New York State Department of Taxation and Finance

Special Fuel Tax Return for

Unregistered Distributors

(Hurricane Sandy Recovery Period)
Tax Law — Articles 12-A, 13-A, and 28

For the month of November, 2012

For office use only
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Legal name EIN or SSN

Business telephone number

C )

DBA (doing business as) name

Business address (number and street)

City State ZIP code
Attach your check or money order payable to: Commissioner of Taxation and Finance.
Enter the amount of your remittance here (from liN€ 3 DEIOW) ............uuuuiieecuieeiieeeiiiieeeeeciiee e |
A B C
Motor fuel Diesel motor fuel Totals
1 Gallons sold or used in New York State (enter in both columns Aand B)| 1
2 TAX FAEC. et 2 0.406 0.388
3 Tax (multiply line 1 by the rate on line 2; enter total in column C) ....... 31 | | | |
. Designee’s name (print Designee’s phone number
T po [ Yes L] o [ | "0 CY
(See instructions) esignee’s e-mall aadress PIN ]_|_|_|_|_

Certification: | certify that the above statements are true, complete, and correct, and that no material information has been omitted. | file
these returns with the knowledge that willfully providing false or fraudulent information with the intent to evade tax may constitute a felony or
other crime under New York State Law, punishable by a substantial fine and possible jail sentence. | also understand that the Tax Department
is authorized to investigate the validity of any information entered on this document.

Signature of authorized person

Authorized

Official title

person E-mail address of authorized person

Date

Instructions

General information

As part of the recovery and relief efforts related to Hurricane Sandy,
Governor Cuomo issued Executive Order No. 54 suspending the
registration, licensing, certification, manifest, and record-keeping
requirements for distributors and transporters for the period
November 1 through November 30, 2012. Fuel dealers are required to
pass through the applicable taxes to their customers. These include
the excise tax (Article 12-A), petroleum business tax (Article 13-A),
and the prepaid sales tax (Article 28). See Important Notice N-12-13,
Suspension of Tax Provisions for Fuel Distributors and Transporters in
Response to Hurricane Sandy.

Who must file

Fuel dealers who bring fuel into New York State (NYS) and are not
currently registered with the NYS Tax Department as distributors of
motor fuel or diesel motor fuel must file this special return to remit the
applicable taxes for each gallon of fuel sold or used in NYS.

When to file

Form FT-959 is due on December 20, 2012, and covers the filing period
for the month of November 2012.

Taxpayer information section

Enter your legal name, federal employer identification number (EIN)
(or, if not applicable, your social security number (SSN)), DBA name (if
different from legal name), business telephone number and business
address.

Fee for payments returned by banks — The law allows the Tax
Department to charge a $50 fee when a check, money order, or
electronic payment is returned by a bank for nonpayment. However, if
an electronic payment is returned as a result of an error by the bank or
the department, the department won’t charge the fee. If your payment is
returned, we will send a separate bill for $50 for each return or other tax
document associated with the return payment.

Where to file

Mail completed return and remittance to: NYS TAX DEPARTMENT
PO BOX 1833
ALBANY NY 12201-1833

Private delivery services

If you choose, you may use a private delivery service, instead of the
U.S. Postal Service, to mail in your form and tax payment. However,
if, at a later date, you need to establish the date you filed or paid your
tax, you cannot use the date recorded by a private delivery service
unless you used a delivery service that has been designated by

the U.S. Secretary of the Treasury or the Commissioner of Taxation
and Finance. (Currently designated delivery services are listed in
Publication 55, Designated Private Delivery Services. See Need help?
for information on obtaining forms and publications.) If you have used
a designated private delivery service and need to establish the date
you filed your form, contact that private delivery service for instructions
on how to obtain written proof of the date your form was given to the
delivery service for delivery. If you use any private delivery service,
whether it is a designated service or not, send the forms to the
appropriate address listed in Publication 55.



Page 2 of 2 FT-959 (11/12)

Third-party designee

If you want to authorize another person (third-party designee) to discuss
this tax return with the NYS Tax Department, mark an X in the Yes box
in the Third-party designee area of your return. Also print the designee’s
name, phone number, and any five-digit number the designee chooses
as his or her personal identification number (PIN). You cannot change
the PIN. If you do not want to authorize another person, mark an X in
the No box.

If you mark the Yes box, you are authorizing the Tax Department to
discuss with the designee any questions that may arise during the
processing of your return. You are also authorizing the designee to:

e give the Tax Department any information that is missing from your
return;

e call the Tax Department for information about the processing of your
return or the status of your refund or payment(s); and

e respond to certain Tax Department notices that you shared with the
designee about math errors, offsets, and return preparation. The
notices will not be sent to the designee.

You are not authorizing the designee to receive your refund, bind you
to anything (including any additional tax liability), or otherwise represent
you before the Tax Department. If you want the designee to perform
those services for you, you must file Form POA-1, Power of Attorney,
making that designation with the Tax Department. Copies of statutory
tax notices or documents (such as a Notice of Deficiency) will only be
sent to your designee if you file Form POA-1.

Certification

The return must be signed and dated by the owner (if an individual);
a partner (if a partnership); or by the president, treasurer, chief
accounting officer, or any other person authorized to act on behalf of
the corporation (if a corporation). The fact that an individual’s name
is signed on the certification shall be prima facie evidence that the
individual is authorized to sign and certify the return on behalf of the
business.

Privacy notification

The Commissioner of Taxation and Finance may collect and maintain
personal information pursuant to the New York State Tax Law, including
but not limited to, sections 5-a, 171, 171-a, 287, 308, 429, 475, 505,
697, 1096, 1142, and 1415 of that Law; and may require disclosure of
social security numbers pursuant to 42 USC 405(c)(2)(C)(i)-

This information will be used to determine and administer tax liabilities
and, when authorized by law, for certain tax offset and exchange of tax
information programs as well as for any other lawful purpose.

Information concerning quarterly wages paid to employees is provided
to certain state agencies for purposes of fraud prevention, support
enforcement, evaluation of the effectiveness of certain employment and
training programs and other purposes authorized by law.

Failure to provide the required information may subject you to civil or
criminal penalties, or both, under the Tax Law.

This information is maintained by the Manager of Document
Management, NYS Tax Department, W A Harriman Campus, Albany NY
12227; telephone (518) 457-5181.

Need help?

@ Internet access: www.tax.ny.gov
(for information, forms, and publications)

Miscellaneous Tax Information Center:  (518) 457-5735
To order forms and publications: (518) 457-5431
&2 Text Telephone (TTY) Hotline

(for persons with hearing and
speech disabilities using a TTY): (518) 485-5082




