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General information

The Empire State Apprenticeship Tax Credit Program provides a
tax credit to certified employers in New York State for employing
qualified apprentices. The New York State Department of Labor
administers the program.

For tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2018, the Empire
State apprenticeship tax credit is available to employers who are
certified by the Department of Labor.

To participate in this program, you must submit a completed
application to the Department of Labor by December 31 of each
year you want to participate.

If your application is approved, the Department of Labor will
issue a preliminary certificate of eligibility. To receive a final
certificate of tax credit that includes the amount of credit you
may claim for the year, you must submit a final annual report
to the Department of Labor to verify that you have met all the
eligibility requirements.

For more information about the program and application
process, visit Empire State Apprenticeship Tax Credit or visit the
Department of Labor website at dol.ny.gov.

Eligibility
To be eligible for this credit, you must meet the following
requirements:

» you are subject to tax under Tax Law Article 9-A or 22;

» you have received a final certificate of tax credit or a share
of the credit listed on the final certificate issued by the
Department of Labor.

If an apprentice is the basis for any other tax credit, the certified
employer is not allowed a tax credit for that apprentice.

If a disadvantaged youth begins an apprenticeship before the
age of 25, you are eligible to continue to receive the tax credit
until that apprentice completes the apprenticeship.

Definitions

A qualified employer means an employer that has or participates
in an approved registered apprenticeship program.

A certified employer means a qualified employer that has
received a final certificate of tax credit from the Department of
Labor after the Commissioner of Labor has determined that the
qualified employer has fulfilled all the required eligibility criteria
to participate in the Empire State Apprenticeship Tax Credit
Program under Labor Law section 25-c.

A participating employer means a qualified employer that has
applied to participate in the Empire State Apprenticeship Tax
Credit Program and received a preliminary certificate of eligibility
from the Department of Labor.

A qualified apprentice means an individual employed by a
participating employer in a full-time position (at least 35 hours
per week) for at least six months of a calendar year pursuant to
a qualified apprenticeship agreement with a qualified employer.

A disadvantaged youth means an individual who is between the
ages of 16 and 24 when the youth begins the apprenticeship and
who is low income or at risk as defined by the Commissioner of
Labor. For details on the definition of a disadvantaged youth,
visit https://dol.ny.gov/apprenticeship/options-apprenticeship-
program-sponsors and select ESATC Fact Sheet.

A mentor means an individual who provides instruction,
guidance, and support to the apprentice on a regular basis
throughout the apprentice’s completion of the apprenticeship, as
the apprentice seeks employment in the field or industry of the
apprenticeship.

Credit details

The base credit is equal to:

Year of Credit amount | Credit amount per
apprenticeship | per apprentice | disadvantaged youth
apprentice

1st year $2,000 $5,000

2nd year $3,000 $6,000

3rd year $4,000 $7,000

4th year $5,000 $7,000

5th year $6,000 $7,000

If an apprentice has been trained in their trade by a mentor for
the entire calendar year, the base credit amounts in the above
table will be increased by $500.

If you are a certified employer, the credit allowed cannot be
greater than the amount of credit listed on the final certificate of
tax credit issued by the Department of Labor.

If you are a partner in a partnership, member of a limited liability
company (LLC), or shareholder of an S corporation, the credit
allowed cannot be greater than your share of the credit listed on
the final certificate of tax credit issued to the partnership, LLC, or
S corporation.

If you do not use the full amount of the credit against your

tax liability this year, you may request a refund or apply the
overpayment to next year’s tax. However, the Tax Department
will not pay interest on the refund or overpayment.

How to claim the credit

Claim only the credit for the tax year shown on the final
certificate of tax credit. If your tax year is a fiscal year, claim the
credit on the fiscal year return that includes the last day of the
calendar year covered by the final certificate of tax credit.

Individuals must file Form IT-650 with their personal income tax
return. Individuals includes:

¢ an individual;

 a beneficiary or fiduciary of an estate or trust;

» a partner in a partnership (including members of an LLC that
is treated as a partnership for federal tax purposes); or

» a shareholder of an S corporation.

An estate or trust that divides the credit among itself and

its beneficiaries must submit Form IT-650 with Form IT-205,
Fiduciary Income Tax Return, showing each beneficiary’s share
of the credit.

A partnership must file Form IT-650 with Form IT-204,
Partnership Return, showing the total credit.

A New York S corporation does not file Form IT-650. It must
file Form CT-650, Empire State Apprenticeship Tax Credit. If you
are a shareholder of an S corporation, obtain your share of the
Empire State apprenticeship tax credit from the S corporation
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and follow the instructions on this form to claim the credit on
your personal income tax return.

Line instructions

Line A: Mark an X in the appropriate box to determine the parts
of this form you need to complete. If you are claiming this credit
both as an individual (sole proprietor), partnership, or fiduciary
of an estate or trust that earned the credit and as a partner,
shareholder, or beneficiary receiving a share of the credit, mark
an X in the Yes box and complete all appropriate schedules on
one Form IT-650.

Individuals (including sole proprietors) and partnerships:
Complete lines A through I, and Schedules A and D.

A married couple in a business enterprise that made an

IRC 761(f) election to file two federal Schedule C forms
instead of a partnership return: If you file jointly, calculate
your credit as if you were filing one federal Schedule C for the
business. Complete lines A through |, and Schedules A and D.

Fiduciary: Complete lines A through |, and Schedules A, C,
and D.

Partner in a partnership, shareholder of a New York
S corporation, and beneficiary of an estate or trust:
Complete Schedules B and D.

Note: If more than one set of instructions applies to you,
complete all of the appropriate parts of the form on one
Form IT-650.

Additional forms: If you have more entries than will fit on

the lines provided in Schedule B or C, submit additional

Forms IT-650, completing only the necessary schedules. Include
your name and taxpayer identification number on each form.

On the indicated lines of the first Form IT-650, include the totals
from all additional Forms IT-650. Place the extra forms behind
the first Form IT-650 and submit them with your return.

Schedule A: Individual (including sole
proprietor), partnership, and estate or trust

Line 1: Enter the total amount from the final certificate of tax

credit issued by the Department of Labor and submit a copy of
the certificate, including Part A. The amount you enter cannot
exceed the amount shown on your final certificate of tax credit.

Schedule B: Partner’s, shareholder’s, or
beneficiary’s share of credit

Enter the appropriate information for each partnership, New
York S corporation, or estate or trust from which you received a
share of the credit. Obtain your share of the credit and certificate
number from each. If needed, see Additional forms.

Enter Schedule C: Beneficiary’s and fiduciary’s
share of credit

An estate or trust must complete Schedule C. If an estate or
trust allocates or assigns the credit to its beneficiaries, it must
base the division on each beneficiary’s proportionate share of
the income of the estate or trust. Provide the beneficiaries with
their share of the credit. If needed, see Additional forms.

Schedule D: Computation of credit
Complete lines 6, 7, and 8 (whichever apply to you).

Fiduciaries: Do not enter any amounts on line 6 or 7.

Line 9: Enter the amount and code 650 as follows:
* Form IT-201-ATT, line 12

* Form IT-203-ATT, line 12

e Form IT-204, line 147

* Form IT-205, include the amount on line 33




