

Important:

The information on the state and/or local exemptions for clothing and footwear in this TSB-M is out-of-date and cannot be relied upon.

For the most up-to-date information on state and local sales and use tax rates on clothing and footwear, see <u>Find sales tax rates</u>.

For a detailed list of exempt and taxable items, see <u>Lists of Exempt and Taxable</u> Clothing, Footwear, and Items Used to Make or Repair Exempt Clothing.

The TSB-M begins on page 2 below.

New York State Department of Taxation and Finance Office of Tax Policy Analysis Technical Services Division

TSB-M-04(9.1)S Sales Tax December 22, 2004

Temporary Sales and Use Tax Exemption of Clothing and Footwear January 31, 2005, through February 6, 2005 (Exemption within counties and cities)

There will be an exemption from sales and use taxes for clothing and footwear, and items used to make or repair exempt clothing, **costing less than \$110 per item or pair**, during a one-week exemption period beginning Monday, January 31, 2005, through Sunday, February 6, 2005. For a detailed explanation of the exemption see TSB-M-04(9)S, *Temporary Sales and Use Tax Exemption of Clothing, Footwear, and Items Used to Make or Repair Exempt Clothing (One-week exemption period - January 31, 2005, through February 6, 2005).*

The exemption will apply to the State's 4¼ % sales and use taxes. The exemption also applies to the ¼ % sales and use taxes imposed by the State in those portions of the Metropolitan Commuter Transportation District (MCTD) located in a county or city in the MCTD which elected the exemption from its own local tax. The MCTD consists of New York City and the counties of Dutchess, Nassau, Orange, Putnam, Rockland, Suffolk and Westchester.

Clothing and footwear remain subject to the following county, city and MCTD taxes at the rate indicated for those counties and cities listed below. A list of counties and cities where no sales tax applies during the one-week exemption period is provided on page 2.

Counties whose taxes will apply

County	Rate during one-week exemption period
Lewis County	3¾ %
Nassau County*	4½ %
Orange County*	4 %
Putnam County*	31/4 %
Westchester County (outside the cities of Mount Vernon, New Rochelle,	
White Plains and Yonkers)*	31/4 %

^{*} Counties located in the MCTD where the 1/4 % MCTD tax applies.

New York State Department of Taxation and Finance Office of Tax Policy Analysis

Technical Services Division

TSB-M-04(9.1)S Sales Tax December 22, 2004

Rate during one-week

Cities whose taxes will apply

City (located in county)	<u>exemption period</u>
F.1. (0 G)	. ~
Fulton (Oswego County)	4 %
Mount Vernon (Westchester County)*	41/4 %
New Rochelle (Westchester County)*	41/4 %
Oswego (Oswego County)	4 %
Utica (Oneida County)	11/2 %
White Plains (Westchester County)*	3¾ %
Yonkers (Westchester County)*	41/4 %

^{*} Cities located in the MCTD where the $\frac{1}{4}$ % MCTD tax applies.

Counties and cities where no tax applies

Following is a list of counties and cities where the one-week exemption will apply to all State (including the MCTD ¼ % rate), county and city sales and use taxes, other than taxes of cities listed as "outside" after the county's name.

Albany County	Hamilton County	Rensselaer County
Allegany County	Herkimer County	Rockland County *
Broome County	Jefferson County	St. Lawrence County
Cattaraugus County	Livingston County	Saratoga County (including the
(including the cities of	Madison County (including the	city of Saratoga Springs)
Olean and Salamanca)	city of Oneida)	Schenectady County
Cayuga County (including the	Monroe County	Schoharie County
city of Auburn)	Montgomery County	Schuyler County
Chautauqua County	New York City * (includes	Seneca County
Chemung County	counties of Bronx, Kings	Steuben County (including the
Chenango County (including	[Brooklyn], New York	cities of Corning and
the city of Norwich)	[Manhattan], Queens, and	Hornell)
Clinton County	Richmond [Staten Island])	Suffolk County *
Columbia County	Niagara County	Sullivan County
Cortland County	Oneida County (including the	Tioga County
Delaware County	cities of Rome and Sherrill;	Tompkins County (including
Dutchess County *	outside the city of Utica)	the city of Ithaca)
Erie County	Onondaga County	Ulster County
Essex County	Ontario County (including the	Warren County (including the
Franklin County	cities of Canandaigua and	city of Glens Falls)
Fulton County (including the	Geneva)	Washington County
cities of Gloversville and	Orleans County	Wayne County
Johnstown)	Oswego County (outside the cities	Wyoming County
Genesee County	of Fulton and Oswego)	Yates County
Greene County	Otsego County	

^{*} Counties and cities located in the MCTD where the $\frac{1}{4}$ % MCTD tax is exempt.