

Important:

The information on the state and/or local exemptions for clothing and footwear in this TSB-M is out-of-date and cannot be relied upon.

For the most up-to-date information on state and local sales and use tax rates on clothing and footwear, see Find sales tax rates.

For a detailed list of exempt and taxable items, see <u>Lists of Exempt and Taxable</u> Clothing, Footwear, and Items Used to Make or Repair Exempt Clothing.

The TSB-M begins on page 2 below.

New York State Department of Taxation and Finance Taxpayer Services Division Technical Services Bureau

TSB-M-99(3.1)S Sales Tax August 18, 1999

D-4- D------ O-- W--1-

September 1, 1999, through September 7, 1999 Temporary sales and use tax exemption on clothing and footwear (Exemption within cities and counties)

There will be an exemption from sales and compensating use taxes for clothing and footwear costing less than \$500 per item during the period **September 1, 1999, through September 7, 1999.** For a detailed explanation of the exemption see TSB-M-99(3)S*.

The exemption will apply to the state's 4% sales and use taxes and the ½% rate of taxes imposed in the Metropolitan Commuter Transportation District (MCTD). The exemption will also apply to all locally imposed sales and use taxes except for those localities listed below, where clothing and footwear will remain subject to local tax at the rate indicated. Participating localities are listed on the back of this page.

	Rate During One-Week
<u>Locality</u>	Exemption Period
<u>Counties</u>	
Lewis	3 %
Nassau	4 1/4 %
Putnam	3 %
Schoharie	3 %
Suffolk	4 %
Westchester (outside the cities of Mount Vernon, New Rochelle	•
White Plains, and Yonkers)	2 ½ %
<u>Cities</u>	
Glens Falls - located in Warren County	1 ½ %
Mount Vernon - located in Westchester County	4 %
New Rochelle - located in Westchester County	4 %
White Plains - located in Westchester County	3 ½ %
Yonkers - located in Westchester County	4 %

^{*}You may obtain a copy of TSB-M-99(3)S by calling 1-800-462-8100 or logging on to our website at www.tax.state.ny.us, or if you have a fax machine, you can obtain TSB-M-99(3)S from our Fax-on-Demand system by dialing **1-800-748-3676**, following the prompts and entering **11091** when prompted for the five-digit code.

TSB-M-99(3.1)S Sales Tax August 18, 1999

Cities and Counties Where No Tax Applies

Following is a list of cities and counties in the state where the temporary clothing and footwear exemption during the period September 1, 1999, through September 7, 1999, will apply to the state (including the MCTD) and all local sales and use taxes.

Albany County Allegany County Auburn (city of) - located in **Cayuga County** Batavia (city of) - located in **Genesee County Broome County** Canandaigua (city of) - located in **Ontario County Cattaraugus County Cayuga County Chautauqua County Chemung County Chenango County Clinton County Columbia County** Corning (city of) - located in **Steuben County Cortland County Delaware County Dutchess County Erie County Essex County Franklin County** Fulton (city of) - located in **Oswego County Fulton County Genesee County** Geneva (city of) - located in **Ontario County** Gloversville (city of) - located in

Fulton County

Greene County Hamilton County Herkimer County Hornell (city of) - located in **Steuben County** Ithaca (city of) - located in **Tompkins County Jefferson County** Johnstown (city of) - located in **Fulton County Livingston County Madison County Monroe County Montgomery County New York City - includes** counties of Bronx, Kings (Brooklyn), New York (Manhattan), Queens, and **Richmond (Staten Island) Niagara County** Norwich (city of) - located in **Chenango County** Ogdensburg (city of) - located in St. Lawrence County Olean (city of) - located in **Cattaraugus County** Oneida (city of) - located in **Madison County Oneida County Onondaga County Ontario County Orange County**

Orleans County Oswego (city of) - located in **Oswego County** Oswego County **Otsego County Rensselaer County Rockland County** Rome (city of) - located in **Oneida County** St. Lawrence County Salamanca (city of) - located in Cattaraugus County **Saratoga County Schenectady County Schuyler County Seneca County** Sherill (city of) - located in **Oneida County Steuben County Sullivan County Tioga County Tompkins County Ulster County** Utica (city of) - located in **Oneida County** Warren County **Washington County Wayne County Wyoming County Yates County**