

Important:

The information on the state and/or local exemptions for clothing and footwear in this TSB-M is out-of-date and cannot be relied upon.

For the most up-to-date information on state and local sales and use tax rates on clothing and footwear, see <u>Find sales tax rates</u>.

For a detailed list of exempt and taxable items, see <u>Lists of Exempt and Taxable</u> <u>Clothing, Footwear, and Items Used to Make or Repair Exempt Clothing</u>.

The TSB-M begins on page 2 below.

New York State Department of Taxation and Finance Taxpayer Services Division Technical Services Bureau

One-Week Sales and Use Tax Exemption on Clothing and Footwear (Exemption Within Cities and Counties)

There is an exemption from sales and use taxes for eligible clothing and footwear during the week of January 18, 1997 through January 24, 1997. (For a detailed explanation of the exemption see TSB-M-96(15)S.)

The exemption applies to the State 4% sales and use taxes and the ¼% tax imposed in the Metropolitan Commuter Transportation District (MCTD). The exemption also applies to many, but not all, locally imposed sales and use taxes.

Cities and Counties Where Local Tax Applies

In the following localities clothing and footwear remain subject to tax at the rates indicated.

Locality	Rate During One-Week Exemption Period
Auburn (city of)-(located in Cayuga County)	<u>4 %</u>
Canandaigua (city of)-(located in Ontario County)	1½ %
Cayuga County (outside city of Auburn)	4 %
Erie County	4 %
Franklin County	3 %
Fulton (city of)-(located in Oswego County)	3 %
Geneva (city of)-(located in Ontario County)	1½ %
Jefferson County	3 %
Johnstown (city of)-(located in Fulton County)	11/2 %
Livingston County	3 %
Oneida County (outside cities of Rome*, Sherrill and Utica)	4 %
Onondaga County	3 %
Rome*	2 ¹ /2 %
Sherrill (city of)-(located in Oneida County)	4 %
Utica (city of)-(located in Oneida County)	4 %

*Note: The City of Rome (located in Oneida County) exempted its local tax within the city during the one-week exemption period. However, 21/2% Oneida County tax imposed within the city still applies on sales within the city during the exemption period.

Cities and Counties Where No Tax Applies

Following is a list of localities in the State where the one-week clothing and footwear exemption applies to the State (including the MCTD) and all local sales and use taxes.

Albany County Allegany County Batavia (city of) - located in **Genesee County Broome County Cattaraugus County** (including cities of Olean and Salamanca) **Chautauqua County Chemung County Chenango County (including** city of Norwich) **Clinton County Columbia County** Corning (city of) - located in **Steuben County Cortland County Delaware County Dutchess County Essex County** Fulton County (outside city of Johnstown) **Genesee County (including** city of Batavia) Glens Falls (city of) - located in Warren County Gloversville (city of) located in Fulton County **Greene County Hamilton County Herkimer County** Hornell (city of) - located in **Steuben County** Ithaca (city of) - located in **Tompkins County** Lewis County **Madison County (including** city of Oneida)

Monroe County Montgomery County Mount Vernon (city of) located in Westchester County Nassau County New Rochelle (city of) located in Westchester County **New York City - includes** counties of Bronx, Kings (Brooklyn), New York (Manhattan), Queens and **Richmond (Staten Island) Niagara County** Norwich (city of) - located in **Chenango County** Ogdensburg (city of) located in St. Lawrence County Olean (city of) - located in **Cattaraugus County** Oneida (city of) - located in **Madison County Ontario County (outside** cities of Canandaigua and Geneva) **Orange County Orleans County** Oswego (city of) - located in **Oswego County Oswego County (outside city** of Fulton) **Otsego County Putnam County Rensselaer County Rockland County**

St. Lawrence County (including city of **Ogdensburg**) Salamanca (city of) - located in Cattaraugus County Saratoga County **Schenectady County Schoharie County Schuyler County Seneca County Steuben County (including** cities of Corning and Hornell) **Suffolk County Sullivan County Tioga County Tompkins County (including** city of Ithaca) **Ulster County** Warren County (including city of Glens Falls) Washington County Wayne County Westchester County (including cities of Mount Vernon, New Rochelle, White Plains and Yonkers) White Plains (city of) located in Westchester County Wyoming County **Yates County** Yonkers (city of) - located in Westchester County