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STATE OF NEW YORK 

COMMISSIONER OF TAXATION AND FINANCE 

ADVISORY OPINION     PETITION NO. S910620B 

On June 20, 1991, a Petition for Advisory Opinion was received from Pro Net, Inc., 600 Data 
Drive, Suite 100, Plano, Texas 75025. 

The issue raised by Petitioner, Pro Net, Inc., is whether charges billed to its customers for 
"loss protection" against lost pagers is subject to State and local sales and use taxes. 

Petitioner provides emergency medical paging services which involve the sale and lease of 
pagers to doctors and hospitals. 

Petitioner currently does not collect sales tax on monthly charges billed to a customer who 
chooses the optional loss protection. The monthly charge, usually $1.00 to $1.50 per pager, protects 
the customer from having to pay to Petitioner the full value of a pager should it be lost. A customer 
who loses his or her pager must, however, pay a $25.00 or $50.00 deductible  fee depending on the 
type of pager lost. 

Monthly invoices do not show the loss protection charge separately. Instead, the annual 
contract with each customer contains a breakdown of the total per pager monthly fee between access 
charges, lease charges, maintenance charges, all of which are subject to sales tax, and loss protection 
charges. The customer retains a copy of the contract and thus is aware of the charges even though 
they are not separately stated on his monthly invoice. 

Section 1132(a) of the Tax Law provides that: 

Every person required to collect the tax shall collect the tax from the 
customer when collecting the price, amusement charge or rent to which it applies. 
If the customer is given any sales slip, invoice, receipt or other statement or 
memorandum of the price, amusement charge or rent paid or payable, the tax shall 
be stated, charged and shown separately on the first of such documents given to him. 
The tax shall be paid to the person required to collect it as trustee for and on account 
of the state. 

In Olin Rent-A-Car of New York, Inc., Dec St Tx Comm, April 30, 1976, TSB-H-78(38)S 
the State Tax Commission held that the amount of the charge by Olin Rent-A-Car of New York, Inc. 
for collision damage to rental autos attributable to the fault of the renter was an indemnification to 
the lessor for the loss of use of and the damage to the rented auto as a result of the collision. The 
charge was not additional rent which would have been subject to retail sales tax as a sale under 
section 1101(b)(5) of the Tax Law. 
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In Alamo Rent A Car, Inc., Adv Op Comm T&F, April 15, 1991, TSB-A-91(33)S the 
Commissioner advised, in part, as follows: 

5. Q: Are charges for personal accident insurance paid by the lessee to insure 
against liability for injuries incurred by lessee or his passengers subject to 
sales tax? 

A: Charges for insurance  are  not subject to State and local sales and use tax, 
provided such charges are separately stated on the bill presented to the lessee. 

Section 527.1(b) of the Sales and Use Tax Regulations provides that: 

When tangible personal property, composed of taxable and exempt items is sold as 
a single unit, the tax shall be collected on the total price. 

Example:	 A vendor sells a package containing assorted cheeses, a 
cheese board and knife for $15. He is required to collect tax 
on $15. 

Therefore, pursuant to the provisions of Section 1132(a) of the Tax Law and Section 527.1(b) 
of the Sales and Use Tax Regulations and in accordance with the State Tax Commission decision 
in Olin Rent-A-Car of New York, Inc., supra, and the Advisory Opinion of the Commissioner of 
Taxation and Finance in Alamo Rent A Car, Inc., supra, Petitioner's charge to a customer for loss 
protection against lost pagers is not subject to State and local sales tax provided that the annual 
contract with the customer provides a breakdown of the monthly fee for the pagers between taxable 
charges and loss protection charges. The amount of the charge is an indemnification to the lessor for 
the loss of use of the pager. The charge is not additional rent which would have been subject to retail 
sales tax as a sale under section 1101(b)(5) of the Tax Law. 

DATED: October 2, 1991 	 s/PAUL B. COBURN 
Deputy Director 
Taxpayer Services Division 

NOTE: 	 The opinions expressed in Advisory Opinions
     are limited to the facts set forth therein. 


