# New York State Department of Taxation and Finance Taxpayer Services Division Technical Services Bureau

TSB-M-94(12)M Article 21 December 30, 1994

## Tax Law Changes Relating To Motor Carriers

The highway use tax (both the fuel use tax and the truck mileage tax) and the Article 13-A petroleum business tax have been amended to provide benefits to motor carriers.

For returns covering periods beginning January 1, 1995, the full amount of the fuel use tax paid on motor fuel and diesel motor fuel purchased in New York State but consumed outside the state is refundable. Previously, only the fuel tax component of the fuel use tax was refundable. To obtain a refund, file Form MT-907, *Claim for Fuel Use Tax Refund*, within two years of the end of the reporting period in which the tax was paid. Refund claims may be filed no more frequently than quarterly. The quarters are: January through March, April through June, July through September and October through December.

Beginning January 1, 1995, for mileage traveled on the New York State Thruway, the truck mileage tax is reduced by 50%. For example, if a carrier elects to use the unloaded weight method, the rate of tax for mileage traveled on the Thruway by a truck with an unloaded weight of 20,000 pounds is reduced from 1.4 cents per mile to .7 cents per mile. Beginning January 1, 1996, the truck mileage tax for Thruway miles is scheduled to be eliminated entirely. Revised 1995 reporting forms will be sent to taxpayers in time for filing.

## **Attention Interstate Carriers**

The Tax Law has been amended to add a new Article 21-A, effective January 1, 1996. Beginning in 1996, Article 21 will impose the truck mileage tax, and Article 21-A will impose the fuel use tax. This change was made to allow New York State to enter into the International Fuel Tax Agreement (IFTA). Tax reporting under IFTA for New York State carriers will begin January 1, 1996. IFTA is currently in effect in many states.

TSB-M-94(12)M Article 21 December 30, 1994

The agreement provides for the reporting and payment of all fuel use taxes due on motor vehicles operating in interstate commerce to a single base state. The taxes due are reported and paid on a single return and the base state is then responsible for distributing the taxes collected to the various member states. Additional information will be made available in the fall of 1995.

### **NEED HELP?**

**For forms or publications,** call toll free (from New York State only) 1 800 462-8100. From areas outside New York State, call (518) 438-1073.

**For information**, call the Business Tax Information Center toll free (within continental U.S. only) 1 800 972-1233. You can also call toll free (from New York State only) 1 800 CALL TAX (1 800 225-5829). From areas outside New York State, call (518) 438-8581.

#### Telephone assistance is available from 8:30 a.m. to 4:25 p.m., Monday through Friday.

**Hotline for the Hearing and Speech Impaired** - If you have a hearing or speech impairment and have access to a telecommunications device for the deaf (TDD), you can get answers to your New York State tax questions by calling toll-free (within continental U.S. only) 1 800 634-2110. Hours of operation are from 8:30 a.m. to 4:15 p.m., Monday through Friday. If you do not own a TDD, check with independent living centers or community action programs to find out where machines are available for public use.

**If you need to write**, address your letter to: NYS TAX DEPARTMENT, TAXPAYER ASSISTANCE BUREAU, W A Harriman Campus, Albany NY 12227.

**Persons with Disabilities** - In compliance with the Americans with Disabilities Act, we will ensure that our lobbies, offices, meeting rooms and other facilities are accessible to persons with disabilities. If you have questions about special accommodations for persons with disabilities, please call the information and assistance numbers listed above.