

#### Important:

The information on the state and/or local exemptions for clothing and footwear in this TSB-M is out-of-date and cannot be relied upon.

For the most up-to-date information on state and local sales and use tax rates on clothing and footwear, see <u>Find sales tax rates</u>.

For a detailed list of exempt and taxable items, see <u>Lists of Exempt and Taxable</u> Clothing, Footwear, and Items Used to Make or Repair Exempt Clothing.

The TSB-M begins on page 2 below.

### New York State Department of Taxation and Finance Office of Tax Policy Analysis

## Office of Tax Policy Analysis Technical Services Division

TSB-M-03(4.1)S Sales Tax July 30, 2003

# Temporary Sales and Use Tax Exemption on Clothing and Footwear August 26, 2003, through September 1, 2003 (Exemption within counties and cities)

There will be an exemption from sales and use taxes for clothing and footwear **costing less than \$110 per item** during the period Tuesday, August 26, 2003, through Monday, September 1, 2003. For a detailed explanation of the exemption see TSB-M-03(4)S, *Temporary Sales and Use Tax Exemptions on Clothing, Footwear, and Items Used to Make or Repair Exempt Clothing.* 

The exemption will apply to the state's 4¼% sales and use taxes. There is no exemption from the ¼% rate of tax imposed by the State in cities and counties located in the Metropolitan Commuter Transportation District (MCTD), unless the city or county in the MCTD provides an exemption from its own tax, in which case the exemption will also apply to the ¼% MCTD tax in that city or county. The MCTD consists of New York City and the counties of Dutchess, Nassau, Orange, Putnam, Rockland, Suffolk and Westchester.

Clothing and footwear remain subject to the following county, city and MCTD taxes at the rate indicated for those counties and cities listed below. A list of counties and cities where no tax applies during the seven-day exemption period beginning Tuesday, August 26, 2003, through Monday, September 1, 2003, is provided at the bottom of page 2.

#### **Counties whose taxes will apply**

<b>Locality</b>	Exemption Period
Cayuga County (outside the city of Auburn)	4%
Essex County	3%
Lewis County	3%
Livingston County	4%
Montgomery County	4%
Nassau County *	4½ %
Niagara County	4%
Oneida County (outside the cities of Rome, Sherrill, and Utica)	4%
Orange County *	31/4 %
Orleans County	4%
Putnam County *	31/4 %
Tioga County	31/2 %
Westchester County (outside the cities of Mount Vernon, New Rochell	le,
White Plains and Yonkers)*	2 3/4 %

#### \* Counties located in the MCTD

TSB-M-03(4.1)S Sales Tax July 30, 2003

**Rate During Seven-Day** 

#### Cities whose taxes will apply

<u>Locality</u>	<b>Exemption Period</b>
Auburn (Cayuga County)	4%
Johnstown (Fulton County)	1½ %
Mount Vernon (Westchester County) *	41/4 %
New Rochelle (Westchester County) *	41/4 %
Olean (Cattaraugus County)	1½ %
Oneida (Madison County)	1½ %
Oswego (Oswego County)	3%
Rome (Oneida County)	4%
Salamanca (Cattaraugus County)	1½ %
Sherrill (Oneida County)	4%
Utica (Oneida County)	4%
White Plains (Westchester County) *	3¾ %
Yonkers (Westchester County) *	41/4 %

#### \* Cities located in the MCTD

#### **Counties and Cities Where No Tax Applies**

Following is a list of counties and cities where the temporary exemption during the period Tuesday, August 26, 2003, through Monday, September 1, 2003, will apply to all State (including the MCTD ¼ % rate), county and city taxes, other than taxes of cities listed as "outside" after the county's name.

Albany County	Hamilton County	St. Lawrence County
Allegany County	Herkimer County	Saratoga County (including city
Broome County	Jefferson County	of Saratoga Springs)
Cattaraugus County (outside	Madison County (outside the	Schenectady County
cities of Olean and	city of Oneida)	Schoharie County
Salamanca)	Monroe County	Schuyler County
Chautaugua County	New York City * (includes	Seneca County
Chemung County	counties of Bronx, Kings	Steuben County (including cities
Chenango County (including the	[Brooklyn], New York	of Corning and Hornell)
city of Norwich)	[Manhattan], Queens, and	Suffolk County *
Clinton County	Richmond [Staten Island])	Sullivan County
Columbia County	Onondaga County	Tompkins County (including
Cortland County	Ontario County (including	city of Ithaca)
Delaware County	cities of Canandaigua and	Ulster County
Dutchess County *	Geneva)	Warren County (including city
Erie County	Oswego County (including city	of Glens Falls)
Franklin County	of Fulton; outside city of	Washington County
Fulton County (including city	Oswego)	Wayne County
of Gloversville; outside city	Otsego County	Wyoming County
of Johnstown)	Rensselaer County	Yates County
Genesee County	Rockland County *	

<sup>\*</sup> Counties and cities located in the MCTD

Greene County