

Important:

The information on the state and/or local exemptions for clothing and footwear in this TSB-M is out-of-date and cannot be relied upon.

For the most up-to-date information on state and local sales and use tax rates on clothing and footwear, see <u>Find sales tax rates</u>.

For a detailed list of exempt and taxable items, see <u>Lists of Exempt and Taxable</u> Clothing, Footwear, and Items Used to Make or Repair Exempt Clothing.

The TSB-M begins on page 2 below.

New York State Department of Taxation and Finance Office of Tax Policy Analysis Technical Services Division

TSB-M-04(5.1)S Sales Tax August 6, 2004

Temporary Sales and Use Tax Exemption on Clothing and Footwear August 31, 2004, through Labor Day, September 6, 2004 (Exemption within counties and cities)

There will be an exemption from sales and use taxes for clothing and footwear, and items used to make or repair exempt clothing, **costing less than \$110 per item or pair** during a one-week exemption period beginning Tuesday, August 31, 2004, through Labor Day, Monday, September 6, 2004. For a detailed explanation of the exemption see TSB-M-04(5)S, *Temporary Sales and Use Tax Exemption on Clothing, Footwear, and Items Used to Make or Repair Exempt Clothing* (One-week exemption period-August 31, 2004, through Labor Day, September 6, 2004).

The exemption will apply to the State's 41/4% sales and use taxes. The exemption also applies to the 1/4% sales and use taxes imposed by the State in any portion of the Metropolitan Commuter Transportation District (MCTD), where a county or city in the MCTD provided for an exemption from its own local tax. The MCTD consists of New York City and the counties of Dutchess, Nassau, Orange, Putnam, Rockland, Suffolk and Westchester.

Clothing and footwear remain subject to the following county, city and MCTD taxes at the rate indicated for those counties and cities listed below. A list of counties and cities where no sales tax applies during the one-week exemption period is provided on page 2.

Counties whose taxes will apply

<u>County</u>	exemption period
Essex County ¹	[See Footnote 1 below]
Lewis County	33/4%
Nassau County*	4½%
Orange County*	4%
Putnam County*	31/4%
Westchester County (outside the cities of Mount Vernon, New Rochell	le,
White Plains and Yonkers)*	31/4%

* Counties located in the MCTD

Rate during one-week

¹The rate in Essex County during the one-week exemption period is as follows: August 31, 2004: 3%; September 1 - September 6, 2004: 3¾%

TSB-M-04(5.1)S Sales Tax August 6, 2004

Rate during one-week

Cities whose taxes will apply

City (located in county)	exemption period
Fulton (Oswego County)	4%
Mount Vernon (Westchester County)*	41/4%
New Rochelle (Westchester County)*	41/4%
Oswego (Oswego County) ²	[See Footnote 2 below]
Salamanca (Cattaraugus County)	11/2%
Utica (Oneida County)	11/2%
White Plains (Westchester County)*	33/4%
Yonkers (Westchester County)*	41/4%

* Cities located in the MCTD

Counties and cities where no tax applies

Following is a list of counties and cities where the one-week exemption will apply to all State (including the MCTD 1/4% rate), county and city sales and use taxes, other than taxes of cities listed as "outside" after the county's name.

Albany County Herkimer County Allegany County Jefferson County **Broome County Livingston County** Cattaraugus County (including Madison County (including the city the city of Olean; outside of Oneida) the city of Salamanca) Monroe County Cayuga County (including the **Montgomery County** city of Auburn) New York City (includes Chautauqua County counties of Bronx, Kings **Chemung County** [Brooklyn], New York Chenango County (including Queens, [Manhattan], and the city of Norwich) Richmond [Staten Island]) **Clinton County** Niagara County Columbia County Oneida County (including the cities of Rome and Sherrill; outside **Cortland County Delaware County** the city of Utica) **Dutchess County *** Onondaga County Ontario County (including the **Erie County** Franklin County cities of Canandaigua and Fulton County (including the Geneva) cities of Gloversville and **Orleans County** Oswego County (outside the cities Johnstown) of Fulton and Oswego) Genesee County Otsego County **Greene County** Rensselaer County **Hamilton County**

Rockland County * St. Lawrence County Saratoga County (including the city of Saratoga Springs) **Schenectady County Schoharie County Schuyler County** Seneca County Steuben County (including the cities of Corning and Hornell) Suffolk County * **Sullivan County Tioga County** Tompkins County (including the city of Ithaca) **Ulster County** Warren County (including the city of Glens Falls) **Washington County** Wayne County **Wyoming County** Yates County

²The rate in the city of Oswego during the one-week exemption period is as follows: August 31, 2004: 3%; September 1st - September 6, 2004: 4%.

^{*} Counties and cities located in the MCTD