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New York State Tax Requirements for Retailers That Make Roll-Your-Own 
Cigarette/Tobacco Machines Available to Customers 

This TSB-M provides guidance regarding the impact of federal legislation 
regarding roll-your-own cigarette/tobacco machines on the cigarette and 
tobacco products taxes imposed by Article 20 of the Tax Law. 

Under recent federal legislation, a manufacturer of tobacco products includes any person 
who for commercial purposes makes available for consumer use a machine capable of making 
tobacco products (including cigarettes). Retailers must obtain a federal permit before engaging in 
this business, and must meet other bonding, recordkeeping, reporting, and inventory 
requirements.  See Notice on Sixth Circuit Court Decision on Roll-Your-Own Cigarette 
Machines at www.ttb.gov. 

In addition to these federal requirements and any other state and local provisions that 
apply, if you operate a retail establishment in New York State that makes a roll-your-own 
cigarette/tobacco machine (RYO machine) available to your customers, you must comply with 
the following requirements for the purposes of Article 20 of the Tax Law. 

Cigarette stamping agent requirements 

If your RYO machine is used for making cigarettes, you must be licensed as a cigarette 
stamping agent and you must purchase and affix cigarette tax stamps to the packages of 
cigarettes that you sell.  (You must also be registered as a retail dealer of cigarette and tobacco 
products.) 

To apply for a cigarette stamping agent license, file Form CG-100-A, Application for 
License as a Cigarette Agent or Agent/Wholesaler. You must include a nonrefundable 
application fee of $1,500, and if you intend to purchase cigarette tax stamps on credit, you will 
have to file a credit bond. For additional requirements, see Form CG-100-A-I. 

Once licensed, you must file a monthly report, Form CG-6, Resident Agent Cigarette Tax 
Report. 

You must annually file Form CG-213, Cigarette Stamping Agent Certification of 
Compliance with Tax Law Article 20. For instructions, see Form CG-213-I. 

Master settlement agreement 

As a manufacturer of cigarettes, you must annually certify that you are in compliance 
with the Master Settlement Agreement (Tobacco Escrow Funds Act) on Form CG-30, 
Certification of Tobacco Master Settlement Agreement Status. For instructions, see 
Form CG-30-I. 
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If you do not file Form CG-30 and any necessary attachments when required, you may 
not affix tax stamps or sell cigarettes produced by the RYO machine.  In addition, you may also 
have to pay a penalty of $5,000, and the Tax Department may suspend or cancel any license 
issued to you under Article 20 of the Tax Law. 

Fire safety standards 

You may not affix tax stamps or sell any cigarettes produced by the RYO machine unless 
the cigarettes meet fire safety standards and have been certified and marked FSC (fire standards 
compliant). See TSB-M-06(8.1)M, Clarification of Fire Safety Provisions for Sales of Cigarettes 
as of August 16, 2007. 

Distributor of tobacco products requirements 

If your RYO machine is used for making cigars, you must request appointment as a 
distributor of tobacco products. To apply, file Form MT-202, Application for a License as a 
Wholesale Dealer of Tobacco Products or an Appointment as a Distributor of Tobacco Products. 
For instructions, see Form MT-202-I. 

Once appointed, you must file a monthly return, Form MT-203, Distributor of Tobacco 
Products Tax Return. For instructions, see Form MT-203-I. 

Enforcement 

You may not make your RYO machine available to customers unless all federal, state, 
and local requirements are met. 

The Tax Department may impose a penalty of up to 30% of the tax due if you file a late 
return or fail to timely pay the tax due.   

Your inventory may be seized and you may owe additional penalties if you possess 
unstamped or unlawfully stamped cigarettes or untaxed tobacco products. See TSB-M-03(1)M, 
Enforcement Provisions Regarding the Sale, Shipment, and Possession of Cigarettes and 
Tobacco Products in New York State. 

NOTE: A TSB-M is an informational statement of existing department policies or of 
changes to the law, regulations, or department policies.  It is accurate on the date 
issued.  Subsequent changes in the law or regulations, judicial decisions, Tax 
Appeals Tribunal decisions, or changes in department policies could affect the 
validity of the information presented in a TSB-M. 
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