or one spouse may claim the college tuition credit and the other 
spouse may claim the itemized deduction. However, you must each claim 
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your separately computed credit or deduction based only on the amount of 
qualified college tuition expenses you paid (or were treated as paid by you) 
for yourself, your spouse, or a person whom you claim as a dependent on 
your separate return. You cannot claim a credit or deduction for qualified 
college tuition expenses that you paid for your spouse’s dependent. (These 
expenses are treated as paid by your spouse for purposes of the credit.) 
 
To claim this credit, you must complete Form IT-272, Claim for College 
Tuition Credit or Itemized Deduction, and attach it to Form IT-150 or 
Form IT-201. 
 
For more information, see Publication 10-W, FAQs: New York State 
College Tuition Credit and Itemized Deduction. 

   
Conservation 
easement tax 
credit 
Tax Law section 606(kk) 
 
 

 If you own land in New York State that is subject to a conservation 
easement held by a public or private conservation agency, you may be 
entitled to a credit of 25% of the allowable school district, county, and town 
real property taxes you paid in 2006 on this land (excluding real property 
taxes paid on buildings, structures, and improvements).  
 
Conservation easement means a perpetual and permanent conservation 
easement as defined in Article 49 of the Environmental Conservation Law 
(ECL) on land located in New York State that: 
 
− is held by a public or private conservation agency; 
 
− serves to protect open space, biodiversity, or scenic, natural, 

agricultural, watershed, or historic preservation resources; 
 

− is filed with the Department of Environmental Conservation (DEC) by 
the person causing the document to be so recorded, as provided for in 
ECL Article 49; 

 
− complies with the provisions of ECL, Article 49, Title 3; and 
 
− complies with the provisions of the Internal Revenue Code (IRC) 

section 170(h). 
 
Note:  You should maintain adequate records to substantiate the 
conservation easement’s compliance with the provisions of IRC 170(h), 
including but not limited to a copy of federal Form 8283, Noncash 
Charitable Contributions, for the year of the donation. Under certain 
circumstances, a letter from the public or private conservation agency may 
also be adequate. 
 
Dedications of land for open space through the execution of conservation 
easements for the purpose of fulfilling density requirements to obtain 
subdivision or building permits are not considered a conservation easement 
for purposes of this credit. 
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Land means a fee simple title to real property located in New York State, 
with or without improvements thereon; rights of way, water and riparian 
rights, easements, privileges, and all other rights or interests of any land or 
description in, relating to or connected with real property, excluding 
buildings, structures, and improvements. 
 
Public or private conservation agency means: 
 
− any state, local, or federal government body, or  
 
− any private not-for-profit charitable corporation or trust that is 

authorized to do business in New York State; organized and operated to 
protect land for natural resources, conservation or historic preservation 
purposes; is exempt from federal tax under Internal Revenue Code 
(IRC) section 501(c)(3); and has the power to acquire, hold, and 
maintain land or interests in land for these purposes. 

 
The conservation easement credit cannot exceed $5,000 in any given year. 
Additionally, when this credit is combined with any other income tax credit 
for school taxes, county, and town real property taxes, the amount of the 
combined credits cannot exceed the total amount of these taxes. 
 
You may claim a refund of any conservation easement tax credit that is in 
excess of your New York State tax liability. 
 
To claim this credit, you must complete Form IT-242, Claim for 
Conservation Easement Tax Credit, and attach it to your Form IT-201, 
IT-203, IT-205, or IT-204. 

   
Empire State child 
credit 
Tax Law section 606 (c-1) 
 
 

 If you are a full-year New York State resident or married to a full-year 
resident, you may be entitled to the Empire State child credit.  
 
You may claim the Empire State child credit if you have a qualifying child 
and:   
 
1. you have a federal child tax credit or a federal additional child tax credit 

(claimed on federal Form 1040 or Form 1040A), or  
 
2. your federal adjusted gross income is $110,000 or less if you are 

married filing a joint return; $75,000 or less and your filing status is 
single, head of household, or qualifying widow(er); or $55,000 or less 
and your filing status is married filing separate returns.  

 
A qualifying child is a child who meets the definition of a qualifying child 
under the federal child tax credit (Internal Revenue Code section 24(c) and 
is at least four years of age on December 31st of the tax year. (There is no 
minimum age for the federal child tax credit.) 
 



Publication 99-IND (2/07) 
 
 

 
 

16

If you claimed the federal child tax credit, the amount of the Empire State 
child credit is equal to the greater of 33% of the portion of the federal child 
tax credit attributable to qualifying children, or $100 multiplied by the 
number of qualifying children. 
 
If you did not claim the federal child tax credit and your income does not 
exceed a particular amount (see item 2. on page 15 of this publication), the 
amount of the Empire State child credit is $100 multiplied by the number of 
qualifying children.  
 
If you filed a joint federal return but are required to file separate  
New York State returns because you were a full-year New York State 
resident for 2006, and your spouse was a part-year resident or nonresident 
for 2006, the credit may be claimed by either spouse or may be divided in 
any manner you wish. 
 
You may claim a refund of any Empire State child credit that is in excess of 
your New York State tax liability. 
 
To claim this credit, you must complete Form IT-213, Claim for Empire 
State Child Credit, and attach it to your Form IT-150, IT-201, or IT-203. If 
you have already filed your 2006 New York State income tax return, you 
may file Form IT-213 by itself. 

   
Fuel cell electric 
generating 
equipment credit 
Tax Law section 606(g-2) 
and 606(i) 

 If you purchase and install eligible fuel cell electric generating equipment, 
you may be entitled to the fuel cell electric generating equipment credit. 
The equipment must be installed and used in New York State and must be 
placed in service on or after July 1, 2005. 
 
Note: Under prior law, for tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2003, 
individuals could claim a credit for the fuel cell electric generating 
equipment installed at their principal residence. This credit was claimed on 
Form IT-255, Claim for Solar and Fuel Cell Electric Generating Equipment 
Credits.  The law was amended to eliminate the prior credit, effective 
January 1, 2005, and replaced it with this new credit. However, since the 
new credit applies to expenditures made on or after July 1, 2005, 
individuals cannot claim a credit for any fuel cell electric generating 
equipment expenditures that were incurred between January 1, 2005, and 
July 1, 2005. 
 
Fuel cell electric generating equipment means an on-site electricity 
generation system that utilizes proton exchange membrane fuel cells, 
providing a rated baseload capacity of at least one kilowatt (1,000 watts) but 
no more than 100 kilowatts (100,000 watts) of electricity operated in 
accordance with applicable industry standards. 
 
Qualified fuel cell electric generating equipment expenditures means 
qualified expenditures incurred on or after July 1, 2005, associated with the 
purchase of fuel cell electric generating equipment that is installed and used 
in New York State. 
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Qualified expenditures include expenditures incurred on or after  
July 1, 2005, for materials, labor costs properly allocated to on-site 
preparation, assembly and original installation, engineering services, 
designs and plans directly related to the construction or installation, and 
utility compliance costs of the fuel cell electric generating equipment. 
 
Expenditures made with nontaxable federal, state, and local grants, and any 
interest or finance charges, do not qualify as fuel cell electric generating 
equipment expenditures. 
 
The credit is 20% of your qualified fuel cell electric generating equipment 
expenditures or $1,500, whichever is less. There is no limit on the number 
of fuel cell units you may purchase during the year; however, the credit 
cannot exceed $1,500 for each unit purchased. The credit will be allowed 
for the tax year in which the fuel cell electric generating equipment is 
placed in service. 
 
The fuel cell electric generating equipment credit is not refundable. 
However, any credit in excess of the tax due can be carried over to the 
following five years. 
 
To claim this credit, you must complete Form IT-259, Claim for Fuel Cell 
Electric Generating Equipment Credit, and attach it to your Form IT-201, 
IT-203 or IT-205. 

   
Green building 
credit 
Tax Law section 19, 606(y), 
and 606(i) 
 
 

 If you create, rehabilitate, and maintain a building that meets specified 
environmental and energy efficiency standards, you may be entitled to the 
green building credit. This will be accomplished through the use of 
environmentally preferable building materials and the utilization of 
technologies that focus on renewable and clean energy and which also 
provide energy efficiency. The credit will be administered by the 
New York State Department of Environmental Conservation (DEC) which 
is responsible for determining both eligibility for the credit and the amount 
of credit. The credit is allowed for tax years beginning in 2001 through 
2014. 
 
To qualify for this credit, you must obtain an initial credit component 
certificate from DEC. 
 
The green building credit is not refundable. However, any amount of credit 
or carryover of credit not deductible in the current year may be carried over 
to the following year or years. 

 
To claim this credit, you must complete Form DTF-630, Claim for Green 
Building Credit, and attach it to your Form IT-201, IT-203, IT-205, or 
IT-204. 
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For more information on the green buildings credit, see the instructions for 
Form DTF-630 and Publication 99-B, General Information on 
New York State and New York City Income Tax Credits for Businesses – 
For tax year 2006, or access the New York State Department of 
Environmental Conservation Web site (www.dec.state.ny.us). 

   
Historic barn 
rehabilitation 
credit 
Tax Law sections 
606(a)(12) and 606(i) 

 If you make qualified rehabilitation expenditures, as defined in section 
47(c)(2) of the Internal Revenue Code (IRC), you may be entitled to the 
historic barn rehabilitation credit. The expenditures must be paid or incurred 
for any barn located in New York State that is a qualified rehabilitated 
building, as defined in section 47(c)(1) of the IRC. 
 
The barn must be a building originally designed and used for storing farm 
equipment or agricultural products, or for housing livestock. No 
rehabilitation credit is allowed for a barn converted to a residence or for a 
barn whose historic appearance has been altered. A barn that is newly 
constructed to replace one that had existed on a site and was destroyed is 
not a qualified rehabilitated building. 
 
Qualifying rehabilitated building is a barn (and its structural components) 
as defined in section 47(c)(1) of the IRC, which is located in 
New York State, and satisfies the following criteria: 
 
1. The barn is a certified historic structure or was first placed in service 

before 1936 (for exceptions, see item 4, below). 
 
2. The barn has been substantially rehabilitated. A barn will be considered 

substantially rehabilitated only if the expenditures incurred during the 
24-month period you selected, and ending with or within the tax year, 
exceed the greater of the adjusted basis of the barn or $5,000. Under 
certain circumstance, the rehabilitation work may extend over a number 
of tax years. 

 
3. The barn was placed in service before the beginning of the 

rehabilitation. A barn qualifies for the credit if it had been placed in 
service as a barn by any person prior to the rehabilitation, even if it is 
not in service at the time the rehabilitation is done. 

 
4. For barns that are not certified historic structures and which were placed 

in service before 1936: 
 

- fifty percent or more of the existing external walls of the barn are 
retained in place as external walls; 

 
- seventy-five percent or more of the existing external walls of the 

barn are retained in place as internal or external walls; and 
 
- seventy-five percent or more of the existing internal structural 

framework of the barn is retained in place. 
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5.  Depreciation (or amortization in lieu of depreciation) is allowable for the 
barn. 

 
Qualified rehabilitation expenditures is defined in section 47(c)(2) of the 
IRC. A qualified rehabilitation expenditure must, among other things, be 
properly chargeable to a capital account for property which qualifies for 
depreciation under section 168 of the IRC. 
 
The amount of the credit is 25% of the qualifying rehabilitation 
expenditures paid or incurred for any barn located in New York State that is 
a qualified rehabilitated building. 
 
If the historic barn rehabilitation credit exceeds your tax, the unused amount 
may be carried over to the following ten years. If you qualify as the owner 
of a new business, you may elect to have the excess historic barn 
rehabilitation credit refunded. 
 
If a rehabilitated historic barn for which this credit has been allowed is 
disposed of or ceases to be in qualified use prior to the end of its useful life 
(that is the number of months you or your business have chosen to 
depreciate the property for purposes of the IRC), the difference between the 
credit taken and the credit allowed for actual use must be added back to the 
tax otherwise due in the year the qualified use ceased or the year of 
disposition. 
 
To claim this credit, you must complete Form IT-212-ATT, Claim for 
Historic Barn Rehabilitation Credit and Employment Incentive Credit, and 
attach it to your Form IT-212, Investment Credit, which must be filed with 
your Form IT-201, IT-203 or IT-205. 
 
For more information, see TSB-M-97(1)I, A Credit for Rehabilitation of 
Historic Barns. 

   
Home heating 
system credit 
Tax Law section 606(ll)  
 
 

 If you replace the existing home heating system in your principal residence 
in New York State with an Energy Star labeled heating system, you may be 
entitled to the home heating system credit. The credit is available for tax 
years beginning in 2006 and 2007 and is allowed for cost incurred after 
July 1, 2006, and before July 1, 2007, that are directly associated with the 
replacement of the existing home heating system. 
 
To qualify for this credit, the home heating system that replaces the old 
system must, after installation, qualify for and be labeled with an Energy 
Star label. An Energy Star label is placed on a home heating system by the 
manufacturer according to an agreement by the manufacturer with the 
United States Environmental Protection Agency and the United States 
Department of Energy. 
 
Principal residence means the home where you live most of the time. A 
summer or vacation home does not qualify. A principal residence can be a 
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house, whether owned or rented, a mobile home, cooperative apartment, or 
condominium. 
 
Home heating system is the primary system in the home that generates heat 
and distributes it by air, water, or steam to various rooms of the house. A 
system that provides heat and also provides hot water for the home for 
bathing, etc., will also qualify. However, a system that produces only hot 
water for bathing, etc., will not qualify. 
 
The costs incurred that are directly associated with replacement of an 
existing home heating system include the amount you paid on or after  
July 1, 2006, and before July 1, 2007, for the purchase and installation of 
the replacement system and the removal of the old system. These costs 
include costs incurred for materials and labor, including materials and labor 
for the installation of any pumps, pipes, duct work, etc., that are necessary 
for the proper functioning of the system, and any engineering and design 
costs. These costs do not include any interest or finance charges. Costs are 
incurred when you are obligated to pay the cost, even if you have not 
actually paid the cost. If the replacement home heating system provides heat 
for both your principal residence and to nonresidential property associated 
with your residence, the entire cost qualifies for the credit. 
 
The amount of the credit is equal to 50 percent of the costs incurred on or 
after July 1, 2006, and before July 1, 2007, that are directly associated with 
the replacement of your existing home heating system. However, the credit 
cannot exceed $500. If your principal residence is shared by two or more 
taxpayers, the amount of the credit allowable to each taxpayer is to be 
prorated according to the percentage of the total costs incurred by each 
taxpayer.  
 
If you move from one principal residence to another principal residence in 
the state, and you replace the home heating system in each residence with a 
heating system that meets the conditions to qualify for this credit, you will 
be allowed a separate credit of up to $500 for each residence. 
 
The credit is allowed for the tax year (2006 or 2007) in which the 
installation of the Energy Star labeled replacement system is completed, 
provided the installation is complete by December 31, 2007. However, the 
credit is based only on the costs incurred on or after July 1, 2006, and 
before July 1, 2007. 
 
You may claim a refund of any home heating system credit that is in excess 
of your New York State tax liability. 
 
To claim this credit you must complete Form IT-240, Claim for Home 
Heating System Credit, and attach it to your Form IT-201, IT-203, or  
IT-205. 
 
For more information, see TSB-M-06(6)I, Home Heating System Credit and 
the Clean Heating Fuel Credit. 
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Long-term care 
insurance credit 
Tax Law sections 606(aa) 
and 606(i) 

 If you pay premiums for qualified long-term care insurance, you may be 
entitled to the long-term care insurance credit for tax years beginning on or 
after January 1, 2002. 
 
A qualified long-term care insurance policy is one that: 
 
- is approved by the New York State Superintendent of Insurance under 

section 1117(g) of the Insurance Law; and 
 
- is a qualified long-term care insurance contract under section 7702B of 

the Internal Revenue Code (IRC).  (Note: Section 7702B relates to 
policies for which a federal itemized deduction is allowed); 

 
 or 

 
- is a group contract delivered or issued for delivery outside  

New York State; and 
 

- the group contract is a qualified long-term care insurance contract 
under section 7702B of the IRC. The premiums paid for this insurance 
qualify for the credit even if the policy is not approved by the New 
York State Superintendent of Insurance. 

 
A qualified long-term care insurance contract under section 7702B of the 
IRC is an insurance contract that provides only coverage of qualified 
long-term care services. The contract must 
 
1. be guaranteed renewable; 
 
2. not provide for cash surrender value or other money that can be paid, 

assigned, pledged, or borrowed; 
 
3. provide that refunds, other than refunds on the death of the insured or 

complete surrender or cancellation of the contract, and dividends under 
the contract must be used only to reduce future premiums or increase 
future benefits; and 

 
4. generally not pay or reimburse expenses incurred for services or items 

that would be reimbursed under Medicare, except where Medicare is a 
secondary payer, or the contract makes per diem or other periodic 
payments without regard to expenses. 

 
The insurance company that issued your policy should be able to tell you if 
the policy qualifies under section 7702B of the IRC. 
 
For tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2004, the credit is equal to 
20% of the premiums paid during the tax year for the purchase of or for 
continuing coverage under a qualifying long-term care insurance policy.  
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(For tax years beginning before January 1, 2004, the credit is equal to 10% 
of these premiums.) 
 
For tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2005, the credit is limited for 
part-year and nonresident individuals, estates, and trusts to the amount 
determined by multiplying the total credit amount by your income 
percentage. 
 
The long-term care insurance credit is not refundable. However, any 
amount of credit or carryover of credit not deductible in the current tax year 
may be carried over to be deducted for the following year or years. 
 
To claim this credit, you must complete Form IT-249, Claim for  
Long-Term Care Insurance Credit, and attach it to your Form IT-201, 
IT-203, or IT-205. 

   
New York State 
earned income 
credit 
Tax Law section 606(d) 

 The New York State earned income credit is a special income tax credit for 
certain people who earn income from work. If you claimed the federal 
earned income credit and file (or have filed) a New York State income tax 
return, you qualify to claim the New York State earned income credit. 
 
For tax year 2006, the New York State earned income credit is equal to 30% 
of your allowable federal earned income credit. However, the 
New York State earned income credit will be reduced by the amount of any 
household credit you are allowed. 
 
New York State residents and part-year residents qualify for refunds of any 
earned income credit in excess of their New York State tax liabilities. 
Nonresidents do not qualify for refunds of the New York State earned 
income credit. 
 
To claim this credit, you must complete Form IT-215, Claim for Earned 
Income Credit, and attach it to your Form IT-150, IT-201, or IT-203. 
 
For more information, see Publication 310-NY, Information on the Earned 
Income Credit for Tax Year 2006. For information on the New York City 
earned income credit, see page 28 of this publication. 

   
Noncustodial parent 
New York State 
earned income credit 
 
Tax Law section 606(d-1)  
 

 For tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2006, and before 
January 1, 2013, New York State full-year residents who are noncustodial 
parents and pay child support may be eligible for the noncustodial parent 
New York State earned income credit (noncustodial EIC). The noncustodial 
EIC is claimed instead of the New York State earned income credit. 
 
You may claim this credit if you meet all of the following conditions for tax 
year 2006. You must 
 
- be a full-year New York State resident. 
 
- be at least 18 years of age. 
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- be a parent of a minor child (or children) with whom you do not 

reside. 
 
- have an order in effect for at least one-half of the tax year requiring you 

to make child support payments payable through a support collection 
unit pursuant to Social Services Law section 111(h).  

 
- have paid an amount in child support in the tax year at least equal to the 

amount of child support you were required to pay by all court orders. 
 
The amount of the credit is equal to the greater of: 
 
- 20% of the federal earned income credit that you would have been 

allowed if the noncustodial child met the definition of a qualifying 
child, computed as if you had one qualifying child and without benefit 
of the joint return phase out amount (even if your filing status is 
Married filing joint return); or 

 
- 2.5 times the federal earned income credit that would have been 

allowed if you had satisfied the eligibility requirements, computed as if 
you had no qualifying children. 

 
You may claim a refund of any noncustodial parent New York State earned 
income credit in excess of your New York State tax liability. 
 
To claim this credit, you must complete Form IT-209, Claim for 
Noncustodial Parent New York State Earned Income Credit, and attach it to 
your Form IT-150 or IT-201.  

   
New York State 
household credit 
Tax Law section 606(b) 

 If you cannot be claimed as a dependent on another taxpayer’s federal 
income tax return, you may qualify for the New York State household 
credit. 
 
The credit is available to resident, part-year resident and nonresident 
individuals. 
 
The amount of the credit is determined by income and filing status. If you 
are a single taxpayer, and you have federal adjusted gross income of 
$28,000 or less, you may qualify for a credit of up to $75. If you are 
married filing jointly, a qualifying widow(er) with a dependent child, or a 
head of household with a qualifying person, and you have federal adjusted 
gross income of $32,000 or less, you may qualify for a credit of $20 to $90, 
plus $5 to $15 more for each additional exemption claimed on your federal 
return. Married taxpayers filing separate returns may also qualify for this 
credit. The tables used to determine the amount of credit allowed can be 
found in the instructions for Forms IT-150, IT-201 and IT-203. 
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The household credit is not refundable, and any unused credit may not be 
carried over to a future year. 
 
You must claim this credit directly on Form IT-150, IT-201, or IT-203. 

   
Nursing home 
assessment credit 
Tax Law section 606(hh) 

 If you paid a portion of the assessment imposed on a residential health care 
facility (nursing home) pursuant to Public Health Law section 2807-d(2)(b) 
that is passed through to a private-pay resident of the nursing home, you 
may be entitled to claim the nursing home assessment credit. The amount of 
the credit is equal to the total portion of the assessment that is passed 
through and directly paid by an individual during the year (e.g., the total 
portion paid during 2006). The portion of the assessment must be separately 
stated and accounted for on the billing statements or other statements 
provided to a resident of a nursing home, and must be paid directly by the 
individual claiming the credit. If an individual other than the resident of the 
home is actually paying the portion of the assessment, the individual who 
paid that portion, not the resident, is entitled to claim the credit. If more 
than one individual is directly paying the total nursing home bill, the total 
portion of the assessment paid must be divided between them according to 
the percentage of the total nursing home expenses paid by each individual. 
 
An individual may claim the full credit even though the resident may be 
receiving benefits from a long-term insurance policy. If a resident assigns 
his or her long-term insurance benefits to a nursing home, the resident is 
treated as having paid that amount toward the total nursing home bill. The 
credit cannot be claimed for any portion of the assessment that is paid 
directly to the nursing home by a health insurance policy, with public funds 
(e.g., Medicaid or Medicare), or that is paid by a trust or other entity. 
 
Where a nursing home does not separately state the portion of the 
assessment passed through to a resident on the resident’s billing statements, 
the nursing home should provide the resident (or the person to whom the 
resident’s billing statements are sent) with a summary statement that 
indicates the total portion of the assessment paid by or on behalf of the 
resident during 2006 (or any succeeding year). There is no particular form 
for this statement. However, the statement must contain the name of the 
residential health care facility, the name of the resident of the facility, the 
period covered by the statement (e.g., calendar year 2006) and the amount 
of the assessment that was passed through and actually paid (not the billed 
amount) by or on behalf of the resident during the calendar year. For 
example, if the resident’s January 2007 bill was actually paid in December 
2006, the amount of the assessment passed through for January would be 
included on the 2006 statement. 
 
You may claim a refund of any nursing home assessment credit in excess of 
your New York State tax liability. 
 
To claim the credit, you must complete Form IT-258, Claim for Nursing 
Home Assessment Credit, and attach it to your Form IT-201 or IT-203. 
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Real property tax 
credit 
Tax Law section 606(e) 

 If your household gross income was $18,000 or less, you may be entitled to 
a credit for part of the real property taxes or rent you paid during 2006. 
 
The real property tax credit is available to New York State resident 
individuals who have household gross income of $18,000 or less, and pay 
either real property taxes or rent for their residence. Part-year residents and 
nonresidents of New York State do not qualify for this credit. 
 
For all members of your household are under age 65, the credit can be as 
much as $75. If at least one member of your household is age 65 or older, 
the credit can be as much as $375. 
 
New York State residents qualify for a refund of any real property tax credit 
in excess of their New York State tax liabilities. Residents who are not 
required to file New York State income tax returns may qualify for a refund 
of the full amount of the credit.  
 
If you are required to file a New York State income tax return, you must file 
Form IT-150 or IT-201 and attach Form IT-214, Claim for Real Property 
Tax Credit for Homeowners and Renters. If you are not required to file a 
New York State income tax return, you can file Form IT-214 by itself. You 
should file this form as soon as possible after January 1, 2007. 
 
For more information, see Publication 22, FAQs: New York State’s Real 
Property Tax Credit for Homeowners and Renters. 

   
Resident credit 
Tax Law section 620 

 If you are a full-year or part-year resident of New York State and if any part 
of your income was taxed by another state, a local government within 
another state, the District of Columbia, or a Canadian province, you may 
claim a credit against your New York State tax. The credit is allowable only 
for the part of the tax that applies to income received in the other taxing 
authority while you were a New York resident. 
 
The resident credit is available to full-year and part-year resident 
individuals of New York State, or New York State resident estates or trusts. 
 
A shareholder of an S corporation is not allowed the resident credit for any 
income tax imposed on or payable by the corporation to another state, local 
government, the District of Columbia, or a province of Canada. However, a 
shareholder is allowed the resident credit if taxes are calculated on the 
income of the S corporation, but are imposed upon and payable by the 
shareholder. For more information see Publication 35, New York Tax 
Treatment of S Corporations and their Shareholders. 
 
The resident credit is not refundable, and it may not reduce your  
New York State tax payable to an amount less than would have been due if 
the income subject to taxation by the other jurisdiction(s) was excluded 
from your New York income. 
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To claim this credit for taxes paid to another state, local government, or the 
District of Columbia, you must complete Form IT-112-R, New York State 
Resident Credit. Attach Form IT-112-R to your Form IT-201, IT-203, or 
IT-205. 
 
To claim this credit for taxes paid to a province of Canada, you must 
complete Form IT-112-C, New York State Resident Credit for Taxes Paid to 
a Province of Canada.  Attach Form IT-112-C to your Form IT-201, 
IT-203, or IT-205. 

   
Resident credit 
against separate 
tax on lump-sum 
distributions 
Tax Law section 620-A 

 If you are a full-year or part-year resident individual of New York State, 
and if the ordinary income portion of a lump-sum distribution you received 
was taxed by another state, a local government within another state, the 
District of Columbia, or a province of Canada, you may claim a resident 
credit against separate tax on lump-sum distributions. The credit can be 
claimed against New York State tax and is allowable only for the part of the 
other jurisdiction’s tax that applies to the income received in that 
jurisdiction while the taxpayer was a New York State resident. 
 
The resident credit against separate tax on lump-sum distributions is 
available to full-year and part-year resident individuals of New York State, 
or New York State resident estates or trusts. 
 
Generally, if your employer distributes the entire balance of your qualified 
pension, stock bonus, or profit-sharing plans within one year, it is a 
lump-sum distribution. The ordinary income portion is that part of the 
lump-sum distribution that applies to your years of participation in the plan 
after 1973.  However, you may elect to treat the entire taxable portion of the 
distribution as ordinary income. 
 
This credit is not refundable, and it may not reduce your New York State 
tax payable to an amount less than would have been due if the income 
subject to taxation by the other jurisdiction(s) was excluded from the 
computation of your separate tax on the lump-sum distribution. 
 
To claim this credit, you must complete Form IT-112.1, New York State 
Resident Credit Against Separate Tax on Lump-Sum Distributions. Attach 
Form IT-112.1 and a copy of federal Form 4972, Tax on Lump-Sum 
Distributions, to your Form IT-201, IT-203, or IT-205. 

   
Residential fuel oil 
storage tank credit 
carryover 

 Tax year 2003 was the last year to make a new claim for the residential fuel 
oil storage tank credit. However, any unused credit from a prior year in 
which the credit was allowed can be carried over to tax years after 2003. 

   
Solar energy 
system equipment 
credit 
Tax Law section 606(g-1) 
 

 The solar energy system equipment credit is allowed for the purchase and 
installation of an eligible solar energy system. The equipment must be 
installed and used at your principal residence in New York State.  
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 If the solar energy system equipment provides electricity, you must enter 
into a net energy metering contract with your electric corporation or comply 
with the electric corporation's net energy metering schedule before you can 
qualify for the credit. The completed solar energy system must also be 
connected to the electric corporation's transmission and distribution facility. 
Other conditions and limitations set by the electric company may apply. 
 
Solar energy system equipment means an arrangement or combination of 
components utilizing solar radiation, which, when installed in a residence, 
produces energy designed to provide heating, cooling, hot water, or 
electricity. The arrangement or components do not include equipment 
connected to solar energy system equipment that is a component or part or 
parts of a nonsolar energy system or which uses any sort of recreational 
facility or equipment as a storage medium. Solar energy system equipment 
that generates electricity for use in a residence must conform to the 
applicable requirements in Public Service Law section 66-j. 
 
Qualified solar energy system equipment expenditures means expenditures, 
for the purchase of solar energy system equipment that is installed and used 
at residential property located in New York State that is your principal 
residence at the time the solar energy system equipment is placed in service. 
 
Qualified expenditures include expenditures for materials, labor costs 
properly allocated to on-site preparation, assembly and original installation, 
architectural and engineering services, and designs and plans directly 
related to the construction or installation of the solar energy system 
equipment. 
 
Expenditures made with nontaxable federal, state, and local grants, and any 
interest or finance charges, do not qualify as solar energy system equipment 
expenditures. 
 
Principal residence means the home where you and your family live most 
of the time. A summer or vacation home does not qualify. Your principal 
residence can be a house, whether owned or rented, a mobile home, 
cooperative apartment, or condominium. If you move from one principal 
residence to another principal residence in New York State, a separate 
credit is allowed for each principal residence. You must file separate 
Forms IT-255, Claim for Solar Energy System Equipment Credit, to 
compute your allowable credit for each principal residence. 
 
The credit will be allowed for the tax year in which the solar energy system 
equipment is placed in service. 
 
- For solar energy system equipment placed in service between 

January 1, 2006, and before August 31, 2006, the credit is 25% (but not 
to exceed $3,750) of the qualified expenditures for the purchase and 
installation of a system that generates solar energy for residential use.  
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- For equipment placed in service on or after September 1, 2006, the 
credit is 25% (but not to exceed $5,000) of the qualified expenditures 
for the purchase and installation of a system that generates solar energy 
for residential use.  

 
The solar energy system equipment credit is not refundable. However, any 
credit in excess of the tax due can be carried over for a maximum of five 
years. 
 
To claim this credit, you must complete Form IT-255, Claim for Solar 
Energy System Equipment Credit, and attach it to your Form IT-201 or 
IT-203. 

   

New York City 
credits 

  

   
New York City 
earned income 
credit 
Tax Law section 1310(f) 

 New York City full-year residents and New York City part-year residents 
who claimed the federal earned income credit may now claim a 
New York City earned income credit. You must file (or have filed) a 
New York income tax return to claim the New York City earned income 
credit. This credit is in addition to the New York State earned income 
credit. 
 
For tax year 2006, the New York City earned income credit is equal to 5% 
of your allowable federal earned income credit. (For part-year residents, the 
amount of the credit is subject to proration.) 
 
Note:  Because of the difference in methods used in computing the  
New York State and New York City earned income credits, if you meet the 
conditions to qualify for the New York City earned income credit you will 
have a New York City earned income credit even if your New York State 
earned income credit amount is zero. 
 
The New York City earned income credit is applied against the  
New York City personal income tax. New York City residents and part-year 
residents qualify for refunds of any earned income credit in excess of their 
tax liability. Nonresidents of New York City do not qualify for the 
New York City earned income credit. 
 
To claim this credit you must complete Form IT-215, Claim for Earned 
Income Credit, and attach it to your Form IT-150, IT-201, or IT-203. 

   
New York City 
household credit 
Tax Law section 1310(d) 

 If you cannot be claimed as a dependent on another taxpayer’s federal 
income tax return, you may qualify for the New York City household credit. 
The credit is available to resident and part-year resident individuals of 
New York City. 
 
The amount of the credit is determined by income and filing status. If you 
are single, and you have federal adjusted gross income of $12,500 or less, 
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you may qualify for a credit of up to $15. If you are married filing jointly, a 
qualifying widow(er) with a dependent child, or a head of household with a 
dependent child, and you have federal adjusted gross income of $22,500 or 
less, you may qualify for a credit of $10 to $30, plus $10 to $30 more for 
each additional exemption claimed on your federal return. The tables used 
to determine the amount of credit allowed are found in the combined 
instructions for Forms IT-150 and IT-201, Resident Income Tax Return, and 
the instructions for Form IT-360.1, Change of City Resident Status. The city 
household credit is applied against the New York City personal income tax.  
 
The credit is not refundable, and cannot be carried forward to future years. 
 
Full year New York City residents claim this credit directly on Form IT-150 
or IT-201. Part-year New York City residents must complete 
Form IT-360.1, Change of City Resident Status, and attach it to 
Form IT-203. 

   
New York City 
school tax credit 
Tax Law section 1310(e) 

 The New York City school tax credit is available to a New York City 
resident or part-year resident who cannot be claimed as a dependent on 
another taxpayer’s federal income tax return. Married persons filing a joint 
return and surviving spouses are entitled to a credit of up to $230. All other 
taxpayers are entitled to a credit of up to $115. 
 
The New York City school tax credit is applied against the New York City 
personal income tax for New York City residents and part-year residents.  
 
If the credit exceeds your tax for the year, the excess will be refunded 
without interest. 
 
If you file Form IT-150 or IT-201, Resident Income Tax Return, or 
Form IT-203, Nonresident and Part-Year Resident Income Tax Return, you 
can claim this credit directly on your income tax return. 
 
You may claim the New York City school tax credit even if you are not 
required to file a New York State income tax return. See Form NYC-210, 
Claim for New York City School Tax Credit, and the instructions for 
Form NYC-210. 

   

Credits 
available to sole 
proprietors, 
partners, and 
New York  
S corporation 
shareholders 
 

 The following income tax credits are available to sole proprietors, partners 
in a partnership (including members of limited liability companies (LLC’s) 
that are treated as partnerships for federal tax purposes) and shareholders in 
a New York S corporation (unless otherwise noted): 
 
- alternative fuels credit 
 
- automated external defibrillator credit 
 
- biofuel production credit 
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- brownfield credits 
 
- clean heating fuel credit 
 
- conservation easement tax credit (does not apply to New York S 

corporation shareholders) 
 
- empire state film production credit 
 
- empire zone (EZ) and qualified empire zone enterprises (QEZE) credits 
 
- employment of persons with disabilities credit 
 
- farmers' school tax credit 
 
- fuel cell electric generating equipment credit 
 
- green buildings credit 
 
- handicapped-accessible taxicabs and livery services vehicle credit 
 
- historic barn rehabilitation credit 
 
- industrial or manufacturing business (IMB) credit 
 
- investment tax credits (including employment incentive credits) 
 
- long-term care insurance credit 
 
- low-income housing credit 
 
- qualified emerging technology company (QETC) credits 
 
- security officer training tax credit 
 
- special additional mortgage recording tax credit 
 
- credit for New York City unincorporated business tax (does not apply 

to New York S corporation shareholders) 
 
A partnership or New York S corporation must provide its partners or 
shareholders with information to enable the partners or shareholders to 
claim the credit.  For more information, see the instructions for  
Form IT-204, Partnership Return, or CT-3-S, New York S Corporation 
Franchise Tax Return. 
 
To claim any of these credits, or to carry over these credits from prior years, 
you must use the appropriate credit claim form. For more information on 
these credits, see Publication 99-B, General Information on New York State 
and New York City Income Tax Credits for Businesses– For Tax Year 2006. 
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New York State tax credits and the taxes they are applied against 

 
Credit  

NYS 
personal  

income tax 

 
NYS 

minimum 
income tax 

 
NYS separate 

tax on  
lump-sum 

distributions 
 
Accumulation distribution credit1 

 
X   

 
Automated external defibrillator credit1 

 
X   

 
Child and dependent care credit: 
 Resident2   
 Nonresident1 
 Part-year resident: 
     nonresident period1 
     resident period2 

 
 

X 
X 
 

X 
X 
 

 
 

X 
 
 
 

X 

 
 

X 
 
 
 

X 

 
Claim of right credit2 

 
X 

 
X 

 
X 

 
Clean heating fuel credit2 

 
X 

 
X 

 
X 

 
College tuition credit2 

 
X 

 
X 

 
X 

 
Conservation easement tax credit2 

 
X 

 
X 

 
X 

 
Empire State child credit2 

 
X 

 
X 

 
X 

 
Fuel cell electric generating equipment credit3 

 
X   

 
Green buildings credit4 

 
X   

 
Historic barn rehabilitation credit3 
Historic barn rehabilitation credit - refundable portion5 

 
X 
X 

 
 

X 

 
 

X 
 
Home heating system credit2 

 
X 

 
X 

 
X 

 
Long-term care insurance credit4 

 
X 

 
 

 
 

 
New York State earned income credit : 
  Resident2 
  Nonresident1 
  Part-year resident: 
    nonresident period1 
    resident period2 

Noncustodial parent New York State earned income credit2 

 
 

X 
X 
 

X 
X 
X 

 
 

X 
 
 
 

X 
X 

 
 

X 
 
 
 

X 
X 

 
New York State household credit1 

 
X 

 
X 
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New York State tax credits and the taxes they are applied against (continued) 
 

 
Credit 

 
NYS 

personal  
income tax 

 
NYS 

minimum 
income tax 

 
NYS 

separate tax 
on  

lump-sum 
distributions 

 
Nursing home assessment credit2 

 
X 

 
X 

 
X 

 
Real property tax credit2 

 
X 

 
X 

 
X 

 
Resident credit1 

 
X 

 
 

 
 

 
Resident credit against separate tax on lump-sum distributions1 

 
 

 
 

 
X 

 
Solar energy system equipment credit3 

 
X 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
___________________________ 
 

1.  If the credit exceeds the tax, the excess will not be refunded and cannot be carried forward to future years. 

2.  If the credit exceeds the tax, the excess will be treated as an overpayment of tax to be credited or refunded 
(without interest). 

3.  If the credit exceeds the tax, the excess will not be refunded but may be carried forward for a limited duration. 

4.  If the credit exceeds the tax, the excess will not be refunded but may be carried forward to future years for an 
unlimited duration. 

5.  If the credit exceeds the tax, a taxpayer in a new business may qualify to claim a refund. 



New York State Department of Taxation and Finance

Electronic Services
The NYS Department of Taxation and Finance is continuing its 
efforts to provide our customers – the citizens and businesses of this 
state – with world-class service. We are using the latest technology to 
develop innovative ways to better serve you. Many of these initiatives are 
available on the Department’s Web site at

 www.nystax.gov

Services currently available include . . . 

 ❍	 Visit our Taxpayer Answer Center to find answers to frequently asked tax 
questions.

 ❍	 Determine if you are eligible for free e-filing with FreeFile.

 ❍	 Learn how to e-file, the fastest and most accurate way to file your return.

	 ❍	 Apply for an automatic six-month extension of time to file your return.

 ❍	 Make estimated tax payments, check your balance, and reconcile your 
estimated tax account balance.

❍	 Check the status of your current year income 
tax refund.

❍	 Pay your income taxes by credit card and 
electronic funds withdrawal.

❍	 Use the penalty and interest calculator.

❍	 View and pay open assessments.

❍	 Check out our available online services for   
businesses.

❍	 Sign up for our free e-mail Subscription Service 
to receive notification of Tax Department 
updates and technical guidance.

www.nystax.gov
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Internet access: www.nystax.gov
		 Access	our	Answer	Center	for	answers	to	frequently	

asked	questions;	check	your	refund	status;	check	your	
estimated	tax	account;	download	forms,	publications;	
get	tax	updates	and	other	information.

   Fax-on-demand forms: Forms	are
	 available	24	hours	a	day,
	 7	days	a	week.		 1	800	748-3676

Telephone assistance is	available	from	8:00	A.M.	to
	 5:00	P.M.	(eastern	time),	Monday	through	Friday.

Refund	status:		 1	800	443-3200
	 (Automated	service	for	refund	status	is	available
	 	 24	hours	a	day,	7	days	a	week.)

To	order	forms	and	publications:		 1	800	462-8100

Personal	Income	Tax	Information	Center:	 1	800	225-5829

From	areas	outside	the	U.S.	and
	 outside	Canada:		 (518)	485-6800

Hotline for the hearing and speech impaired: If	you	
have	access	to	a	telecommunications	device	for	the	
deaf	(TDD),	contact	us	at	1	800	634-2110.	If	you	do	not	
own	a	TDD,	check	with	independent	living	centers	or	
community	action	programs	to	find	out	where	machines	
are	available	for	public	use.

Persons with disabilities: In	compliance	with	the	
Americans	with	Disabilities	Act,	we	will	ensure	that	
our	lobbies,	offices,	meeting	rooms,	and	other	facilities	
are	accessible	to	persons	with	disabilities.	If	you	have	
questions	about	special	accommodations	for	persons	with	
disabilities,	please	call	1	800	225-5829.

Need help?
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