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Important 

The Alcoholic Beverages Tax information in this document is outdated and 
provided only for historical purposes. 

For up-to-date information, see Alcoholic beverages tax. 

This TSB-M begins on page 2 below. 
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Brewer's Exemption Declared Unconstitutional 

 
 

This TSB-M explains the effect of the court’s order nullifying   
the brewer’s exemption for sales on or after March 28, 2012. 

 
 
 On March 28, 2012, the New York State Supreme Court, in Shelton v. NYS Liquor 
Authority & NYS Department of Taxation and Finance, issued an order that declared certain 
provisions of the Alcoholic Beverage Control Law and Tax Law unconstitutional and of no force 
and effect. 
 
 The court’s order nullified section 424(6) of the Tax Law, which provided an alcoholic 
beverages tax exemption for the first 6.2 million gallons of beer brewed in New York and sold or 
used in New York in a calendar year by a distributor whose principal executive office is located 
in New York.  As a result, the brewer's exemption is no longer applicable for sales or uses of 
beer in New York State on or after March 28, 2012, and distributors are subject to a tax of 
14 cents per gallon on all beer sold or used in New York State, and an additional tax of 12 cents 
per gallon on all beer sold or used in New York City (unless another exemption applies). 
 
Forms and instructions 
 
 The Tax Department is revising forms and instructions to reflect this change. 
 
 When completing Form MT-50, Beer Tax Return (line 14), and Form MT-53, 
Schedule E, New York City Beer and Similar Fermented Malt Beverages (line 5), do not include 
any beer sold on or after March 28, 2012, in determining the brewer’s exemption.  If you file 
monthly, you may only claim the exemption for sales completed or uses made between 
March 1, 2012, and March 27, 2012, on your March 2012 return, filed April 20, 2012.  If you file 
annually, you may only claim the exemption for sales completed or uses made between 
January 1, 2012, and March 27, 2012, on your annual return, filed January 20, 2013. 
 
 
 

NOTE: A TSB-M is an informational statement of existing department policies or of 
changes to the law, regulations, or department policies.  It is accurate on the date 
issued.  Subsequent changes in the law or regulations, judicial decisions, Tax 
Appeals Tribunal decisions, or changes in department policies could affect the 
validity of the information presented in a TSB-M. 


