
certificates before beginning sales of cigarettes and tobacco products at 
the new locations or through the additional machines.

Any retail dealer or vending machine registrations applied for after 
January 1 will be valid only for the balance of the calendar year in which 
they were issued. Fees will not be prorated. These registrations are 
not assignable or transferable and must be immediately surrendered if 
the business ceases or does not commence. In this case, any vending 
machine certificates already issued and affixed must be destroyed. 
(Expired certificates do not have to be returned.)

Fees imposed by Tax Law section 480-a, which requires registration of 
cigarette retail dealers and vending machines, are administered under 
the provisions of the Sales and Use Tax Law. Thus, the sales and use 
tax provisions relating to personal liability and administration, penalties, 
and so on will apply.

Specific instructions
If you are a new applicant, or if you did not register as a sales tax 
vendor before starting a business, you must immediately register 
online on Form DTF‑17, Application to Register for a Sales Tax 
Certificate of Authority. If you continue to operate a business in New 
York State without registering, you will be subject to a penalty of up 
to $10,000 and you will be unable to purchase cigarettes or tobacco 
products from your suppliers at wholesale prices or for purposes of resale. 
In addition, the Cigarette Tax Law provides that a retail dealer operating 
without proper registration is liable for a civil fine of at least $5,000 but not 
more than $25,000 for a first violation, and a civil fine of at least $10,000 
but not more than $35,000 for a second or subsequent violation within 
three years. A vending machine owner or operator who is not properly 
registered is liable for a civil fine of at least $750 but not more than $2,000 
for a first violation, and a civil fine of at least $2,000 but not more than 
$6,000 for a second or subsequent violation within three years.

In addition to being granted Form DTF-720 or Form DTF-721, you must 
register for sales tax and have a valid Certificate of Authority before 
buying or selling cigarettes or tobacco products. Visit our website (see 
Need help?) to learn how to register.

If you file one sales tax return for all business locations, you must file 
only one Form DTF-716 to register for all your locations. However, if 
your nine-character New York State sales tax identification number ends 
with an extra two-character suffix (01, 02, and so on), you must file a 
separate Form DTF-716 for each individual identification number and 
business location.

A valid certificate of registration must be on display at your place of 
business by January 1 of each year, or by the anticipated start date of 
your business if after January 1. We will not issue any new or additional 
certificates if you have not resolved all finally determined liabilities and 
filing discrepancies.

Legal name of business – Enter the exact legal name of the business 
you are registering. For a corporation, enter the name that appears on 
the Certificate of Incorporation filed with the New York State Department 
of State. For an unincorporated business, enter the name in which the 
business owns property or acquires debt. If the business entity is a 
partnership, use the partners’ names. Enter the name of the individual 
owner of the business if you are registering as a sole proprietor.

Sales tax vendor identification number – Enter your New York State 
sales tax vendor identification number.

Item A
Registered sales tax vendor – Mark an X in this box if you are already 
registered to collect sales tax, and be sure to write in your sales tax 
vendor identification number in the box at the top of the form.

Form DTF‑17 – Mark an X in this box if you are not already registered 
for sales tax purposes, but have completed the online Form DTF-17 (see 
Specific instructions). Enter your confirmation number.

General information
Every new retail dealer of cigarettes or tobacco products in New York 
State, and every new owner or operator of vending machines through 
which cigarettes or tobacco products are sold, must complete and file 
Form DTF-716. This form should also be used if you have already 
registered for 2025 and wish to add new locations or additional vending 
machines.

We encourage you to apply for your Form DTF-720, Retail Dealer 
Certificate of Registration for Cigarettes and Tobacco Products, online 
at www.tax.ny.gov/bus/ads/webdtf716.htm. Filing your application online 
is the fastest way to receive your certificate. The speed and accuracy 
of computers allow electronic applications to be processed faster than 
paper applications, greatly reducing the possibility of errors and delays.

Note: Every retail dealer is liable for the tobacco products tax on all 
tobacco products in their possession at any time, unless the tax has 
already been paid or assumed by a distributor appointed by the Tax 
Department. An invoice issued by a licensed tobacco products distributor 
or wholesale dealer is considered proof that the tobacco products tax 
has been paid. Invoices must be made available upon request of the Tax 
Department, and any failure to produce an invoice results in the retail 
dealer being liable for payment of the tax.

For purposes of this registration, a retail dealer is any person who sells 
cigarettes or tobacco products in New York State, or owner or operator 
of vending machines, other than a wholesale dealer. Licensed wholesale 
dealers that also sell cigarettes at retail are required to register to obtain 
Form DTF-720 for each of the retail locations where they sell cigarettes. 
Sales by a retail dealer may be made over the counter at a specific 
location, or from a cart, truck, stand, or other merchandising device 
(not including a vending machine). Separate registrations are required 
for each business location (for example, a dealer selling cigarettes 
at four counters or booths at a civic center or a fair would need four 
registrations, while a dealer selling cigarettes at a retail store and from a 
cart would need two registrations). Every retail dealer who commences 
selling cigarettes or tobacco products at retail through a new or different 
place of business, or who commences selling cigarettes or tobacco 
products through new or different vending machines, must file a new 
application for registration.

For purposes of this registration, an owner or operator of a vending 
machine is anyone who sells cigarettes or tobacco products through a 
vending machine. Each of these machines must be registered. If the 
owner is the operator, the owner registers the machines; otherwise, the 
operator registers them.

Vendors who sell cigarettes or tobacco products at both retail locations 
and through vending machines must apply for both the retail dealer 
registration and vending machine registration for each location and 
vending machine. Form DTF-720 must be publicly displayed in each 
place of business operated by the retail dealer and on each cart, truck, 
stand, or other merchandising device through which these items are 
sold. Form DTF-721, Vending Machine Registration Certificate for 
Cigarettes and Tobacco Products, must be conspicuously affixed to each 
registered vending machine.

Note: If you own, operate, or maintain one or more vending machines 
in, at, or on the premises owned or occupied by another person, you 
must possess a license as a wholesale dealer of cigarettes. You may 
obtain Form CG-100-V, Application for License as a Wholesale Cigarette 
Dealer Who Only Operates Vending Machines, and other forms required 
for proper registration on the Department’s website. To order the 
application, or for inquiries regarding this application, see Need help?.

Fees due for retail dealer registration or vending machine registration 
must be submitted with the application and are generally nonrefundable. 
Registrations are valid for a calendar year and must be renewed 
annually.

Vendors who are starting businesses, or requesting certificates for 
additional locations or machines, must file this application at least 30 
days prior to the anticipated start date, and must receive the registration 

If you were registered to sell cigarette or tobacco products in 2024, do not use this form to renew your registration. Complete and file Form DTF-719, 
Renewal Application for Registration of Retail Dealers and Vending Machines for Sales of Cigarettes and Tobacco Products.

Department of Taxation and Finance
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Telephone assistance

Need help?
Visit our website at www.tax.ny.gov
• get information and manage your taxes online
• check for new online services and features

Cigarette Tax Information Center: 518-485-7652
To order forms and publications: 518-457-5431
Text Telephone (TTY) or TDD Dial 7-1-1 for the  
 equipment users  New York Relay Service
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Item B
New applicant – Mark an X in this box if you are registering as a retail 
dealer or vending machine operator for the first time.

Registering additional locations or vending machines – Mark an 
X in this box only if you have already renewed your registration or 
registered as a new applicant and you require additional retail dealer 
or vending machine certificates. (Additional locations include additional 
carts, trucks, stands, or other merchandising devices.) You must include 
Form DTF-17-ATT, Schedule of Business Locations For a Consolidated 
Filer, when adding a location.

Item C – How products are sold – Mark an X in only the box or boxes 
that describe the type of registration for which you are applying. For 
example, do not mark the box Retail locations if you are selling only 
through merchandising devices or vending machines.

Line 1 – Enter the date you began business in New York State. If you 
are not already a registered sales tax vendor and you are applying for 
that registration at the same time, indicate the date you began or will 
begin making taxable sales.

If you file one sales tax return for all business locations, you must 
indicate the date you began or will begin business at each additional 
location. Attach a separate sheet of paper and list this information for 
each additional location.

Line 3 – Mark an X in the box if the business or any of its responsible 
persons has been convicted of a tax crime under Tax Law Article 37 
within the last year.

Line 4 – Mark an X in the box that most accurately describes your 
business organization.

A governmental organization is the United States of America or any of 
its agencies or instrumentalities, New York State or any of its agencies, 
instrumentalities, public corporations, or political subdivisions. This 
category includes political subdivisions of New York State such as a 
county, town, city, village, school district, or fire district.

Part A – Affiliated person information
For purposes of the cigarette and tobacco tax, persons are affiliated 
persons with respect to each other where:
• one of such persons has a direct or indirect ownership interest of 

more than five percent in the other; or
• a direct or indirect ownership interest of more than five percent is held 

in each of such persons by another person, or by a group of other 
persons that are affiliated persons with respect to each other.

To add an affiliated person (AP), enter the affiliated person name, 
taxpayer identification number (SSN/EIN), address, phone number, 
ownership percentage, effective date, and email. The effective date is 
the date for when the AP’s ownership interest became more than five 
percent.

You must complete all lines in this section for anyone who is considered 
an AP of the business. If there are more than four AP’s, photocopy Part A 
before completing; attach additional sheets as required.

Part B – Certificates of registration for retail operations
Operators of retail business locations, including carts, trucks, stands, or 
other merchandising devices, must list the business name and address 
of all locations being registered with this application. In general, the 
business address cannot be a residential address. For non-stationary 
operations (for example, trucks) list the address from which you operate 
your business. Do not include names or addresses of any locations that 
were listed on any previous application for this annual period.

Column A – Enter the trade name, doing business as (DBA) name, or 
assumed name if different from your legal name. For a corporation, fill in 
the name that appears on the Certificate of Assumed Name filed with the 
New York State Department of State. For an unincorporated business, 
use the name filed with the county clerk’s office according to General 
Business Law section 130.

Transfer the Part B total from page 3, column C, Total number of 
certificates of registration required, to page 1, line 5, column A. If 
additional sheets are attached, add the total from these sheets to the 
column C total box before entering on line 5.

Line 5 – Compute the amount due on line 5 by multiplying the amount in 
column A by the amount in column B and entering the result in column C.

Part C – Vending machine registration certificates
Vending machine owners or operators must list the business name and 
address where each vending machine is located and the serial number 
for each. If you have several vending machines at one location enter the 
address only once, but list the serial numbers of every machine at that 
location. Do not include any vending machine serial numbers that were 
listed on any previous application for this annual period.

Transfer the Part C total from page 3, column C, Total number of vending 
machine registration certificates required, to page 1, line 6, column A.

If additional sheets are attached, add the total from these sheets to the 
column C total box before entering on line 6.

Line 6 – Compute the amount due on line 6 by multiplying the amount in 
column A by the amount in column B and entering the result in column C.

Payment and mailing address
Make your check or money order for the total amount due on line 7 
payable in U.S. funds to: New York State Sales Tax. Write your sales 
tax vendor identification number, Form DTF‑716, and the year for which 
you are registering on the front of your check or money order.

If your payment is returned by a bank, the Tax Department is allowed 
by law to charge a $50 fee for nonpayment. However, if the payment 
is returned as a result of an error by the bank or department, the 
department will not charge the fee. If your payment is returned, we 
will send a separate bill for $50 for each return or other tax document 
associated with the returned payment.

Mail your application and remittance to:
  NYS TAX DEPARTMENT
  PO BOX 15175
  ALBANY NY 12212‑5175

Do not mail this application in the envelope with your sales tax return.
If not using U.S. Mail, see Publication 55, Designated Private Delivery 
Services.

Note: New York’s Youth Access Tobacco Control Laws prescribe 
(under Chapter 405 of the Laws of 2000) civil penalties for the sale of 
cigarettes or tobacco products to minors in violation of its provisions. 
Such penalties, under Article 13-F of the Public Health Law, include fines 
and the suspension or revocation of the registration of a retail dealer 
or vending machine. These laws are enforced by a local designated 
enforcement officer or the State Health Department.

Also, Public Health Law, Article 13-F, section 1399-gg prohibits the 
manufacture, distribution, or sale of packages containing fewer than 
20 cigarettes in New York State, thereby eliminating 10 packs or single 
cigarettes (loosies).

For more information on these laws, contact your local health 
department enforcement officer or write or call the NYS Department 
of Health, Bureau of Community Environmental Health and Food 
Protection, Empire State Plaza-Corning Tower, Room 1395, Albany NY 
12237, 518-402-7600.

Privacy notification
New York State Law requires all government agencies that maintain a system of 
records to provide notification of the legal authority for any request for personal 
information, the principal purpose(s) for which the information is to be collected, 
and where it will be maintained. To view this information, visit our website, or, if you 
do not have Internet access, call and request Publication 54, Privacy Notification. 
See Need help? for the Web address and telephone number.


