

## Important:

The information on the state and/or local exemptions for clothing and footwear in this TSB-M is out-of-date and cannot be relied upon.

For the most up-to-date information on state and local sales and use tax rates on clothing and footwear, see <u>Find sales tax rates</u>.

For a detailed list of exempt and taxable items, see <u>Lists of Exempt and Taxable</u> <u>Clothing, Footwear, and Items Used to Make or Repair Exempt Clothing</u>.

The TSB-M begins on page 2 below.

# New York State Department of Taxation and Finance Taxpayer Services Division Technical Services Bureau

2 %

### One-Week Sales and Use Tax Exemption on Clothing and Footwear (Exemption Within Cities and Counties)

There will be an exemption from sales and use taxes for eligible clothing and footwear during the week of January 17, 1998 through January 23, 1998. (For a detailed explanation of the exemption see TSB-M-97(14)S.)

The exemption will apply to the State 4% sales and use taxes and the ¼% tax imposed in the Metropolitan Commuter Transportation District (MCTD). The exemption will also apply to all locally imposed sales and use taxes except for the locally imposed taxes imposed in the city of White Plains.

#### **City Where Local Tax Applies**

In the following locality clothing and footwear remain subject to tax at the rate indicated.

	Rate During One-Week
<b>Locality</b>	<b>Exemption Period</b>

White Plains (city of) - located in Westchester County

#### **Cities and Counties Where No Tax Applies**

Following is a list of localities in the State where the one-week clothing and footwear exemption will apply to the State (including the MCTD) and all local sales and use taxes.

**Albany County Allegany County** Auburn (city of) - located in **Cayuga Countv** Batavia (city of) - located in **Genesee County Broome County** Canandaigua (city of) located in Ontario County **Cattaraugus County Cayuga County Chautauqua County Chemung County Chenango County Clinton County Columbia County** Corning (city of) - located in **Steuben County Cortland County Delaware County Dutchess County Erie County Essex County Franklin County** Fulton (city of) - located in **Oswego County Fulton County Genesee County** Geneva (city of) - located in **Ontario County** Glens Falls (city of) - located in Warren County Gloversville (city of) - located in Fulton County **Greene County Hamilton County Herkimer County** Hornell (city of) - located in **Steuben County** 

Ithaca (city of) - located in **Tompkins County Jefferson County** Johnstown (city of) - located in Fulton County **Lewis County Livingston County Madison County Monroe County Montgomery County** Mount Vernon (city of) located in Westchester County **Nassau County** New Rochelle (city of) located in Westchester County **New York City - includes** counties of Bronx, Kings (Brooklyn), New York (Manhattan), Oueens and **Richmond (Staten Island) Niagara County** Norwich (city of) - located in **Chenango County** Ogdensburg (city of) - located in St. Lawrence County Olean (city of) - located in **Cattaraugus County** Oneida (city of) - located in **Madison County Oneida County Onondaga County Ontario County Orange County Orleans County** Oswego (city of) - located in **Oswego County Oswego County** 

**Otsego County Putnam County Rensselaer County Rockland County** Rome (city of) - located in **Oneida County St. Lawrence County** Salamanca (city of) - located in Cattaraugus County Saratoga County **Schenectady County Schoharie County Schuvler County** Seneca County Sherrill (city of) - located in **Oneida County** Steuben County Suffolk County Sullivan County **Tioga County Tompkins County Ulster County** Utica (city of) - located in **Oneida County** Warren County Washington County Wayne County Westchester County Wyoming County **Yates County** Yonkers (city of) - located in Westchester County