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Packet

This packet contains:

— Form ET-90 New York State Estate Tax Return

— Form ET-90.1 New York State Estate Tax Return Schedules A - D

— Form ET-90.2 New York State Estate Tax Return Schedules E - G

— Form ET-90.3 New York State Estate Tax Return Schedules H - L

— Form ET-90.4 New York State Estate Tax Return Schedules M - N

— Form ET-14 Estate Tax Power of Attorney

— Form ET-130 Tentative Payment of Estate Tax

— Form ET-133 Application for Extension of Time To File and/or Pay Estate Tax

— Form ET-417-D Computation of the Family-Owned Business Interests Deduction

— Form ET-418 Computation of Qualified Conservation Easement Exclusion

— Instructions for the forms listed above

Note: Use Form ET-706 and its instructions (Form ET-706-I) instead of Form ET-90
for the estate of a decedent whose date of death is on or after February 1, 2000

1999 estate tax changes
Chapter 407, Laws of 1999, enacted August 9, 1999, brought about the following changes:

• Federal conformity updated
New York State estate tax conformed to the 1986
Internal Revenue Code (IRC) as amended through
July 22, 1998.

• Deduction for family-owned business
The estate of an individual whose date of death is
after December 31, 1997, and before February 1,
2000, may elect to deduct the value of property
attributable to the decedent’s interest in a family-
owned business. The maximum deduction is
$675,000. The estate of an individual who died after
December 31, 1997, and before September 9,
1999, may elect either the deduction or the
exclusion for a family-owned business.

• Qualified conservation easement exclusion
The time allowed to elect the qualified conservation
easement exclusion has changed. The exclusion
must be elected on or before the due date, or
extended due date, for filing the estate tax return.

• Estates of individuals electing installment
payments under IRC section 6166
If an estate includes partnership interests,
non-readily tradeable stock, or holding company
stock, and any of these assets are used to meet the
35% rule, the special 2% interest rate does not apply.
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1997 estate and gift tax changes

Chapter 577, Laws of 1997, enacted September 10, 1997, eliminated the $25 fee to process a release of the estate tax lien.
The fee is eliminated for applications received on or after September 11, 1997.

Chapter 389, Laws of 1997, enacted August 7, 1997, brought about the following changes:

• Increase in the maximum unified credit
The maximum unified credit for estate tax is increased
from $2,950 to $10,000 for the estate of an individual
whose date of death is on or after October 1, 1998, and
before February 1, 2000. A similar increase in the
maximum unified credit for gift tax is applicable to gifts
made in 1999. The gift tax is repealed after 1999.

• Increase in the estate tax filing threshold
The estate tax filing threshold is increased from $115,000
to $300,000 for the estate of an individual whose date of
death is on or after October 1, 1998, and before
February 1, 2000.

For the estate of an individual whose date of death is on
or after February 1, 2000, the filing threshold is
essentially the same as the federal threshold, or
$675,000 in 2000, increasing periodically to $1,000,000
in 2006.

• Estate tax tied to the federal credit for state death
taxes
For the estate of an individual whose date of death is on
or after February 1, 2000, the amount of the New York

State estate tax will be determined by computing the
federal credit for state death taxes on the federal
adjusted taxable estate.

• Change of date for payment of estate tax
For the estate of an individual whose date of death is on
or after October 1, 1998, and before February 1, 2000,
the time for payment of the tax without interest is
changed from six months to seven months after the date
of death.

For the estate of an individual whose date of death is on
or after February 1, 2000, the due date for payment of
the tax is nine months after the date of death, and
interest on underpayments is computed from that date.

• Elimination of estate tax waivers
The estate of an individual whose date of death is on or
after February 1, 2000, will not have to obtain estate tax
waivers before transferring assets of the decedent held by
banks, brokers, insurance companies, and other
institutions.

1998 estate tax changes
Chapter 56, Laws of 1998, enacted April 28, 1998, brought about the following changes:

• Federal conformity updated
New York State estate tax conformed to the 1986 Internal
Revenue Code (IRC), as amended through August 5,
1997, and is generally applicable to the estate of an
individual whose date of death is on or after
January 1, 1998.

• Exclusion for family-owned business
The estate of an individual whose date of death is on or
after January 1, 1998, and before February 1, 2000, may
elect to exclude the value of property attributable to the
decedent’s interest in a family-owned business, that is
includable in the New York gross estate. The maximum
amount that may be excluded is $675,000 for 1998,
$650,000 for 1999, and $625,000 for 2000.

• Exclusion for qualified conservation easement
The estate of an individual whose date of death is on or
after January 1, 1998, and before February 1, 2000, may
elect to exclude the value of a qualified conservation
easement on land that is includable in the New York
gross estate. The maximum amount that may be
excluded is $100,000 for 1998, $200,000 for 1999, and
$300,000 for 2000.

• Exclusion for certain payments made to a victim of
Nazi persecution
An exclusion from the New York gross estate is provided
for certain payments made to a victim of Nazi persecution,
or his or her family.

Note: For 1994 and 1995 estate and gift tax changes, see the inside back cover.



3General information
For the latest New York State tax information,
including facts that may affect your New York
State estate tax return, visit our Web site at
http://www.tax.state.ny.us.

Introduction
Article 26 of the New York State Tax Law
imposes an estate tax on the transfer of the
New York taxable assets of a deceased
individual. It is a tax levied, at graduated rates,
on the entire taxable estate rather than on the
distributive shares received by each recipient of
property.

The New York estate tax law as amended on
August 9, 1999, conforms, with modifications, to
the estate tax provisions of the federal Internal
Revenue Code (IRC) of 1986 and all
amendments enacted on or before July 22, 1998.

The New York adjusted gross estate and total
New York deductions are the same as the total
federal gross estate and the total federal
deductions, with certain modifications (see
instructions for lines 63 through 74).

The New York adjusted gross estate is valued
either as of the date of death or the alternate
valuation date (see Alternate valuation on page 6
of these instructions).

If the estate is required to file a federal estate tax
return, a copy of the federal return, Form 706,
must be submitted with Form ET-90, New York
State Estate Tax Return (see Completing
Form ET-90 on page 5 of these instructions.)

The New York adjusted taxable estate is
determined by subtracting the amount of
deductions authorized by the statute from the
value of the adjusted gross estate. Different
provisions of the statute control the determination
of the net tax liability for estates of New York
residents and estates of nonresidents. The
decedent’s domicile is the controlling factor in
determining residency.

Need help?
Telephone assistance is available from 8:30
a.m. to 4:25 p.m. (eastern time), Monday through
Friday. For estate tax information, call toll free
1 800 641-0004. If busy, call 1 800 225-5829. To
order forms and publications, call toll free
1 800 462-8100. From areas outside the U.S.
and outside Canada, call (518) 485-6800.

Fax-on-demand forms ordering system:  Most
forms are available by fax 24 hours a day, 7 days
a week. Call toll free from the U.S. and Canada
1 800 748-3676. You must use a Touch-Tone
phone to order by fax. A fax code is used to
identify each form.

Internet access: http://www.tax.state.ny.us

Access our Web site for forms, publications, and
information.

Hotline for the hearing and speech impaired:
If you have access to a telecommunications
device for the deaf (TDD), you can get answers
to your New York State tax questions by calling
toll free from the U.S. and Canada
1 800 634-2110. Assistance is available from
8:30 a.m. to 4:25 p.m. (eastern time), Monday
through Friday. If you do not own a TDD, check
with independent living centers or community
action programs to find out where machines are
available for public use.

Persons with disabilities: In compliance with
the Americans with Disabilities Act, we will
ensure that our lobbies, offices, meeting rooms,
and other facilities are accessible to persons with
disabilities. If you have questions about special
accommodations for persons with disabilities,
please call the information numbers listed above.

Mailing address: If you need to write, address
your letter to: NYS Tax Department, Taxpayer
Assistance Bureau, W A Harriman Campus,
Albany NY 12227.

Which estates must file
Form ET-90
Reminder: For a date of death on February 1,
2000 or later, there are major changes in the
New York State estate tax, including:

• filing threshold indexed to the federal filing
requirement

• lower tax rates equal to the federal credit for
state death taxes

• a new Form ET-706, New York State Estate
Tax Return, to replace Form ET-90

Refer to the instructions, Form ET-706-I, for
more information.

New York State residents
The estate of every individual who was a resident
of New York State at the time of death must file a
New York State estate tax return if the aggregate
of the New York adjusted gross estate and New
York adjusted taxable gifts is equal to or greater
than the following amounts:

Filing required if
date of death is and aggregate amount
on or after: is at least:

 May 26, 1990 $108,333

 June 10, 1994 $115,000

 October 1, 1998 $300,000

 February 1, 2000 Not applicable; see above

New York State nonresidents
When the estate of an individual who was not a
resident of New York State at the time of death
(including a nonresident who is not a citizen of
the United States) includes real or tangible
personal property having an actual situs in
New York State, the estate must file a New York
State estate tax return with the Tax Department if
the aggregate of the New York adjusted gross
estate, computed as if a resident (all property,
wherever located), and the New York adjusted
taxable gifts, is equal to or greater than the
amounts listed above for a resident.

Ancillary probate
The estate of a person who was not domiciled in
New York State at the time of his or her death
should obtain a waiver of citation from the Tax
Department before petitioning a surrogate’s court
in New York State for ancillary probate or
ancillary letters. To obtain a waiver of citation,
mail the following items to the Tax Department at
the address shown below the list:
1. a copy of decedent’s will (if one exists);
2. a copy of death certificate;
3. an original or verified copy of the petition for

probate or administration in intestacy, filed
with the surrogate’s court (or similar court of
jurisdiction) in the state of domicile, setting
forth the assets of the estate;

4. a copy of the proposed ancillary probate
petition;

5. a Form ET-20,  Stipulation Reserving
Domicile (in triplicate); and

6. a completed Form ET-141, Estate Tax
Domicile Affidavit.

Mail to: NYS TAX DEPARTMENT
ESTATE TAX - 855
W A HARRIMAN CAMPUS
ALBANY NY 12227

The estate may then file the waiver of citation
with the surrogate’s court when the petition for
ancillary probate or ancillary letters is filed,
without citing the Tax Department as an
interested party and serving the Department.

Filing with
surrogate’s court
When an estate files a New York State estate tax
return and has filed a petition to commence
either a proceeding for probate of the will or a
proceeding for administration in intestacy in
surrogate’s court, the estate must file a copy of
the New York State estate tax return with the
surrogate’s court in the county where the petition
was filed. Listed below are the fees for filing a
copy of the return with the court. The fee is paid
directly to the court at the time of filing. If the
sum of the New York adjusted gross estate and
adjusted taxable gifts is less than $300,000 and
no estate tax is payable, the fee for filing a copy
of the return with the court is waived (Tax Law
section 972(c) and subdivisions 3 and 8 of
section 2402 of SCPA).

Value of the Fee
NY gross estate

Less than $10,000 $35
At least $10,000 but under $20,000 60
At least 20,000 but under  50,000 170
At least 50,000 but under 100,000 225
At least 100,000 but under 250,000 335
At least 250,000 but under 500,000 500
500,000 and over 1,000

Executor’s and administrator’s commissions  —
Refer to section 2307 of the Surrogate’s Court
Procedure Act for the applicable rates and
provisions.

When to file
Form ET-90, New York State Estate Tax Return,
must be filed within nine months after the
decedent’s death unless you receive an
extension of time for filing. Use Form ET-133,
Application for Extension of Time to File and/or
Pay Estate Tax, included in this packet, to apply
for an extension of time. If you receive an
extension, attach a copy of your Form ET-133 to
your return, when you file.

Where to file
Mail Form ET-90 and all required attachments to:

NYS ESTATE TAX
PROCESSING CENTER
PO BOX 5556
NEW YORK NY 10087-5556



4

Private delivery services
The date recorded or marked by certain private
delivery services, as designated by the U.S.
Secretary of the Treasury or the Commissioner of
Taxation and Finance, will be treated as a
postmark, and that date will be considered to be
the date of delivery in determining whether your
return was filed on time. (Designated delivery
services are listed in Publication 55, Designated
Private Delivery Services. See Need help? on
page 3 for information on ordering forms and
publications.) If you use any private delivery
service, address your return to: The Chase
Manhattan Bank, NYS Government Tax
Processing, 12 Corporate Woods Blvd –
4th Floor, Albany NY 12211-2524.

Payment of tax
For the estate of an individual whose date of
death is on or after October 1, 1998, 90% of the
tax must be paid within seven months of the
date of death.

New York estate tax becomes due at the time of
the decedent’s death; for estates of decedents
whose date of death is before October 1, 1998,
90% is payable within six months, with the
balance payable within nine months of the date
of death (80% for decedents whose date of death
is before June 13, 1991). You may pay by check
or money order, made payable to Commissioner
of Taxation and Finance. Please write the
decedent’s name, social security number, and
Estate Tax on the check or money order to help
us process the payment. When making a
prepayment or estimated payment of estate tax,
use Form ET-130, Tentative Payment of Estate
Tax.

Extensions of time to pay
If it is established that payment of any part of the
tax within nine months from the date of death
would result in undue hardship to the estate, an
extension may be granted for up to four years
from the date of death. Annual installments may
be required (Tax Law section 976(a)).

Note: If the estate is unable to pay 90% of
the tax within six months from the date of
death, but is able to pay the tax within nine
months, no extension of time to pay the tax is
allowed and applicable interest charges, as
described below, will be imposed.

For the estate of an individual whose date of
death is on or after October 1, 1998, 90% of the
tax must be paid within seven months of the
date of death.

Use Form ET-133, Application for Extension of
Time to File and/or Pay Estate Tax, to apply for
an extension of time.

Closely Held business — When a large part of
an estate consists of an interest in a closely held
business, the estate representative may elect,
under section 997 of the Tax Law, to apply for
deferred payment of estate tax. This extension is
based upon section 6166 of the IRC, as
incorporated in New York Tax Law.

An estate will not be allowed to defer payment of
the New York estate tax under section 997 of the
Tax Law if the estate is required to file a federal
estate tax return and either does not elect or is
not allowed to pay the federal estate tax in
installments under section 6166 of the IRC.

General information

The time limit for making this election for
New York estate tax is nine months from the date
of death (15 months if an extension of time to file
is granted). However, if the estate is required to
file a federal return and obtains an extension of
time to file the federal return, the time for making
the election for New York will be the extended
due date of the federal return, generally 15
months from the date of death (Tax Law, section
997(e)). Form ET-415, Application for Deferred
Payment of Estate Tax, must be completed and
attached to Form ET-90. Please note: If you are
electing to pay the New York State estate tax in
installments, you must file ET-415 within the time
allowed or it will be denied, even when the
federal election is made timely.

Penalties and interest
Interest
Underpayment of tax — To avoid the
assessment of interest, at least 90% of the tax as
finally determined (including any minimum tax)
must be paid within six months (seven months for
the estate of an individual whose date of death is
on or after October 1, 1998) of the date of death,
and the balance paid within nine months of death
(80% for decedents whose date of death is
before June 13, 1991).

Interest is not charged on payments of tax,
including partial payments, made within six
months of death.

Simple interest of ½% per month is charged on
payments of tax made after six months but not
later than nine months after death (maximum
1½%). Interest is not charged on these payments
if 90% of the tax was paid within six months
(80% for decedents whose date of death is
before June 13, 1991) (Tax Law section 991(a)).
For dates of death on or after October 1, 1998,
and before February 1, 2000, simple interest of
½% is charged on payments made in the eighth
month and 1% for payments made in the ninth
month, unless 90% of the tax is paid within seven
months.

Interest, compounded daily, is charged from the
date of death to the date of payment on tax
remaining unpaid after nine months. Rates may
be adjusted periodically and can vary during the
period of time the tax remains unpaid (Tax Law
section 991(b)).

If an extension of time for payment of the tax is
granted and payment made within the period of
extension, interest is charged from the beginning
of the tenth month to the date of payment on the
amount of tax the extension applies to. Interest is
computed at the rate or rates applicable during
the time the tax remains unpaid and is
compounded daily (Tax Law section 976(b)).

When the tax is not paid during the period of
extension and in accordance with the terms of
extension, interest is charged from the date of
death to the date of payment. Interest is
computed at the rate or rates applicable during
the time the tax remains unpaid and is
compounded daily (Tax Law section 976(b)).

Overpayment of tax — If we have to pay
interest to you because we fail to issue your
refund check within the interest-free period
specified in the Tax Law, interest will be

compounded daily at the various applicable rates
from the due date of the return, or the date the
return is filed, whichever is later. For the estate of
a decedent dying on or after January 1, 1999, we
will pay interest on the amount of the
overpayment, calculated from the date of the
overpayment (or, if the return was filed late, from
the date of filing, whichever is later), to the date
the amended return requesting the refund is filed,
regardless of when we issue the refund. We will
pay additional interest if we fail to get the refund
out within 45 days of the date the amended
return is filed (Tax Law sections 990 and 688).

Penalties
Late filing penalty — If you file late, you will be
charged a penalty of 5% on the amount of tax
required to be shown on the return (reduced by
any tax paid by the prescribed due date of the
return and by any allowable credits) for each
month or part of a month the return is late, up to
a maximum of 25%, unless you extend the time
to file and file within the extended period, or
attach to your return an explanation showing
reasonable cause for the delay. If your return is
more than 60 days late, this penalty will not be
less than the lesser of $100 or 100% of the tax
required to be shown (reduced by any tax paid
timely and by any allowable credit) (Tax Law
sections 990 and 685(a)(1)). For information on
requesting an extension of time to file your
return, see When to file on page 3 of these
instructions.

Late payment penalty — If you do not pay your
tax when due, you will be charged a penalty of
½% of the unpaid portion of the total tax shown
on the return for each month or part of a month
the tax remains unpaid. If will be computed from
the due date to the date of payment, up to a
maximum of 25%. This penalty is in addition to
the interest charged for late payments (Tax Law
sections 990 and 685 (a)(2)).

This penalty may not be charged if you attach to
your return an explanation showing reasonable
cause for paying late.

Note: When late filing and late payment
penalties are imposed at the same time, the
amount of the late filing penalty computed
for each month is reduced by the amount of
the late payment penalty computed for the
same monthly periods.

If you figure your tax incorrectly — You may
have to pay a penalty if the tax you report on
your return is less than your correct tax. If you
are off by more than 10% of the tax required to
be shown on the return or $2,000, whichever is
more, you may have to pay this penalty. The
penalty is 10% of the difference between the tax
you reported and the tax you actually owe (Tax
Law sections 990 and 685(p)).

Negligence penalty — If your return does not
show all of the tax imposed under the Tax Law,
its rules or regulations, due to negligence or
intentional disregard (but not with intent to
defraud), you will be charged a penalty of 5% of
any deficient amount.

In addition, 50% of the interest due on any
underpayment resulting from negligence will be
added to your tax (Tax Law sections 990 and
685(b)).

(continued)
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Fraudulent returns — If any part of a deficiency
is due to fraud, you will be charged a penalty of
50% of the deficiency. In general, a deficiency is
the difference between the correct tax and the
tax shown on your return. If your return is filed
late, the deficiency is the entire tax. In addition,
50% of the interest due on any deficiency
resulting from a fraudulent act will be added to
your tax (Tax Law sections 990 and 685(e)).

Frivolous returns — A penalty of up to $500 will
be imposed on any person who files a frivolous
tax return. A return is considered frivolous when it
does not contain information needed to judge the
correctness of the tax return, or reports
information that is obviously and substantially
incorrect and intended to delay or impede the
administration of Article 26 of the Tax Law or the
processing of the return (Tax Law sections 990
and 685(q)).

Additions to tax for valuation
understatements
If a valuation understatement results in the
underpayment of tax imposed, an amount equal
to the applicable percentage of the
underpayment is added to the tax (Tax Law
section 992(a)).

A valuation understatement occurs if the value of
any property reported on an estate tax return is
66²/³% or less of the amount determined to be
the correct valuation.

The amount added ranges from 10% to 30% of
the amount of the underpayment, depending on
the amount of valuation understatement, and is
determined as follows:

1. If the value reported is 50% or more but not
more than 66²/³% of the correct value, an
addition to tax equal to 10% of the
underpayment attributable to the
undervaluation is imposed.

2. If the value claimed is 40% or more of the
correct value, but less than 50% of the correct
value, the addition to tax is 20% of the
amount of tax underpayment.

3. If the value claimed is less than 40% of the
correct value, the addition to tax is 30% of the
amount of tax underpayment.

No additional amount is added if:

1. the claimed valuation is more than 66²/³% of
the correct value of the asset, or

2. the resulting underpayment of New York State
estate tax is less than $1,000.

The addition to tax may be waived in whole or in
part if it is shown that there is a reasonable basis
for the valuation claimed on the return and that
the claim was made in good faith.

Privacy notification

The right of the Commissioner of Taxation and
Finance and the Department of Taxation and
Finance to collect and maintain personal
information, including mandatory disclosure of
social security numbers in the manner required
by tax regulations, instructions, and forms, is
found in Articles 22, 26, 26-A, 26-B, 30, 30-A,
and 30-B of the Tax Law; Article 2-E of the
General City Law; and 42 USC 405(c)(2)(C)(i).

The Tax Department uses this information
primarily to determine and administer tax
liabilities due the state and city of New York and

General information

the city of Yonkers. We also use this information
for certain tax offset and exchange of tax
information programs authorized by law, and for
any other purpose authorized by law.

Information concerning quarterly wages paid to
employees and identified by unique random
identifying code numbers to preserve the privacy
of the employees’ names and social security
numbers is provided to certain state agencies, for
research purposes to evaluate the effectiveness
of certain employment and training programs.

Failure to provide the required information may
subject you to civil or criminal penalties, or both,
under the Tax Law.

This information is maintained by the Director of
the Registration and Data Services Bureau, NYS
Tax Department, Building 8 Room 924,
W A Harriman Campus, Albany NY 12227;
telephone 1 800 225-5829. From areas outside
the U.S. and outside Canada, call
(518) 485-6800.

Supplemental documents
When applicable, you must submit the following
documents with the estate tax return (if they were
not previously submitted): a photocopy of the
death certificate; a photocopy of the decedent’s
last will (if one exists); letters of appointment (if
obtained from the surrogate court) and a power
of attorney (see: Attorney/representative
information on this page).

For the estate of an individual who was not a
resident of New York State at the time of his or
her death, complete Form ET-141, Estate Tax
Domicile Affidavit, and attach it to the return.

Amended returns
If you have to amend your New York State estate
tax return, mark AMENDED on the top of a blank
Form ET-90.  Complete the entire return using
the corrected information, and attach only those
schedules and supporting information that are
changed by the corrections. Mail the amended
return to the Processing Center address with
your remittance for additional tax, if applicable. If
you filed an amended federal estate tax return,
Form 706, attach a copy.

To report federal changes based on an Internal
Revenue Service (IRS) audit adjustment, you
must use Form ET-115,  New York State Estate
Tax Report of Federal Audit Changes, and attach
a copy of the federal audit changes and line
adjustments.

Completing Form ET-90
If the estate is not required to file a federal
estate tax return, Form 706, the assets making
up the New York adjusted gross estate must be
entered on the appropriate Schedules A through I
and the deductions entered on the appropriate
Schedules J through N, on Forms ET-90.1
through ET-90.4 (include all supporting
documents). The word None should be written
across any schedule that does not apply. If there
is insufficient space for all entries under a printed
schedule, you may attach supplements to the
schedule.

If the estate is required to file federal
Form 706, attach a copy of Form 706 and all
schedules and supporting documents. Complete
Form ET-90 through page 4, omit New York
Schedules A through N on supplementary
Forms ET-90.1 through ET-90.4, and make
New York adjustments using Schedules 1, 3, and
4 on Form ET-90 (see instructions for federal
Form 706 for federal filing requirements).

If the estate is required to file federal
Form 706-NA (for the estate of a nonresident
who is not a citizen of the United States),
complete Form ET-90 and also complete the
applicable New York Schedules A through N on
supplementary Forms ET-90.1 through ET-90.4
as there are no corresponding schedules on the
federal return. Also attach a copy of federal
Form 706-NA.

Waivers or releases of lien
Waivers are requested — You must check the
box and submit a completed Form ET-99, Estate
Tax Waiver Notice, for each institution having
assets in the name of the decedent, either alone
or jointly with another, in excess of $30,000
($50,000 for life insurance policies or employee
death benefits). Waivers are not required for
assets held jointly by the decedent and the
surviving spouse as the only joint tenants, or for
life insurance policies or employee death benefits
if the surviving spouse is the sole, named
beneficiary (applicable to estates of decedents
whose date of death is after September 30,
1983).

Releases of lien are requested — You must
enter the number of counties for which you are
requesting releases of lien and submit a
completed Form ET-117, Release of Estate Tax
Lien, in duplicate, for each county in which real
property is located. A release of lien is not
required if the real property was held jointly by
the decedent and the surviving spouse as the
only joint tenants with right of survivorship
(tenants by the entirety). This applies to the
estate of a decedent whose date of death is after
May 25, 1990.

Name and address area
Decedent information
Enter the name of the decedent (last name first),
home address at the time of death, social
security number, date of death (month, day, and
year), and county of residence.

Death certificate — If you have not submitted a
copy of the death certificate, check the box and
attach a copy to Form ET-90.

Indicate if the decedent was a resident or
nonresident of New York State at the time of
death by checking the appropriate box.

Attorney/representative
information
If you, as the executor of the estate, have
authorized a person to represent you regarding
the estate, and you prefer the department
contact him or her regarding the estate, enter the
name (last name first) of the attorney,
accountant, or enrolled agent who is representing
you. Also enter the firm’s name, address, and

(continued)



6 Line instructions for Form ET-90

telephone number in the areas provided, and
have the representative sign the return in the
area provided on the back of the return.

If you are giving such a person power of attorney
to represent you, attach a completed Form ET-14
to the return (if it was not submitted before) and
check the box on the front of the return. Refer to
Form ET-14, Estate Tax Power of Attorney, in this
packet for additional information.

Executor information
Enter the name (last name first) and other
information requested for the executor of the
estate. The term executor includes executrix,

administrator, administratrix, or personal
representative of the decedent’s estate; if no
executor, executrix, administrator, administratrix,
or personal representative is appointed, qualified,
and acting within the United States, executor
means any person in actual or constructive
possession of any property of the decedent.

If an executor has not been appointed, this form
may be signed and filed by a person having
knowledge of all the assets in the decedent’s
estate. This person must also enter his or her
name, address, and social security number in the
area provided for the executor.

Line instructions for Form ET-90 when the date of death is after May 25, 1990

Complete either Schedules A through N
(Forms ET-90.1 through ET-90.4) when a federal
return is not required, or the comparable
schedules and recapitulation of federal
Form 706.  Next, complete the applicable lines of
the recapitulation section on Form ET-90,
page 2, and the applicable Schedules 1 through
5 on pages 3 and 4. Then complete the Tax
Computation section on page 1.

Recapitulation
Check the Yes box to elect the use of the
alternate valuation date for valuing the estate.

Alternate valuation
The value of property included in the decedent’s
New York adjusted gross estate may be
calculated as of either the date of death or an
alternate date, which is generally six months
after the date of death (Tax Law section 954(b)).

The same election must be made for New York
State purposes as is made for federal estate tax
purposes (when a federal estate tax return is
required to be filed). However, the election may
be made for New York State purposes when no
federal estate tax return is required.

If the alternate valuation method is elected, all
property included in the New York adjusted gross
estate must be valued on this basis. However,
any property sold, distributed, exchanged, or
otherwise disposed of within six months after the
decedent’s date of death must be valued as of
the date of disposal. (Refer to section 2032 of the
IRC.)

If the alternate valuation method is elected, any
accrued income with respect to any item of
principal includable in the New York adjusted
gross estate (e.g., accrued interest to the date of
death, outstanding dividends that were declared
to stockholders of record on or before the date of
the decedent’s death, accrued rent to the date of
death on leased realty or personal property) is
property of the New York adjusted gross estate
on the date of death and is includable in the
alternate valuation of the asset.

If no federal estate tax return is required to be
filed, the following rules apply:

1. Alternate valuation is elected on the estate
tax return by checking the box on page 2 of
Form ET-90 and entering the alternate values
and valuation date(s) on the applicable
schedules. The time limit for making the
election is one year from the due date of the
return, or one year from the extended due
date if an extension of time to file is granted
(maximum time is two years and three
months from the decedent’s date of death).
Once the election to use alternate
valuation is made, it is irrevocable.

2. The alternate valuation method may be
elected only if the election will decrease
both:

a. the value of the New York gross estate at
the valuation date, and

b. the amount of estate tax liability (reduced
by the credits allowable).

(Refer to Tax Law section 954(b) and
section 2032(c) of the IRC.)

Gross assets
Lines 23 through 31
If the executor elects to value the estate as of the
alternate valuation date (see Alternate valuation
above), enter the total from the Alternate value
column of the applicable schedule found on
Forms ET-90.1, ET-90.2 or ET-90.3; or, if the
estate is required to file a federal estate tax
return, from the corresponding line of the
alternate value column of the federal
recapitulation on page 3 of federal 706.  For any
line that does not apply, enter “0.”

If alternate valuation is not elected, check the No
box and enter the total from the Value at date of
death column of each schedule or corresponding
line of the federal recapitulation schedule.

Line 33a
The estate of an individual who died after
December 31, 1997, and before September 9,
1999, may choose either the exclusion for family-
owned business, or the deduction for family-
owned business interests. For dates of death
after September 8, 1999, only the deduction is
allowable (refer to the instructions for line 42, for
information on the deduction for family-owned
business interests).

The qualifications for the exclusion for
family-owned businesses are the same as those
in section 2033A of the federal IRC, before
repeal, with the exception that the qualified
interests must be included in the New York gross
estate (New York property). Refer to
Form ET-417 for information on the qualifications
for the exclusion.

If the estate elects the exclusion, check the box
for line 54c, complete and attach Form ET-417,
end enter the amount of the exclusion on this line
of the return. The estate may also elect the
exclusion if it is required to file a federal estate
tax return. If the estate elects the exclusion for a
family-owned business, the estate may not elect
the credit for a closely held business. Once the
election of the exclusion for a family-owned
business is made, it is irrevocable.

Line 33b
An exclusion is allowed for up to 40% of the
value of land subject to a qualified conservation

easement. The qualifications are the same as
those in section 2031(c) of the federal IRC. Refer
to the instructions for Form ET-418 and federal
Schedule U for information on the qualifications
for the exclusion. If the estate is not required to
file a federal estate tax return, it may elect the
exclusion on the New York State return by using
Form ET-418. The exclusion in this instance is
limited to property included in the New York
gross estate (New York property). When a federal
return is required, the estate must elect the
exclusion on both the federal and the New York
State estate tax returns and use the amount
calculated on federal Schedule U. However, it is
not limited to New York property.

If the estate elects the exclusion for the value of
land subject to a qualified conservation
easement, check box 54b, attach a completed
Form ET-418, or federal Schedule U, and enter
the amount of the exclusion on this line of the
return. The election must be made no later than
the due date of the return, including extensions,
and once the election is made, it is irrevocable.

Line 33c
New York allows for the value of certain assets of
a person who was a victim of Nazi persecution to
be excluded from the New York gross estate of
the individual, or the spouse or decedent of such
individual. Refer to Form ET-419 for additional
information. If the estate qualifies, enter the
amount of the exclusion on this line.

Line 33e
If the estate is required to file a federal estate tax
return, and adjustments increasing or decreasing
the federal gross estate are required to
determine the New York adjusted gross estate,
complete Schedule 1 and enter the net amount
from line 69, page 3. For an explanation of the
adjustments to the federal gross estate, see the
instructions for lines 63 to 69 (Schedule 1).

Line 34
If the net difference of the adjustments from
Schedule 1 (line 69) is a negative amount,
subtract line 33f from line 32; otherwise, add
lines 32 and 33f.

Computations
Line 35
Resident decedent - If the estate does not
consist of any real property or tangible personal
property having an actual situs outside New York
State, enter “0” on line 35 and “1.0” on line 37, as
no tax is allocable to property outside the state.
Otherwise, enter the amount from line 70,
page 3.

If the estate has more than one executor, check
the box, enter the name and other information for
the primary executor (preferably a person
residing in New York State) in the area provided
and attach a list of the other executors with their
addresses and social security numbers. Submit
letters testamentary or letters of administration
with the return if not previously submitted. It is
sufficient to have one of the coexecutors sign the
return.
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Line 36b
Nonresident decedent - Enter the amount from
line 71c, page 3. This amount is the total of all
real property and tangible personal property
having an actual situs within New York State.

Line 37
Divide the New York gross estate by the
New York adjusted gross estate. Round the result
to 4 decimal places (e.g., if the fifth decimal is 5
or greater, add 1 to the fourth decimal). The
result cannot be greater than 1.0000.

Deductions
Lines 38 through 40
On each line enter the total from the applicable
schedule (J, K, or L) found on Form ET-90.3.
Enter “0” for any line that does not apply.

If the estate is required to file a federal estate tax
return, enter the total of the corresponding
federal schedule J, K, or L from federal
Form 706.

Note: When the estate of an individual who died
before January 1, 1997, is subject to the federal
increased estate tax on excess retirement
accumulations (section 4980A(d) of the IRC)
reportable on Schedule S of federal Form 706,
and the estate elects to deduct the excess tax on
the federal estate tax return, Form 706, as
permitted by section 2053(c)(1)(B) of the IRC,
instead of the fiduciary return, the estate must
reduce the amount reportable on line 39 (from
federal Schedule K) by that amount. The
deduction is not allowable for the New York State
estate tax. This adjustment is not required for the
estate of an individual who died on or after
January 1, 1997, because the federal tax on
excess accumulations was repealed.

Line 42
The estate of an individual who died after
December 31, 1997, and before September 9,
1999, may choose either the exclusion for
family-owned businesses (see instructions for
line 33a) or the deduction for family-owned
business interests. For dates of death after
September 8, 1999, only the deduction is
allowable. The qualifications for the family-owned
business interests deduction are the same as
those in section 2057 of the federal IRC. Refer to
New York Form ET-417-D for information on
these qualifications, and to the federal
Instructions for Form 706 (Schedule T) for
additional information.

To elect the deduction when a federal return is
not required, complete and attach
Form ET-417-D. When a federal return is
required the estate must elect the deduction on
both the federal and New York State estate tax
returns and use the amount calculated on federal
Schedule T, unless the date of death was before
September 9, 1999, and the estate elects the
exclusion for family-owned businesses instead.
Also check the box for line 54d, if the deduction
is elected.

If the estate elects the deduction for
family-owned business interests, the estate may
not elect the credit for a closely held business or
the agricultural credit.

Line 45
Refer to the instructions for line 72 for
adjustments to the marital deduction if the estate
is required to file a federal estate tax return and
one or more of the following is true:
1. The surviving spouse is not a citizen of the

United States, and a New York marital
deduction is elected.

2. Property passed to the surviving spouse
under a limited power of appointment created
prior to September 1, 1930.

3. Some or all of the property reported on
Form ET-419 passed to the surviving spouse.

Line 46
If the estate is required to file a federal estate tax
return and adjustments are included on line 45,
either subtract line 45 from line 44, or add lines
44 and 45 to show the increase or decrease in
the marital deduction allowable for New York.

Line 47
Enter the total charitable deduction from
Form ET-90.4, line 16. If a federal estate tax
return is required to be filed, enter the total
charitable deduction claimed on the federal
return from the corresponding line of the federal
recapitulation on Form 706.

Line 48
If the estate is required to file a federal estate tax
return and property passed to a qualified
charitable organization under a limited power of
appointment created prior to September 1, 1930,
complete Schedule 4, on page 4.

Questions
Line 52
Indicate the decedent’s marital status at the time
of death by checking the appropriate box and
provide additional information where required.

To elect a marital deduction for a surviving
spouse who is not a citizen of the United
States, both the executor and the surviving
spouse must sign in the area provided. By
making such election, the surviving spouse
consents to be considered a citizen of the United
States for purposes of determining if he or she is
a resident or nonresident of New York State
when the property, for which a marital deduction
was allowed, is later transferred.

If the estate is not required to file a federal estate
tax return and the marital deduction is elected,
complete and attach Form ET-90.4, Schedule M.

Line 53
For information on qualified terminable interest
property (QTIP) and the marital deduction, see
the instructions for Form ET-90.4, Schedule M.

Line 54a
Special use valuation of certain real property
devoted to farming or closely held
businesses

The estate representative may elect to value
qualified real property that is devoted to farming
or used in a closely held business on the basis of
its actual use rather than its fair market value.
You may elect both special use valuation and
alternate valuation.

A written agreement must be signed by each
person having an interest in the qualified real
property for which the election is made. The
agreement must contain an express consent to
personal liability by the qualified heir in the event
of recapture of additional estate tax due either to
premature cessation of qualified use or
disposition of the property.

This method of valuation is authorized by
section 954-a of the Tax Law, which conforms,
with certain modifications, to section 2032A of
the federal IRC.

If the estate is required to file a federal estate tax
return and either does not or may not elect
special use valuation for federal estate tax
purposes, the estate will not be allowed to elect
special use valuation for New York estate tax
purposes. However, if the estate does elect the
special use valuation for federal estate tax
purposes, it is not required to make the same
election for New York estate tax purposes.

Note: For information on requesting an
extension of time to pay the estate tax, refer
to page 4 of these instructions.

If a federal estate tax return is not required, the
election for New York State estate tax purposes
may be made on a late filed or amended return.

If the special use valuation election is made and
the requirements substantially complied with, the
executor will be allowed a reasonable period, not
exceeding 90 days, to correct simple technical
errors that prevent the election from being valid.
Information that may be supplied within the time
allowed includes social security numbers and
addresses of qualified heirs, and signatures of all
persons having an interest in the property, which
are required on the written agreement to value
the property based upon its current use. The 90-
day period will begin following the mailing of
written notification to the estate that a defect
exists.

Real property may qualify for this election when
all of the following conditions are met:

1. the decedent was a United States citizen or
resident at the time of death;

2. the real property is located in New York State;

3. the real property was, on the date of the
decedent’s death, being used as a farm for
farming purposes or in a trade or business
other than farming;

4. the real property was acquired from or passed
from the decedent to a qualified heir of the
decedent;

a. A qualified heir is a member of the
decedent’s family who acquired the real
property from the decedent or to whom
the property has passed.

b. A decedent’s family members are:
(1) ancestors; (2) spouse; (3) lineal
descendants of the decedent, of the
decedent’s spouse, or of the decedent’s
parents; and (4) the spouse of any
descendant mentioned in item (3).

Note: A legally adopted child of a
decedent is treated as a decedent’s
child by blood.

5. the real property was owned and used in a
qualified use by the decedent or a member of
the decedent’s family during five of the eight
years preceding the decedent’s death;

6. there was material participation by the
decedent or a member of the decedent’s
family in the operation of the farm or other
business for periods totaling at least five
years out of the eight-year period ending on
the date of the decedent’s death;

a. If, on the date of the decedent’s death, the
material participation requirement for the
decedent is not met and the decedent was
either retired and collecting social security
benefits, or disabled for a continuous
period ending with death, then the time
period for material participation for the
decedent is a period totaling at least five

(continued)
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years out of the eight-year period ending
on the earlier of (1) the date the decedent
began receiving social security benefits, or
(2) the date the decedent became
disabled.

b. Material participation is determined in a
manner similar to income tax provisions
relating to whether income is subject to
self-employment taxes.

Additional factors to be considered in
making this determination include
(1) employment and management,
(2) financial risk, (3) residence and
(4) other miscellaneous considerations.
Consult IRC Regulations 20.2032-A for
further information.

c. Active management of a farm or other
business by a surviving spouse shall be
treated as material participation by the
surviving spouse.

(1) Active management means the making
of the management decisions of a
business other than the daily operating
decisions.

(2) Active management by a surviving
spouse may be tacked on to the
material participation of a disabled or
retired spouse (the first decedent) in
order to qualify the property for special
use valuation in the surviving spouse’s
estate (the second decedent) where
the spouse survives the first decedent
by fewer than eight years (i.e., to
satisfy the five-of-eight-years’ test).
See IRC section 2032A(b)(5)(C).

7. at least 50% of the adjusted value of the
gross estate consists of the adjusted value of
the real and personal property used in
farming or in a closely held business on the
date of decedent’s death;

a. Adjusted value is the value of property
determined without regard to its special
use value. The value is reduced for unpaid
mortgages on the property or any
indebtedness against the property if the
full value of the property is included in the
gross estate.

b. Tangible personal property, such as farm
equipment and livestock, used in
conjunction with the qualifying property,
must be valued at its fair market value.

8. at least 25% of the adjusted value of the
gross estate must consist of the adjusted
value of such qualified real property.

Note 1: For purposes of the 50% and 25%
tests, the value of the property is
considered at its fair market (highest and
best use) value.

Note 2: Adjusted value of the gross
estate, referred to in numbers 7 and 8
above, is the adjusted value of the federal
gross estate determined without reference
to paragraphs (1) through (4), subsection
(a) of section 954 of the Tax Law.

In no case may this special valuation process
reduce the gross estate (i.e., reduce the fair
market value of the qualified property) by more
than $750,000.

Property passing in trust qualifies for this special
valuation.

Since qualifying real property may be valued on
the basis of its actual use value rather than on
the basis of its highest and best use value, two
real estate appraisals will be necessary, one for
each specific valuation method.

Example 1
Qualifying farm property
at highest and best use value ............ $2,000,000

Qualifying farm property
at actual use value .............................. -1,000,000

difference between highest
and best use and
actual use value ................ $1,000,000

maximum reduction in
gross estate limited to ......... $750,000

Example 2
Gross estate at highest
and best use value ............................... $600,000

Qualified real property
at highest and best use value ............... $300,000

(having $50,000 mortgage)

Adjusted value of gross estate 50% test -
adjusted value of qualified real property
($300,000 - 50,000) = $250,000 = (45.45%) *

*Property would not qualify for special use
valuation.

Example 3
Gross estate at highest
and best use value ............................... $750,000

(includes $300,000 real
property value and $300,000

value of machinery)

Qualified real property
at highest and best
use value .............................................. $300,000

($200,000 mortgage on farm)

Adjusted value of
gross estate .......................................... $550,000

($750,000 - $200,000)

50% test
$600,000 real and personal
- 200,000 mortgage
$400,000 = 72.72%

25% test
$300,000 real
- 200,000 mortgage
$100,000 = 18.18%*

*Fails to qualify for special farm valuation (must
meet both percentage tests).

When the estate otherwise qualifies for the
portion satisfying the percentage tests, other
remaining real property used in a qualified use
cannot be valued under the special use valuation
rules when it passes to persons who are not
qualified heirs. Real property is eligible for
special use valuation only to the extent that it
passes to qualified heirs.

Special use valuation may be elected for
standing timber, providing the trees are part of
qualified woodlands, as an interest in real
property rather than valuing it as other growing
crops.

Line 54b
Exclusion for land subject to a qualified
conservation easement

An exclusion from the New York gross estate is
allowed for up to 40% of the value of land subject
to a qualified conservation easement. The
qualifications are the same as those in
section 2031(c) of the federal IRC. Refer to
Form ET-418 and federal Schedule U, for
information on the qualifications for the exclusion
of land subject to a qualified conservation
easement. Also refer to line 33b.

If the estate elects the exclusion for the value of
land subject to a qualified conservation
easement, complete Form ET-418, if a federal
return is not required; otherwise, use federal
Schedule U. Enter the amount of the exclusion
on line 33b of Form ET-90. The election must be
made no later than the due date of the return,
including extensions, and once the election is
made, it is irrevocable.

Line 54c
Exclusion for a family-owned business

An exclusion from the New York gross estate is
allowed for family-owned businesses. The
qualifications are the same as those in
section 2033A of the federal IRC, before repeal.
Refer to Form ET-417 for information on the
qualifications for the exclusion of a family-owned
business.

If the estate elects the exclusion for a family-
owned business, complete Form ET-417 and
enter the amount of the exclusion on line 33a of
Form ET-90. The estate may also elect the
exclusion if it is required to file a federal estate
tax return. If the estate elects the exclusion for a
family-owned business, the estate may not elect
the credit for a closely held business or the
agricultural credit. Once the election of the
exclusion for a family-owned business is made, it
is irrevocable, unless the estate is amending the
return to elect the deduction for family-owned
business interests.

The estate of an individual who died after
December 31, 1997, and before September 9,
1999, may choose either the exclusion for
family-owned businesses or the deduction for
family-owned business interests. For dates of
death after September 8, 1999, only the
deduction is allowable.

Line 54d
Deduction for family-owned business
interests

The estate of an individual who died after
December 31, 1997, and before September 9,
1999, may choose either the exclusion for
family-owned businesses (see instructions for
line 33a) or the deduction for family-owned
business interests. For dates of death after
September 8, 1999, only the deduction is
allowable. The qualifications for the family-owned
business interests deduction are the same as
those in section 2057 of the federal IRC. Refer to
New York Form ET-417-D for information on
these qualifications, and to the federal
Instructions for Form 706 (Schedule T) for
additional information. If the deduction or
exclusion is taken, the estate may not elect the
credit for a closely held business or the
agricultural credit.

Line 57
See the instructions for line 66 for information on
section 2044 property.

Line 58
For information on life insurance, refer to the
instructions for Form ET-90.1, Schedule D.

For information on annuities and lump-sum
distributions, and the qualifications for exclusion
from the gross estate, refer to the instructions for
Form ET-90.3, Schedule I.

If a lump-sum distribution received by a
beneficiary is excluded from the decedent’s gross
estate under IRC section 2039(f)(2), a written
election by each beneficiary must be attached to
the return. For any property excluded, give a full
description and the reason for exclusion.



Line instructions for Form ET-90 9

Line 59
If the decedent was a plaintiff in any litigation at
the time of his or her death, or the estate has
undertaken or is considering any litigation on
behalf of the decedent, check the box, attach a
complete description of the litigation, and enter
the actual or estimated value of any settlement
on Schedule F.

For the estate of an individual who died on or
after July 13, 1999, the department will waive the
penalty and interest that applies to the estate tax
attributable to the value of a cause of action
(litigation) that is includable in the taxable estate
of the decedent. Penalty and interest on such
amount will be waived from the date an estate
tax return is filed that discloses the cause of
action, to the date of payment, but not more than
one year after the date of settlement or final
judgment.

When the estate receives a payment of the final
judgment or settlement, it must pay the estate
tax within a reasonable period. Paying the estate
tax within 90 days from the date the proceeds of
the judgment or settlement are received is
considered a reasonable period. However, in no
event will penalty and interest be waived for a
period beyond one year after the date of the final
judgment or settlement.

Recoveries for wrongful death are not included in
the gross estate, but damages for pain and
suffering are.

Line 62
The written appraisal of an expert should be filed
with the return when any one article included
among the household and personal effects has a
marked artistic or intrinsic value in excess of
$3,000, or any collection of similar articles is
valued at more than $10,000.

Schedule 1
Do not complete this schedule unless:

1. a federal estate tax return is required; and

2. it is necessary to adjust the federal gross
estate as indicated.

Line 63
For information on limited powers of appointment
created before September 1, 1930, see the
instructions for Form ET-90.3, Schedule H.

Line 65
For an explanation of the New York State gift
taxes to be included on this line, refer to
instructions for Form ET-90.2, Schedule G.

Line 66
These assets are included in federal Schedule F
of the federal estate tax return, Form 706.
Section 2044 property is qualified terminal
interest property (QTIP) for which a federal
marital deduction was allowed, either on the
estate tax return of the predeceased spouse,
under section 2056(b)(7) of the IRC, or on a gift
tax return of such spouse, under section 2523 of
the IRC. Since this property may not have been
the subject of a New York marital deduction, this
adjustment to the federal gross estate is required
(Tax Law section 954(a)(4)).

Line 67
If a New York marital deduction was allowed for
qualified terminable interest property (QTIP)
either for the New York estate tax of the

predeceased spouse under section 955(c) of the
Tax Law, or on a gift tax return of such spouse
under section 1004(b) of the Tax Law, the full
value of the property is required to be included in
the estate of the surviving spouse upon his or her
death (Tax Law section 954(a)(4)).

Also includable in the New York adjusted gross
estate is the full value of all property included in a
qualified domestic trust (QDoT) for which a
New York marital deduction was elected on the
estate tax return of the predeceased spouse
(Tax Law section 954(a)(5)).

Schedule 2
Adjustments to determine the New York gross
estate

Line 70
This line is used in computing the New York
gross estate of a resident decedent when the
estate includes real property and/or tangible
personal property having an actual situs outside
New York State.

Lines 71a, 71b, and 71c
These lines are used in computing the New York
gross estate of a nonresident decedent.

Schedule 3
Adjustment to federal marital deduction

Note: Do not deduct the value of real property or
tangible personal property located outside New
York State unless it is included as one of the
items below.

Line 72
If the estate is required to file a federal estate tax
return and an adjustment to the federal marital
deduction is required, complete this schedule,
identifying the property and its value.

Increase the federal marital deduction by the
value of:

1. property passing under a limited power of
appointment created before September 1,
1930, if such property passes or has passed
to the surviving spouse and the property was
included on line 63;

2. property passing to or for the benefit of the
surviving spouse, who is not a citizen of the
United States, for whom a New York marital
deduction is elected where a federal marital
deduction is not allowed because the
surviving spouse is not a citizen (also see the
instructions for line 52).

Decrease the federal marital deduction by the
value of:

1. property included in a qualified domestic trust
(QdoT) if a New York marital deduction is not
elected;

2. property that is also included on line 33c of
Form ET-90.

Enter the net difference of the adjustments on
line 72 and on line 45.

Schedule 4
Adjustment to federal deduction for
charitable, public, and similar gifts and
bequests

Line 73
Increase the federal charitable deduction by the
value of property passing under a limited power
of appointment created before September 1,
1930, that passes or has passed to a qualified
charitable organization, and is included in the
amount on line 63 of Form ET-90.

Decrease the federal charitable deduction by the
value of property that passes, or has passed, to
a qualified charitable organization, and is
included in the amount on line 33c.

Enter the net difference on line 73 and on
line 48.

Schedule 5
Deduction for principal residence

Line 74
The estate of an individual who died on or after
June 8, 1995, is eligible to deduct the net value
of the individual’s principal residence, up to
$250,000, in determining the New York State
estate tax. The estate of an individual is allowed
the deduction regardless of the individual’s
domicile at the time of death or the location of
the principal residence (in or outside New York
State).

To qualify, the value of the principal residence
must be included in the decedent’s New York
adjusted gross estate. This includes property
transferred before death that is required to be
included in the estate because of a retained
interest in the property. In determining the
amount allowable, the value of the principal
residence must be reduced by any deductions
taken on the estate tax return, for marital or
charitable bequests, mortgages or other
indebtedness and expenses or casualty losses,
that are specifically attributable to the principal
residence.

The deduction for a principal residence is not
allowed for that part of the decedent’s principal
residence that passes to the surviving spouse
and for which a marital deduction is claimed. In
addition, the deduction is not allowed for that part
of the principal residence that passes to a
qualifying organization and for which a charitable
deduction is claimed. However, any remaining
part of the principal residence passing to another
person would qualify for the deduction for a
principal residence.

For purposes of this deduction, principal
residence has the same meaning as when used
in section 121 of the federal IRC (relating to the
rollover of any gain on the sale of a principal
residence). Generally, to qualify as a residence,
the property must contain facilities for cooking,
sleeping and sanitation. A residence may be a
house trailer (mobile home), a houseboat, a
condominium unit or a single-family house. Stock
owned by a tenant-stockholder in a cooperative
housing corporation also qualifies if the dwelling
that the individual was entitled to occupy was
used as his or her principal residence on the date
of death.

Note: 1. The time limitations set forth in IRC
section 121 to determine if the gain on the sale
of a principal residence must be rolled over are
not applicable in determining whether the
property qualifies as the decedent’s principal
residence.

Note: 2. The provisions of IRC section
121(d)(3)(A), relating to the treatment as the
principal residence of an owner of property

(continued)
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during the period it is used by the spouse or a
former spouse under a divorce or separation
instrument, are applicable to decedents dying on
or after May 7, 1997.

Line a – Enter the value of the principal
residence as it is reported on Schedule A – Real
estate, Schedule B – Stocks and bonds (stock in
a cooperative housing corporation), Schedule E –
Jointly owned property, Schedule F – Other
miscellaneous property (a mobile home in a
mobile home park or a houseboat), or
Schedule G – Transfers during decedent’s life
(for a retained life estate in a principal residence)
of the estate tax return. Circle the appropriate
letter of the schedule on which the property is
reported.

If you elect alternate valuation (see page 6) or
special use valuation (see page 7) to value the
property, use that value.

If only part of the property was used as a
principal residence, include only that part of the
value of the property attributable to the principal
residence. For example, if any part of the actual
residence was used for income producing
purposes, such as rental of a room or as a home
office, the value attributable to that part of the
property would not qualify for the deduction.
Attach a worksheet showing how you determined
the value.

Line b – If deductions are taken on the estate
tax return for marital or charitable bequests of the
property, or for mortgages or other indebtedness
and expenses or casualty losses that are
specifically attributable to the principal residence,
enter the amount of each deduction on the line
corresponding to the schedule on which that
deduction is taken. Also indicate the item number
of the deduction.

When a federal estate tax return is required,
include any applicable adjustments to arrive at
the New York deductions.

Line d – The maximum allowable deduction is
$250,000.

Tax computations
Line 4
If the decedent made New York taxable gifts after
1982, complete Worksheet I below. Otherwise
enter “0.”

Instructions for Worksheet I

Line 1 – Enter the total amount of lifetime
New York taxable gifts made by the decedent
after 1982 for which a gift tax return was required
to be filed, whether or not includable in the
decedent’s New York gross estate. This includes
split gifts for which the decedent was the
consenting spouse. Taxable gifts are the
amounts used to compute the tax, after
deducting the annual exclusion.

Line 2 – Enter the amount, if any, of New York
taxable gifts made by the decedent after 1982
and includable on a New York gift tax return that
are also required to be included in the New York
gross estate (under Schedule G). These gifts
include transfers with a retained interest or
transfers within three years of death. The amount
to be included is the value of the gift(s) as
reported on the return(s), reduced by any
applicable annual exclusion.

Line 3 – Enter the amount of New York taxable
gifts made after 1982 by the decedent’s
previously deceased spouse that meet the 3
conditions stated below:

1. the previously deceased spouse was the
donor of the gifts that were split with the
present decedent under the rules of IRC
section 2513 (i.e., one-half of the gift was
considered as made by the decedent);

2. the present decedent was the consenting
spouse for those split gifts (in accordance
with the provisions of IRC section 2513); and

3. the split gifts were included in the previously
deceased spouse’s New York gross estate
(under Schedule G) in accordance with the
provisions of IRC section 2035.

Line 5 – This figure represents the amount of all
New York taxable gifts made by the decedent (or
considered to have been made due to split gifts)
after 1982 that are not includable in the New York
gross estate. Enter this amount on line 4 of the
Tax computations section on page 1 of the
return.

Line 9
When dividing line 4 by line 5, carry the result to
4 decimal places before multiplying the result by
line 9. If the amount on line 4 is zero, enter “0” on
line 9.

Line 13
If the decedent made New York taxable gifts after
1982 and New York gift tax was paid or payable,
complete Worksheet II below. Otherwise enter
“0.”

For the estate of an individual whose date of
death is after June 9, 1994 — If gift tax was
paid or payable for gifts made after 1982 and
before 1994, recompute lines 7 and 13 of
Form ET-90 using Table B, Part III, on page 13 of
these instructions. If this results in a lower
amount for line 14, use that amount.

For the estate of an individual whose date of
death is after September 30, 1998, and before
January 1, 1999 — If gift tax was paid or
payable for gifts made after 1993, and gift tax
was not payable on gifts made before 1994,
compute the amount for line 13 of Form ET-90
using Table B, Part II, on page 13 of these
instructions.

For the estate of an individual whose date of
death is after December 31, 1998 — If gift tax
was paid or payable for gifts made after 1993,
and gift tax was not payable on gifts made before
1994, recompute lines 7 and 13 of Form ET-90
using Table B, Part II, on page 13 of these
instructions. If this results in a lower amount for
line 14, use that amount.

Instructions for Worksheet II

Line 1 – Enter the total amount of New York
State gift tax paid or payable by the decedent on
taxable gifts made by the decedent after
December 31, 1982. This amount can be
obtained from the decedent’s New York State gift
tax returns.

Line 2 – Enter the amount, if any, of New York
gift tax paid by the decedent as the consenting
spouse for only those New York gifts made after
1982 that were required to be included in the
New York gross estate (under Schedule G) of the
previously deceased spouse as the donor of the
split-gifts. The value of these taxable gifts must
be included on Worksheet I, line 3.

Line 4 – Enter the amount, if any, of New York
gift taxes paid by the decedent’s surviving
spouse, as the consenting spouse, for only those
New York gifts, made after 1982, that are
required to be included in the New York gross
estate (under Schedule G) of the decedent as
the donor of the split-gifts.

Line 5 – For estate tax purposes, this figure
represents the amount of New York gift taxes
paid or payable on New York gifts made after
1982 that exceeds the appropriate unified credit.
Enter this amount on line 13 of the Tax
computations section on page 1 of the return.

Line 15a
Agricultural exemption credit - Credit is allowed
against the New York estate tax imposed on the
estate of any person whose date of death is after

Worksheet I (for line 4)

1. Total lifetime taxable gifts
made after December 31,
1982 1.

2. Taxable gifts made by
decedent after December 31,
1982, that are included in
decedent’s gross estate 2.

3. Taxable gifts made by
decedent’s previously
deceased spouse after
December 31, 1982, for
which the decedent was
the consenting spouse (see
instructions below) 3.

4. Add lines 2 and 3. 4.

5. Adjusted taxable gifts
(subtract line 4 from line 1; enter
on line 4 of Tax computations
section on page 1 of the return) 5.

Worksheet II (for line 13)

1. Tax paid or payable for
gifts made after December 31,
1982 (see instructions) 1.

2. Gift taxes paid by
decedent on gifts made by
decedent’s previously
deceased spouse (see
instructions below) 2.

3. Subtract line 2 from line 1 3.

4. Gift taxes payable by
decedent’s surviving
spouse on split gifts (see
instructions) 4.

5. Total gift taxes paid or
payable with respect to
gifts made after December 31,
1982 (add line 3 and line 4;
enter on line 13 of the Tax
computations section on
page 1 of the return) 5.
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August 10, 1977, for interests in real property
devoted to farming qualifying under section 954-a
of the Tax Law.

The interests in property eligible for exemption
are limited to qualified property that: (1) was
owned by the decedent, and (2) has vested in a
qualified heir, and that continues to be employed
in a qualified use. Qualified property means the
same as qualified real property except it includes
fixtures attached to the qualified real property,
but not included in the valuation thereof, and
tangible personal property used for farming
purposes in conjunction with the qualified real
property on a farm. Qualified use, as used in this
section of the Tax Law, means qualified property
used in the trade or business of farming. The
exemption is allowed to the extent of the first
$200,000 in value of such qualified property and
to the extent of one-half the value of such
qualified property in excess of $400,000.

A credit is allowed against the exempt amount,
as stated above, in accordance with subsection
(a) of section 958-a of the Tax Law.

When the agricultural credit is claimed, attach a
copy of Form ET-411, Computation of Estate Tax
Credit for Agricultural Exemption, to the return,
showing how the amount of credit was
determined. Enter the amount on line 15a.

Line 15b
Credit for closely held business - Credit is
allowed against the New York estate tax imposed
on the estate of any person whose date of death
is after June 9, 1994, for interests in a qualifying
closely held business that vests in a qualified heir
(section 958-b of the Tax Law).

The credit is equal to 5% of the first $15 million in
value of qualified property that was owned by the
decedent and that has vested in one or more
qualified heirs.

Qualified property means an interest in a closely
held business as defined in subsections (b) and
(c) of section 6166 of the IRC, to the extent
included in the New York gross estate. An

interest in a closely held business included in
determining the New York gross estate of a
decedent is not qualified property unless the
estate qualifies for installment payments of the
tax under section 6166 of the IRC, as applied to
New York Law by section 997 of the Tax Law.
Qualified property does not include property that
has been taken into account in computing the
marital deduction.

When the credit is claimed, attach a copy of
Form ET-416, Computation of Estate Tax Credit
for Closely Held Businesses, to the return,
showing how the amount of credit was
determined. Enter the amount on line 15b.

Line 16
Credit for tax on prior transfers - A credit is
allowed against the estate tax for all or part of
the New York estate tax paid with respect to the
transfer of property to the present decedent
(transferee) by or from a person (transferor)
whose estate was taxed under Article 26 and
who died within 10 years before, or within 2 years
after, the date of the present decedent’s death
(Tax Law section 959).

There is no requirement that the property be
identified in the estate of the transferee or that it
be in existence on the date of the transferee’s
death. It is sufficient that the transfer of the
property was subject to New York estate tax in
the estate of the transferor and that the specified
period of time has not elapsed.

If the transferee was the transferor’s surviving
spouse, no credit is allowed for property received
from the transferor to the extent that a marital
deduction was allowed the transferor’s estate in
connection therewith.

Credit for prior taxes cannot reduce the New York
net estate tax below the amount of the federal
credit for state death taxes. (If the federal credit
for prior taxes is determined by Part II of the
federal computation, this limitation does not
apply.)

If a claim for prior tax credit is made, attach a
copy of Form ET-190, Computation of Credit for
Tax on Prior Transfers, to this return, showing
how the amount of credit was determined, and
enter the amount on line 16.

Line 17
When a New York gift tax has been paid under
Article 26-A for gifts made before 1983, and upon
the donor’s death any part of the gift is required
to be included in the value of the donor’s
New York gross estate, a credit is allowed for the
New York gift tax attributable to the portion of the
gifts included in the gross estate.

The credit is reduced by that portion of any
credits allowed under subsection (b) of
section 952 and section 958-a of the Tax Law in
proportion to the value that the included gift
bears to the New York gross estate minus total
deductions for any marital deduction or charitable
bequests.

When the credit for gift taxes is claimed, attach a
copy of Form ET-412, Computation of Estate Tax
Credit for Gift Tax, to this return showing how the
amount of credit was determined. Enter the
amount on line 17.

Credit is not allowed for New York gift tax paid on
gifts made after 1982. The tax paid on gifts made
after 1982 is used in computing the amount for
line 13.

Lines 19a, 19b, and 19c
If the estate is required to file federal Form 706,
and the amount computed through line 19a of
Form ET-90 is less than the amount allowable as
a credit for state death taxes on the federal
return, the estate may be subject to a minimum
tax. Use Worksheet III on page 12 to determine
the amount of the minimum tax, if any, and enter
the amount on line 19b.

Line 21
Do not include on this line any interest or penalty
the estate may owe.

Line 22
Overpayments will be refunded automatically.
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Worksheet III — Calculation of New York minimum tax (for line 19b)

If the estate is required to file a federal estate tax return, Form 706, use this worksheet to determine the amount of minimum tax that is payable to New York,
if any.

Maximum federal credit applicable to New York State

Resident

1. Maximum allowable federal credit for state death taxes, from line 15 of federal Form 706, or from Table C on page 13 of these
instructions (may not exceed the amount on line 14 of the federal Form 706) 1.

2. If estate tax was paid to another state, enter on line 2 the lesser of:
A. The estate tax actually paid to the other state A.
or
B. The result of the following:

(1) the value of the real and/or tangible personal property located in the other state that was subject to
estate tax in the other state (1)

(2) the amount from line 1, page 1, of Form ET-90 (2)
(3) Maximum allowable federal credit for state death taxes, from line 1 above (3)

(1) ÷ (2) × (3) = B.
2.

Attach a copy of the receipt for payment of estate tax from the other state to the return. If tax was paid to more than one state, do the
calculation for each state separately, and enter the total on line 2.

3. Subtract line 2 from line 1 3.

4. Enter amount from line 19a, page 1, of Form ET-90 4.

5. New York minimum tax: subtract line 4 from line 3 (enter here and on line 19b, page 1) 5.

Nonresident

1. Multiply the maximum allowable federal credit for state death taxes, from line 15 of Federal Form 706, or from Table C on page 13
of these instructions, by the decimal entered on line 37, page 2, of Form ET-90 1.

2. Enter amount from line 19a, page 1, of Form ET-90 2.

3. New York minimum tax: if line 1 is greater than line 2, subtract line 2 from line 1; otherwise, enter “0” (enter here and on line 19b, page 1) 3.

Table A — Tax rate schedule *

Taxable amount over Taxable amount not over Tax is

$ 0 $ 50,000 2% of such amount
50,000 150,000 $ 1,000 + 3% of excess over $50,000

150,000 300,000 4,000 + 4% of excess over 150,000
300,000 500,000 10,000 + 5% of excess over 300,000
500,000 700,000 20,000 + 6% of excess over 500,000
700,000 900,000 32,000 + 7% of excess over 700,000
900,000 1,100,000 46,000 + 8% of excess over 900,000

1,100,000 1,600,000 62,000 + 9% of excess over 1,100,000
1,600,000 2,100,000 107,000 + 10% of excess over 1,600,000
2,100,000 2,600,000 157,000 + 11% of excess over 2,100,000
2,600,000 3,100,000 212,000 + 12% of excess over 2,600,000
3,100,000 3,600,000 272,000 + 13% of excess over 3,100,000
3,600,000 4,100,000 337,000 + 14% of excess over 3,600,000
4,100,000 5,100,000 407,000 + 15% of excess over 4,100,000
5,100,000 6,100,000 557,000 + 16% of excess over 5,100,000
6,100,000 7,100,000 717,000 + 17% of excess over 6,100,000
7,100,000 8,100,000 887,000 + 18% of excess over 7,100,000
8,100,000 9,100,000 1,067,000 + 19% of excess over 8,100,000
9,100,000 10,100,000 1,257,000 + 20% of excess over 9,100,000

10,100,000 1,457,000 + 21% of excess over 10,100,000

* This tax rate schedule applies to all dates of death after March 31, 1959, and before February 1, 2000, and also to gifts made after 1982 and before 2000.



13Line instructions for Form ET-90
Table B — Unified credit

Part I — For the estate of an individual whose date of death is on or after October 1, 1998.
1. If the tentative tax on line 6 of Form ET-90 is $10,000 or less, the unified credit is the amount of the tentative tax.
2. If the tentative tax on line 6 of Form ET-90 is greater than $10,000 but less than $19,500, the unified credit is $20,000, less the tentative tax.
Example: Line 6 of Form ET-90 is $15,000 Factor for calculation $20,000

Less, tentative tax 15,000
Unified credit $5,000
Net Tax $10,000

3. If the tentative tax on line 6 of Form ET-90 is $19,500 or more, the unified credit on line 7 of Form ET-90 is $500.
Part II — For the estate of an individual whose date of death is on or after June 10, 1994, and before October 1, 1998.
1. If the tentative tax on line 6 of Form ET-90 is $2,950 or less, the credit is the same as the tax.
2. If the tentative tax on line 6 of Form ET-90 is greater than $2,950 but less than $5,400, the unified credit is $5,900, minus the tax.
Example: Line 6 of Form ET-90 is $4,000 Factor for calculation $5,900

Less, tentative tax 4,000
Unified credit $1,900
Net Tax $2,100

3. If the tentative tax on line 6 of Form ET-90 is $5,400 or more, the unified credit on line 7 of Form ET-90 is $500.
Part III — For the estate of an individual whose date of death is before June 10, 1994.
1. If the tentative tax on line 6 of Form ET-90 is $2,750 or less, the credit is the same as the tax.
2. If the tentative tax on line 6 of Form ET-90 is greater than $2,750 but less than $5,000, the unified credit is $5,500, minus the tax.
Example: If the tentative tax is $4,000 Factor for calculation $5,500

Less, tentative tax 4,000
Unified credit $1,500
Net Tax $2,500

3. If the tentative tax on line 6 of ET-90 is $5,000 or more, the unified credit on line 7 of Form ET-90 is $500.

Table C worksheet
Federal adjusted taxable estate

1. Federal taxable estate (from Federal Form 706, Tax computation, line 3) $

2. Adjustment 60,000

3. Federal adjusted taxable estate. Subtract line 2 from line 1. Use this amount
to compute maximum credit for state death taxes in Table C below.

Table C — Computation of maximum credit for state death taxes

(Based on federal adjusted taxable estate computed using the worksheet above)

(1) (2) (3) (4) (1) (2) (3) (4)
Adjusted taxable Rates of credit on Adjusted taxable Rate of credit on
estate equal to or Adjusted taxable Credit on amount excess over amount estate equal to or Adjusted taxable Credit on amount excess over amount

more than— estate less than— in column (1) in column (1) more than— estate less than— in column (1) in column (1)
(Percent) (Percent)

0 $   40,000 0 None 2,040,000 2,540,000 106,800 8.0
$ 40,000      90,000 0 0.8 2,540,000 3,040,000 146,800 8.8

90,000    140,000 $ 400 1.6 3,040,000 3,540,000 190,800 9.6
140,000    240,000 1,200 2.4 3,540,000 4,040,000 238,800 10.4
240,000    440,000 3,600 3.2 4,040,000 5,040,000 290,800 11.2

440,000    640,000 10,000 4.0 5,040,000 6,040,000 402,800 12.0
640,000    840,000 18,000 4.8 6,040,000 7,040,000 522,800 12.8
840,000 1,040,000 27,600 5.6 7,040,000 8,040,000 650,800 13.6

1,040,000 1,540,000 38,800 6.4 8,040,000 9,040,000 786,800 14.4
1,540,000 2,040,000 70,800 7.2 9,040,000 10,040,000 930,800 15.2

10,040,000 - - - - - - - - 1,082,800 16.0
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Instructions for Forms ET-90.1 – ET-90.4, Schedules A–N
Forms ET-90.1 through ET-90.4, Schedules A -
N, must be completed when the estate is not
required to file a federal estate tax return. If
the estate is required to file a federal Form 706,
omit Forms ET-90.1 through ET-90.4.

The following instructions refer to the individual
schedules. Unless the executor elects to value
the estate as of the alternate valuation date, do
not fill in the alternate valuation date or alternate
value on any of the schedules.

Schedule A — Real estate
Describe each parcel of real estate, wherever
located, including any improvements thereon.
Include the property address (street or road, city,
town or village), section, block and lot numbers,
and the place of record of the deed. State the
exact right, title or interest the decedent had in
the property.

Enter the assessed value and fair market value
as of the decedent’s date of death. The fair
market value is the price at which the property
would change hands between a willing buyer and
a willing seller, neither one being under any
compulsion to buy or to sell. The listed value
must be supported by market information or a
contract of sale. In most cases, an appraisal by a
qualified real estate appraiser will be required.

If the alternate valuation date is elected, also
enter the date and fair market value as of that
date.

See the information under the line 54a
instructions concerning valuation of certain real
property devoted to farming or used in a closely
held business. Two appraisals are needed for
this special use valuation allowance - one
appraisal giving the highest and best use value,
and one appraisal giving the actual use value.
Enter the date of death value based on qualified
use in the column for date of death value and, if
elected, the value based on qualified use,
determined as of the alternate valuation date in
the column provided for alternate value. Attach a
schedule showing how the values were
computed.

If any item of real estate is subject to a mortgage
for which the decedent’s estate is liable (i.e., if
the mortgage indebtedness may be a claim
against other property of the estate, or if the
decedent was personally liable for the mortgage),
report the full value of the property in the Value
at date of death column and enter the amount of
the outstanding mortgage under Description in
this schedule. The amount of the unpaid
mortgage may be deducted on Schedule K of
Form ET-90.3.

Real property that the decedent had contracted
to purchase should be listed in this schedule at
its full value and not just the equity therein. The
unpaid portion of the purchase price is deducted
under Schedule K of Form ET-90.3.

All rents accrued but uncollected on the date of
death should be apportioned to the date of the
decedent’s death and entered in this schedule.

Jointly owned real property is listed on
Schedule E of Form ET-90.2.

Schedule B — Stocks and bonds
List stocks and bonds included in the decedent’s
New York adjusted gross estate, numbering each
item in the left-hand column.

Description — The description of stock should
indicate number of shares, whether common or
preferred, issue, par value where needed for
identification, price per share, exact name of
corporation and the principal exchange upon
which it is sold or, if not listed on a stock
exchange, the post office address of the principal
business office, the state in which incorporated,
and the date of incorporation.

The description of bonds should include quantity
and denomination, name of obligor, kind of bond,
date of maturity, interest rate and interest due
dates. State the exchange upon which listed, or if
unlisted, the principal business office of the
company.

Include the CUSIP number if available. The
CUSIP (Committee on Uniform Security
Identification Procedure) number is a nine-digit
number assigned to all stocks and bonds traded
on major exchanges and to many unlisted
securities. Usually, the CUSIP number is printed
on the face of the stock certificate. If the CUSIP
number is not printed on the certificate, it may be
obtained through the company’s transfer agent.

Valuation — In the case of stocks and bonds
listed on a stock exchange, the mean (midpoint)
between the highest and lowest quoted selling
prices on the date of death, or the alternate
valuation date if alternate valuation is properly
elected, is considered the fair market value per
share or bond. If there were no sales on the date
of valuation but there were sales on dates within
a reasonable period before and after the date of
valuation, determine the fair market value in the
following way: take a weighted average of the
mean between the highest and lowest sales
prices on the nearest date before the date of
valuation, and the mean between the highest and
lowest sales prices on the nearest date after the
date of valuation. The average must be weighted
inversely by the respective numbers of trading
days between the selling dates and the date of
valuation. Any day the exchange is closed is not
a trading day and is not counted.

Example: The nearest transactions took place
June 13, two trading days before the date of
valuation at a mean selling price of $10, and on
June 18, three trading days after the date of
valuation at a mean selling price of $15. The
price of $12 is the fair market value, obtained by
the following computation:

(3 × $10) + (2 × $15)
= $12

5

If no sales occurred within a reasonable period
before and after the date of valuation, the fair
market value may be determined by taking the
mean between the bona fide bid and asked
prices on the date of valuation, or if none, by
taking a weighted average of the means between
the bona fide bid and asked prices on the
nearest trading date before, and the nearest
trading date after, the date of valuation. Both of
these dates must be within a reasonable period.

If the highest and lowest selling prices on the
date of valuation are not available for bonds for
which there is a market on a stock exchange, but
the closing selling prices are available on the
date of valuation and the trading day before the
date of valuation, then the fair market value of
the bonds is the mean between the quoted

closing selling price on the date of valuation and
the quoted closing selling price on the trading
day before the date of valuation.

If the stocks or bonds are listed on more than
one exchange, the records for the exchange
where the stocks or bonds are principally dealt in
should be used to value the stocks and bonds if
the records are available in a generally available
listing or publication of general circulation. If
these records are not available and the stocks
and bonds are in a composite listing of combined
exchanges that is generally available, then use
the records of the combined exchanges.

If no actual sale prices or bona fide bid and
asked prices are available on a date within a
reasonable period before the date of valuation,
but are available on a date within a reasonable
period after that date, or vice versa, then the
mean between the highest and lowest available
sale prices or bid and asked prices on that date
may be taken as the fair market value.

If quotations are obtained from brokers, or
evidence as to the sale of securities is obtained
from the officers of the issuing companies, copies
of the letters furnishing the quotations or
evidence of sale should be attached to the
schedule.

Accrued interest on bonds should be computed
to the valuation date and reported separately.

Report on this schedule, as separate items, any
dividends that have not been collected at death
but which are payable to the decedent or his or
her estate because the decedent was a
stockholder of record on the date of his or her
death.

Dividends declared on shares of stock prior to
the death of the decedent but payable to
stockholders of record on a date after his or her
death are not includable in the decedent’s
New York adjusted gross estate for estate tax
purposes. However, if the stock is being traded
on an exchange and is selling ex-dividend on the
date of the decedent’s death, the amount of the
dividend should not be included in the New York
adjusted gross estate as a separate item but
should be added to the ex-dividend quotation in
determining the fair market value of the stock as
of the date of death.

Inactive unlisted stock and stock in closed
corporations should be valued upon the basis of
the company’s net worth and earning capacity
using the rules contained in section 2031 of the
IRC and applicable regulations. Submit complete
financial statements and any other data the
estate uses to determine value, including balance
sheets (particularly the one nearest the valuation
date), and statements of the net earnings or
operating results and dividends paid for each of
five years immediately preceding the valuation
date. If there were any sales of these securities
within a reasonable period before or after the
valuation date, furnish a statement of these
sales, showing the number and prices of shares
sold.

Securities reported as having no value, having
nominal value or being obsolete should be listed
last. Attach copies of correspondence or
statements used to determine their value or
worthlessness.

(continued)
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Bonds exempt from federal or state income taxes
are not exempt from estate taxes unless
exempted by a specific provision for estate tax.

Schedule C — Mortgages, notes,
cash, and bank deposits
Mortgages and notes held by the decedent, and
cash, including bank deposits, must be included
on this schedule. Jointly owned assets must be
reported on Schedule E of Form ET-90.2.

The classes of property reportable in this
schedule should be listed in the following order:

Mortgages (receivables) — List: (1) face value
and unpaid balance; (2) date of mortgage; (3)
name of maker; (4) property mortgaged; (5)
interest dates and rate of interest; (6) date to
which interest was paid; and (7) date of maturity.
Add accrued interest to date of death.

Example: Bond and mortgage of $20,000,
unpaid balance $10,000; dated January 2, 1995;
John Doe to Richard Roe; 1 Any Street, Newton,
Vermont; 7% interest, payable January 2 and
July 1; paid to July 1, 2000; due January 2, 2005.

If the asset listed represents a second
mortgage, make a special notation to this effect.
The estate may be requested to furnish a copy of
the contract.

Notes (receivables) — For all promissory notes
held by the decedent, give similar data as
required under mortgages above.

Contract by decedent to sell land — List:
(1) name of purchaser; (2) date of contract; (3)
description of property; (4) sale price; (5) initial
payment; (6) amount of installment payment; (7)
unpaid balance of principal and accrued interest;
(8) interest rate; and  (9) date prior to death to
which interest had been paid.

Cash in possession – List separately from bank
deposits.

Cash in banks, savings and loan
associations, and other types of financial
organizations – List: (1) name and address of
each financial organization; (2) amount in each
account, (3) account number; and (4) nature of
account; indicating whether checking, savings,
time deposit, etc.

Schedule D — Insurance on the
decedent’s life
If there was any insurance on the decedent’s life,
whether or not included in the gross estate, you
must complete Schedule D and file it with the
return.

Insurance you must include in the gross
estate on Schedule D

— Insurance on the decedent’s life receivable by
or for the benefit of the estate; and

— Insurance on the decedent’s life receivable by
beneficiaries other than the estate, as
described below.

The term insurance refers to life insurance of
every description, including: whole life policies;
term insurance; group life insurance; double
indemnity, travel and accident insurance;
endowment contracts (before being paid up);
death benefits paid by fraternal organizations
operating under the lodge system; and death
benefits paid under no-fault automobile insurance
policies if the no-fault insurer was unconditionally
bound to pay the benefit in the event of the
insured’s death.

Insurance in favor of the estate — Include on
Schedule D the full amount of the proceeds of
insurance on the life of the decedent receivable
by the executor or otherwise payable to or for the
benefit of the estate. Insurance in favor of the
estate includes insurance used to pay the estate
tax, and any other taxes, debts, or charges that
are enforceable against the estate. The manner
in which the policy is drawn is immaterial as long
as there is an obligation, legally binding on the
beneficiary, to use the proceeds to pay taxes,
debts or charges. You must include the full
amount even though the premiums or other
consideration may have been paid by a person
other than the decedent.

Insurance receivable by beneficiaries other
than the estate — Include on Schedule D the
proceeds of all insurance on the life of the
decedent not receivable by or for the benefit of
the decedent’s estate if the decedent possessed
at death any of the incidents of ownership,
exercisable either alone or in conjunction with
any person.

Incidents of ownership in a policy include:

— the right of the insured or estate to its
economic benefits;

— the power to change the beneficiary;

— the power to surrender or cancel the policy;

— the power to assign the policy or to revoke an
assignment;

— the power to pledge the policy for a loan;

— the power to obtain from the insurer a loan
against the surrender value for the policy;

— a reversionary interest if the value of the
reversionary interest was more than 5% of the
value of the policy immediately before the
decedent died. An interest in an insurance
policy is considered a reversionary interest if,
for example, the proceeds become payable to
the insured’s estate or payable as the insured
directs if the beneficiary dies before the
insured.

If the decedent had a retirement income
insurance policy, or if life insurance was
purchased by a decedent’s employer as part of a
pension plan, the benefits payable at the time of
a decedent’s death are generally includable in
the New York adjusted gross estate under
various sections of the IRC, as conformed to by
New York State, depending upon the facts of the
particular situation.

If the decedent, at the time of death, owned a life
insurance policy on the life of another
individual, see the instructions for Schedule F
on page 16.

If the decedent made a gift of a life insurance
policy to another individual, see the instructions
for Schedule G on page 16.

How to complete Schedule D
You must list every policy of insurance on the life
of the decedent, whether or not it is included in
the New York adjusted gross estate.

Under Description list:

— the name of the insurance company and

— the number of the policy.

For every policy of life insurance listed on the
schedule, you must request a federal Form 712,
Life Insurance Statement, from the company that
issued the policy. Attach the Form(s) 712 to the

back of Schedule D of Form ET-90.1.

If the policy proceeds are paid in one sum, enter
the net proceeds received (from Form 712,
line 24) in the value (and alternative value)
columns of Schedule D. If the policy proceeds
are not paid in one sum, enter the value of the
proceeds as of the date of the decedent’s death
(from Form 712, line 25).

If part or all of the policy proceeds are not
included in the New York adjusted gross estate,
you must explain why they were not included.

Schedule E — Jointly owned
property
Include all property, whether real estate or
personal property (including bank accounts), in
which the decedent, at the time of death, held an
interest either as a joint tenant, a tenant by the
entirety or as an owner of community property,
whether or not the decedent’s interest is
includable in the New York adjusted gross estate.

Property held by the decedent as a tenant in
common should not be listed here, but the value
of the interest should be reported on Schedule A,
if real estate, or if personal property, on the
appropriate schedule. Report the value of the
decedent’s interest in a partnership on
Schedule F of Form ET-90.2.

Qualified joint interests — Report all property,
both real and personal, held by the decedent and
decedent’s surviving spouse as qualified joint
interests at full value in Part I of this schedule,
with the total of all such assets entered on line 1.
One-half of the amount on line 1 should be
entered on line 2 and included in the Total on
line 4. Under the Description column, describe
the property reported in the same manner as
stated in these instructions for Schedules A, B,
C, and F.

Special rules allow for the treatment of certain
property held jointly between spouses to be
considered qualified joint interests. If joint
interests meet the requirements given below,
one-half of the value of such qualifying joint
interests is included in the New York adjusted
gross estate of the first spouse to die.

A qualified joint interest means any interest in
property held by the decedent and decedent’s
surviving spouse as either tenants by the entirety
or joint tenants with the right of survivorship, but
only if the spouses are the only joint tenants.
Interest in property that meets either of these two
requirements is includable in the gross estate of
the first spouse to die and is reported in Part I of
the Schedule. This rule applies even if the
surviving spouse furnished the total consideration
for the property.

Note: If the surviving spouse is not a citizen
of the United States, the interest is not a
qualified joint interest, even when the election
provided in section 955(e)(2) of the Tax Law
is made.

All other joint interests — Property held jointly
by the decedent and someone other than a
surviving spouse who is a U.S. citizen should be
reported in Part II of this schedule. For each item
of property reported, enter the name of the
surviving joint tenant. The description of the
property reported must include the same
information as set forth in these instructions for
Schedules A, B, C, and F.

(continued)
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Generally, you must include the full value of the
property in the New York adjusted gross estate,
unless you can show that a part of the property
originally was never received or acquired by them
from the decedent for less than adequate and full
consideration in money or money’s worth, or
unless you can show that part of the property
was acquired with consideration originally
belonging to the surviving joint tenant or tenants.
In this case, you may exclude from the value of
the property an amount proportionate to the
consideration furnished by the other tenant or
tenants.

As the executor of the estate, you must prove
that the other person (joint owner) acquired his or
her interest for consideration or by bequest or
gift. Consideration provided by a surviving joint
owner does not include money or property that
was acquired from the decedent for less than a
full and adequate consideration in money or
money’s worth.

If the owners of property in joint tenancy were
jointly and severally liable on a mortgage on that
property, and if, at the death of a joint tenant, the
mortgage is outstanding, the surviving joint
tenant’s total contribution to the purchase is the
sum of that survivor’s actual payments for the
purchase, later mortgage payments, and one-half
of the mortgage indebtedness that remained
outstanding at death. See Schedule A
instructions for the value to show for real
property that is subject to a mortgage.

When property was acquired by gift, bequest,
devise, or inheritance by the decedent and
another person or persons as joint tenants, and
their interests are not otherwise specified or fixed
by law, include only the fractional part of the
value of the property obtained by dividing the full
value of the property by the number of joint
tenants.

If you believe that less than the full value of the
entire property is includable in the New York
adjusted gross estate for tax purposes, you must
establish the right to include a lesser value by
submitting proof of the extent, origin, and nature
of the decedent’s interest and the interest(s) of
decedent’s co-tenant or co-tenants.

Schedule F — Other
miscellaneous property
Include in this schedule all items of the New York
adjusted gross estate not reportable under any
other schedule, such as the following: debts due
the decedent (other than notes and mortgages
reported on Schedule C); interests in business,
gains, patents, rights, royalties, judgments;
shares in trust funds; reversionary or remainder
interests; claims (including the value of the
decedent’s interest in a claim for refund of
income taxes or the amount of the refund
actually received); the unused portion of pension
benefits; leaseholds; farm products and growing
crops; livestock; farm machinery; automobiles;
household goods and personal effects including
wearing apparel; articles of artistic or intrinsic
value; insurance on the life of another (the value
of such insurance is the cost of replacing the
policy and not the cash surrender value). Submit
a copy of federal Form 712, Life Insurance
Statement, to establish the value. You must
request Form 712  from the company that issued
the policy. Part II of the form shows the value to
report.

Damages recovered for personal injury to a
decedent (pain and suffering) resulting in the
death of the injured person are includable in the

decedent’s New York adjusted gross estate (see
Estates, Powers and Trusts Law 11-3.3).
(Wrongful death damages are not includable in
the decedent’s New York adjusted gross estate
since the damages awarded are paid directly to
the decedent’s distributees - see EPTL 5-4.4.)

Note for single premium or paid up policies:
In certain situations, such as when the surrender
value of the policy exceeds its replacement cost,
the true economic value of the policy will be
greater than the amount shown on line 56 of
federal Form 712.  In these situations, you must
report the full economic value of the policy on
Schedule F.

The written appraisal of an expert should be filed
with the return when any one article included
among the household and personal effects has a
marked artistic or intrinsic value in excess of
$3,000, or any collection of similar articles is
valued at more than $10,000.

If the decedent owned any interest in a
partnership or unincorporated business, submit
financial statements as of the valuation date and
for the five years preceding death, salaries of the
decedent and of any partners, and the method of
accounting for goodwill. The same information
should be furnished, and the same methods
followed, as explained previously in the
instructions for valuing closely held corporations.

Qualified Terminable Interest Property (QTIP) -
For estates of decedents dying after 1982, an
estate representative may elect a marital
deduction for certain qualified terminable interest
property that passes to the surviving spouse (see
the instructions for Schedule M). Also, if an inter
vivos gift of terminable interest property is made
between spouses after 1982, the donor may elect
a marital deduction for qualifying property.

When the spouse who received the property
dies, the value of any property in which the
spouse had a qualifying income interest for life
and for which a marital deduction was previously
allowed, under either election (estate tax or gift
tax), is includable in his or her New York adjusted
gross estate and reportable in this schedule.
However, any part of the property disposed of
before death is not includable in the New York
adjusted gross estate. (Refer to IRC
section 2044.)

QTIP property included in a donee-spouse’s
estate will be treated as passing from that
spouse for estate tax purposes.

When the New York gross estate includes the
value of this marital deduction property, the
estate may recover the estate tax applicable to
this property from the recipient(s) of that
property, unless the decedent’s will directs
otherwise. (Refer to EPTL 2-1.12.)

Schedule G — Transfers during
decedent’s life
You must complete Schedule G and file it with
the return if the decedent made any of the
transfers described below in one through five or if
you answered Yes on Form ET-90, page 3,
line 60.

Five types of transfers should be reported on this
schedule:

1. Certain gift taxes – Enter at item 1 of the
Schedule the total amount of New York State gift
taxes that were paid by the decedent or the
estate on gifts made by the decedent or the
decedent’s spouse within three years before
death.

The date of the gift, not the date of payment of
the gift tax, determines whether a gift tax paid is
included in the New York adjusted gross estate
under this rule. Therefore, you should carefully
examine the Forms TP-400 filed by the decedent
and the decedent’s spouse to determine what
part of the total gift taxes reported on them was
attributable to gifts made within three years
before death. For example, if the decedent died
on July 10, 1993, you should examine gift tax
returns for 1993, 1992, 1991, and 1990.
However, the gift taxes on the 1990 returns that
are attributable to gifts made before July 10,
1990, are not included in the New York adjusted
gross estate.

Attach an explanation of how you computed the
includable gift taxes if you do not include in the
New York gross estate the entire New York State
gift taxes shown on any return filed within three
years of death. Also attach copies of any
pertinent gift tax returns filed by the decedent’s
spouse within three years of death.

2. Other transfers within three years before
death (IRC section 2035(a)) – These transfers
include only the following:

— any transfer by the decedent with respect to a
life insurance policy within three years before
death;

— any transfer within three years before death
of a retained life estate (IRC section 2036),
reversionary interest (IRC section 2037), or
power to revoke, etc. (IRC section 2038), if
the property subject to the life estate, interest,
or power would have been included in the
New York adjusted gross estate had the
decedent continued to possess the life estate,
interest, or power until death.

These transfers are reported on Schedule G
regardless of whether a gift tax return was
required to be filed for them when they were
made. However, the amount includable and the
information required to be shown for the transfers
are determined:

— For insurance on the life of the decedent,
using the instructions for Schedule D (attach
federal Form(s) 712).

— For insurance on the life of another, using the
instructions for Schedule F (attach federal
Form(s) 712).

— For IRC sections 2036, 2037, and 2038
transfers, using paragraphs 3, 4, and 5 below.

3. Transfers with retained life estate (IRC
section 2036) – These are transfers in which the
decedent retained the income from the
transferred property or the right to designate the
person or persons who will possess or enjoy the
transferred property, or the income from the
transferred property if the transfer was made:

(a) Between March 4, 1931, and June 6,
1932, inclusive, and the decedent alone
retained the right to so designate for life,
or for any period that did not in fact end
before the decedent’s death; or

(b) After June 6, 1932, and the decedent
retained the right to so designate, either
alone or with any person, for life, for any
period that must be ascertained by
reference to the decedent’s death, or for
any period that did not in fact end before
the decedent’s death.

Retained voting rights — Transfers with a
retained life estate also include transfers of stock
in a controlled corporation after June 22, 1976, if
the decedent retained or acquired voting rights in

(continued)
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the stock. If the decedent retained direct or
indirect voting rights in a controlled corporation,
the decedent is considered to have retained
enjoyment of the transferred property. A
corporation is a controlled corporation if the
decedent owned (actually or constructively) or
had the right (either alone or with any other
person) to vote at least 20% of the total
combined voting power of all classes of stock
(see IRC section 2036(b)). If these voting rights
ceased or were relinquished within 3 years
before the decedent’s death, the corporate
interests are included in the gross estate as if the
decedent had actually retained the voting rights
until death.

4. Transfers taking effect at death (IRC
section 2037) — These are transfers made on or
after September 8, 1916, that took effect at the
decedent’s death. A transfer that takes effect at
the decedent’s death is one under which
possession or enjoyment can be obtained only by
surviving the decedent. A transfer is not treated
as one that takes effect at the decedent’s death
unless the decedent retained a reversionary
interest in the property that immediately before
the decedent’s death had a value of more than
5% of the value of the transferred property. If the
transfer was made before October 8, 1949, the
reversionary interest must have arisen by the
express terms of the instrument of transfer.

5. Revocable transfers (IRC section 2038) —
These are transfers in which the enjoyment of
the transferred property was subject at
decedent’s death to any change through the
exercise of a power to alter, amend, revoke, or
terminate, as follows:

— If the transfer was made before 4:01 p.m.,
eastern standard time, June 2, 1924, and the
power was reserved at the time of the transfer
and was exercisable by the decedent alone or
with a person who had no substantial adverse
interest in the transferred property.

— If the transfer was made on or after 4:01 p.m.,
eastern standard time, June 2, 1924, and
before June 23, 1936, and the power was
reserved at the time of the transfer and was
exercisable by the decedent alone or with any
person (regardless of whether that person
had a substantial adverse interest in the
transferred property).

— If the transfer was made after June 22, 1936,
regardless of whether the power was
reserved at the time of the transfer or later
created or conferred, regardless of the source
from which the power was acquired,
regardless of whether the power was
exercisable by the decedent alone or with any
other person, and regardless of whether that
person had a substantial adverse interest in
the transferred property.

— If the decedent relinquished within 3 years
before death any of the includable powers
described above, you should determine the
New York adjusted gross estate as if the
decedent had actually retained the power until
death.

Special valuation rules for certain
lifetime transfers

Note: Section 1009 of the Tax Law was
amended by Chapter 826, Laws of 1992, to
incorporate sections 2701, 2702, 2703, and
2704 of the federal IRC as enacted by the
federal Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act of
1990. These sections provide rules for valuing

certain transfers to family members and are
generally effective for transfers occurring after
August 7, 1992.

IRC section 2701 deals with the transfer of an
interest in a corporation or partnership while
retaining certain distribution rights, or a
liquidation, put, call, or conversion right.

IRC section 2702 deals with the transfer of an
interest in a trust while retaining any interest
other than a qualified interest. In general, a
qualified interest is a right to receive certain
distributions from the trust at least annually, or a
noncontingent remainder interest if all of the
other interests in the trust are distribution rights
specified in section 2702.

IRC section 2703 provides rules for the valuation
of property transferred to a family member but
subject to an option, agreement, or other right to
acquire or use the property at less than fair
market value. It also applies to transfers subject
to restrictions on the right to sell or use the
property.

Finally, IRC section 2704 provides that in certain
cases the lapse of a voting or liquidation right in
a family-owned corporation or partnership will
result in a deemed transfer.

These rules have potential consequences for the
valuation of property in an estate. If the decedent
(or any member of his or her family) was involved
in any such transactions, see sections 2701-2704
of the federal IRC for additional details.

Generally, all transfers made within 3 years of
death are includable in the federal gross estate
for the limited purpose of determining the
estate’s qualification for any of the following:

1. special use valuation;

2. deferral of estate taxes when the estate
consists mainly of an interest in a closely held
business (The estate must meet the 35% test
both with and without the inclusion of such
gifts in order to be eligible for the deferred
payment plan.); or

3. determining property that is subject to estate
tax liens.

All gifts to a surviving spouse made within 3
years of the donor’s death are includable in the
New York adjusted gross estate for the purpose
of determining the estate’s eligibility for the
special treatments indicated above, even though
no gift tax return was required to be filed
because of the unlimited marital deduction.

Transfers made in settlement of marital rights
— A deduction from the decedent’s taxable
estate will be allowed for agreed-upon post-death
property transfers to a former spouse made
under a written agreement in settlement of
marital or property rights if divorce occurred
within the 3-year period beginning 1 year before
the execution of the agreement. If the transferor
dies before completing the transfers covered by
the written agreement, no estate tax will be
imposed with respect to the property transferred
by the estate provided the transfers are made to
the former spouse in settlement of his or her
property rights or to provide a reasonable
allowance for the support of minor children of the
marriage.

Property transfers not covered by a written
agreement are not exempt from estate tax unless
the transfer occurs in satisfaction of a court
order.

For reporting purposes, the asset (property
transferred) would be includable in the
decedent’s gross estate under IRC section
2043(a) and allowed as a deduction under IRC
section 2053(e) based on IRC
section 2043(b)(2).

In all cases, the value of gifts or transfers
includable in the New York adjusted gross estate
is the value of the transferred property at the
date of death or alternate valuation date,
consistent with the estate’s election of the
valuation date of the estate tax return.

If, after June 30, 1978, a person makes a
qualified disclaimer with respect to any interest in
property, the estate and gift tax provisions apply
to the disclaimed interest in the same manner as
if there had never been a transfer to the person
making the qualified disclaimer. A person who
makes a qualified disclaimer will not be
considered as having made a gift to the person
to whom the disclaimed interest passes. A
qualified disclaimer is an irrevocable and
unqualified refusal by a person to accept an
interest in property. Such disclaimer must meet
all of the explicit conditions enumerated in
section 2518 of the IRC as conformed to by
New York State. (The provisions of this section
relate in the same manner to IRC section 2046,
regarding estate tax.) A surviving spouse can,
under this rule, disclaim an interest in property
that, as a result and without direction on his or
her part, passes to a trust in which he or she has
an income interest.

For transfers made after 1982, local law (state)
will be applicable to determine the identity of the
transferee, but the transfer need not satisfy
any requirements of the local disclaimer
statute. The disclaimer will be considered an
effective disclaimer for estate tax purposes if all
other requirements of IRC section 2518 are met.
Renunciation (disclaimer) of property interests is
provided for in EPTL 2-1.11.

How to complete Schedule G
All transfers (other than outright transfers not in
trust and bona fide sales) made by the decedent
at any time during life must be reported on the
Schedule regardless of whether or not you
believe the transfers are subject to tax. If the
decedent made any transfers not described in
the instructions, the transfers should not be
shown on Schedule G. Instead, attach a
settlement describing these transfers. List the
date of the transfer, the amount or value, and the
type of transfer.

Complete the schedule for each transfer that is
included in the gross estate under
sections 2035(a), 2036, 2037, and 2038 of the
IRC as previously described.

In the Item number column, number each
transfer consecutively.  In the Description
column, list the name of the transferee, the date
of the transfer, and give a complete description of
the property. Transfers included in the New York
adjusted gross estate should be valued on the
date of the decedent’s death or, if the alternate
valuation is adopted, according to section 2032
of the IRC.

If only part of the property transferred meets the
terms of section 2035(a), 2036, 2037, or 2038 of
the IRC, then only a corresponding part of the
value of the property should be included in the
value of the New York adjusted gross estate. If
the transferee makes additions or improvements
to the property, the increased value of the
property at the valuation date should not be
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included on Schedule G. However, if only a part
of the value of the property is included, enter the
value of the whole under the column headed
Description and explain what part was included.

Attachments — If a transfer, by trust or
otherwise, was made by a written instrument,
attach a copy of the instrument to the Schedule.
If of public record, the copy should be certified; if
not of record, the copy should be verified.

Schedule H — Powers of
appointment
On Schedule H include in the New York adjusted
gross estate:

1. the value of property for which the decedent
possessed a general power of appointment
on the date of his or her death; and

2. the value of property for which the decedent
possessed a general power of appointment
that he or she exercised or released before
death by disposing of it in such a way that if it
were a transfer of property owned by the
decedent, the property would be includable in
the decedent’s New York adjusted gross
estate. (See section 2041 of the federal IRC.)

Powers of appointment

A power of appointment includes all powers that
are in substance and affect powers of
appointment regardless of how they are identified
and regardless of local property laws. For
example, if a settler transfers property in trust for
the life of his wife, with a power in the wife to
appropriate or consume the principal of the trust,
the wife has a power of appointment.

General power of appointment — A general
power of appointment is a power that is
exercisable in favor of the decedent, the
decedent’s estate, the decedent’s creditors, or
the creditors of the decedent’s estate, except:

1. a power to consume, invade, or appropriate
property for the benefit of the decedent that is
limited by an ascertainable standard relating
to health, education, support, or maintenance
of the decedent;

2. a power created on or before October 21,
1942, that is exercisable by the decedent only
in conjunction with another person;

3. a power created after October 21, 1942,
exercisable by the decedent only in
conjunction with (a) the creator of the power,
or (b) a person who has a substantial interest
in the property subject to the power, which is
adverse to the exercise of the power in favor
of the decedent.

A part of a power created after October 21, 1942,
is considered a general power of appointment if
the power:

1. may only be exercised by the decedent in
conjunction with another person; and

2. is also exercisable in favor of the other person
(in addition to being exercisable in favor of
the decedent, the decedent’s creditors, the
decedent’s estate, or the creditor of the
decedent’s estate).

The part to include in the New York adjusted
gross estate as general power of appointment is
figured by dividing the value of the property by
the number of persons (including the decedent)
in favor of whom the power is exercisable.

Date power was created — Generally, a power
of appointment created by will is considered
created on the date of the testator’s death.

However, a power of appointment created by a
will executed on or before October 21, 1942, is
considered a power created on or before that
date if the person executing the will died before
July 1, 1949, without having republished the will,
by codicil otherwise, after October 21, 1942.

A power of appointment created by an inter vivos
instrument is considered created on the date the
instrument takes effect. If the holder of a power
exercises it by creating a second power, the
second power is considered as created at the
time of the exercise of the first.

Limited power of appointment created prior to
September 1, 1930 — This particular power and
the property covered by the power applies to
property conveyed before September 1, 1930,
that was not subject to New York State estate or
death taxes in the estate of the grantor of such
power, by virtue of the law then in effect, with the
expectation that a deferred tax would be paid by
the grantee (donee) of the power upon the
exercise of the power. The value of the property
passing under such limited power of appointment
must be added to the federal gross estate of a
deceased resident if the limited power of
appointment is exercised by the decedent by will
or by a disposition which is of such nature that if
it were a transfer of property owned by the
decedent such property would be includable in
the New York gross estate as a transfer under
IRC section 2035, 2036, 2037 or 2038.

If the estate contends that property passing by a
power of appointment is not taxable, the reasons
must be set forth in the schedule.

Schedule I — Annuities
The New York adjusted gross estate includes the
value of an annuity or other payment receivable
by any beneficiary following the death of the
decedent under any type of contract or
agreement entered into after March 31, 1931,
including employee benefit plans and Individual
Retirement Arrangements (IRAs), including
self-employed H.R. 10 (Keogh) plans.

Annuity or other payment refers to one or more
payments extending over a period of time.
Payments do not have to be made in equal
amounts or at regular intervals.

The tests for the includability in the New York
adjusted gross estate of payments to a
beneficiary revolve about the rights of the primary
annuitant and also who paid for the annuity. The
gross estate generally includes the value of the
contract or other agreement attributable to
contributions of both the decedent and the
employer, if made by reason of employment. If
someone, such as a spouse, contributed a
portion or all of the cost of the purchase of an
annuity, the gross estate does not include that
part of the date of death value of the annuity or
other payment receivable by the surviving
beneficiary that such contributions (to the cost of
the annuity) bear to the total cost.

Contract or agreement includes any
arrangement, understanding, or plan that
resulted from the decedent’s employment.

A combination annuity contract and life insurance
policy on the decedent’s life (e.g., a retirement
income policy with death benefits) that matured
during the decedent’s lifetime so that there was
no longer an insurance element (risk) at the time
of death is taxed as an annuity.

For an annuity payable for the life of a
beneficiary, the date of birth of that beneficiary
should be given. If the annuity is payable for a

term of years, the duration of the term and the
date on which payment began should be given.

Annuities not includable under this schedule may
be includable on another.

Repeal of exclusion for annuity and lump-
sum payments from qualified plans —
Chapter 543, New York Laws of 1985, enacted
July 24, 1985, and applicable to decedents dying
after that date, conformed Article 26 to the IRC of
1954 as amended by P.L. 98-369 enacted
July 18, 1984. Section 525(a) of the Federal Act
repealed subsections (c) through (g) of
section 2039 of the IRC.

Section 2039(c) of the IRC previously provided
an exclusion of up to $100,000 for the amount of
the proceeds from an annuity under a qualified
plan (determined under section 401 of the IRC),
payable to a named beneficiary, that was
attributable to employer contributions to such
plan.

Section  525(a) of P.L. 98-369 grandfathered the
exclusion for persons who had met certain
qualifications that are applicable to New York
estate tax. The exclusion may apply if either of
the following conditions is met:

1. on December 31, 1985, the decedent was
both a participant in the qualifying plan and
receiving payments from the plan, and the
decedent had irrevocably elected the form of
benefit before July 25, 1985; or

2. the decedent had separated from service
prior to January 1, 1986, and did not change
the form of benefit before death.

If either of the above conditions is met, the
exclusion may be allowed. The exclusion may not
exceed $100,000, unless either of two additional
conditions is met:

1. on December 31, 1982, the decedent was
both a participant in the qualifying plan and
receiving payments from the plan, and the
decedent had irrevocably elected the form of
the benefit before January 1, 1983; or

2. the decedent was separated from service
before January 1, 1983, and did not change
the form of benefit before death.

The exclusion does not apply to IRAs.

If the decedent met the above qualifications,
refer to the federal instructions for federal
Form 706,  for information on qualifying plans
and the method of allocating the exclusion when
both the employee and employer contributed to
the plan. If information provided by the qualifying
plan is insufficient to determine the date of death
value of the plan, and the value must be
computed on an actuarial basis, contact the Tax
Department for guidance.

Schedule J — Funeral and
administration expenses
The combined total of the deductions claimed on
Schedules J and K may not exceed the value of
the property subject to claims unless the
deductions represent amounts actually paid at
the time the return is filed.

Property subject to claims generally relates to
those assets subject to probate and may be
defined as property includable in the gross estate
which, or the avails of which, would, under the
applicable law, bear the burden of the payment of
such deductions in the final adjustment and
settlement of the decedent’s estate, except that
the value of the property shall be reduced by the

(continued)
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amount of deductible losses incurred during the
settlement of the estate arising from fires,
storms, or other casualties or from theft when
such losses are not compensated for by
insurance or otherwise. (Expenses incurred in
administering property not subject to claims
should be listed on Schedule L.)

On Schedule J, itemize funeral expenses and
expenses incurred in administering property
subject to claims. List the names and addresses
of persons to whom the expenses are payable
and describe the nature of the expenses.

Include in this schedule the following types of
expenses:

1. Itemized funeral expenses actually
expended by the executor. Funeral expenses
must be reduced by any V.A. payments or
social security death benefits that are paid
directly to a funeral director.

2. Expenses of administering property and
settling the estate, if not deducted in the
estate’s income tax return, should be
itemized, giving names and addresses of
persons to whom payable and the exact
nature of each particular expense. If an
amount is estimated, indicate that fact.
Administration expenses are limited to such
expenses as are actually and necessarily
incurred in the administration of the estate
(i.e., collection of assets, payment of debts,
and distribution of property based on the
terms of the decedent’s will or the laws of
intestacy to persons entitled to such
property). These expenses include:

(a) executor’s commissions, (b) attorney’s
fees, and (c) miscellaneous expenses.

Executor’s commissions are allowed on the
distributable assets (i.e., on assets which the
executor actually takes possession of and
actually distributes), not assets passing outside
the will and/or by operation of law or specifically
devised real property. Commissions allowed are
governed by rates as prescribed by section 2307
of the Surrogate’s Court Procedure Act.

Note: Executors’ commissions are taxable
income to the executors. Therefore, be sure
to include them as income on your individual
income tax return.

Attorney’s fees are those incurred for services
that benefit the estate and should be deducted in
the amount paid or reasonably expected to be
paid, in accordance with section 20.2053-3(c) of
the Federal Tax Regulations.

Do not deduct attorney fees incidental to litigation
incurred by the beneficiaries. These expenses
are charged against the beneficiaries personally
and are not administration expenses.

Miscellaneous expenses include court costs,
surrogate fees, accountant’s fees, appraiser’s
fees, executor/administrator bonds, and
necessary expenses incurred in preserving and
distributing estate assets. Expenses for selling
property of the estate, including real estate
broker’s commissions, are not deductible unless
the sale is necessary in order to pay the
decedent’s debts, expenses of administration or
taxes, to preserve the estate, or effect
distribution. (Refer to Federal Tax Regulations,
section 20.2053-3(d)(2).)

Schedule K — Debts of decedent,
including mortgages and liens
Amounts that may be deducted as claims against
the decedent’s estate are only those that

represent enforceable personal obligations of the
decedent at the time of death, and interest that
has accrued on the obligations. Only interest
accrued to the date of death is deductible, even if
the executor elects the alternate valuation.

Debts — Itemize fully all valid debts of the
decedent owed at the time of death. If the
amount of any debt is disputed or the subject of
litigation, deduct only the amount that the estate
concedes to be a valid claim. If the claim is
contested, that fact should be indicated.

Generally, if the claim against the estate is based
on a promise or agreement, the deduction is
limited to the extent that the liability was a
contract for an adequate and full consideration in
money or money’s worth. However, any
enforceable claim based on a promise or
agreement of the decedent to make a
contribution or gift (such as a pledge or a
subscription) to or for the use of a charitable,
public, religious, etc., organization is deductible
to the extent that the deduction would be allowed
as a bequest under the statute that applies. Real
property taxes are not deductible unless they
accrued prior to the decedent’s death and are an
enforceable obligation of the decedent at the
time of death. Since real property taxes are
usually payable in advance, they would have to
be proportioned between decedent and devisee.

Unpaid income taxes are deductible if they are
on income properly includable in an income tax
return of the decedent for a period before his or
her death. (Taxes on income received after death
are not deductible.)

Unpaid gift taxes on transfers made by a
decedent before his or her death qualify for
deduction.

Include in this schedule notes unsecured by
mortgage or other lien and give full details,
including name of payee, face and unpaid
balance, date and terms of note, interest rate,
and date to which interest was paid before death.
Include the exact nature of the claim as well as
the name of the creditor.

Claims for services rendered to the decedent
over a period of time should be included, giving
complete facts.

Certain claims of a former spouse against the
estate based on the relinquishment of marital
rights are deductible on Schedule K. For these
claims to be deductible, all of the following
conditions must be met:

1. the decedent and the decedent’s spouse
must have entered into a written agreement
relative to their marital and property rights;

2. the decedent and the spouse must have been
divorced before the decedent’s death and the
divorce must have occurred within the
three-year period beginning on the date one
year before the agreement was entered into
(it is not required that the agreement be
approved by the divorce decree); and

3. the property or interest transferred under the
agreement must be transferred either to the
decedent’s spouse in settlement of the
spouse’s marital rights or to provide a
reasonable allowance for the support of the
children of the marriage during their minority.

You may not deduct a claim made against the
estate by a remainderman relating to property
includable in the estate under section 2044 of the
IRC as adopted by New York.

If the amount of any claim represents the unpaid
balance due on a contract for the purchase of
any property included in the gross estate,
indicate the schedule and item number where the

property is reported. If the claim represents a
joint and several liability, the facts must be fully
reported and the financial responsibility of the
co-obligor explained.

Mortgages and liens — Itemize obligations
secured by mortgages or other liens upon
property that is included in the gross estate at its
full value, or at a value that was undiminished by
the amount of the mortgage or lien. If the
mortgage is on jointly held property, only that part
of the mortgage for which the decedent was
liable and for which the estate must pay is
deductible. Include in the Description column the
particular schedule and item number where such
property subject to the mortgage or lien is
reported in the gross estate. Fully and completely
provide all pertinent information relating to the
mortgage, note or other agreement under which
the indebtedness is established. A mortgage may
not be deducted for more than the value of the
property.

Notes and other obligations secured by the
deposit of collateral, such as stocks, bonds, etc.,
should be listed in this schedule.

Schedule L — Net losses
during administration and
expenses incurred in
administering property not
subject to claims
Net losses during administration — A
deduction from the gross estate is allowed for
casualty losses or losses from theft incurred
during the settlement of the estate to the extent
they are not compensated by insurance or
otherwise. Losses are not deductible if they occur
after distribution of the asset to the beneficiary.

The term casualty losses means losses resulting
from fires, storms, shipwreck, and war.

Describe in detail the loss sustained and the
cause. If you received insurance or other
compensation for the loss, state the amount
collected. Identify the property for which you are
claiming the loss by indicating the particular
schedule and item number where the property is
included in the gross estate.

If you elect alternate valuation, do not deduct the
amount by which you reduced the value of an
item to include in the gross estate.

Do not deduct losses claimed as a deduction on
your income tax return or depreciation in the
value of securities or other property.

Expenses incurred in administering property
not subject to claims — A deduction is allowed
for expenses incurred in administering property
not subject to claims (generally, nonprobate
assets). Such expenses are deductible where
they would be allowed as deductions if the
property being administered were subject to
claims, and they are paid within the period of
limitations for assessment.

The expenses deductible under this schedule are
usually expenses incurred in connection with the
administration of a trust established during the
decedent’s lifetime and expenses incurred in the
collection of other assets or the transfer or
clearance of title to other property included in the
gross estate for tax purposes but not included in
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the decedent’s probate estate. (For examples of
deductible expenses, see Federal Tax Regulation
section 20.2053-8.)

List the names and addresses of the persons to
whom each expense was payable and the nature
of the expense. Identify the property for which
the expense was incurred by indicating the
schedule and item number where the property is
included in the New York adjusted gross estate.

Schedule M — Bequests, etc., to
surviving spouse
(marital deduction)
The marital deduction is a deduction from the
New York adjusted gross estate of the value of
certain property included in the New York
adjusted gross estate that passes or has passed
from the decedent to the surviving spouse. If
property passes to the surviving spouse as the
result of a qualified disclaimer, attach a copy of
the written disclaimer meeting the requirements
of section 2518 of the IRC, as adopted by
New York.

A marital deduction is allowable only for
(1) property passing into absolute ownership of
the surviving spouse; or (2) a life estate with a
power of appointment in the surviving spouse
satisfying the requirements of section 2056 of the
IRC and section 955 of the Tax Law; or
(3) life insurance, endowment, or annuity
payments held by the insurer for the benefit of
the surviving spouse, under a contract which
satisfied the requirements of section 2056 and
section 955.

The fact that the decedent’s will contains a
common disaster clause or a provision making
the surviving spouse’s interest conditional upon
the spouse surviving the decedent by a period of
not more than 6 months will not prevent
allowance of a marital deduction if the spouse
does not in fact die as the result of a common
disaster or within the time specified.

Terminable interest — Certain interests in
property passing from a decedent to a surviving
spouse are referred to as terminable interests.
These are interests that will terminate or fail after
the passage of time or on the occurrence or
nonoccurrence of some contingency.

Exceptions to the rule on a nondeductible
terminable interest apply to estates of decedents
dying after 1982. These exceptions are for
qualified terminable interest property and
qualified charitable remainder trusts (IRC
section 2056(b)(7) and (8)).

Qualified terminable interest property (QTIP) is
property that passes from the decedent and in
which the surviving spouse has a qualifying
income interest for life. A surviving spouse has
a qualifying income interest for life if (1) the
surviving spouse is entitled to all of the income
from the property, (2) the income is payable
annually or at more frequent intervals, and (3)
during the surviving spouse’s lifetime, no person
has the power to appoint any part of the property
to any person other than the surviving spouse. If
the interest meets these requirements, the
executor may elect to claim a marital deduction
for the property interest.

Note: Section 2056(b)(7) as amended by the
federal Technical and Miscellaneous Revenue
Act of 1988 creates an automatic QTIP
election for certain joint and survivor
annuities. The executor may elect out of QTIP
treatment by checking the box on

Schedule M. Include on Schedule M only
those annuities that are being treated as
QTIP property.

The effect of the marital deduction is that the
entire property subject to the interest is treated
as passing only to the surviving spouse; no one
other than the surviving spouse is treated as
having received any part of the property. No
charitable deduction can be taken for the value of
a remainder interest in the property so
transferred even if such remainder interest
passes to a qualified charitable organization.

If you are required to file a federal estate tax
return, you are required to make the same
election for New York State as is made for
federal purposes. The amount of the QTIP
property interest elected for federal purposes is
the amount allowable for New York purposes.
You may not increase or decrease the amount
elected for New York. If the estate is not required
to file a federal estate tax return, the election to
claim the marital deduction for QTIP property
may be made on a late filed or amended return,
but once elected is irrevocable.

If the surviving spouse does not dispose of the
qualifying income interest during life, his or her
New York adjusted gross estate will include the
value of the property (refer to IRC section 2044).

If the surviving spouse transfers all or part of the
qualifying income interest during life, the transfer
is subject to New York gift tax (refer to IRC
section 2519).

Qualified charitable remainder trusts are either
charitable remainder annuity trusts or charitable
remainder unitrusts. If the surviving spouse is the
only noncharitable beneficiary of a qualified
charitable remainder trust, the marital deduction
is allowed for any interest in the trust that passes
to the surviving spouse.

If this special treatment is elected, the entire
property will be considered as passing to the
surviving spouse. Therefore, the entire value of
the property will be eligible for the marital
deduction.

Upon the spouse’s death, if the income interest
was not disposed of, the entire value of the
property will be included in the spouse’s
New York adjusted gross estate (see IRC
section 2044), but because the spouse’s life
interest terminates at death, any property
passing outright to charity may qualify for a
charitable deduction.

How to complete Schedule M
Schedule M is divided into 3 parts. If you do not
make a QTIP election, complete only Parts I
and III.

If you make a QTIP election and have additional
marital property, complete all 3 parts. You must
divide the property interests between those
subject to the QTIP election (entered on Part II)
and those not subject to the QTIP election
(entered on Part I). Do not enter the same
property interest on both Parts I and II.

List separately on Schedule M each property
interest passing to the surviving spouse for which
a marital deduction is claimed.

Enter the value of each property interest before
taking into account any estate tax or other
expenses that may be payable out of the
property transferred to the surviving spouse. The
marital deduction must be reduced by the
amount of any estate tax or other expenses paid

out of the interests involved. The payment of
estate taxes under such circumstances creates a
situation know as an interrelated computation of
estate taxes. Specify the schedule and item
number under which such property is listed. If the
residue, or part of the residue, passes to the
surviving spouse, submit a computation showing
how the value of the residue was arrived at. If the
interest passing to the surviving spouse is
subject to any encumbrance (for example, a
mortgage), only the net value over and above
such encumbrance is deductible. Enter the taxes
and expenses payable out of the marital share in
the area provided.

If the interest of the surviving spouse in any
property listed in this schedule is affected by (1)
a proceeding to contest the will or for judicial
construction of the will, instituted or intended by
any party, or (2) exercise or nonexercise of the
surviving spouse’s right to elect other benefits as
against the will, or (3) a claim to any of said
property asserted by any party other than the
surviving spouse, the facts must be fully stated
on this schedule.

No deduction is allowable for an interest
disclaimed by the surviving spouse. A deduction
may be allowed, however, for an interest passing
to the surviving spouse as the result of a
disclaimer by any other person.

Unlimited marital deduction — The monetary
limitation on the estate tax marital deduction is
eliminated for estates of decedents dying after
September 30, 1983. For these estates, the
marital deduction is unlimited (i.e., the amount of
the marital deduction is the value of the property
passing to the surviving spouse, if the property
qualifies for the deduction). Therefore, no
reduction (cut-down) to the marital deduction
should be made for gifts the decedent made to
the spouse.

The unlimited marital deduction does not apply to
a maximum marital deduction formula clause
contained in a will executed or trust created
before September 12, 1981, unless the formula
clause was amended after September 12, 1981,
and before the decedent’s death to refer
specifically to the unlimited marital deduction.
The purpose of this transitional rule is to preserve
the interest of the testator who may not have
intended to pass to the surviving spouse more
than the maximum deduction allowable at the
time the will or trust was executed or created.

Note: The orphan’s deduction (formerly
Schedule N) is not allowed for the estate of a
decedent dying after 1982.

Schedule N — Charitable, public,
and similar gifts and bequests
A deduction from the New York adjusted gross
estate is allowed for the value of property
included in the New York adjusted gross estate
that a decedent transferred by will, or in some
instances during life, to a qualified charitable or
public organization. (Pledges made by the
decedent to charitable institutions or
organizations during his or her lifetime are
deductible as a debt of the decedent on
Schedule K of Form ET-90.3.)

The deduction is limited to the amount actually
available for charitable uses. Therefore, if estate
taxes are payable out of the property transferred
to a qualified charity, the value of the transferred
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property must be reduced by the amount used to
satisfy the taxes. The payment of estate taxes
under such circumstances creates a situation
referred to as an interrelated computation of
estate tax.

If claim is made for deduction of the value of the
residue of the estate, or a portion of the residue,
passing to charity under the decedent’s will,
submit a copy of the computation determining the
value.

The paragraph of the decedent’s will in which
such bequests are directed to be made should be
given in column C on Schedule N.

If, in the will or trust, a remainder clause contains
both charitable and noncharitable interests, a
charitable deduction will be allowed for the
portion passing to the qualified charity. This
remainder interest must be in the form of a
qualified charitable remainder annuity trust,
unitrust, or pooled-income fund. Refer to
section 2055 of the IRC, as conformed to by
New York State, for specific governing rules.

List the dates of birth and sex of all life tenants or
annuitants, the duration of whose lives may
affect the value of charitable interests.

A deduction will be allowed for amounts that are
transferred to a qualified charitable organization
as a result of a qualified disclaimer that meets
the conditions of IRC section 2518.

For estates of decedents dying after 1982, a
work of art and the copyright on the work of art
will be treated as separate properties if there is a
qualified contribution to a qualified organization
(refer to IRC section 2055(e)(4)).



• Estate tax deduction for principal residence
The estate of an individual whose date of death is on or
after June 8, 1995, is eligible to deduct the net value of the
individual’s principal residence, up to $250,000, in

1994 estate and gift tax changes

Chapter 170, Laws of 1994, enacted June 9, 1994, makes changes to New York State Estate Tax Law (Article 26) and Gift
Tax Law (Article 26A):

• Increase in the maximum unified credit
Section 952(b) of the Estate Tax Law was amended to
increase the maximum unified credit from $2,750 to
$2,950. This increase applies to the estate of a decedent
whose date of death is on or after June 10, 1994. A
corresponding amendment was made to section
1002(a)(3)(A) of the Gift Tax Law, increasing the
maximum credit to $2,950 for gifts made after
December 31, 1993, provided the donor was alive on
June 9, 1994.

• Increase in the estate tax filing threshold
Section 971(a) of the Estate Tax Law was amended to
increase the threshold at which estates must file returns,

1995 estate tax change

Chapter 2, Laws of 1995, enacted June 7, 1995, brought about the following change:

determining the New York State estate tax. The estate of
an individual is allowed the deduction, regardless of the
individual’s domicile at the time of death or the location of
the principal residence (in or outside New York State).

from $108,333 to $115,000, for the estate of a decedent
whose date of death is on or after June 10, 1994.

• Estate tax credit for certain closely held businesses
Section 958-b was added to the Estate Tax Law to
provide a credit against the New York State estate tax for
certain closely held businesses. This credit is equal to
5% of the first $15 million of qualified property owned by
the decedent that has vested in one or more qualified
heirs. The credit applies to the estate of a decedent
whose date of death is on or after June 10, 1994.



Need help?

Persons with disabilities: In compliance with the 
Americans with Disabilities Act, we will ensure 
that our lobbies, offices, meeting rooms, and 
other facilities are accessible to persons with 
disabilities. If you have questions about special 
accommodations for persons with disabilities, call 
the information center.

Telephone assistance

Estate Tax Information Center: (518) 457-5387

To order forms and publications:  (518) 457-5431

Text Telephone (TTY) Hotline (for persons with 
hearing and speech disabilities using a TTY): 
If you have access to a TTY, contact us at 
(518) 485-5082. If you do not own a TTY, check 
with independent living centers or community 
action programs to find out where machines are 
available for public use.

Visit our Web site at www.tax.ny.gov
• get information and manage your taxes online
• check for new online services and features

TP-38
(10/15)

Department of Taxation and Finance

Change in Mailing Address and Assistance
Information for Certain Estate Tax Forms

On July 1, 2008, we changed processing centers. Any 
estate tax form that instructs you to mail the form to: 
NYS Estate Tax, Processing Center, PO Box 5556, 
New York NY 10087-5556, must be mailed to this address 
instead (see Private delivery services below):

NYS ESTATE TAX
PROCESSING CENTER
PO BOX 15167
ALBANY NY 12212-5167

Any estate tax form that instructs you to mail the form 
to: TTTB-Estate Tax Audit-855, TTTB-Estate Tax-855, 
Transaction and Transfer Tax Bureau-Estate Tax, 
TTTB-Estate Tax Audit, or TTTB-Estate Tax, must be 
mailed to one of these addresses instead:

If you are sending by U.S. Mail:
NYS TAX DEPARTMENT
TDAB/ESTATE TAX
W A HARRIMAN CAMPUS
ALBANY NY 12227-2994

If you are sending by a private delivery service:
NYS TAX DEPARTMENT
TDAB/ESTATE TAX
90 COHOES AVENUE
GREEN ISLAND NY 12183-1515

Note: Forms mailed to the old address may be delayed in 
processing.

Private delivery services
If you choose, you may use a private delivery service, 
instead of the U.S. Postal Service, to mail in your form 
and tax payment. However, if, at a later date, you need to 
establish the date you filed or paid your tax, you cannot 
use the date recorded by a private delivery service unless 
you used a delivery service that has been designated by 
the U.S. Secretary of the Treasury or the Commissioner 
of Taxation and Finance. (Currently designated delivery 
services are listed in Publication 55, Designated Private 
Delivery Services. See Need help? below for information 
on obtaining forms and publications.) If you have used a 
designated private delivery service and need to establish 
the date you filed your form, contact that private delivery 
service for instructions on how to obtain written proof of 
the date your form was given to the delivery service for 
delivery.
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