

Important:

The information on the state and/or local exemptions for clothing and footwear in this TSB-M is out-of-date and cannot be relied upon.

For the most up-to-date information on state and local sales and use tax rates on clothing and footwear, see <u>Find sales tax rates</u>.

For a detailed list of exempt and taxable items, see <u>Lists of Exempt and Taxable</u> <u>Clothing, Footwear, and Items Used to Make or Repair Exempt Clothing</u>.

The TSB-M begins on page 2 below.

New York State Department of Taxation and Finance Office of Tax Policy Analysis Technical Services Division

Temporary Sales and Use Tax Exemption of Clothing and Footwear Tuesday, August 30, 2005, through Labor Day, Monday, September 5, 2005 (Exemption within counties and cities)

There will be an exemption from sales and use taxes for clothing and footwear, and items used to make or repair exempt clothing, **costing less than \$110 per item or pair**, purchased during a seven-day exemption period beginning Tuesday, August 30, 2005, through Labor Day, Monday, September 5, 2005. For a detailed explanation of the exemption, see TSB-M-05(8)S, *Temporary Sales and Use Tax Exemption of Clothing, Footwear, and Items Used to Make or Repair Exempt Clothing (Seven-day exemption period - August 30, 2005, through September 5, 2005).*

The exemption will apply to the state's 4% sales and use taxes. The exemption also applies to the ³/₈ % sales and use taxes imposed by the state in those portions of the Metropolitan Commuter Transportation District (MCTD) located in a county or city in the MCTD which elects the exemption from its own local tax. The MCTD consists of New York City and the counties of Dutchess, Nassau, Orange, Putnam, Rockland, Suffolk, and Westchester.

Clothing and footwear remain subject to the following county, city, and MCTD taxes at the rate indicated for those counties and cities listed below. A list of counties and cities where no sales or use tax applies during the seven-day exemption period is provided on page 2.

Counties whose taxes will apply

<u>County</u>	Rate during seven-day exemption period	
Lewis County	33/4%	
Nassau County*	45/8%	
Orange County*	$4\frac{1}{8}\%$	
Putnam County* (August 30 – 31, 2005)	33/8%	
Putnam County* (September 1 - 5, 2005)	31/8%	
Westchester County (outside the cities of Mount Vernon, New Roo	chelle,	
White Plains and Yonkers)*	33/8%	
* Counties located in the MCTD where the 3/8% MCTD tax applies.		

Cities whose taxes will apply

<u>City (located in county)</u>	Rate during seven-day <u>exemption period</u>
Fulton (Oswego County)	4%
Mount Vernon (Westchester County)*	43⁄8%
New Rochelle (Westchester County)*	43⁄8%
Utica (Oneida County)	11⁄2%
White Plains (Westchester County)*	31/8%
Yonkers (Westchester County)*	$4^{3}/_{8}\%$

* Cities located in the MCTD where the 3/8% MCTD tax applies.

Counties and cities where no tax applies

Following is a list of counties and cities where the seven-day exemption period will apply to all state (including the MCTD $\frac{3}{8}$ % rate), county, and city sales and use taxes, other than taxes of cities listed as *outside* after the county's name.

Albany County Otsego County Hamilton County Allegany County **Rensselaer** County Herkimer County Broome County Jefferson County Rockland County* Cattaraugus County Livingston County St. Lawrence County (including the cities of Madison County (including Saratoga County (including the city of Oneida) the city of Saratoga Springs) Olean and Salamanca) Cayuga County (including the Monroe County Schenectady County City of Auburn) Montgomery County Schoharie County Chautauqua County New York City* (includes Schuyler County Chemung County counties of Bronx, Kings Seneca County Chenango County (including [Brooklyn], New York Steuben County (including the the city of Norwich) [Manhattan], Queens, and cities of Corning and Clinton County Richmond [Staten Island]) Hornell) **Columbia County** Niagara County Suffolk County* Oneida County (including the Sullivan County Cortland County **Delaware** County cities of Rome and Sherrill; **Tioga County** Dutchess County* outside the city of Utica) Tompkins County (including Erie County **Onondaga** County the city of Ithaca) Essex County Ontario County (including the Ulster County Franklin County cities of Canandaigua and Warren County (including the Fulton County (including the city of Glens Falls) Geneva) cities of Gloversville and **Orleans** County Washington County Oswego County (including the Wayne County Johnstown) city of Oswego; outside the Wyoming County Genesee County Greene County city of Fulton) Yates County

* Counties and cities located in the MCTD where the 3/8% MCTD tax does not apply.

Note:

Beginning September 1, 2005, a year-round exemption from the New York City local 4% tax imposed on sales and uses of clothing and footwear, and items used to make or repair exempt clothing, costing less than \$110 per item or pair will take effect. New York City is made up of the following counties, with borough names shown in parentheses: Bronx (Bronx), Kings (Brooklyn), New York (Manhattan), Queens (Queens), and Richmond (Staten Island).

During the seven-day exemption period described on page one, and a similar seven-day exemption period scheduled for Monday, January 30, 2006 through Sunday, February 5, 2006, purchases within New York City of eligible clothing and footwear, and items used to make or repair exempt clothing, will be exempt from the New York City local sales and use tax and will also be exempt from the 4% New York State sales and use tax and the 3/8% MCTD sales and use tax. Other than during the two seven-day exemption periods, purchases of all clothing and footwear and items used to make or repair clothing will continue to be subject to the 4% New York State sales and use tax and the 3/8% MCTD tax.

A separate Technical Services Bureau Memorandum (TSB-M) will be issued explaining in greater detail the New York City local tax exemption.