Release of Estate Tax Lien

When a person dies, the Tax Law places
a lien on the decedent’s real property
to secure the payment of any estate tax
due. This estate tax lien is effective as of
the decedent’s date of death. To transfer
real property from a decedent, you must
request and then receive a release of lien
from the New York State Tax Department.
The release of lien is an authorization to
transferthereal property, located in New York
State, free and clear of the estate tax lien. The
lien applies only to real property located in
New York State.

No fee applies to a release of lien.

Release of Estate Tax Lien

NYS ESTATE TAX
PROCESSING CENTER
PO BOX 15167
ALBANY NY 12212-5167

See Publication 55, Designated Private Delivery
Services, if not using U.S. Mail. Using a private
delivery service to send a request for a release
of lien will delay the process.

To learn more, visit our Web site:

www.tax.ny.gov
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Required with Form ET-117, Release of Lien and

Estate Tax - Real property or cooperative apartment

you are the appointed executor or administrator of the estate,
or the duly authorized representative of the executor, and

o fewer than nine months have passed since the date
of death,

Note: If you have applied for your letters testamentary or
letters of administration but have not yet received them, use
Form ET-85, New York State Estate Tax Certification, to request
a release of lien.

the estate is required to file a New York State estate tax return,
and either:

e the estate has not obtained an extension of time to file the
estate tax return, and more than nine months have passed
since the date of death; or

e the estate obtained an extension of time to file the
estate tax return, and more than 15 months have
passed since the date of death (the extension
has expired),

the estate is not required to file a New York State estate tax
return, and either:

e no executor or administrator has been appointed; or
e more than nine months have passed since the date of death,

OR
the estate is required to file a New York State estate tax return,
and either:

e fewer than nine months have passed since the date of
death, and an executor or administrator has not been
appointed; or

e more than nine but less than 15 months have passed since
the date of death, and an extension of time to file the estate
tax return has been granted,

Form ET-30, Application for
Release(s) of Estate Tax Lien

Form ET-706, New York State
Estate Tax Return

Form ET-85, New York State
Estate Tax Certification

Pub-605 (10/15) (back)

O Complete the Estimated value of all assets of estate section.

O Submit an original or verified copy of the letters testamentary or the
letters of administration.

O Attach a copy of the death certificate.

O Enter PTINs or social security numbers requested on any forms you
submit (Tax Law, Article 26, section 977(A)).

O Pay all tax due in full.
O Attach a copy of the death certificate.

O Enter PTINs or social security numbers requested on any forms you
submit (Tax Law, Article 26, section 977(A)).

O Include all other supplemental documents (see Form ET-706-l,
Instructions for Form ET-706).

Note: if we already have your return on file but you need to submit Form
ET-117 and you are not amending Form ET-706, send only the first page of
Form ET-706 and write “Copy for Lien Request” on it.

O Submit Form ET-130, Tentative Payment of Estate Tax, if applicable.
(If the estate is subject to tax, you may be required to make an
estimated payment.)

O You must complete the Estimated net estate section.
O Notarize Form ET-85, New York State Estate Tax Certification.

O Submit a signed Form ET-85, New York State Estate Tax Certification.
The form must be signed by the applicant, the executor, or an approved
Power of Attorney.

O Enter PTINs or social security numbers requested on any forms you
submit (Tax Law, Article 26, section 977(A)).

[0 Attach a copy of the death certificate.



