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Sales Tax Exemption for Rent Paid by a
Room Remarketer to a Hotel Operator

This memorandum explains recently enacted legislation that
provides an exemption from sales tax for rent paid by a room
remarketer to a hotel operator.

Part X of Chapter 60 of the Laws of 2016 amended the Tax Law to provide an exemption
from state and local sales taxes (sales tax) for rent paid by a room remarketer to a hotel
operator for an occupancy that the room remarketer intends to sell to its customers. This new
exemption does not apply to rent paid by a room remarketer to another room remarketer. The
new exemption also applies to the $1.50 per unit, per day fee imposed on hotel occupancy in
New York City.*

This new exemption applies to rent paid by a room remarketer for occupancies on or
after June 1, 2016.

Prior to the new exemption, a room remarketer needed to claim a refund or credit of any
sales tax, including the $1.50 hotel unit fee in New York City, it had paid when purchasing hotel
occupancy from a hotel operator. See:

» TSB-M-10(10)S, Amendments Affecting the Application of Sales Tax to Rent Received
for Hotel Occupancy by Room Remarketers, and

* TSB-M-12(8)S, 2012 Budget Legislation Affecting the Sales Tax Obligations of Hotel
Room Remarketers.

A room remarketer may still claim this refund or credit for any tax it paid.
How to claim the new exemption
To claim this exemption, a room remarketer must give the hotel operator a properly

completed Form ST-120.2, Room Remarketer's Exempt Purchase Certificate, within 90 days of
the date it purchases the occupancy from the hotel operator.

Example: Company A is a room remarketer that has an agreement with XYZ Hotel in
New York City under which Company A agrees to pay XYZ Hotel $200 per night for each
room it rents to one of its customers. On July 1, 2016, Mr. K reserves a room for a one
night stay at XYZ Hotel through Company A’s web site. Mr. K agrees to pay Company A
$250 for the room plus applicable sales tax. Company A provides XYZ Hotel a properly
completed Form ST-120.2, Room Remarketer’'s Exempt Purchase Certificate, and XYZ
Hotel is not required to collect sales tax or the $1.50 hotel unit fee from Company A. As

! While this exemption applies to the Hotel Room Occupancy Tax (HROT) imposed and administered by New York
City, it does not apply to occupancy taxes imposed and administered by other local governments (local bed taxes).
Any questions regarding the application of this new exemption to the HROT should be directed to the New York City
Department of Finance.
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a room remarketer, Company A must collect State and local sales tax from Mr. K on the
$250 rent and also collect the $1.50 hotel unit fee.

Note:

A TSB-M is an informational statement of existing department policies or of
changes to the law, regulations, or department policies. It is accurate on the
date issued. Subsequent changes in the law or regulations, judicial decisions,
Tax Appeals Tribunal decisions, or changes in department policies could affect
the validity of the information presented in a TSB-M.



