New York State Department of Taxation and Finance

Taxpayer Services Division Technical Services Bureau

TSB-M-86 (13.1) Corporation Tax (5.1) Income Tax (20.1) Sales Tax September 8, 1987

Economic Development Zones Zone Designation

Chapter 686 of the Laws of 1986 authorized the creation of economic development zones in various cities, counties, towns and villages within New York State. The zone designation board has designated the first 10 of such zones:

- Bronx (Port Morris section), Bronx County
- Brooklyn (East New York), Kings County
- Gloversville, Fulton County
- Islip, Suffolk County
- Lackawanna, Erie County
- Ogdensburg, St. Lawrence County
- Olean/Allegany, Cattaraugus County
- Queens (South Jamaica section), Queens County
- Syracuse, Onondaga County
- Troy, Rensselaer County

Sites designated by the board are generally of a few hundred acres in the 10 locations, and not the entire communities.

Taxpayers in the zone sites may qualify for a utility tax credit, higher state investment tax credit, higher employment incentive tax credit, credit for certain wages, credit or refund of state and local sales taxes on construction materials and the chance for local property tax breaks. A credit is also available for investment in a zone capital corporation (whether or not the investor is located in the EDZ).

The local zone administrator of each of the designated areas should be contacted for local tax incentives. Detailed information of the available state tax credits may be obtained from Technical Services Bureau memorandum

TSB-M-86(13)	Corporation Tax
(5)	Income Tax
(20)	Sales Tax

Taxpayers qualifying for the special considerations for business in economic development zones must be relocating from out of state into the economic development zone or expanding into zone areas from other locations in New York State. Businesses cannot merely move their operations from another part of the state into zone areas and qualify under the program.